Job interviews

powergirlluv17

Port Vincent, the place where **** all happens, ex
Port Adelaide Power
Ok guys tell me some of your experiences with job interviews, i thought of doing this thread because i just got a reply from a job that i applied for which is a full time job in an accountancy firm in bookeeping, and i am going for my first interview on Friday, so tell me some experiences you've had with job interviews or in the workforce ;)

Originally posted by powergirlluv17
Ok guys tell me some of your experiences with job interviews, i thought of doing this thread because i just got a reply from a job that i applied for which is a full time job in an accountancy firm in bookeeping, and i am going for my first interview on Friday, so tell me some experiences you've had with job interviews or in the workforce ;)

I had one where I walked out thinking that I had the job, really nice interviewer and I said the right things...

I found out that she said nasty things about me and I didn't get the job!

hmmmm, all my job interviews have been fairly uneventful. ive only missed out on one, and they had the courtesy to ring and said they hired from within the company. i think the worst thing would be going for an interview, and they didnt ring you back, so you are holding off looking whilst you are waiting for the phone call which never comes.

I never get used to job interviews.

Basically I reckon the point is to make sure the interviewer likes you. Plenty of times the applicants are so closely matched in terms of skills and experience (those things you can't change as soon as you walk in the door for the interview) that they will end up picking the person they think they can put up with the best.

Getting the interview is the hard part IMO.

I've had two interviews in my life, both times I got the job. But you wouldn't believe to how many jobs I applied just to get those interviews.

Getting casual work when you're over 18 is a real bltch. They always go for the cheap $6 an hour 15yr olds :mad:

When I was a teenager I worked on farms. Used to get calls to do projects, and I could turn them down if I was too busy.

I decided to join the US Army. Well, you make a phone call to a recruiter and 45 seconds later there's a noise of brakes and tires screeching in front of your house. They fairly well beg you to sign up.

When I got my fire & ambulance licenses, the very service I wanted to work for asked me to join up.

After 8 years of working there, I wanted to go to another service (the best one in Mid-West United States IMO). As I was rolling that over in my mind, they called and asked me to come to work for them. That's my current job.

I get phoned up to sit in and play guitar in Blues & Rock gigs.

I've never had to scrape for anything, nor go to an interview that was anything other than a formality. I probably suck, but have never had an opportunity to prove it.

Peace, and good luck to anyone taking interviews.

Originally posted by powergirlluv17

A shocker i had was about 4 months ago. AS ive done basically a web design/e-business/customer service IT course thats the area i want to get into. The place i did the course at has its own recruitment agents that help you look for jobs and put your name forward.

I got a phone call from the agent saying that ive got an interview at this place in a weeks time and its for a web design position. So i researched the company etc. and did all the ground work.

Went to the interview...answered a few questions and it became increasingly clear that something wasnt right here.
"why are they asking me what programming skills i have and what programming languages im fluent in" i thought to myself. They started to talk about the position and in fact it wasnt a web designers position - they were after a programmer who was fluent in a few languages.

So i started to wonder why the hell im actually here...getting increasingly more embarrased and nervous by the second until i told them that theres been a mistake and that i thought this was a web designers position.

So all of us ended up a tad embarrased and the interview lasted a healthy 10 minutes hehe!!!

I was not impressed!

I've been to about three job interviews for Coles in the last two weeks. They have a full on process for new recruits.

I was just applying for a part time nightfill job while I'm at uni, but they still thought it was best to have me interviewed by 3 different people on separate occasions.

The most advice I can give you, is always smile, always nod your head and agree with your interviewer.

Don't bring up things like pay and stuff at the interview, as it might seem as though you're not interested in the job, just the money (which might be true, but you don't want the interviewer to think that).

Just try to impress the interviewer as well, so dressing formally for the situation is also a must.

Just try to get the interviewer to make sure they remember you.. and not for the wrong reasons!

I've had a pretty good record with job interviews, had 5 and got 3 jobs, though over the years I would have applied for 100+ jobs easy!

I'm normally a quiet, nervous type of person but for some reason I always seemed relaxed and confident in interviews! :confused:

Like has already been mentioned, just relax, still focused, look the interviewers in the eye, smile and be friendly, give detailed but honest answers, and most importantly be yourself!

