James Sicily

Difference being that Rance can play as a genuine key defender. When he's not heroically playing loose off second gamers.

Gibson was a good player, but it's bizarre that their own fan base don't see that both he and Sicily share the same limitations. Hawthorn's defence was iffy after Croad retired and has been iffy since Lake retired and that's no coincidence. Sicily could well be part of another great back 6, but he's not going to be the cornerstone of it.
A defence needs six players thanks for letting us in on the secret. Gibbo however was the best performed individual during two of our premiership year. Given the talent on our list during those years its bloody accomplishment.

Gibson, Rance and Sicily are living proof that top shelf midfielders make unaccountable defensive stat collectors.

How many B&Fs did he win without Brian Lake?

Lol so i get your reasoning Brian Lake was the reason Gibson won. Why didnt birchall win it or stratts or anyone else in the backline or any other player in that team. What i said was factually correct and irrefutable

It's worth mentioning that playing as a defender on one of the big name key forwards, getting up the ground and kicking a goal and then NOT getting stuck into your opponent on the way back to your spots (unless you're down by like 10 goals) should be a fineable offence.

Lol so i get your reasoning Brian Lake was the reason Gibson won. Why didnt birchall win it or stratts or anyone else in the backline or any other player in that team. What i said was factually correct and irrefutable

It isn't rocket science. Gibson played 10 more games than Birchall across his 2 B&F years but anyway, he generally got more of the ball, took more marks and was the third man up at more contests. Lake was a vital cog for his 3 years. Take Lake out and everyone moves up a rung in defensive responsibility.

Why didn't Stratton win it? Well that's a good point. Players like him aren't rated as highly as they should be. I would rather play Hawthorn this year minus Stratton than Sicily, yet here we are on the main board with a circle jerk thread about the latter and the former gets nothing.

It isn't rocket science. Gibson played 10 more games than Birchall across his 2 B&F years but anyway, he generally got more of the ball, took more marks and was the third man up at more contests. Lake was a vital cog for his 3 years. Take Lake out and everyone moves up a rung in defensive responsibility.

Why didn't Stratton win it? Well that's a good point. Players like him aren't rated as highly as they should be. I would rather play Hawthorn this year minus Stratton than Sicily, yet here we are on the main board with a circle jerk thread about the latter and the former gets nothing.
Stratts is a great defender and yes very underrated. Every team has different role players. Once again its the coaches that give out the awards perhaps ure not getting it best individual performances during the two premiership years

Good player, flog of a person.

Deliberately standing on a person while wearing sprigs? Terrible for a junior, disgraceful for an adult.

He came second in 2011 to that spud Sam Mitchell playing most of the year as the number one defender.

Casually finishing ahead of guys like Lewis, Hodge, Franklin, Rioli, Burgoyne etc. He also won Hawthorn's award for the best performed player in finals that year.

Got away with cheating is a better way to describe it. Crap footballer who is only good restricting others.

Certainly something to celebrate.
Haha as I've said that's a bit rich coming from hawthorn fans. Seriously you guys have been the biggest snipers going around for a decade. When the shoe is on the other foot you sook. Lamb pushed and shoved Sicily around. Your blokes have gut punched blokes.

Is unsociable footy only OK when it's a hawthorn player?

Haha as I've said that's a bit rich coming from hawthorn fans. Seriously you guys have been the biggest snipers going around for a decade. When the shoe is on the other foot you sook. Lamb pushed and shoved Sicily around. Your blokes have gut punched blokes.

Is unsociable footy only OK when it's a hawthorn player?

Given how many fines and weeks have been handed out to Hawthorn players Id say they have been treated reasonably by the MRP.

Rubbish. Fines are nothing and your blokes got a lot of them for whacking blokes in the stomach. You are such a hypocrite. If the roles were reversed you'd be saying how great lamb was at being a pest. You guys celebrated being unsociable hawks and pushing the rules to the limit. Lamb did nothing that hawthorn players haven't done. Sicily has made a habit of digging his shoes and knees into blokes when they are on the ground. Lamb didn't do anything nearly that bad.

Not really - was more a media thing.

So why has Lamb done nothing since that game? And really did not a lot before that game.

Not really - was more a media thing.
Well not from what I read. It was a part of your whole attitude. And I'm not criticising. You guys were ruthless and tough. Playing against hawthorn was so tough because they would get stuck into you. I wish my club was more like that I'm just pointing out the double standard when it comes back your way

So why has Lamb done nothing since that game? And really did not a lot before that game.
Because Jed Lamb is a spud. I'm not disputing that. This all started because I said it would be interesting to see if opposition clubs would try something similar as it was effective. I also said I really like Sicily. I just can't believe your sooking about it

I like Sicily. Brings a bit if character to the game.

I loved it when Jed Lamb got stuck into him last year and his bottom lip hit the ground. I can't believe more clubs don't try and put him off his game as he seems ultra aware and sensitive about what is said about him. Like he would be so easy to get to and distract.

He is great at doing that to others but a prime target himself

There haven't been many players do what Lamb did because he managed to push the boundary all night and got away with it. Sicily was scragged and held at every opportunity and when he retaliated, he got pinged ( I believe the AFL said as much in the week following). It was a masterclass in being an annoying campaigner from Lamb but its rare that a player can tag that hard and get away with it all night almost scot free.

That said, watch him get some close attention in the next month. Maybe not this week because I don't rate Horse as a coach but in the coming months for sure. You would be cray not to try and put a fwd tagger on him and try and do what Lamb did.

Thing is, he is 23. Once he matures and gets his emotions a little bit more in check, he could be anything.

check out his facebook parody account. enjoy clayton oliver and adam treloar's work as well.