Jake King on Open Mike

• Thread starter Thread starter Spook

His 100k was when he was 23 and rookied, Not when he was 20.

I would have thought the thing about most people that work in a trade is that they'd hit their ceiling in earnings relatively early. In other words, I imagine plenty of tradies would be roughly earning about the same in their mid-20s as they would be in their mid-40s, especially if you compare that to a university grad.

No way, a 40 yo tradie now would be on 4 to 5 times what he was on 20 years ago.

Does that factor in things like cost of living, house prices etc., as well as working equal hours?

Again, I could be way off, but my point is that a uni grad that finds a pretty standard office job, will often progress through the ranks almost as a matter of course. Whereas, I imagine a lot of tradies could do essentially the same thing for 20 years between their mid-20s and mid-40s, with very little chance of progression.

Does that factor in things like cost of living, house prices etc., as well as working equal hours?

Again, I could be way off, but my point is that a uni grad that finds a pretty standard office job, will often progress through the ranks almost as a matter of course. Whereas, I imagine a lot of tradies could do essentially the same thing for 20 years between their mid-20s and mid-40s, with very little chance of progression.
Tradie rates have gone through the roof more than all other professions in the last 20 years.
I bet a plumber or sparkie would earn more than a GP

"I can pick up the phone and read a text".

55749cbcc7c847d9a898e3029baf1bde.jpg
Wow this is sad. Which is it, are you are a 12 year old kid who thinks this is funny? Or a 40 year old whos trying to stay 'cool'

Tradie rates have gone through the roof more than all other professions in the last 20 years.

It's simple supply and demand, isn't it? If the rates are so awesome, it results in more people choosing it as a career, which means less work to go around, which means great hourly rates, not great yearly rates. Or, it means that people stop getting things built, because they're priced out of it.

Just to be clear, we're talking an average plumber or sparkie against an average GP?

http://www.payscale.com/research/AU/Job=General_Practitioner/Salary
http://www.payscale.com/research/AU/Job=Plumber/Hourly_Rate
http://www.payscale.com/research/AU/Job=Electrician/Hourly_Rate

According to those figures, for an average electrician to earn the same as an average GP, the electrician would need to work about 80 hours per week for 52 weeks per year. I know I'm supposed to believe that all tradesmen work 70 hours a week and earn 150k a year, but sorry, I don't buy it. Practically anyone could earn a shitload by giving away their weekends and holidays.

The ones that do earn a lot of money probably do because they work ridiculous hours (with the associated health risks of such a physical occupation) and/or they've got a good business operation going with solid book keeping good staff, apprentices etc., while my guess is the majority would not do much better than earn a reasonable/comfortable living (nothing wrong with that, incidentally). It's just that due to 'cashies' and the like, tradies can pretty much say they earn whatever they feel like. It's just up to us whether we believe it.

It's pretty similar - depending on the person and how many jobs/patients they squeeze into a day. Both can certainly earn $150-200k, or even more if they are in it mainly for the money. The ones who earn the most are often not the best though - they tend to cut corners and rush jobs/consultations. They are less thorough and committed.

Plumbers make more than sparkies on average, but both do very well if they are decent and know how to run a business. If you run your own business you'll do a lot better than somebody working for a contractor. But working for a contractor can still pay very well and it's Wubi less stress than finding your own clients and chasing down payments. Most tradies running their own business have their wife/partner doing the books, administration and answering phone calls. Doing it that way means a couple/family can easily trump what a professional couple will make in most professions.

It's simple supply and demand, isn't it? If the rates are so awesome, it results in more people choosing it as a career, which means less work to go around, which means great hourly rates, not great yearly rates. Or, it means that people stop getting things built, because they're priced out of it.

Just to be clear, we're talking an average plumber or sparkie against an average GP?

