Opinion Jackson Thurlow

• Thread starter Thread starter Biscut

Smedts i suspect is seen as a future elite player and they want to pump games into him. Thurlow's last senior game showed he isn't ready, at least then. Not sure how his form has been in the VFL, but consistency will be the key for him, so I suspect thats lacking, at least in the MC's eyes.

"Smedts i suspect is seen as a future elite player" Think that is really unfair expectation to put on Billie after 30 games and heaps of chances he averages about 10 possies per game. Billie I hope will be a senior player long term , but elite is very optimistic based on his performances so far.

"Thurlow's last senior game showed he isn't ready", Unfair comment, that is like saying after Smedts Sydney disaster coming back from injury, that he isn't ready?? The difference is?? . Facts- Thurlow was ordinary V Port ijn his only 2014 game, like Boris and the old guys and like Billie V Sydney and Billies other 3 games. Thurlow missed pre season after major hip surgery had 2 vfl games and was selected v Port(hardly prepared), since then he has missed games through injury. Since back at VFL level he has featured in VFL best in 5 out of last 6 games. but consistency will be the key for him.

Think he is showing consistency at VFL level and is due for promotion myself when a spot opens. How the hell Billie based on last 6 weeks form, got selected as an emergency over Thurlow this week is beyond me.

"Smedts i suspect is seen as a future elite player" Think that is really unfair expectation to put on Billie after 30 games and heaps of chances he averages about 10 possies per game. Billie I hope will be a senior player long term , but elite is very optimistic based on his performances so far.

"Thurlow's last senior game showed he isn't ready", Unfair comment, that is like saying after Smedts Sydney disaster coming back from injury, that he isn't ready?? The difference is?? . Facts- Thurlow was ordinary V Port ijn his only 2014 game, like Boris and the old guys and like Billie V Sydney and Billies other 3 games. Thurlow missed pre season after major hip surgery had 2 vfl games and was selected v Port(hardly prepared), since then he has missed games through injury. Since back at VFL level he has featured in VFL best in 5 out of last 6 games. but consistency will be the key for him.

Think he is showing consistency at VFL level and is due for promotion myself when a spot opens. How the hell Billie based on last 6 weeks form, got selected as an emergency over Thurlow this week is beyond me.
Agreed. I have no idea how Smedts is currently ahead of Thurlow, escpecially the consistency he has showed in the VFL over the last 5-6 weeks. Smedts got dropped, spends one week in the VFL, with with what I saw as nothing but an average performance (no idea how he was in the best to be honest) and gets an instant recall ahead of Thurlow? Crazy.

Not Billie's fault and I think he still has potential but Jacko must be sitting at home scratching his head.

Agreed. I have no idea how Smedts is currently ahead of Thurlow, escpecially the consistency he has showed in the VFL over the last 5-6 weeks. Smedts got dropped, spends one week in the VFL, with with what I saw as nothing but an average performance (no idea how he was in the best to be honest) and gets an instant recall ahead of Thurlow? Crazy.

Not Billie's fault and I think he still has potential but Jacko must be sitting at home scratching his head.

I'd say it's become very clear that the match committee - august infallible geniuses that they are - like certain players more than others. That has always existed at footy clubs and always will. It does grate though when we get fed cliches about everyone having to earn games when some very clearly don't.

Can't believe Thurlow still not picked this week. We can still beat the Bulldogs at Geelong with an Enright or Mackie being rested to give Thurlow some more game time. Thurlow better be in next week.

Smedts i suspect is seen as a future elite player and they want to pump games into him. Thurlow's last senior game showed he isn't ready, at least then. Not sure how his form has been in the VFL, but consistency will be the key for him, so I suspect thats lacking, at least in the MC's eyes.

I think that Smedts is still seen as piece to the puzzle , but I disagree on Thurlow. One game is hardly proof but if it was , his v game V Ess in y1 showed he was ready. If we had a hole he could fill , playing Thurlow each week may well be a pain for 10 or 20 games but by the end of it we would have anothr lock and load Guthrie type.

So many people here wanted GHS in the side last year - get games into him was the call. But Corey was still in the team and we nearly made a GF. So hard call but yes he should have had t least extra 5-6 senior games in the last 2 seasons. Maybe 10 !

Now we have a similar issue with Thurlow (not quite as demanding of a game as GHS was). I think we should try and get at least 3-4 senior games into. He has played pretty well for a month in the VFL - something Billie did not do to get his senior games. Must reward hard effort and performance in the VFL.

I think quite a few posters who have seen him play knows he looks good. Now that does not mean he will be a player but it does indicate he is at a level now that deserves a further look at in the seniors. He is a good height, nice leap, good hands and a very nice kick. How much more can he learn in the VFL ? and I think he would benefit from playing against teams like GWS in the senior side.

I am not sure Bews was playing any better in the VFL than Thurlow has for the past month when he was selected for the senior team.

So many people here wanted GHS in the side last year - get games into him was the call. But Corey was still in the team and we nearly made a GF. So hard call but yes he should have had t least extra 5-6 senior games in the last 2 seasons. Maybe 10 !

Now we have a similar issue with Thurlow (not quite as demanding of a game as GHS was). I think we should try and get at least 3-4 senior games into. He has played pretty well for a month in the VFL - something Billie did not do to get his senior games. Must reward hard effort and performance in the VFL.

I think quite a few posters who have seen him play knows he looks good. Now that does not mean he will be a player but it does indicate he is at a level now that deserves a further look at in the seniors. He is a good height, nice leap, good hands and a very nice kick. How much more can he learn in the VFL ? and I think he would benefit from playing against teams like GWS in the senior side.

