Saintos The ITK
Premium Platinum
- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- St Kilda
- Other Teams
- Balmain
Even lesbians can have a laugh.

What would Paige know about **** ups?
Absolutely. Would much prefer to sweep it under the carpet.
We get it, she's gay, let's all move on shall we gents...
If I thought for one second that SCPaige was going to be offended by Joffa's or my pun, I wouldn't have made mine. I was only making it for the sake of punage. Paige, if you would be offended at all, let me say I unreservedly apologise.That's a little different mate... For starters that flognuts is regularly here and able to defend himself.
Feel free to ignore me... I just reckon it's time to let this one go.
If there is any truth in it, I think Jake will find that somewhere in the fine print or the legislation StKilda don't have to pay him. In which case his recourse will be to sue his former club.
What is the chances of an athlete suspended for breaching the code of a sport suing for payment?
If a hypothetical player killed someone and went to Jail would we expect that their club payed out their Salary?
Or Sidebottom?But we have Carlisle, those guys may have no interest in coming to us and if they do they still would cost nothing. Its like saying Fyffe is out of contract so lets get him even if he doesn't want to come to us.
But we have Carlisle, those guys may have no interest in coming to us and if they do they still would cost nothing. Its like saying Fyffe is out of contract so lets get him even if he doesn't want to come to us.
Fyfe isn't leaving though is he. I would be extremely shocked if Hooker is a don long term and I reckon Hurley rumours sound like he's gone too. If they are looking and you offer the right money especially Hurley would be a real possibility. Now we have Carlisle it's a moot point, we just were unlucky with timing.
While we didn't think it would actually happen, a doping suspension for Carlisle was discussed as high as board level before we traded him in. We covered ourselves with the legal side in case it did happen.
Now, I'm not saying Jake won't take legal action against us (I'd be stunned) but if it was me in his shoes not being paid then I'd employ a lawyer without hesitation. The Saints (and Dees, Dogs, Power) and AFL have had discussions with Essendon about them footing a large part of Jake's salary for this season. Things were looking positive but have come to a standstill because of legals on Essendons side.
Right now, as far as I know, Jake is a happy (considering circumstances) Saint and will be back as a full time player by time this season is done.
Also, if you know anybody involved with an AFL club ask them what the opinion on Damien Barrett is. A bottom feeder of the highest order. He believes he is the reason the footy world exists.
If hooker leaves I think it will be to return to Perth. No idea about Hurley but firstly we had no idea that he may be available next season when we got Carlisle and secondly we probably would have been a 10% of getting him. No idea why you say a real chance. Well if that's 10% I agree And I don't think we were unlucky with the timing. We took the punt that Carlisle would get a small suspension. Like my punting we lost.
I think we had more chance to get him because we can offer more money than 90% of the comp. Of course we didn't know, that's why it seems unfortunate timing. Like how the coke drama happened the day after signing him was bad timing. It just makes me shake my head the way **** ups seem to follow him. Hooker is assumed to be heading home like all interstate players but Mitch Clarke and Aish didn't go home and it looks like Jaeger wants to head to vic. Hurley was a Saints fan growing up and money, romance and future promise might have been the difference in who he signs for. I'd say Fyfe leaving Freo ever is probably less than 1% so just a facetious example of Trump like ignorance.
I reckon we need to dispel anything to do with players barracking for your club before being drafted having any effect on the chances of getting that player. Hurley would have no interest in us because he followed us 8 year ago. He may for other reasons. I doubt anyone in his family has any interest in the Saints even if they did before he was drafted. I sill don't see all these stuff ups by Carlisle. I see one. And that was before he was drafted.
While we didn't think it would actually happen, a doping suspension for Carlisle was discussed as high as board level before we traded him in. We covered ourselves with the legal side in case it did happen.
Now, I'm not saying Jake won't take legal action against us (I'd be stunned) but if it was me in his shoes not being paid then I'd employ a lawyer without hesitation. The Saints (and Dees, Dogs, Power) and AFL have had discussions with Essendon about them footing a large part of Jake's salary for this season. Things were looking positive but have come to a standstill because of legals on Essendons side.
Right now, as far as I know, Jake is a happy (considering circumstances) Saint and will be back as a full time player by time this season is done.
Also, if you know anybody involved with an AFL club ask them what the opinion on Damien Barrett is. A bottom feeder of the highest order. He believes he is the reason the footy world exists.