According to those figures, for an average electrician to earn the same as an average GP, the electrician would need to work about 80 hours per week for 52 weeks per year. I know I'm supposed to believe that all tradesmen work 70 hours a week and earn 150k a year, but sorry, I don't buy it. Practically anyone could earn a shitload by giving away their weekends and holidays.

The ones that do earn a lot of money probably do because they work ridiculous hours (with the associated health risks of such a physical occupation) and/or they've got a good business operation going with solid book keeping good staff, apprentices etc., while my guess is the majority would not do much better than earn a reasonable/comfortable living (nothing wrong with that, incidentally). It's just that due to 'cashies' and the like, tradies can pretty much say they earn whatever they feel like. It's just up to us whether we believe it.
I don't know how many tradies you've called in recent years, but having remodelled my house, I got a lot of quotes for various things and none of them quoted by hourly rates. They did it by the job - that is, they simply tell you what the job is worth to them. You don't need to think too hard to realise that the busy ones are pulling 1000 a day, no worries.

The prices for most of them were so exorbitant that wherever possible, I did the job myself. I only paid for electrical work and high pressure plumbing work. I couldn't have done what I did on my house if I paid the going rate. I'm short, the guys who have their businesses running like a well-oiled machine are absolutely raking it in. They wouldn't even know their own hourly rate if they had a week to think about it. They don't think that way.

It's pretty similar - depending on the person and how many jobs/patients they squeeze into a day. Both can certainly earn $150-200k, or even more if they are in it mainly for the money. The ones who earn the most are often not the best though - they tend to cut corners and rush jobs/consultations. They are less thorough and committed.

Plumbers make more than sparkies on average, but both do very well if they are decent and know how to run a business. If you run your own business you'll do a lot better than somebody working for a contractor. But working for a contractor can still pay very well and it's Wubi less stress than finding your own clients and chasing down payments. Most tradies running their own business have their wife/partner doing the books, administration and answering phone calls. Doing it that way means a couple/family can easily trump what a professional couple will make in most professions.
My point is 20 years ago the difference between GP's and Tradies was huge, now its very similar.

I don't know how many tradies you've called in recent years, but having remodelled my house, I got a lot of quotes for various things and none of them quoted by hourly rates. They did it by the job - that is, they simply tell you what the job is worth to them. You don't need to think too hard to realise that the busy ones are pulling 1000 a day, no worries.

Isn't that what a quote is? The cost of materials + the cost of the estimated labour? With estimated labour meaning hours spent on the job? 'Labour' means their hourly rate, multiplied by the hours that they expect to be spending at your house.

What I'm getting at is that people seem to think that the ones that earn big bucks are the rule, rather than the exception. And since so many of them run their own business, I think that unlike most other professions, there would be plumbers that earn tremendous money, others that are barely making ends meet and everything in between.

100k with a low barrier to entry trade job, just lol.

Maybe if he worked 80 hours a week.

Lol @ the fact you have no idea how much they can earn. Once he's out of his time if he was running his own show he gets paid the same as someone that has been out for 30 years.

I'm in bricklaying and know quite a few blokes making over 200k a year. One took 450 before tax during the boom (did work like a robot)

Isn't that what a quote is? The cost of materials + the cost of the estimated labour? With estimated labour meaning hours spent on the job? 'Labour' means their hourly rate, multiplied by the hours that they expect to be spending at your house.

No, that is not how they are doing it. That was my point. They will quote according to what the market will bear. They don't even need to see the specifics of the job to give a quote. If it was based on hourly rates, they would have to come to see every job and do a calculation before they could give an estimation. They would also have to give a disclaimer that says, "if I run into unforeseen complications, it might take longer and this is what I charge per hour." But this isn't what happened.

