James Hird

• Thread starter Thread starter Fino

Ok, now that James Hird is no longer playing for Essendon, i have nothing against him. In fact i really enjoy his views on the game when on "On the couch". But bloody hell, the guy is pretty dorky. I mean what the hell is with the bow tie?

It's a black tie event. Just because the current generation dont seem to understand the black tie concept dosent mean others shouldnt.

the more worrying thing for Carlton supporters should have been Fev's blatant disrespect for his captain. All that pressure point stuff is so-so and could be tolerated, but that outburst at the end where Judd is walking away and Fev screams "YOU'RE F****** SHIT!" - that is a concern when your overpaid and inconsistent forward is ridiculing your even more overpaid but head and shoulders best player and leader.

with the whole Hird not wishing to be political, maybe he was saving Brendan from making a disastrous comment on National TV. And not intending to put him down.

Spot on. If more people reacted like Hird did he might get the message. Its people who indulge him that let him believe that what his does is funny and charming who are part of the problem. He was like an 18 year old on his first night out. If Brendan could not kick a football he would be wearing a yellow vest digging holes, then he would just be the guy at the pub you try to avoid.

Spot on, couldnt put it better myself.

the more worrying thing for Carlton supporters should have been Fev's blatant disrespect for his captain. All that pressure point stuff is so-so and could be tolerated, but that outburst at the end where Judd is walking away and Fev screams "YOU'RE F****** SHIT!" - that is a concern when your overpaid and inconsistent forward is ridiculing your even more overpaid but head and shoulders best player and leader.

:thumbsu: This.

Although I disagree with the overpaid part of your post (not that I know what either of them are really being paid but given the impact that Juddy has had on Carlton I find it difficult to believe he is being overpaid), I agree with the sentiment. I found myself cringing at how Fev was interacting with Juddy. Saying that, I am confident that he was demonstrating that sort of respect (lack of) to everyone.
I am pleased I am not in charge of the football club as I am unsure as to how to proceed with Fev. Part of me thinks that Fev is currupting our younger players and should be sacked (and if the football club does not act, it may continue to destroy our "culture") and another part of me feels that our forward line is awful and without him, the team also suffers dramatically which leads to more onfield pain and Carlton have had more than enough of that recently.
If the rumours of Bradshaw are correct and he wants to come to Vic, I would be inclined to offer Brissy a straight swap with Fev.
It may turn out to be a win-win.
Fev goes to a Brissy whereby he can keep a lower profile, get a serious reality check in that he cannot get away with everything and hence hopefully clean up his act. Brissy get arguable the best full forward in the league
Carlton get a very good replacement for Fev and someone who, although injury prone, is more than capable of kicking goals and someone who will seemingly not currupt young players.

My estimation of him went up after watching that, he's a pretty funny drunk. Whole thing remains extraordinarily hypocritical - Cooney was obviously wasted as well and Aker was so shitfaced he didn't even make it to the Brownlow, but that's ok because...?

But hey man, having someone wasted at an awards night is a slur on the club and code! If only a massively bloated corporate criminal like Dick Pratt was still alive to sort it all out, everything would be ok.

funny when drunk?? try ****ing annoying. he's one of those overbearing "let's get away from him" drunks. there's a difference between what he is, and a happy drunk.

sure, most people may have found it amusing (as i did) because we're merely a spectating audience to his antics, but if you were personally in the position of people like Judd, Brayshaw, etc, on the night, he wouldve been a real pain in the arse. All well and good if everyone's hitting the sauce and acting like a tosser, but if one bloke in a group is on a different level to the others, then it really isnt fun at all.

no wonder he gets into so much trouble when he's out on the turps. His teammates and friends will generally accept it because they know that's just how he is and snotting him will bring on more problems for the club, but the the average joe blow who is big enough to take him on would tire of it pretty quick.

I thaink James was just sober.

I don't mind talking to drunks when I've had some refreshments myself, but it's painful trying to converse them when you're stone cold Steve Austin.

I always think, 'Is that what I'm like when I'm drunk?' and shudder.

The way drunks repeat themselves when you're sober becomes tiresome too.
Though Fevs been repeating himself for 10 years now, and some people are only beginning to tire of the act.

