Johnstone out for Crows Game

Banhammer Big House Under 70s
Sorry thats Johnson; Not Travis......thought Id catch you:D
Kane,,,,,DOH! He is one of the pace in the Advertiser Player of the year just for interests

How do you think your Deisel do?

I havent been following them much this season but they appeared to get creamed by Collingwood in a must win game . Still 6 / 5 is not too bad.

ps There is life after Vardy for a Crows Forward Line; hope Hes doing OK;)

G'day Jars, We too have moved on since Farmers departure.

What's happened to your Johnno? He's been in top form.

We've been poor against Geelong & Collingwood but we should get at least 2 vital players back, both of whom missed those games in Wheatley & Vardy.

I've been very impressed with your mob this year & have tipped them every week (including round 1) except for the Port & Bombers games.

Sugar had his appendix out & they couldn't use (the quicker healing) key-hole surgery due to his previous groin problems. He hasn't been ruled out yet as they are still hopeful he may come up given the week's break. However, I doubt they will risk him & give Gallagher some more game time as he has been burning in the last month for Norwood. Johnson will be a big loss considering he has been the Crows best player along with Bickley. Time for McLeod to step up considering he has been relatively quiet lately.

Who will replace the under-rated Nicholson - Lamb or will Neitz move to the backline to cover Stevens, who is making his way back to best form given a sluggish start to the year. Goos to hear Vardy has fitted in well for you guys. Has been a win-win, as he has revived his career & allowed the like of Welsh & Bode to get more game time.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin

Who will replace the under-rated Nicholson - Lamb or will Neitz move to the backline to cover Stevens, who is making his way back to best form given a sluggish start to the year. Goos to hear Vardy has fitted in well for you guys. Has been a win-win, as he has revived his career & allowed the like of Welsh & Bode to get more game time.

No one can "replace" Nicho :(. Only Darren Jolly has the size to fill in for him. Jolly has played down back with some succes in the past but he's needed to back up White in the ruck & has kicked goals in the last 2 games (2 quarters of actual ground time however:rolleyes: ) & has been our best forward all month:confused: .

Wheatley should take the spot vacated by Nicho for the Crows game. Vardy in for Williams. Might be a few other changes.

Time will tell, we'll need a huge lift to even get close...

Originally posted by topjars
Sorry thats Johnson; Not Travis......thought Id catch you:D

dont scare me like that!!!!!! :eek:

and we'll do fine - should be a good match...

BT, jolly may have the hight, but he's nowhere near as solid as nicho is. its a shame we've lost him, and i dont think we'll be able to replace him easily at all! but im hoping we'll get that lift - the boys gotta do it for nicho!!

Life after Nicholsons going to be tough, but if were even contemplating playing in finals we have to beat Adelaide next week.

I think next week's our chance. We've got some big ones against Essendon and Brisbane following it so the game is crucial in setting up the 2nd half of the year. The Crows are due for a loss, theyre travelling to Melbourne and if we can't get close after getting Vards and Wheatley back and them losing Kane Johnson there is something wrong.

Originally posted by BIG POPPA PUMP
Life after Nicholsons going to be tough, but if were even contemplating playing in finals we have to beat Adelaide next week.

I think next week's our chance. We've got some big ones against Essendon and Brisbane following it so the game is crucial in setting up the 2nd half of the year. The Crows are due for a loss, theyre travelling to Melbourne and if we can't get close after getting Vards and Wheatley back and them losing Kane Johnson there is something wrong.

Crows are in much better form than Essendon and arguably Brisbane since we did beat them two weeks ago.

Crows have a reasonable record against Melbourne in Melbounre and we have won 3 out of 4 in Melbourne this year.

My personal view is that Melbourne don't have any one player who will really worry us and as Kane said McLeod is due for a big one and so is Goodwin

Roo is in great form and our defence has been excellent.

I hope Nigel Smart picks up Vardy - that should be a ripper of a contest

Stenglein will probably get Woowoedin or possibly Powell.

McGregor on Schwartz could be where Melbourne can get on top.

Having said that it should be a tight game like last year's affair where the contest was in doubt for most of the game.

Adelaide by 20 points is my tip.

Originally posted by Jars458

Crows are in much better form than Essendon and arguably Brisbane since we did beat them two weeks ago.

Crows have a reasonable record against Melbourne in Melbounre and we have won 3 out of 4 in Melbourne this year.

My personal view is that Melbourne don't have any one player who will really worry us and as Kane said McLeod is due for a big one and so is Goodwin

Roo is in great form and our defence has been excellent.

I hope Nigel Smart picks up Vardy - that should be a ripper of a contest

Stenglein will probably get Woowoedin or possibly Powell.

McGregor on Schwartz could be where Melbourne can get on top.

