Jake King on Open Mike

The church has plenty of issues, but this thread has got nothing to do with it, and comparing it to Hitler is absurd

You're right, I probably was being a bit fesitious, the Catholic Church are way worse than Hitler. He only had 12 years at it, the church have been going strong for centuries.

No, the fact that you posted the double facepalm picture. Come on man. Seriously?
Do you wear "Keep calm and xxxxx t shirts aswell"? Hows Big bang theory going? Still the funniest show of all time? Lmao.
I don't watch that crap.
The funniest show of all time is the Richmond finals. Can't wait for the next EP!

It's simple supply and demand, isn't it? If the rates are so awesome, it results in more people choosing it as a career, which means less work to go around, which means great hourly rates, not great yearly rates. Or, it means that people stop getting things built, because they're priced out of it.

Just to be clear, we're talking an average plumber or sparkie against an average GP?

http://www.payscale.com/research/AU/Job=General_Practitioner/Salary
http://www.payscale.com/research/AU/Job=Plumber/Hourly_Rate
http://www.payscale.com/research/AU/Job=Electrician/Hourly_Rate

According to those figures, for an average electrician to earn the same as an average GP, the electrician would need to work about 80 hours per week for 52 weeks per year. I know I'm supposed to believe that all tradesmen work 70 hours a week and earn 150k a year, but sorry, I don't buy it. Practically anyone could earn a shitload by giving away their weekends and holidays.

The ones that do earn a lot of money probably do because they work ridiculous hours (with the associated health risks of such a physical occupation) and/or they've got a good business operation going with solid book keeping good staff, apprentices etc., while my guess is the majority would not do much better than earn a reasonable/comfortable living (nothing wrong with that, incidentally). It's just that due to 'cashies' and the like, tradies can pretty much say they earn whatever they feel like. It's just up to us whether we believe it.

Do those figures include the side jobs tradies do for cash in hand?

I can live happily live with that.

I absolutely hate all religious organisations. The Catholic Church perpetrates all manner of evil, whilst not paying taxes and convincing the gullible to place faith in an imaginary friend as a means to control populations and raise revenue. You bet I have issues with politicians like Tony Abbott who hide behind their "faith" whilst making laws that deny basic human decencies such as gay marriage and euthanasia.

And I have the biggest issues of all with the idiots who believe this religious garbage yet haven't had the burden of proof placed upon them. They indoctrinate future generations without having to provide one shred of evidence to back up their crap. The same idiots who come on here, trash a guy like Jake King for hanging around with Toby Mitchell yet defend the bloody Pope who is responsible for more evil than a guy like Toby Mitchell could ever imagine.

Any sane, logical, decent person should have issues with these things.

All good points, conflating faith with logic is rather ludicrous. For all the evil the church has done they do a lot of good. The salvos work tirelessly help the underprivileged, as do St Vinnie's, the Catholic equivalent. Diverting money from the needy to the bureaucratic vortex via taxation may not be the great idea some think it to be.
Just enforce some stronger scrutiny on spend so they don't funnel money into expensive defence of paedos etc.
Hitler's solution to the underprivileged was to off them to reduce the burden on everyone else.

Jake King seems to have got the best of his ability, might have a dodgy matter but doesn't appear to be crooked himself

Yup

If you gave me a book on John Daly I'd read it

If you gave me a book on nick Faldo ....id use to start my fire

If Nathan Buckley wrote a book I wouldn't read it

I've read Kevin sheedys books

Give me a character with a tough past over clean living superstars

Jake had something .....forged a career in footy and made something of himself .....we should be applauding that and saying hey you can be from the hood and still make it not making character judgements ...
Buckley's book was actually a decent read. Very warts and all

Do those figures include the side jobs tradies do for cash in hand?

I don't see why not. It's represented as an hourly rate for the plumbers and electricians v a salary for a GP. Since my understanding is that the cash in hand jobs are usually 'mates rates' kind of stuff if anything (i.e. you're hardly going to ask for double time for a cash in hand job to install a hot water unit for a bloke from the footy club, or at your uncle's place), I'm not sure why that couldn't be factored in pretty easily. Or why we seem to assume that all plumbers and electricians are working 60+ hours, but we don't seem to assume that there might be just as many plumbers and electricians that are struggling to find enough work to fill in a full week.

If it was that easy to earn six figures per year as a plumber or electrician, there'd be twice as many people pursuing it as a career.

Understandably. If I had to wallow in other peoples shit I'd be charging a pretty penny too
Pity nurses and community workers gets **** all for doing that too.

But I suppose an overpaid tradie should be able to use any justifcation for earning far more than others who jobs add far more value for the community.

Pity nurses and community workers gets **** all for doing that too.

But I suppose an overpaid tradie should be able to use any justifcation for earning far more than others who jobs add far more value for the community.
What a lot of BS, you sayng tradies aren't a value to the community?

Last time i was at my local hospital there were tradies everywhere building a new oncology wing

Get over yourself
Why?

Because I answered your question and don't agree with the over inflated wages that plumbers recieve for "wallowing in other people's shit", where there are plenty of other professions that does the same aspect of the job you have describe.

Yet they do this aspect of the job at a much lower wage in comparison....and as a result are far less valued in society than an over paid tradie...despite providing far more contribution to society by looking after the most vulnerable and sick in the community.

Fair point. Maybe.

Read somewhere that Sheedy knocked around with a few blokes during his days as a plumber who wound up in jail. Nobody ever mentions it.
Were they also meth dealing, women bashing, extortionists that Sheedy knocked around with?

Why?

Because I answered your question and don't agree with the over inflated wages that plumbers recieve for "wallowing in other people's shit", where there are plenty of other professions that does the same aspect of the job you have describe.

Yet they do this aspect of the job at a much lower wage in comparison....and as a result are far less valued in society than an over paid tradie...despite providing far more contribution to society by looking after the most vulnerable and sick in the community.
So any job that doesn't look after the vulnerable and sick, is over paid in your eyes?