Jan 4th Training Session

tinman said:
Worth keeping an eye on - if Andrews can put his hand up and play this year it will be a huge bonus.

BTW thanks for the reports.
No way he'll play for 2 more years - great skills but not strong enough by a mile .

Stiffy_18 said:
I
Wayne's-World and Markthirytwo, how did the likes of Hentschel, Schuback and Jericho and Scott Thompson train?:)
Hentschell trained the house down and looks most impressive. Has put on the kg's he said he would over the summer and is now very solid.

Schuback trained OK but didn't stand out or look dramatically different from last year - TWT.

Must admit didn't spot either Jericho or Thompson on the track - but was spending a lot of time on recognising the big guys :o

outback jack said:
what about scott stevens ?? He was so thin last yr, has he put some weight on?? I saw van berlo before chrismas break and he looked too light for afl at the moment, he could only play on a wing or half back at the moment right??
Well Scott Stevens looked about the same as last year and didn't impress much, but must remember it's hard to spend time watching all the players and be accurate in your accessment.

Von Berlo yes a flanker, but possibly could be a midfielder - certainly has the fitness and speed, and was most impressed with his disposal.
Can't see his build, which is better than Skippy, holding him back.

Kane McGoodwin said:
Great report WW. :)

If M Stevens & Perrie have great years, we should make the finals.

Talking of forwards, could Gibson end up being better than Watts? I just home at least 1 turns out to be a gun.

Von Berlo sounds like a great athelete & the most likely of the new draftees to get games.
Didn't watch much of Gibson, but he has a magnificant build girls, and if he plays as agressively as reported he is going to do some real damage.

On Watts, point taken on OP Stiffy, but I would have expected a bit more development upperbody wise.
Made a lot of skill errors, but as was said hasn't trained a great deal so that could explain.

Stiffy_18 said:
Well if they both said its Andrews then its Andrews. Like you I would be very surprised (positively of course) if Rowan has improved his kicking that much. His kicking last year was mechanical at best and he was kicking with a bent leg :confused:

I guess its a positive :)

No its still bent and not much follow through but the results were encouraging.

Stiffy_18 said:
I think he needs to put on some 10kg before he is reasonably ready for AFL footy. He can play but he "did" have a very akward kicking style. Great pair of hands, good below his knees and great 3nd and 3rd efforts. Still a fair way to go to be AFL ready. Might get a game or 2 in the Wizard Cup.

Wayne's-World and Markthirytwo, how did the likes of Hentschel, Schuback and Jericho and Scott Thompson train?:)

Hentschel seemed to coast to me didnt put a great deal of effort, didnt notice Schuey or Jericho. Didnt think Benny was there either, but noticed him on TV later. So didnt get an overall perspective on all the guys.

Stiffy_18 said:
I think he needs to put on some 10kg before he is reasonably ready for AFL footy. He can play but he "did" have a very akward kicking style. Great pair of hands, good below his knees and great 3nd and 3rd efforts. Still a fair way to go to be AFL ready. Might get a game or 2 in the Wizard Cup.

Hentschel seemed to coast to me, didnt put a great deal of effort but wasnt watching him early so my judgement may be a bit off, didnt notice Schuey or Jericho. Didnt think Benny was there either, but noticed him on TV later. So didnt get an overall perspective on all the guys sorry.

Wayne's-World said:
macca23 said:
Great report WW - top stuff mate!!

Question: Could the guy you thought was Andrews be Meeson?? It sounded like Andrews until you got to the kicking stage, because Meeson is a great kick, and Andrews has a very distinct awkward kicking style.

Sounds overall as if our draft choices are looking promising, particularly Van Berlo. Certainly the good judges think he will be the first of the 5 to play AFL and possibly by the end of this year.

Disappointing about Watts - sounds like he hasn't improved on last year, although it's early days, and he still has a bit of OP.

QUOTE]
Just looked on the website still can't tell whether it was Andrews or Griffen I was watching - definately not Meeson.
If as you say Andrews has an awkward kicking style then it was probably Griffen - good prospect IMO

Yes Von Berlo definately impressive - looked every bit a ready made AFL player now - expect to see him play sooner than later :)

Pretty sure Griffen has curly hair and didnt wear a cap where Andrews had long hair and wore a cap.

good reading regarding the younger players i guess we will be able to see more when the trial games get played (anyone know when this is ?)

good right up as well well done guys ! i missed the new last night so this is the only (and the best) info I can get !!

This thread as in the past has long been looked for in my eyes & once again thanks to all those that take time out to post their own observations on training so that those of us who can't get out there can at least have your reports to rely on. :)

Wayne's-World said:
Von Berlo yes a flanker, but possibly could be a midfielder - certainly has the fitness and speed, and was most impressed with his disposal.
Can't see his build, which is better than Skippy, holding him back.

Pretty sure the club see him as a lightning quick wingman of the future - something we have never really had the luxury of.