I am not sure Bews was playing any better in the VFL than Thurlow has for the past month when he was selected for the senior team.

I think Bews was made to wait and earn it more , after all Thurlow had his debut in Y1. Now though , he is being made to earn it too. To watch it , to covet it , to hunger for it , to burn for it. Maybe he is 100% ready , maybe he still has things to work on. Personally he looks about 3-6 light but he may not be. Mackie has played like that for years.
How much more can he learn in the VFL , well thats an interesting question. Kicking a ball and all the peripheries , nothing to learn but perhaps it what we dont see off the playing field? I don't know but I bet that once he does come in he hill not waste it , like a couple have.

Seems from the comments by CS this week they haven't quite decided where Thurlow's best fit is just yet either.
And probably won't until Boris goes?

I rather Bews in ATM Bews plays that lock down defend first type we need while mackie/Boris can attack.Thurlow seems to have a attacking flare suited to HB/Wing we have quiet a few that can play of a wing ATM.But Hope he gets games soon though looks a good talent.

A good read on where Thurlow is at:

“He said `don't count your games, make your games count','' Thurlow told The Examiner.

``I've only played the five AFL games, and hearing that opened it up to me that I will have to make it count when I do get another opportunity and not to waste it.

``A few things just clicked for me after Jimmy said that, just about the way I approach my footy.

http://www.geelongcats.com.au/news/2014-07-09/wisdom-helps-young-cat

"In the VFL, I have been trying to work on a few little things which have been stopping me from getting into the AFL team, working on being stronger in the contest and winning those crucial one-on-ones,'' Thurlow said.

I'm glad there's a plan and we are not just freezing him out. Hopefully turns him into a Mackie type.

"The vibe is that I am really close, and I've been the 26th man in the 25-man squad for four to five weeks, which is positive, but it is such a hard team to break in to. But that's the best way to be, as you have to really compete for that spot.''

A nice piece on Thurlow from the AFL website:

When he returned to the senior team in round three, he enjoyed knowing he would play in defence.

The year before he played virtually every position on the ground over three quarters against Hawthorn, a human pinball with No.40 on his back.

"It is good to know each week where I am going to be playing, what my role is in that position and really go from there," Thurlow said.

With good on-field teachers in James Kelly, Andrew Mackie, Corey Enright and Harry Taylor surrounding him, he knows now is the time to make the most of his opportunity.

He has been given some responsibility too, taking the kick-ins more often than not.

In the past four weeks he has taken 29 kick-ins, with Enright next best with eight.

It's a tough role for someone with limited experience but Thurlow appears to have the right temperament for the job.

He knows he is still learning with just one of his 11 kicks against West Coast reaching the midfield in Geelong hands. It was a let down after such an excellent performance in that role a week earlier against Carlton.

Thurlow likes the fact kicking in keeps him in the game and says it also teaches him other important aspects of playing AFL football.

"I'm really trying to drive our communications and set up [when kicking in]," Thurlow said.

"Kicking in makes you feel a part of the game the whole time."

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-06-04/from-frustration-to-expectation-thurlow-a-fullyfledged-cat

I think his ball use and decision making off half back has been sensational this season.
With Mackie in the side v Eagles Jackson was often further up the ground or perhaps spent more time on the bench
Big mistake IMO - we really struggled under their pressure and TBH Mackie often looked slow and not in tune - his zoning left a lot to be desired at times.
I'd play Mackie further up the ground and I wouldn't play Mackie and Rivers in defence at the same time - far too slow.
Bews and Thurlow have been great - time to get some games into Kolo and build for the future

A nice piece on Thurlow from the AFL website:

When he returned to the senior team in round three, he enjoyed knowing he would play in defence.

The year before he played virtually every position on the ground over three quarters against Hawthorn, a human pinball with No.40 on his back.

"It is good to know each week where I am going to be playing, what my role is in that position and really go from there," Thurlow said.

With good on-field teachers in James Kelly, Andrew Mackie, Corey Enright and Harry Taylor surrounding him, he knows now is the time to make the most of his opportunity.

He has been given some responsibility too, taking the kick-ins more often than not.

In the past four weeks he has taken 29 kick-ins, with Enright next best with eight.

It's a tough role for someone with limited experience but Thurlow appears to have the right temperament for the job.

He knows he is still learning with just one of his 11 kicks against West Coast reaching the midfield in Geelong hands. It was a let down after such an excellent performance in that role a week earlier against Carlton.

Thurlow likes the fact kicking in keeps him in the game and says it also teaches him other important aspects of playing AFL football.

"I'm really trying to drive our communications and set up [when kicking in]," Thurlow said.

"Kicking in makes you feel a part of the game the whole time."

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-06-04/from-frustration-to-expectation-thurlow-a-fullyfledged-cat
Thanks, TC.

When I saw the thread bump, I feared the worst, which is pretty much reflexive with our current run of luck!

Wasn't it mate. A bullet that was perfectly placed.
We will enjoy watching that kind of stuff for a dozen years.
Feel somewhat vindicated when I backed his selection over Grundy. Thurlow will be a star, Grundy a good player.

I loved it because I've spent the last two weeks teaching my son a stab pass.

And we did 20 minutes of it tonight.
And then Thurlow kicked that. "see buddy?" They do damage.

Grundy is miles ahead of thurlow. If we selected grundy then we would not have wasted a pick on stanley. Giving us another solid selection in the draft