Having said that it should be a tight game like last year's affair where the contest was in doubt for most of the game.

Adelaide by 20 points is my tip.

McGregor on Schwarz is a fine matchup in my view, Kenny's done reasonably well lately and while Schwatta has the edge in body strength, Kenny can overcome that by using his mobility and playing smart. Here's hoping anyway :p

Jeff White is the one player who could dominate the game and win it for them. If he gets right on top of our ruckmen Melbourne's dangerous midfield could get enough clean ball out of the centre and around the ground to feed Neitz, Vardy, Jolly, Schwartz etc., placing extra pressure on our defence. It doesn't always work out that way however, and anyway, I'll be hoping Clarkey and Rhett are up to the job.

I'd like to see Stinger get either Yze or Powell, both very damaging players and potentially could spark the Dees.

Not much between the sides, should be a free-flowing, yet tight affair, but I favour the Dees by 3 goals in a match that they'll be seeing as an absolute must-win. :)

Originally posted by ant
but I favour the Dees by 3 goals in a match that they'll be seeing as an absolute must-win. :)

We all know that's not your real prediction. The Crows are in top form and will start red hot favourites. ;)

Originally posted by BIG POPPA PUMP

We all know that's not your real prediction. The Crows are in top form and will start red hot favourites. ;)

Actually, that IS my real prediction, I am notoriously 'pessimistic' about my sides' chances and I just think the Dees will be especially primed for Saturday week's game, coming off two losses, playing at home, against a side with a suspect forward line ;) I also think the bye negates any momentum we may have and I believe Melbourne should start slight favourites. :)

Originally posted by ant

Actually, that IS my real prediction, I am notoriously 'pessimistic' about my sides' chances and I just think the Dees will be especially primed for Saturday week's game, coming off two losses, playing at home, against a side with a suspect forward line ;) I also think the bye negates any momentum we may have and I believe Melbourne should start slight favourites. :)

Toss toss. ;)

Originally posted by ant

I favour the Dees by 3 goals in a match that they'll be seeing as an absolute must-win. :)
yeah but thats only because you never tip adelaide... or was that i can't tip adelaide?? oh i dunno!!! either way, we'll be tipping eachothers team so there'll be NO jinx's in there!

Originally posted by dees*gal

yeah but thats only because you never tip adelaide... or was that i can't tip adelaide?? oh i dunno!!! either way, we'll be tipping eachothers team so there'll be NO jinx's in there!

I tip Adelaide when I think we're going to win....it's just a matter of circumstance that I haven't tipped us for 3 years ;)

And yes Mish, you tip Melbourne and I'll do the same :p :)

Originally posted by ant
Forgive me for thinking Melbourne are a good side who should beat us when playing at home with a top 8 position at stake and with 2 further tough games coming up ;)

I was just stirring, mate :D Just for the record, I do think we have a HUGE chance and I will be tipping us for the first time in a while. Im not confident, though.

Originally posted by ant

I tip Adelaide when I think we're going to win....it's just a matter of circumstance that I haven't tipped us for 3 years ;)

And yes Mish, you tip Melbourne and I'll do the same :p :)

lol, i will tip melbourne, but you're not aloud to!!! you promised me you'd always tip against melbourne!!! :( you reuined the packed! hehe

but i tip melbourne every week, regardless of if we have a chance or not... :D

Originally posted by dees*gal

lol, i will tip melbourne, but you're not aloud to!!! you promised me you'd always tip against melbourne!!! :( you reuined the packed! hehe

but i tip melbourne every week, regardless of if we have a chance or not... :D

We said we'd tip against each other's teams, except when our teams are opposed to one another because you always tip the Dees and I always tip against the Crows!! The pact remains intact :)

It's good to see you have so much blind faith in your team, while it's sad to see I have so little ;)

Originally posted by ant

We said we'd tip against each other's teams, except when our teams are opposed to one another because you always tip the Dees and I always tip against the Crows!! The pact remains intact :)

It's good to see you have so much blind faith in your team, while it's sad to see I have so little ;)

sorry about that, id forgotten the exception... thats fine then!

i think melbourne supporters always have to have faith with the pay our team plays footy :rolleyes: we never know if they're going to be awake at the match or not, so all we have is our faith. WE CAN DO IT! but ant, it should be a good match, and from the way you guys are playing - you have every right to still have some faith!

The Crows are due for a loss, theyre travelling to Melbourne
BPP - As Jars mentioned Crows are unlike the WA teams in that they actually have a good record over the past couple of years in Melbourne - including against the Dees.

... and if we can't get close after getting Vards and Wheatley back and them losing Kane Johnson there is something wrong.
Crows will have Welsh returning (ie. leading goal kicker) for Johnson, so we don't lose much there. Vardy back will be a bonus for you guys, but Wheatley I doubt will completely cover the loss of the bearded one.

