Freoman

Rookie
I will start this post from the outset by saying that I have never liked James Walker as a player and have called for his head for a long time. Have always thought that he is soft, has poor decision making skills (especially from stationary kicks), all too often sold other players into trouble.

I will say this however, Last night I thought he was our best player on the ground with Headland, another often maligned player, was excellent.

Walker backed his pace and was seen running down the wings and delivering the ball well into the forward line. I also thought he did some good work in traffic, particularly his spinning handball to Duffield inside the defensive 50.

If Walker can manage to continue last night's form, I would expect to see him play the Round ! game against Port. After last year's performance in the early half of the season after which he was dropped, I must say that a breathed a sigh of relief and hoped that he would see his Freo career out in 2007 playing for the Thunder.

The question remains? Will he come back into the team playing the same brand of footy as last night or will it be the James Walker of old? Interested to hear your thoughts?

Walker displayed last night what some players in the past have not. That is, they are not good enough as they are, and if they do not continue to strive to be their best, and if they do not change their style of play, then they are not in the best 22. Sunday night it looked like Walker had suddenly discovered that he has some weapons.

There are quite a few players, perhaps 26, on our list who if they play their best football 'should' be in our best 22. So the mathematics is not going to work. But consistency is what Walker will need to find. I think Walker can have a significant role to play for us this year, and maybe earn a contract extension.

I'm not a fan of Walker but last nite he was great. My problem with him before was that he didn't break the lines enough and when he did he was not damaging. Late nite Walker broke the lines and started to hit targets. Only one game but I can see Walker playing alot at Subi with the wide open spaces.

Too early to tell. Played really well last night but I counted at least three handpasses that missed targets -- it might have been four as well as a number of kicks.

But his performance would have really out his name on front of the match committee.

I will start by saying I am a Jimmy fan - but mostly because I am a girl, and I like him for his boyish good looks, and the fact he comes across as such a genuine, nice person... I would love to see him play another 9 games, get to 150 and Life Membership of our club. :thumbsu:

Yes, he was terrific last night - got the ball heaps, ran hard, didn't shirk, and did eveything you could ask. However, his disposal is still suspect - I reckon at least a quarter of his possessions ended in turnovers. Eliminate that factor through the pre-season, and he could cement himself a spot in the starting line-up. I'd like to see that. :)

However, his disposal is still suspect - I reckon at least a quarter of his possessions ended in turnovers. Eliminate that factor through the pre-season, and he could cement himself a spot in the starting line-up. I'd like to see that. :)

He's had ten pre-seasons at the club IP, can't see his disposal skills improving a great deal in the next month.

I had written him off, he came out and basically played Peakes game, on the day, better than Peake. I think they can both play in the same team as well, that speed would be deadly.

Walker was the slowest fastest man in the game, if that makes sense. Now he's actually running - he's actually pretty valuable - even with the few turnovers he did.

Will be interesting to see where he takes it.

It'll be tough for the selection committee to find the right balance of players in the 22. One week we'll look slow and tough, the next fast and weak.

I'm finding it really tough to place him in the best 22. Though the form he displayed he looks to be ahead of Peake at this stage but behind Headland.

If only he did a McManus and came back with a perfect kicking style.

In fact i think McManus must be looking over his shoulder. Especially if Walker starts sticking his tackles like last night.

Walker is the quickest player in the club, no question. But he doesn't have an awful lot else going for him. He's not big, his disposal isn't great, he's not strong in man on man contests. So he has got to learn to use his pace to maximum effect. If he does that then he can be in our best 22.

And I reckon if we maintain the play on at all costs game plan, he's a chance to do that.

Poor disposal / decision making saw him out of the team last year. Nothing has changed. He tried very hard and got heaps of ball but it means nothing if you turn it over.

He's had ten pre-seasons at the club IP, can't see his disposal skills improving a great deal in the next month.

Macca smartened himself up after a dozen pre-seasons! :thumbsu:

But yes, it there was a smiley for a conspiratorial wink, then I would have used it. I would love to see Grandson in there, he's a stalwart, a been-there-forever, all-round good guy... and he's looking better than he has in the last 10 years. He's obviously listened to what the coaching staff have told him he needs to do and he's done it. :thumbsu:

Just can't see him being a permanent fixture. Sadly. :(

i have faith in grandson, his pace will be a deadly weapon this year and he will get life membership. and as his big footy buddy, i take all the credit in his form turnaround :D

Walker would have to be the quickest player in the AFL and i have seen him do some great shut down jobs. By the way who is consistent at freemantle apart from pavlich and bell? Walker is definaelt in your best 22. Rips it up for Perth and if givin a chance is exactly what freo needs for the chance. Alot of the time he turns it over when there are no targets. Stronger forawrd line will help his decision making.

Good to get a Melburn perspective on Freemantle zanderm.

I will start this post from the outset by saying that I have never liked James Walker as a player and have called for his head for a long time. Have always thought that he is soft, has poor decision making skills (especially from stationary kicks), all too often sold other players into trouble.

I will say this however, Last night I thought he was our best player on the ground with Headland, another often maligned player, was excellent.

Walker backed his pace and was seen running down the wings and delivering the ball well into the forward line. I also thought he did some good work in traffic, particularly his spinning handball to Duffield inside the defensive 50.

If Walker can manage to continue last night's form, I would expect to see him play the Round ! game against Port. After last year's performance in the early half of the season after which he was dropped, I must say that a breathed a sigh of relief and hoped that he would see his Freo career out in 2007 playing for the Thunder.

The question remains? Will he come back into the team playing the same brand of footy as last night or will it be the James Walker of old? Interested to hear your thoughts?

Freo Man you are a joke , This guys football pedigree has long been unnoticed in our team. Fair enough the latter part of 2005 and the early part of 2006 he went through an little injury crisis that went under the medias micricroscope , he is over it now and the man will stand up better tahn ever before cause thats the only way to get back into the team. He is twice the player than a show poney like Schammer

Bit rich calling Freo Man a joke for not rating Walker when in your post you rate Schammer as a "show poney".

The thing that really sh1ts me about this site is that everyone is quick to jump on you for having an opinion. I might be a joke but your clearly are an A-Grade d1ckhead!:mad:

Might I remind you that it was my opinion and one that seems to be shared by the majority of posters on this board and also fellow Freo supporters that I have talked too over a number of years.

I would suggest that you take a good look at yourself mate. It seems OK for you to bag another player in Schammer who in my opinion has played with a lot more heart and intensity than Walker ever has.

What makes Schammer a show pony? I am sure your superior intelect and football knowledge will enlighten all Bigfooty readers as to why he is a show pony.