Recommitted Jamarra Ugle-Hagan [re-signed for 2 more years]

The backline has plenty of young talent. O'Donnell looks like a gem, Busslinger is coming through, just recruited Croft to play backline ... Darcy is a capable defender as well

That's just the tall timber. There are medium defenders and runners too.

Forward line is stacked

It's literally only the midfield and there's young talent there with more not far away by draft (father sons)

Worry about Carlton

Why are the Dogs underperforming ? Genuinely curious because it seems most years the Dogs are voted to be there about but never get close to the pointy end of the season

W
Where's the 650k coming from?
Essendon fan posted it on page 2 so take it with a grain of salt
My post was a suggestion and nothing of the permanency some on BigFooty like to yell from the roof tops..

Would you stay in your comfort, current job, knowing you've been under-terming for a club for significantly less or would you go knowing your career could go to soaring heights

Why are the Dogs underperforming ? Genuinely curious because it seems most years the Dogs are voted to be there about but never get close to the pointy end of the season

Midfield doesn't actually bat deep, once Liam Jones went down with that injury last season their backline fell apart, speculation of players and coaching staff disconnection

they won the flag in 2016, that was 7 years ago. im not buying the one or two years, but the last 7 of underperforming?

It's not easy to win flags in a 18 team comp.

They did make another GF a couple of years ago.

As I say, Dogs need some reinforcements, esp in the midfield and backline dept.

Basically, the coach is a stubborn fwit and sounds like he’s hopefully been given a big wake up call . We will find out early next year anyway

Not an apologist for Bevo but seems to me your season went to the ****er after Liam Jones missed almost 3 months of footy through injury. He was one of your most important players last season..
Also you were knocked out of finals contention in the final round/game of the season (my boys decided to not give a * in the final game against GWS)

I don't know if it's an inflated expectation mindset after winning the 2016 flag but I sometimes think some of you Dogs fans are way top harsh on Bevo.

Not an apologist for Bevo but seems to me your season went to the ****er after Liam Jones missed almost 3 months of footy through injury. He was one of your most important players last season..
Also you were knocked out of finals contention in the final round/game of the season (my boys decided to not give a * in the final game against GWS)

I don't know if it's an inflated expectation mindset after winning the 2016 flag but I sometimes think some of you Dogs fans are way top harsh on Bevo.

I think the harshness is fair. Dogs have had their chances with Eade and Wallace in the past but with Bevo it looked like time to have our turn where we could look forward to continued success with a fairly young team. Everyone enjoyed the flag and to some extend a second grand final but those first week of finals or missing out are just wasted years. A lot of gameday tactics and list issues seemly ignored over multiple seasons. Meanwhile premiers like Richmond and Geelong kept evolving. You don’t have the Bont forever either.

But yes there are far worse, for example, Ken Hinkley. The Dogs did lose a lot of games under a goal or two in 2023.

Disagree, at 21 he had 70 shots on goal

Spot on mate..

I don't think he will ever reach the heights of Buddy Franklin which he was unfairly compared to before he was drafted, but he will a Coleman or two (or thereabouts) as he
keeps learning the game and puts on a bit more size/muscle on him.

Spot on mate..

I don't think he will ever reach the heights of Buddy Franklin which he was unfairly compared to before he was drafted, but he will a Coleman or two (or thereabouts) as he
keeps learning the game and puts on a bit more size/muscle on him.
If buddy is the standard then it might be decades before anyone reaches it, if ever.

JUH is growing into his game nicely. Very jealous.

If buddy is the standard then it might be decades before anyone reaches it, if ever.

JUH is growing into his game nicely. Very jealous.

Just remember friend, he could very well have been a Geelong player, so be thankful for small mercies :)

Oh i am well aware. Also either he or mcdonald would have been a Hawk if he hadn't been a dodgy nga to begin with.

I honestly don't know why Vic clubs need NGAs tbh but I reckon Jamarra would be very slick in the Brown and.Gold !

Could've been a Crows player too

I know the Crows bid on JUH, but I honestly believe they would have taken the local kid Thilthorpe with their first pick that season if there was no academy bidding

Thilthorpe has been good for the Crows too, I think he will have a bright future but he'll never get to JUH levels.
On the flip side they won't have to pay a mill a year to keep him

My post was a suggestion and nothing of the permanency some on BigFooty like to yell from the roof tops..

Would you stay in your comfort, current job, knowing you've been under-terming for a club for significantly less or would you go knowing your career could go to soaring heights

It was a silly example.

The Dogs will know the market rate and pay it.

As for leaving the Dogs to join Essendon to reach soaring heights?

How high have Essendon 'soared' in the past 10 years? Off field it remains a factionalised mess which flip flops all over the place and isn't a stable organisation. They certainly haven't sold themselves as a high achieving successful club on field either.