I actually did ask several times what their hourly rate is and got a flat out answer that they quote on the job, not by the clock. This is reflective of the fact that there are different specialties around and different numbers of people doing different types of jobs. Through experience, a canny businessman can work out what the maximum they can extract from a job before they will lose it due to being too expensive.
What I'm getting at is that people seem to think that the ones that earn big bucks are the rule, rather than the exception. And since so many of them run their own business, I think that unlike most other professions, there would be plumbers that earn tremendous money, others that are barely making ends meet and everything in between.
This part I can agree with. The skill of the businessman is separate from the skill of the trade. The clever businessmen are the ones who are raking it in. But that's also a skill learned on the job. A young tradie will study his boss and break out on his own once he is sure he can duplicate what he's seen his boss do. Some of them fail of course - these are the ones not making the big money. With supply not meeting demand in a lot of cases though, you have to be pretty hopeless not to make a very good income.

Wow this is sad. Which is it, are you are a 12 year old kid who thinks this is funny? Or a 40 year old whos trying to stay 'cool'
You think it's funny or cool that the literacy extent of a white Australian male at 32 years old is that they can read a text message on their phone?

You might be in need of more help than Jakey.

I've never got where people get the idea that Electricians earn so much money.. The average sparky wouldn't even get close (especially at the moment, there's a big oversupply from the boom), maybe working away doing long hours on a mine site or something. Plumbers do get paid significantly better though.

A bloke can hang out with some bikie and be castigated.

Different bloke can hang out with the ceo of james hardie who have killed ten times as many people and offshored their liability and noone bats an eyelash.

Hypocrisy.

This.

I worry about some of the people on this thread...Either they and their mates are perfect, they're massive hypocrites or they have no mates.

There's a difference between mates who aren't perfect and mates who are outlaw motorcycle gang members.

People also don't realise the high insurances that tradies need to pay to cover themselves and any staff they have, plus equipment, parts, vehicle costs, etc. Even with the high prices that are charged, there's not a ton of profit being made.

I can see how apprentices and young plumbers (who aren't the owners) look like they're making a ton of money and living large, because compared to their peers (who might still be at school or uni), they probably are, especially if they're still living at home and have no financial responsibilities, and can just blow it all on partying every weekend.

You think it's funny or cool that the literacy extent of a white Australian male at 32 years old is that they can read a text message on their phone?

You might be in need of more help than Jakey.
No, the fact that you posted the double facepalm picture. Come on man. Seriously?
Do you wear "Keep calm and xxxxx t shirts aswell"? Hows Big bang theory going? Still the funniest show of all time? Lmao.

Actually it says a lot more about you. You've got some deep seated hatred for the Catholic Church. That's fine, so long as you are aware it.

I can live happily live with that.

I absolutely hate all religious organisations. The Catholic Church perpetrates all manner of evil, whilst not paying taxes and convincing the gullible to place faith in an imaginary friend as a means to control populations and raise revenue. You bet I have issues with politicians like Tony Abbott who hide behind their "faith" whilst making laws that deny basic human decencies such as gay marriage and euthanasia.

And I have the biggest issues of all with the idiots who believe this religious garbage yet haven't had the burden of proof placed upon them. They indoctrinate future generations without having to provide one shred of evidence to back up their crap. The same idiots who come on here, trash a guy like Jake King for hanging around with Toby Mitchell yet defend the bloody Pope who is responsible for more evil than a guy like Toby Mitchell could ever imagine.

Any sane, logical, decent person should have issues with these things.

Oh yeah i forgot it was school holidays..........

Ahh, they sucked you in too.

Basically we are now debating this issue with an idiot. Thanks for clearing that up.

Perhaps you can pray for us when you next speak to your imaginary friend.

Lol @ the fact you have no idea how much they can earn. Once he's out of his time if he was running his own show he gets paid the same as someone that has been out for 30 years.

I'm in bricklaying and know quite a few blokes making over 200k a year. One took 450 before tax during the boom (did work like a robot)
Brickys deserve every cent they make, did one day of bricklaying and couldn't move for a month, insane amount of damage that gets done to the body of a bricky over a lifetime is nuts.