Injury Jeremy Laidler - Knee

Was at the game....didn't look great. Was with my brother-in-law who has dislocated his knee three times who said it looked very similiar to his. The other problem is that once it goes the first time....

I dislocated my knee cap and messed up the tendons at 12 playing tennis. Still paying for it now at 28 in the sense that one knee is more susceptible to injury than the other... Luckily now I play mass effect and assassins creed - not footy, rugby or tennis.

hate to be a pessimist hahaha.

Seriously, I did dislocate the patella in hard jar playing tennis and dislocated it a couple more times in a short period after that. When I joined the army the physio's noted that my knee wasn't right (8 years after the fact). When I was 12, I didn't have a medical team backing me up or a physio team training up the right muscles.

Re: Laidler Knee

Why are we still playing on that footy ground, players destroying their knee. Do the Underworld have a take on it with the AFL? looks like Laidler promising career could have been good as gone. The AFL should compensate footy club now with draft picks now. They should be able to add a VFL, WAFL or SAFL on the list or player over 18 playing playing Country Footy etc. This player should not effect salary cap or rookies selected. I am glad people say it is only a 2 weeks injury so he be out for about 5-6 weeks

I dont think you can blame the surface of the ground for his injury, its just unlucky. as for his playing career being done? not sure where you are going with that. Players get injured on every game in the country, its the same no matter where the game is played.

Geeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee that looked like it hurt.

I think dislocated kneecaps are one of those injuries where the visual and the pain-factor are somewhat out of proportion to the potentially short stay on the sidelines. Looks horrible, hurts, but he could get lucky and have no real structural damage. Opposite to an ACL where sometimes guys can pretty much jog off, before missing 12 months! Not sure yet, but there are reasons for optimism.

What makes me lose my rag is why is Laidler standing 1-on-1 with Will Minson? Having watched Laidler, an awesome young mid-sized defender, get totally wrecked by the likes of Kurt Tippett last year in marking duels, I want to know what the coaching staff are thinking?

How does a guy 189cm/88kg find himself standing these 200+/100+ monsters? Especially when Henderson (196/95), Thornton (192/94) and even Bower (192/92 - and apparently the strongest guy at the club:confused:) in the side, not to mention Jamo and others. Laidler will not *ever* be able to compete with guys that big. It shouldn't be his job. He's such a good 3rd man up, and excellent neat kick out of defence, why do we see him standing shoulder to shoulder with these power forwards? Drives me spare.

PS - Will Minson looked a more competent forward than any of Kreuzer, Hampson or Casboult. It's not a .... great... result.

dislocated knee caps usually aint too bad. Always looks worse than it is. Dwayne Russell continues to make himself sound lik a knob by describing it as a dislocated knee.......think before you speak mate.

Will depend if any other damage was done but hopefully only a couple of weeks, should be right by round 1 i reckon. was playing well be fore that, took a great grab by out playing his oponent once

He'll be right as long as he gets full confidence back in the knee.
Extremely important player, reads the flight of the ball as well, if not better, than anyone I've seen play the game.
Huge downgrade if we're forced to go with T-Bird or Bow Wow.

Re: Laidler Knee

I dont think you can blame the surface of the ground for his injury, its just unlucky. as for his playing career being done? not sure where you are going with that. Players get injured on every game in the country, its the same no matter where the game is played.
canont say how the surface contibuted in anyway. You can just see the joint loaded up which happens often enough but on this occasion the body gave way. He was providing a very good contest. Best of luck

I'm so glad it's nothing serious. Laidler is one seriously under-rated defender. Rarely gets beaten one-out, and is ice cool under pressure.

:)

I wouldn't get too excited.

He's definitely going to miss a decent amount of footy.

You don't lose your kneecap 3 inches around the side of your leg and play within the next fortnight.

Hoping for the best news but not sure I'm expecting it. Girlfriend dislocated her kneecap years ago and still hasn't got confidence in it and has given up playing netball since.

Obviously a different situation with Laidler and he has professionals around him helping him get back to 100%, hopefully its not going to be a recurring problem for Laids.

Same injury as Stevie J in the prelim and the same injury as Cresswell years ago which he just belted back into place.

Normally the club doctor would have put Cresswells kneecap back in place, but apparently Cresswell owed him money so he had to do it himself. :)

Spotted a tweet from one of the AFL dudes a few mins ago that said Laids has had his scans today but needs to see a specialist tonight to get a full diagnosis.

Can't be good...am hoping it's not ligament damage.