Jacko

doesn't matter how many good players are on the list if you are finishing what 2nd last? You need a half decent coach to get those guys to a premiership in 3 years.

Your "hated by the players" is horseshit, every guy on Open Mike has spoken well about Leigh - even the guys who actually have no vested interest. Even Aker doesn't talk shit about Matthews.

Agree. If you read Lethal's book about his lions days you realise he knew what he was doing and is a big part of why those 3 flags came about.

Some of the amateur psychiatry in here is laughable.

Jacko's a lot of things... an entertainer, an individual (yes) and not a team man, holds grudges, a bulllshit artist, extremely funny, shameless, an attention seeker, physically huge and ugly, etc etc etc... but he's not a certified psychopath ffs, and not even close.

I have no experience nor expertise in psychiatry or human behaviour however after watching that interview he very much appeared to be on a drug. He was very aggressive however it wasn't focussed, he kept changing the angle of his attacks against Mike, he wouldn't or couldn't give reason of said attacks rather than just throw demeaning insults.

Or it was staged. I'm still not sure.

Not specifically disputing your points, but I've heard a couple of other players from the 70's in interviews say similar to Jacko to suggest that it was a bit of kill or be killed culture in the VFL at the time - more so that if you were in the reserves pushing for a place in the seniors, it would be the senior player who would try and keep you out of his spot by injuring you at training.

Also, I heard Brent Crosswell say in a radio interview that towards the latter half of his career he began to feel a kind of ennui with the regimentation of football coaching methods and he admired where Jacko was trying to take the game with his theatrics and the aspect of entertaining the crowd. The admiration is obviously mutual.

One thing that wasn't mentioned in the interview were the comments of racism that aboriginal players would have been subjected to from Jacko. Phil Egan has spoken publicly about this - but it was interesting to hear that Jacko shared a house with Benny Vigona when he was playing with South Fremantle and that after his football career was over he said he helped Maurice Rioli out by playing in a charity match in the Northern Territory when asked.

As some people might know he also left, or was sacked from South Fremantle in controversial circumstances on the eve of (I believe) the 2nd semi final in 1979 when the other South Femantle players voted and endorsed another player (Ray Bauskis) to take his full foward role. It seemed like in that interview Jacko agreed that he had injured the previous full forward (likely it was Bauskis who was injured most of the year) at training earlier in the season. South did lose that Grand Final after being favourites.

I don't know enough about his backround to speculate where his attitutes about violence and his ignorant nicknames for aborigines came from, but he seems to be a product of the times.

Very well put, i guess the thing that made me cringe the most was Jacko's vitriolic attack on Sheahan culminating with a disgusting comment “I really have no respect for you. I hope you get cancer.”

How different would that have been if he had said that to Caro?

So Jacko gets it all off his chest and gets away with it. “We’re going to let sleeping dogs lie. You’re 70-years-old, you haven’t got long. You might as well die happy. At the end of the day, I’ve got nothing against you from this day forward.”

The VERY NEXT DAY after the interview was screened, Jackson launched another barrage of criticism at Sheahan.

In an interview with A Current Affair, Jackson was asked if he cared that he’d offended Sheahan during the interview.

Jackson responded: “I couldn’t give a rats if he got hit by a bus”.

What a charming man. Next time Eddie makes another gaffe, i think we should all cut him some slack.

I wouldn't have blamed Sheahan if he got up and punched Jacko right in his hooter...

Mate, Sheahan still pushes his agendas even in Open Mike. The other week he kept telling Glen Jakovich that he & the 90's Eagles had taken steroids to get as big as they were when they won the flag, despite Jako telling him multiple times that most AFL clubs at the time were only doing one session a week on the weights and the Eagles were doing it three times a week or more due to the softer grounds in Victoria. He then went on to claim the Eagles 06 flag was tainted because a couple of guys were known for partying despite never testing positive for anything while playing. Sheahan loves to push his side of a story whether its true or not. Jackos right about Sheahan.