The "Just Think" campaign has it's flaws with people like Brendan Fevolva, because let's be honest, he is proved to be incapable of it.

Fevola has to be the dumbest person in the world relative to salary. Anybody standing next to him sounds intelligent, so Hird naturally came across as a class act and genius. Why have channel 9 turned this boofhead Fevola into a celebrity? My guess is that the footy show in general appeals to the lowest common denominator. Anyway looking forward to seeing that idiot excite then dismally frustrate the Carlton faithful once again next year.

The footage of Fev tonight on TFS confirms one thing. That James Hird is a class act. You can have money and talent, but decorum and decency is priceless.

Also confirmed Fev is a first grade BOGAN!

I felt Jim was trying to think of Fev when Fev mentioned talking politics and Jim said "Do you want to talk politics in that state?" (not word for word i know)

Poor form for Fev to get offended - not suprising, but poor form. I feel that Jim was trying to save Fev from saying something he would regret...

What idiot would approve Fev having a Microphone on Brownlow p!ssup night.

They should be instantly dismissed.

It's funny how Nine gets a free pass on this one.

Does anyone think they didn't want Fevola drunk and being obnoxious with the microphone?

When he gets too out of control they can wash their hands of it, still take the publicity, and throw the ball back in Carlton's court.

I like both the guys but I actually thought it was Hird that looked the tool. Clearly Fev was maggoted yet Hird had to state the obvious. He could have played along a bit and had a bit of laugh with Fev. The PC/Role model thing has really become a joke. Australians have become a boring nation of witch hunters that just love to crucify those in the limelight. All those that have come out in public to denounce Fev look like a bunch do-gooder nobs. If I was Fev I would not apologise or back down as this was a private function and people can live as they see fit. He didn't hurt anyone and those screaming sexual harrassment need to get a life. CH 9 may be miffed as they lost some footage but if they all were TRULY concerned about Fev's behaviour they would not have released any footage at all. Just proves it is all about a bunch of total w***ers in their Ivory Towers that love to stand in judgement of others to make them feel like big men (and women). No wonder AFL is becoming as soft as shite on field.

Stick it right up them Fev - bunch of boring twats.

Good to see J Brown fire them up at the MVP night too - he too is sick of the boring do-gooders taking over the AFL. It is Australian Rules footy for Chist-sake! Not an auditors conference!

Some of you guys sound like a bunch of arrogant w***ers. You can't judge people just because they're loud when they have a few beers. You can't judge people just because they might not be as intelligent as the next bloke. You certainly can't judge people who work with the council and say that you'd avoid them at the pub just for this reason. Some of the nicest, most genuine people I know have menial jobs. Some of you need to stop smelling your own farts and look up the definition of the word 'yuppie'.

If you don't like what Fev is doing, I suggest you're following the wrong sport. It's characters like Fev that make our game great and it's sad to see the AFL becoming just a collection of overpaid, PC robots.

It's funny how Nine gets a free pass on this one.

Does anyone think they didn't want Fevola drunk and being obnoxious with the microphone?

When he gets too out of control they can wash their hands of it, still take the publicity, and throw the ball back in Carlton's court.

Buck stops with Fev. He's 28 years old.

If you don't like what Fev is doing, I suggest you're following the wrong sport. It's characters like Fev that make our game great and it's sad to see the AFL becoming just a collection of overpaid, PC robots.

James Hird made the game great.

Hird is all class.
Fev might be a star on the field and very generous to charity etc when sober, but he obviously has a problem with having too much booze and then acting like a complete d!ckhead.

Fevola has to be the dumbest person in the world relative to salary. Anybody standing next to him sounds intelligent, so Hird naturally came across as a class act and genius. Why have channel 9 turned this boofhead Fevola into a celebrity? My guess is that the footy show in general appeals to the lowest common denominator. Anyway looking forward to seeing that idiot excite then dismally frustrate the Carlton faithful once again next year.

Hird has a degree in engineering so he has proven himself to have a brain. Fev, however :confused:

The presence of cameras and the fact it was broadcast on Channel 7 nationwide pretty much implied it wasn't a private function mate.