JLT 2018

Passive aggressive numpties aren't exactly new here mate. You don't get to attack people as foul, negative and ignorant - all your barbs - and then claim the moral high ground.

You either get footy and you know about Brown and guys like SOS or you don't. If you don't then don't talk about them as if you do based on random and poorly selected stats. If you are going to talk about them be prepared to back them up.

I think we agree that you actually have no idea about Brown. And as such you now concede he's far better. So why did you run so hard with the comparison? Are you clueless or spineless - its hard to figure out....

I'm not patting myself on the back, I'm simply confused as to why you decided to run the argument you did, then defend it, then attack me for pointing out how silly it was, then agree with me but attack me again anyway as if pointing out your base silliness is somehow a flaw on my part.

Have a lovely day

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

Few pints this arvo m8? Partner reneg on the weekend blowie?

Would have kicked 10 more a season easily imo

Based on what?

You can look at the goal kicking records for Brisbane in those years and you’ll see Lynch (their deep power forward) kicking 70ish most years. And Bradshaw who played the smaller tall forward Darling role kicking numbers similar to Darling (or less) and he was a better lead and kick than Jack.

The strength of their team was their spread and the fact that guys like Aker, Voss, Power, McRae etc all rotated through the midfield and could kick 30+ goals.

The Eagles haven’t had an elite midfield throughout Darlings time but we’ve had systems that have seen us score heavily in many of those Years. Guys like McKinley, Nicoski and even Lynch have been 40+ goal kickers in the last decade with us as complimentary forwards. I’m not sure that makes them excellent players or even necessary players.

But then maybe we are at cross purposes here. I mean what’s the argument?

I’m saying Jacks just a good footballer who, to date, (2012 aside) hasnt moved the needle much in terms of winning or losing. He’s been worth a game but he’s not the star some think he is. I’m also unsure how he improves given his physical profile.

Are you arguing he’s somehow better than all that? A topliner?

Based on what?

You can look at the goal kicking records for Brisbane in those years and you’ll see Lynch (their deep power forward) kicking 70ish most years. And Bradshaw who played the smaller tall forward Darling role kicking numbers similar to Darling (or less) and he was a better lead and kick than Jack.

The strength of their team was their spread and the fact that guys like Aker, Voss, Power, McRae etc all rotated through the midfield and could kick 30+ goals.

The Eagles haven’t had an elite midfield throughout Darlings time but we’ve had systems that have seen us score heavily in many of those Years. Guys like McKinley, Nicoski and even Lynch have been 40+ goal kickers in the last decade with us as complimentary forwards. I’m not sure that makes them excellent players or even necessary players.

But then maybe we are at cross purposes here. I mean what’s the argument?

I’m saying Jacks just a good footballer who, to date, (2012 aside) hasnt moved the needle much in terms of winning or losing. He’s been worth a game but he’s not the star some think he is. I’m also unsure how he improves given his physical profile.

Are you arguing he’s somehow better than all that? A topliner?

Football was played very differently then from memory - most teams kicked far more goals on average than they do today. It was before flooding came in and the game became more defensive to the detriment of the game unfortunately.

15yearmember .... sorry but Brown wasn't really THAT good in his first few years, he was a role player. The fascination with him came from his playing style, rather than his output.

At his best he was superb, I believe he kicked 96 goals over a 22 game stretch, but he wasn't some sort of out and out star early on. He was below the level of Reiwoldt and Pav for the most part due to his inability to stay on the park. Unlucky some would say.

15yearmember .... sorry but Brown wasn't really THAT good in his first few years, he was a role player. The fascination with him came from his playing style, rather than his output.

At his best he was superb, I believe he kicked 96 goals over a 22 game stretch, but he wasn't some sort of out and out star early on. He was below the level of Reiwoldt and Pav for the most part due to his inability to stay on the park. Unlucky some would say.
You make sense..

When on the park though his game style did influence games. Again 45 Brownlow votes in those first 7 years when he was "a role player". He was very good and more impactful than Darling has been in terms of national impact even in that time frame IMO.

And he got better...

I'm not seeing the physical assets in Darling that will allow that stellar second half of a career

Football was played very differently then from memory - most teams kicked far more goals on average than they do today. It was before flooding came in and the game became more defensive to the detriment of the game unfortunately.

Randomly selected 2002, the average score was 94 points across the season.

2017 it was 89.

Not sure that is massive and I was slightly surprised :)

When on the park though his game style did influence games. Again 45 Brownlow votes in those first 7 years when he was "a role player". He was very good and more impactful than Darling has been in terms of national impact even in that time frame IMO.

And he got better...

I'm not seeing the physical assets in Darling that will allow that stellar second half of a career

Brown is of the same build as JJK, they're very different players to Darling.

Darling is not that tall, he isn't ever going to be the traditional CHF, the closest in size was probably Pav who played all sorts of positions and had a far better set of hands.

[QUOTE="15yearmember]...And Bradshaw who played the smaller tall forward Darling role kicking numbers similar to Darling (or less) and he was a better lead and kick than Jack...

On iPhone using BigFooty.com mobile app[/QUOTE]

Bro put the pipe down. At the same age Darling destroys Bradshaw. Bradshaw is 15 goals shy from 1 more game...smfh.

[QUOTE="15yearmember]...And Bradshaw who played the smaller tall forward Darling role kicking numbers similar to Darling (or less) and he was a better lead and kick than Jack...

Bro put the pipe down. At the same age Darling destroys Bradshaw. Bradshaw is 15 goals shy from 1 more game...smfh.[/QUOTE]

Bradshaw was a very good lead and mark player in an era where that role had more value than today. But he was a better mark and kick than Darling.

I'm hoping you aren't basing your entire opinion on that stat?

Seems some people are just looking for a confrontation opposed to exchanging opinions and having decent dialogue

Hahahahahahaha

You are the one who calls folk names for disagreeing with you remember? In the end you agreed with me but you keep up the passive/aggressive shyte. Relax mate, I get it, your a big fan of Jack and prone to a touch of overrate.

My main aim was to point out that your comparison of him to Jono Brown (which was based entirely on stats as you didn't see him in his youth) is nonsense. You are the one bent out of shape with an alternate view.

But sure, I'll let you sent all the rules of what is "decent dialogue" because, umm, why would I do that exactly? Harden up.

Darling doesn't have the size to be a KPF for sure but he still has the physical attributes to be close to a top liner. His issue is he isn't clean or a one touch player. Needs to relieve himself all over his hands before games so they sticky!

Darling needs to start dominating games and taking control.
Very very good role player but can do so much more damage.
He should be hitting his peak now as a KPF.
The time is now.

IMG_0552.JPG

For the stat heads - the attached career summary of Brown is interesting. By Year 7 he had 2 of the best 5 seasons of his career statistically. The stats even in his early years (2000 he was 18 and 2001 a 19 CHF in a Premiership who took 5 marks was second in the team for Inside 50's and top 10 for total possessions in the GF) are pretty good and pretty consistent.

The change was goals per game which was the result of him moving to Full Forward from CHF after Lynch moved on. People do remember the time when those 2 roles were very different right?

Match reports of the 2001 - 2003 GF speak highly of his contributions in each of those games. He was absolutely at his peak right where Jack is now age wise.

I'll stop now :)

Darling needs to start dominating games and taking control.
Very very good role player but can do so much more damage.
He should be hitting his peak now as a KPF.
The time is now.

I guess that's my question, can he do much more damage or is good role player who seems to disappear on the biggest stage his ceiling?

I don't know, I'm asking. I've had very high hopes for him since the day he was drafted but since 2012 he's underwhelmed while being serviceable.

JLT 2018