His dad is still a mad Sainter.
There may be a bit of romance of being in RWB there but who knows at this very early stage.
It's probably a long shot now that we have JC but stranger things have happened
Well his dad can play for us then. I reckon if he left Essendon following the Saints 10 years ago is worth about 1% in negotiations. I'm actually shocked his Dad still follows the Saints. Seems very weird to me. Money or success will be about 80% in deciding and facilities will then just about make up the rest. Anyway if it was out of Hurley and a mid of his ability I would take the mid. If Hurley was free and interested I would try and get both.
I reckon we need to dispel anything to do with players barracking for your club before being drafted having any effect on the chances of getting that player. Hurley would have no interest in us because he followed us 8 year ago. He may for other reasons. I doubt anyone in his family has any interest in the Saints even if they did before he was drafted. I sill don't see all these stuff ups by Carlisle. I see one. And that was before he was drafted.
His dad is still a mad Sainter.
There may be a bit of romance of being in RWB there but who knows at this very early stage.
It's probably a long shot now that we have JC but stranger things have happened
Well his dad can play for us then. I reckon if he left Essendon following the Saints 10 years ago is worth about 1% in negotiations. I'm actually shocked his Dad still follows the Saints. Seems very weird to me. Money or success will be about 80% in deciding and facilities will then just about make up the rest. Anyway if it was out of Hurley and a mid of his ability I would take the mid. If Hurley was free and interested I would try and get both.
For a supposedly crap draft they are showing a bit. Partington has already been resigned, Carlton should sign a ten year contract for Weitering now, Clarke showing a bit at North, Scache and Mathieson ticking all the boxes at Brions (apparently will be even better than Joel Selwood...at attracting free kicks) and I think there are others like Gresh, NOK, Tucker who are shining.I have said before Francis and probably Ryan Clarke or Gresh if still available. Even Matho at our second was a good get. There was actually some fair talent later on even though it was a bit of a crap draft apparently.
It's totally hindsight but I thought the club let us think we would get Jake for a steal but we paid a pretty much fair market value for him in the end. If he'd waited 24 hours to sign he would have been cheaper and cost us a second round pick. So far he's been more trouble than he's worth, he hasn't played a game and is going to be off his best for another year. He is a good player but so far everything he touches turns to shit and the timing is unbelievable. I wish we'd let the Hawks have him now.
In all honesty if we had those picks I would have chosen Aaron Francis, Mitch Hibberd and Mitch Brown at the time (and possibly picked up Ben Crocker later out of those left).Say we didnt trade for Jake Carlisle. Who would we have taken?
Pick 5 became pick 6 after the Swans matched Demons bid on Callum Mills.... So that leaves Francis, Ah Chee, Milera, Gresham, etc
Pick 24 became pick 29 after all the early Academy bids were matched..... So that leaves Morgan, Redman, Hibberd, Sier, Clarke, Bonner, Balic, Mathieson, etc
Our 3rd round pick shifted down from around pick 44 to Pick 40 due to other clubs picks being lost though academy bids & we took Brandon White
Are any of those possible combinations actually better than Gresham, White & Carlisle?
Sometimes think AFL is baiting WADA to try it so they can have an excuse to exitDid anyone see the beveridge interview on afl tonight, yesterday I think it was - a couple of real clangers talking about Crameri - said they'd given him a programme and that he'd met him the day before and he was tracking well........quickly added that it was just socially for a coffee, but if I'm wada I'm asking for the full tape of that interview......dodgy as hell.
Their idiot president doesn't have a clue how this stuff works. He's about the worst voice in this whole saga.Did anyone see the beveridge interview on afl tonight, yesterday I think it was - a couple of real clangers talking about Crameri - said they'd given him a programme and that he'd met him the day before and he was tracking well........quickly added that it was just socially for a coffee, but if I'm wada I'm asking for the full tape of that interview......dodgy as hell.
WADA would have to be the biggest idiots in the world to think the players aren't getting told what to do etc. so this is really nothing surprising.Did anyone see the beveridge interview on afl tonight, yesterday I think it was - a couple of real clangers talking about Crameri - said they'd given him a programme and that he'd met him the day before and he was tracking well........quickly added that it was just socially for a coffee, but if I'm wada I'm asking for the full tape of that interview......dodgy as hell.