I had a group interview a couple of weeks back which went pretty well, they said that they'll contact us in a couple of weeks whether we got the job.

The other day, I was at the post office getting a form and the phone rang and since I was talking to the post office worker and the ring was distracting me, I hung up the incoming call. I later got home and wondered who rang, I checked the number and realised it was the place I applied for. I thought I had screwed my chances, but they rang the next to say I had the job! :cool:

i applied for a job at australia post earlier this year, and they took so long to tell me my application was sucessful that i had already found another job.
i turned up to the interview anyway and got it, and luckily the post office job did not clash with my current hours. however the job was as boring as bat**** and was resulting in many 15 hour days... i dropped it after 3 months.

i also had a big interview last week, but not for a job, but to gain entry into a particular uni course. i was packing it before the interview but was strangely calm whilst i was actually in there.

still havent found out the result of that one... here's hoping :)

I suck at job interviews. At least, I don't think I do too badly when I come out, but I've never gotten a job from an interview, so it's quite obvious I do. I find I become so serious and fake. I hate it.

Mind you, I haven't been to one in over a year.

The first job interview I went to was at a natural medicine place in Moonee Ponds I believe. The second I got in, he gave me a stack of cards with different colours on them, and got me to arrange them in the order of which I find most appealing to the least. Some sort of psychology test. After a short interview of weird questions, he then gave me the same cards to organise again. He looked at them, said "That's pretty good, you've got a good temperment... Sorry to say but you're not the sort of person that we're looking for." And that was it.

Interesting anyway.

Originally posted by aggels
I suck at job interviews. At least, I don't think I do too badly when I come out, but I've never gotten a job from an interview, so it's quite obvious I do. I find I become so serious and fake. I hate it.

Mind you, I haven't been to one in over a year.

The first job interview I went to was at a natural medicine place in Moonee Ponds I believe. The second I got in, he gave me a stack of cards with different colours on them, and got me to arrange them in the order of which I find most appealing to the least. Some sort of psychology test. After a short interview of weird questions, he then gave me the same cards to organise again. He looked at them, said "That's pretty good, you've got a good temperment... Sorry to say but you're not the sort of person that we're looking for." And that was it.

Interesting anyway.

lol, sounds fairly typical of some of those alternative medicine places

SydneyFan's shy/confident remark reminded me of a tip someone gave me once.

If you're sitting five or six feet (couple of meters thereabout) from the person(s) giving the interview, look at their ears. From that distance, it looks like your are looking them right in the eye and are good and confident. In the meanwhile, you're looking at a decidedly ugly piece of non-intimidating flesh.

Test that out with a friend to get your ranges down right for the correct effect. Peace,

It all starts when you first walk in the door. Therefore you have to dress the part, as if you dress untidily the interveiwers assume you think untidily. Just remember that dress appropriately depending of what job you are gunning for. Remember your body language (firm handshake, smile, not hand waving, looking around nevously etc).

Hopefully you are well prepared by then. I mean have all your job appilcation folio stuff (cover letter, resume, selection criteria). I spose you make sure you provide examples of skills you say you have. If you do have weaknesses, you will have to say you have them, but just tell what steps you are taking to rectify it, as it shows initiative and employers like that.

Most of this stuff is for a full-time job, as if it was for a casual one like at maccas, you won't need to do some of what i have said. It all depends on the particular job, so it's hard to say wot to do if i haven't seen the ad or job you want. Overall dress for the job, make note of your body language, provide examples, and show initiative. I am doing a unit at uni called From Uni to the Workplace, which basically helps a lot in stuff like interviews, and about job culture and stuff like that. Very good IMO.

I am sure there are employment agencies in your state (eg DEET) that have stuff to help you, or even webpages too. Depending if you are at school or uni, both have careers places to help you out. Good luck!!

There can be nothing worse than an interview for a teaching position. First of all you have a panel of interviewers (usually three or four), then to make matters worse you are given five minutes to come up with answers to a set of questions (all curriculum based, teaching methods, strategies, etc.)