My recollection is that Sheahan asked Jakovich about the speculation surrounding the Eagles in the early-mid 90s, backed up by people that had appeared on Open Mike (Paul Couch, for one), Jakovich categorically and aggressively denied anything untoward and they moved on. Then he asked about the 2006 premiership team and whether their legacy had been tainted by what has happened to several of its players off the field subsequently and Jakovich said something along the lines of in a lot of people's eyes it probably has tainted the 2006 side, to an extent. Jakovich didn't seem overly offended by either question and with regards to the one that affected the premiership teams that he played in, he seemed quite prepared to give his version and defend the club.

I guess he could have left the query about the 2006 side out of it (although he had played alongside most of the players in that team, so I think it was fair enough to give his opinion) and if he hadn't asked the obvious question about the West Coast team of the 90s, people would have referred to it as the elephant in the room. He asked Mick Conlon a very similar question about how he and other Fitzroy players gained so much bulk. If Sheahan avoided asking those sort of questions, Open Mike wouldn't be worth watching.

But telling someone how u hoped they died of cancer etc on national tv is not great and not easy to take. I thought Mike handled it very well considering the barrage he copped. Most would of walked.

I thought Mike handled it very poorly TBH.

Jacko was trolling big time and Mike got sucked in way too easily.

For example, Mike attempting to justify why people don't hate him. How long has Mike been doing interviews for? Should have known better.

Jacko grew up the son of a union rep. Zero respect for people in authority or power.

I thought Mike handled it very poorly TBH.

Jacko was trolling big time and Mike got sucked in way too easily.

For example, Mike attempting to justify why people don't hate him. How long has Mike been doing interviews for? Should have known better.

Jacko grew up the son of a union rep. Zero respect for people in authority or power.
Why is that not surprising....

Does anyone know what Jacko called Phil Egan when he (Phil) first got to the Richmond? I wanna know how despicable he was. Phil said that Jacko tried to use a horrible nickname in front of Phil's mum and half the club; a name so bad he wouldn't repeat it. Phil starts talking about it at 9m45s into this interview from a few months ago

Agree. If you read Lethal's book about his lions days you realise he knew what he was doing and is a big part of why those 3 flags came about.

Yep once i read lethals book my opinion of him went up as coach, some of the things he did when he first got to Brisbane no other coach would of done.

Matthews walked into Brisbane at a time that saw the best ever afl midfield come into their prime footy years. And he walked into a side that had brown and lynch in their prime. And a back 6 that were incredible. Even Ross Lyon could have coached that side to a flag.

Lynch was far from his prime when Leigh Matthews arrived at Brisbane.
Lynch best was years before at Fitzroy.
He was a good player at Brisbane but still shadow of what he was before he suffered with chronic fatigue syndrome.

What a charming man. Next time Eddie makes another gaffe, i think we should all cut him some slack.

I wouldn't have blamed Sheahan if he got up and punched Jacko right in his hooter...

no, next time eddie makes 'another gaffe' he should again be called out on it. you shouldnt excuse ignorant behavior because there are other 'more ignorant' people in the world.

i would have also personally 'blamed mike' if he punched mark in the face. plenty of more constructive ways to dealing with insults than an assault.

no, next time eddie makes 'another gaffe' he should again be called out on it. you shouldnt excuse ignorant behavior because there are other 'more ignorant' people in the world.

i would have also personally 'blamed mike' if he punched mark in the face. plenty of more constructive ways to dealing with insults than an assault.
We will agree to disagree on that one....Eddie's comment in jest versus Jacko's tirade of vitriolic abuse? Someone comes up to me and says "i want you to die of cancer" gets their face re-arranged instantly. Jacko is a nuisance, the act has worn thin and when you resort to desperate vitriolic ranting and raving such as we saw in this interview then all is lost for the bloke. Sheahan did well to keep his cool. Eddie probably won't make any more gaffes for a while, but i will certainly cut him some slack if he does.... The hypocrisy of it all is astounding, if Jacko calls Caro a "pubic hair" or "Journalistic pollutant" the internet would meltdown completely within hours.... Most people on here think the interview was Jacko just performing his act. I'm not buying it. He's a complete dill.