Should be a great game. My main concern is White, who has burnt us in the past & may be too athletic for Biglands/Clarke. Stenglein IMO will get Yze as Powell has been down on form in recent weeks. The Crows will go for a shootout with the rest of the midfielders, but I expect the Dees will attempt to tag McLeod.

Other matchups: IMO McGregor will start on Schwartz & Bassett on Neitz (if he starts forward). Jars suggestion of Smart on Vardy is an exciting prospect I expect Ellis will play on Stevens & Wheatley (?) on Schell. Perhaps Bizzell on the Birdman, but who will play on Welsh & Riccuito?

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
BPP - As Jars mentioned Crows are unlike the WA teams in that they actually have a good record over the past couple of years in Melbourne - including against the Dees.

Crows will have Welsh returning (ie. leading goal kicker) for Johnson, so we don't lose much there. Vardy back will be a bonus for you guys, but Wheatley I doubt will completely cover the loss of the bearded one.

Should be a great game. My main concern is White, who has burnt us in the past & may be too athletic for Biglands/Clarke. Stenglein IMO will get Yze as Powell has been down on form in recent weeks. The Crows will go for a shootout with the rest of the midfielders, but I expect the Dees will attempt to tag McLeod.

Other matchups: IMO McGregor will start on Schwartz & Bassett on Neitz (if he starts forward). Jars suggestion of Smart on Vardy is an exciting prospect I expect Ellis will play on Stevens & Wheatley (?) on Schell. Perhaps Bizzell on the Birdman, but who will play on Welsh & Riccuito?

hmmm Welsh and Roo. they r 2 hard ones, and roo has had a good record at optus the last 2 times adelaide have played there (i think?) what about Bruce on Mc Leod. if i were Adelaide i would chose Clarke on White before Biglands, and hopefully McGregor on Schwarta BECAUSE if they play Bassett on him, he is more likely to run off and theres no way Ox would keep up with him. But does McGregor have the upper body strength to go with Ox?
Wheatley / Schell would be a great match up but i dont know who would go against roo and Welsh, that is hard.

Adelaide have a great record over us and well this game isnt the best one for us, because of a - adelaides form at the moment and their record against us and at optus oval.

what about Bruce on Mc Leod
Bee - Yeahh I like that one from a Crows perspective, but I can't see it happening. Reckon you are better playing Bruce on Welsh. Not sure who you put on McLeod, but probably neither does Daniher.

if i were Adelaide i would chose Clarke on White before Biglands
I agree Clarke has more ability to go with White aroung the ground, but I would like to see Biglands start to "soften" him up 1st at the centre square bounces. ;)

McGregor on Schwarta BECAUSE if they play Bassett on him, he is more likely to run off and theres no way Ox would keep up with him. But does McGregor have the upper body strength to go with Ox?
Not convinced about Kenny yet, but he has done a good job on Brown & Holland in recent weeks, both of whom do not lack body strength. This will be a real test for Humpty Dumpty against a quality opponent. If he gets burnt early, I hope Ayres moves Smarty on to the Ox.

Wheatley / Schell would be a great match up but i dont know who would go against roo and Welsh, that is hard.
I can't think of a logical player the Dees have got to play on Roo, who has been in awesome form the last couple of weeks. Walsh is probably a bit on the smaller side, so how about Ward?

Bruce will tag someone, he's claimed some big scalps in there this year ie Buckley, N.Stevens, Bell etc.

He may have to push back because we'll need an extra defender, but most likely Wheatley will go back into the back 6

Not sure who Bruce would get Riccutio perhaps? Once the teams are picked we'll know more.

J.McDonald will probably get McLeod

White's form has been great the past two weeks but I think Yze is the one you have to stop. He was poor in the two games we lost but if he's on you're in trouble (See the North game:D)

I won't be tipping Melbourne.

Originally posted by BT

I won't be tipping Melbourne.

:eek: :confused: :mad: :( thats all the faces i could fine to show im UNIMPRESSED!!!

sure, we may not have the best team atm... with nicho out and our forwards not playing 100% (geez... that does sound bad! :( ) but we can do it!!! like ant said - HAVE SOME FAITH!!!

BT - I am planning to go again, you up for some beers and a Demon win?? Either way, I think we will go with the beer part anyway! :D

Mish - We all have faith, but we can't be blinded by that. Adelaide are in great form, we are not. I hope like hell we turn our form around, but I am not getting my hopes up!

Originally posted by CowboyFromHell

Mish - We all have faith, but we can't be blinded by that. Adelaide are in great form, we are not. I hope like hell we turn our form around, but I am not getting my hopes up!

:confused: whats with you people?!?!?! we can do it!!! and if we can't... then we're screwed for the rest of the season!