Thanks a heap for the reports guys, its great to hear any form of news, and the season seems a lot closer this side of the New Year.

Regardless of how many see him, I'd love for Gibson to become a forward. With Rutten and Ken taking the two key defensive posts, it would be great to have someone of Chad's build, athleticism and aggression in the forward line.

Is Knights not training because of injury?

macca23 said:
Pretty sure the club see him as a lightning quick wingman of the future - something we have never really had the luxury of.

While I too look forward to "the counts" arrival, I think we have more pressing needs than a lightly framed outside player. Bring on some of the tough nuts.

Wayne's-World said:
Hentschell trained the house down and looks most impressive. Has put on the kg's he said he would over the summer and is now very solid.

Schuback trained OK but didn't stand out or look dramatically different from last year - TWT.

Must admit didn't spot either Jericho or Thompson on the track - but was spending a lot of time on recognising the big guys :o
Thanks mate :)

Great to hear Hentschel is going well. The reason I asked about Jericho is because he has OP and is not training much so I wanted to know if he is over it.

McLeod23 said:
Thanks a heap for the reports guys, its great to hear any form of news, and the season seems a lot closer this side of the New Year.

Regardless of how many see him, I'd love for Gibson to become a forward. With Rutten and Ken taking the two key defensive posts, it would be great to have someone of Chad's build, athleticism and aggression in the forward line.

He was there, other end of the ground where I was but trained well what I saw, and left the field with Lurch. Had to leave before session finished so didnt see if they came out again.

macca23 said:

van berlo is by no means lightening. very quick over a long distance yes.

im not suprised he was the standout at training, nobody has ever doubted he wouldnt look the part at an AFL club. he moves and kicks very well. as i have said before if he can learn to use his terrfific aerobic capacity to find more of the footy then he will be a very good afl player because once he has it in his hands he will normally hit a target.

on another note, i went down to eagles training yesterday and as i took my seat i noticed a guy i didnt recognise doing sprint work. it took me about 5 minutes to realise it was sammy butler. his whole body shape has changed and i honestly didnt reconise him. i thought he was an WAFL guy doing a preseason with the club. apparantly sam has added 8kgs and is almost as big as waters. woosh also said that he was the most improved player over all running tests on the list. if sam wasnt a keeper before, he certainly is now. i just hope the contest to get him (and waters) doesnt get dirty.

Markthirtytwo said:
Pretty sure Griffen has curly hair and didnt wear a cap where Andrews had long hair and wore a cap.
Mark that was Maric with the long hair and cap - pretty sure though it was Andrews and not Griffen.

There was a big lad on the sidelines with Chris Knights, couldn't identify him, perhaps it was Griffen although I had a perception he was lightly built - this kid had a good build but didn't train??

macca23 said:
That's interesting because his disposal coming out of the centre kicking around his body to the leading forward was excellent and very difficult to pick for a backman.

As I said only one viewing so will be interesting to see where he lines up, but he has the flexibility IMO to play HB, Wing or as a midfielder - TWT ;)

McLeod23 said:
I understand he still has tendonitis in his knee, a factor that affected his form last year, and some suggest affected his drop down the draft order.

The club stated they were confident of treating the injury successfully and getting him back playing the footy many experts reckon he's capable of.

He also has a build that should form allow would be capable of playing immediately.

theorangeapple said:
van berlo is by no means lightening. very quick over a long distance yes.

im not suprised he was the standout at training, nobody has ever doubted he wouldnt look the part at an AFL club. he moves and kicks very well. as i have said before if he can learn to use his terrfific aerobic capacity to find more of the footy then he will be a very good afl player because once he has it in his hands he will normally hit a target.
Given the standard he played last year it is conceivable that in a more highly skilled side, with his ability to read the play he could be very good value for us.

Yep, very impressed with his accurate disposal. ;)

Wayne's-World said:
Mark that was Maric with the long hair and cap - pretty sure though it was Andrews and not Griffen.

There was a big lad on the sidelines with Chris Knights, couldn't identify him, perhaps it was Griffen although I had a perception he was lightly built - this kid had a good build but didn't train??
The only well built ruckman on our list are Clarke, Biglands, Hudson, Maric and to a lesser extent Meesen.

It was probably about a month ago that I saw Maric and he didn't have a long hair back then :confused: so it wouldn't have been him. Andrews did have longer hair at the end of the season. Not sure now :confused:

Thanks for the report guys.....I'm heading down to Fat Max Park in the morning so I'll post my observations later in the day. Macca23 is also heading down there I think so between us hopefully we can shed some light !!
I'm looking forward to seeing the boys in action - and also getting a feel for NC's input and demands. News on the young fellas is promising, especially The Count...hopefully a couple of them can force their way in to the side.

A BIG thanks to everyone providing their impressions, it has been very helpful and also frustrating knowing that I will have to wait until march to actually see a footy game again