not sure that challenges my point, which was simply you shouldnt excuse poor behavior because someone elses behavior is even poorer.

on the 'face re-arranging', if someone said that to me, id probably chalk them down as a spiteful moron and move on. 're-arranging someones face' is, in my opinion, never cool. and id rather not inflict suffering and medical bills, risk being flogged myself in return or face jail time over something ridiculous and petty said by 'a complete dill'. but as you said, agree to disagree.

on a more general note, i have no time for or interest in mark jackson.

401591f2801a91ecc1c45fd96754b5cd

“Unfortunately, the star of the show was this bloke called Sam Jones who was in the movie Ted a couple of years back. Sam had the Bible in one hand and something else in the other and he got upset when the make-up lady’s budgie died in mysterious circumstances.

“He came at me on the set in Phoenix and took a swing so I dropped him but then they came from everywhere, all these God-faring types — you know, the ‘praise the Lord and pass the ammunition' brigade.

“It was a massive brawl. Brandon Tartikoff, who was the head of NBC and later on Disney, rang me and said: ‘There’s a terrible mess on the set’. I explained to Brandon it was all Sam’s fault. Then the National Enquirer got hold of it and I was sent to oblivion. So I came back to Australia.”

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/vi...d/news-story/373800a5ac6f30506566e79e8dc4ac2c

You don't mess with Flash Gordon

Well done jacko

Mike Sheehan had been told the shut the **** up and guess what a week it's been ....mike Sheehan has been very quiet this week,and it's been bliss

It was ok for mike Sheehan to say our flag was tainted ...well guess what your journalism is tainted mike ...AND YOU GOT BARRELLED

When you bag the shit out of people like Sheehan had for years you got to expect some the other way

I did not agree with what jacko said ..But I really enjoyed seeing that little turd getting a serve

My recollection is that Sheahan asked Jakovich about the speculation surrounding the Eagles in the early-mid 90s, backed up by people that had appeared on Open Mike (Paul Couch, for one), Jakovich categorically and aggressively denied anything untoward and they moved on. Then he asked about the 2006 premiership team and whether their legacy had been tainted by what has happened to several of its players off the field subsequently and Jakovich said something along the lines of in a lot of people's eyes it probably has tainted the 2006 side, to an extent. Jakovich didn't seem overly offended by either question and with regards to the one that affected the premiership teams that he played in, he seemed quite prepared to give his version and defend the club.

I guess he could have left the query about the 2006 side out of it (although he had played alongside most of the players in that team, so I think it was fair enough to give his opinion) and if he hadn't asked the obvious question about the West Coast team of the 90s, people would have referred to it as the elephant in the room. He asked Mick Conlon a very similar question about how he and other Fitzroy players gained so much bulk. If Sheahan avoided asking those sort of questions, Open Mike wouldn't be worth watching.

No ...Mike Sheehan is a a dead set flog

I hope he comes to wa ...Id suggest he walk with a body guard

I enjoyed seeing Sheehan get some of his own medicine and he was exposed for what he is ...a gutless little turd

Well done jacko

Is anyone else finding the hate from the Weagles for Sheehan just scrumptious

I could drink their delicious tears all day

Dear West Coast: your 06 flag was won on meth, not on talent.

It's tainted.

:)

Oh really

I sit with meth users all day and I challenge anyone who thinks its enhances performance

You lose sleep, it affects brain function, eye sight and distance perception not to mention coordination

Hey why do you think it's illegal to drive on meth ? If meth enhanced your footy then surely it would enhance a simple task like driving a car

Dead set people have got no idea ....and mike Sheehan wouldn't know the first thing about drugs nor do you clearly bit hey why let the facts get in the way of a juicy story like "tainted flag"

We would have won more had our players not been losing sleep.