At the moment I am doing substitute work and I always get nervous when I get an interview to a teaching job, it always seems easier to have root canal treatment.. ;)

Originally posted by catgirl2002
There can be nothing worse than an interview for a teaching position. First of all you have a panel of interviewers (usually three or four), then to make matters worse you are given five minutes to come up with answers to a set of questions (all curriculum based, teaching methods, strategies, etc.)

Had similar to this for childcare, found it pi$$ easy because i just made up bull**** answers to the scenarios they presented me with and sounded very sucky and like i knew wot i was talking about even though i had never worked in it.

Other interview i had the other week which i wrote bout somewhere else well pfft wot a joke. Was a man (grrh) who was obviously judging me with his di@k. Within 20 seconds of the interview he told me how impressed he was with me just from starin me down (ew) then showed me his new sports car :rolleyes: never talked about the job just stared at me creepily then as we were in the interview room with see through glass windows the next girl in line sat outside, he looked at her and told me how i pretty much had the job but he would interview her so her confidence didn't go down. Anyway after a 2 minute interview they said they'd put me on a trial there where they stuck me on frikken reception all day which i hate yet the job was not advertised as reception so i told them that and did not continue with it.

I am basically on here applying for jobs all day and i find sending resumes through the net ive barely been getting a response. Rang up for one i want today but its very annoyin as most places advertise through agencies. So had to go in register with this agency today and now have to wait to go for an actual interview with them if they ring me then probably another one at the actual place :rolleyes: very tiring process!

Best advice i can give is be yourself. If you are qualified, you know what you are talking about and come across well enough (as i'm sure you will) they'd be mad not to hire you. If they don't it's their loss not yours as something better will always come along. Don't stress too much as it wont help you at all.

I went for a few interviews when i was still at uni, didn't get the jobs but always was asked back for further interviews even though completely under-qualified compared to competitors. All i did was be myself, i knew what i was talking about however hadn't finished my degree at the time which i'm sure counted against me in a major way. Luckily missed out on a pretty good job at the Commonwealth Bank and now i walk past there from time to time and thank god i didn't get it. In the mean time finished uni went overseas and now i work for myslef with my dad and a couple of others doing finance, i've got a job i love with a great lifestyle as well (no early mornings, no sales meetings, no dress code). So all i can say is relax and if it is meant to be it will happen for you if not don't panic something else will be around the corner.

I had one recently.
It was my second, my first was at Woolies and i was successful, worked 6 months and left to concentrate on year 12.
Anyway it is true appearance and the way you show yourself are MAJOR contributors.
My most recent interview (KFC) there were 4 of us doing the interview, like first we all had to do a test then the lady went and did the interview person-person.

Anyway i arrived 2 mins early, the rest arrived 5 mins late so that made me feel good
Secondly i was all dressed up, good pants, shirt, tie, the other 3 were all casually dressed, at this stage i felt a bit outta place and thought i had gone over the top
Next i handed over my port folio with reports, first aid certificate, bronze medallion, awards etc...and the other 3 did not have one and i thought wicked:D
Finally we did our test, i finished first, did my intervie and walked out feeling pretty confident.
Found out Sunday just been i got the job;) So i was very happy indeed. Its a job for now, i am still looking (not that they need to know;)) to see if i can find a better one, but if not this will do:)

Re: Re: Job interviews

Originally posted by Macca19

I got a phone call from the agent saying that ive got an interview at this place in a weeks time and its for a web design position.
[...]
theres been a mistake and that i thought this was a web designers position.

I hope you gave the twit from the recruitment agency a spray (after you got a job elsewhere, of course). What a goose.

For my current job, I was interviewed by 3 people. One of these was the bloke who supervised my Masters degree, and another was a bloke I knew reasonably well from my undergrad days.

The interview was a surreal experience. I could not bring myself to be serious in front of these two guys that I knew. They knew what I was like. I simply couldn't act the straight guy in front of them. So I relaxed into my usual, casual, smart-arse self. Cracked jokes all the way through the interview.

Trouble was, the third person on the interview panel was the CEO, and I didn't know him. Oops. My boss later told me that apparently the CEO was not impressed by my demeanour and did not want to offer me a job. Only pleading on the part of the other two, and consultation of my personal referees, eventually convinced him to change his mind.

Moral of the story: always act the straight guy in an interview, no matter how awkward.