reg_lower91

Watsonia F.C.
After what was a great game for the blues what did everybody think of these guys performances last night?

Johnson seemed to do quite well last night. Seemed a little more composed however i would like to see him try and get out in to a little more space. Usually wins the ball in a congested situation. Think he should probably play again next week.

Thornton still worrying me a bit. He seems like the Thornton of 3-4 years ago; Inexperienced. Where he's had a cool and calm head for the past couple of years he now seems to panic and, almost, forget where he is at times. Confidence or just sheer bad form? Remains to be seen but wasn't the easiest of games to make your return (vs. St.Kilda). However, i certainly wouldn't be surprised if he was omitted this week v Port. Should be and probably will be given another week to settle back in fully.

Thoughts?

Watched for Johnson a bit as was interested to see how he'd go and I thought he was serviceable. Seemed to be right in the thick of it at stoppages a few times and was able to send a handpass to a team mate running past. Not real fast and was unable to make ground on one Saints player who won a disputed ball between the two and also fumbled a couple of times. I don't recall him putting his 'famed' left boot to the test too often either. With no one really to come in i'd say he won't be dropped.

Didn't notice Thornton at all TBH but the paper says he had 17 touches and played 86 minutes so there you go. In terms of getting a gig next week, probably the same as Johnson.

Was really watching JR, Army, Jamo and AJ as they stood out as the main players in the back half for mine.

Thornton's decision making is terrible, options will be there but he often holds the ball up far too long until the options are gone. He takes far too long to move it on. It cost us two goals against the saints. I feel Thornton is only filling in for Bower any way.

Johnson was serviceable, didn't star and did little wrong.

Johnson was alright last night, but he won't make it.

Thornton has been playing like this for years, it's just that we are getting better and the players around him improved so he looks like he is going downhill. I just don't like how he is often playing with no intensity, he is always in a medium pace mode.

Yeah, it's not a knock on Thornton. When we were crap, his poise and patience was one of the few positives we had as we were always under siege. Now that the team is evolving, his patience may be counter productive as we are the ones trying to lay siege.

After what was a great game for the blues what did everybody think of these guys performances last night?

Johnson seemed to do quite well last night. Seemed a little more composed however i would like to see him try and get out in to a little more space. Usually wins the ball in a congested situation. Think he should probably play again next week.

Thornton still worrying me a bit. He seems like the Thornton of 3-4 years ago; Inexperienced. Where he's had a cool and calm head for the past couple of years he now seems to panic and, almost, forget where he is at times. Confidence or just sheer bad form? Remains to be seen but wasn't the easiest of games to make your return (vs. St.Kilda). However, i certainly wouldn't be surprised if he was omitted this week v Port. Should be and probably will be given another week to settle back in fully.

Thoughts?
They did ok our special guy and Johnson.It be interesting too see if Johnson keeps his spot at the end of season if he plays well.I can see a couple of guys maybe going to Gold Coast and only a few delisted if we have a good year.

I was very pleased with Johnson, didn't do anything wrong, did a lot of team stuff, putting his body on the line, shepparding for teammates and other 1%ers. Thornton was hardly noticeable and i'm afraid we may have seen his best in previous years and could be depth at best with the rise of Bower (and Walker in a defensive post/run off man)

Walker replaces Johnson

Bower replaces T Bird

/thread

Much as I hate to say it, but Johnson and T-bird are both depth players now.

Johnson has a place on the team for the future because we need the depth, but as ODN said, when we are the attacking team, he seems to be slowing us down on the rebound out and his patience is slowing the attack down so the other defenders are using other options and so he isnt getting the same amount of ball as he used to when we were under the pump.

Jamo, Bower and Russell are all marshalling our defence with aplomb and have taken over t-birds job. It could be that he might be traded at the end of the year, but I would like to see him make 200 for the blues considering the work he has put in over the years... but his chances are going to be slim with our defence evolving as it is.

Thornton - same problems as usual, can't kick low fast passes, floats his kicks up & get picked off. Won't run & carry.

Johnson - I thought he showed some hardness which he previously lacked. Keeps his spot if he continues to go hard & hold his own in body contests.

Thornton - same problems as usual, can't kick low fast passes, floats his kicks up & get picked off. Won't run & carry.

Johnson - I thought he showed some hardness which he previously lacked. Keeps his spot if he continues to go hard & hold his own in body contests.

Like it. :thumbsu:

Thornton looked lost and timid, no longer the man yelling at our younger players when something goes wrong in the back half.

I recall at one point Russell? was yelling at him to pick up his man at a centre bounce. Don't understand what's happened to him to be honest.

If he can recapture his form he's probably the best 'third defender' in the league.

Johnson I thought was average at best last night - still lacks a physical aspect and his disposal needs improving.

T-Bird goes to ground too often and wont run up the guts with any intensity like Bower does when he has the ball - one of the things that make opposition teams panic is when an opponent runs hard with the ball and takes the game on. Thornton is too happy to run wide take a bounce when no one is in his vicinty whilst allowing the opposition to flood back. Then he will do a dinky little chip pass to a loose team-mate which doesnt hurt the opposition. I reckon his days are numbered.

I recall at one point Russell? was yelling at him to pick up his man at a centre bounce. Don't understand what's happened to him to be honest.
Yeah, something's NQR with him this year. Not up to his usual standard that's for sure. It's nice to have depth.

with new players like Lucas and White showing were we need to go in the future players like TBird Johnson and Wiggins should be shown the door unless dire need says otherwise

Thought there were a few blokes who looked out of touch last night. Then I remembered we were playing the Saints, the kings of high pressure footy. Not many players in the league have played as well against the Saints over the last two years then what even Johnson, Thornton and White did.

Bomba sheldon.... why so negative on CJ.... He must have done something right to get into this side and now you give it to him when he actually played his part. If u watch the replay he made some crucial tackles/ plays in the first half to break open some stkilda plays.... Give him another week or two

with new players like Lucas and White showing were we need to go in the future players like TBird Johnson and Wiggins should be shown the door unless dire need says otherwise

Thornton > White at present and it's not even close.

Bower will replace one of the them and expect Austin to replace the other in 4 or 5 weeks time.

Thornton is unable to move the ball quickly. Ever. He cannot man a guy that has even half a turn of pace, and spends most of the game yelling at teammates.

Johnson was alright.

Thornton looked lost and timid, no longer the man yelling at our younger players when something goes wrong in the back half.

If he can recapture his form he's probably the best 'third defender' in the league.

It was Jammo, and he basically had to grab Thornton and show him his man. Thornton was basically standing on the top of the 50 looking like a lost kid.

I might have to look for that again...

But considering that we now have 3 guys in the backline apart from T-Bird who can marshall the defence then things might be getting a bit scary for Bret...

It's a pity because as I have said before... he has been a good servant to the club and I would love to see him play out his career with us, but with the defence we have at the moment, he will never be more than a depth place after the end of next year.

i think all this is a bit harsh on both these boys, especially thornton. i'm pretty sure all players go through form slumps sometime in their careers, everyone talks as though we should have a team of 22 superstars and anything below should get dropped for someone in the 2's

thornton will get back on track, just give him few more games to build his confidence again, its prob not very nice gettin dropped to the 2's after being in seniors for so long, lot different game tempo in 2's aswell which makes things difficult to get form back

I think Joseph might be under the spotlight at the moment.

He doesn't get the ball as much you would like and when he does, he doesn't really do anything with it. Taggers who get 7 or 8 possessions a game are a thing of the past.

I stand to be corrected, but has he beaten his direct opponent this year?