TimeFor11

Liverpool, Portland
On Footy Classified tonight Caro believes the door is open for Carlton, Richmond and Collingwood to get Browny and I think it is an occasion we open the checkbook and go hard for the bloke. Our team is looking pretty settled for the future bar the KP post up forward.

Riewoldt I am sorry but you aren't looking like a KPP hope you can become an O'Keefe type if not who knows.

Hughes is someone I am a big fan of, his last game for us Vs. Essendon he was struggling with a back injury it seems but the main reason for his poor performance was the fact he isnt used and the players probably new about his niggle.

I say offer him a 3 year contract worth 3mil I am sure we have it in the coffers and no one better to spend it on.

However all well and good wanting him the question is what do we have to give up? Thats where it concerns me I dont think we should give our first round pick so I think we would have to outbid opposition teams and try for some PSD magic.

If we have to give up top pick or young gun in Lids/Foley/Cotch no ****ing way.

I would do something like Riewoldt and our 2nd pick but that would only get through if we were able to hold Bris to ransom as WB did in Aker situation and got a bargain.

If it were a 3 year deal he was seeking, he would have already signed with Brisbane.

It is going to take 5 years to lure Brown away from Brisbane.

In todays HUN Leigh Matthews says that Brown isn't full fitness, and can't remember the last time he was.

It'll be a disaster if we get him.

In todays HUN Leigh Matthews says that Brown isn't full fitness, and can't remember the last time he was.

why wouldnt he say that
if he comes out and says his bodys fine and his flying 15 clubs will offer him 5 years

If it were a 3 year deal he was seeking, he would have already signed with Brisbane.

It is going to take 5 years to lure Brown away from Brisbane.
Correct.
Wonderful player, but he's probbaly only got three years at 15 games a season in him. Do we want to be mocing heaven and earth for that? I don't think so.

Great... let's pay through the nose for another player who has played his best footy already, and is going to be limited by/managing his body for the rest of his career.

Brown would be a big mistake....but apart from that , isn't it funny how The Scum & The Filth always seem to be in the running for all these superstars....guess the salary cap no longer applies to them....more proof that The Filth are protected (still the only club that doesn't have to wear a clash jumper either) and The Scum's slap on the wrist a few years back was just for show...

I reckon Brown would be good and not a mistake.

brown is over rated. past his best.

should go after kerr instead. its obvious we need a quality big bodied midfielder.

to be honest id think hed rather go 2 a club who has there "window of opportunity"

collingwood would seem to be the favourites for brown because carlton do not have the money

nor the player or high pick to negotiate with brisbane

i dun think he would come 2 the tiges because we are far away from being a legitimate premiership chance

we do although need 2 find a decent player we can chuck down forward or back

what are your thoughts about kozi from the saints?

to be honest id think hed rather go 2 a club who has there "window of opportunity"

collingwood would seem to be the favourites for brown because carlton do not have the money

nor the player or high pick to negotiate with brisbane

i dun think he would come 2 the tiges because we are far away from being a legitimate premiership chance

we do although need 2 find a decent player we can chuck down forward or back

what are your thoughts about kozi from the saints?

If Brown was in the side we would play finals next year and be a real chance the following year. Our window is about to open.

i see your point

but we do need pick up a few players still and get rid of some of our hacks

johnno brown will stop all the other people saying when richo goes you have no one..

but i cant think of who we could get rid of for him

a pick or 2 and tambling?

We still have a few on the list that are yet to play seniors but look likely types. add to that Cogs,Meyer, Connors. Surely two or three will find a spot.

Then there are the kids we will pick up with the picks not given away to get Brown and there is a good list there.

I would be trying to package any of Jackson,Jon,Cleve,Reiwoldt,Pettifer,Schulz or King into a deal with a draft Pick. Wouldn't be an easy deal though.

On Footy Classified tonight Caro believes the door is open for Carlton, Richmond and Collingwood to get Browny and I think it is an occasion we open the checkbook and go hard for the bloke. Our team is looking pretty settled for the future bar the KP post up forward.

Riewoldt I am sorry but you aren't looking like a KPP hope you can become an O'Keefe type if not who knows.

Hughes is someone I am a big fan of, his last game for us Vs. Essendon he was struggling with a back injury it seems but the main reason for his poor performance was the fact he isnt used and the players probably new about his niggle.

I say offer him a 3 year contract worth 3mil I am sure we have it in the coffers and no one better to spend it on.

However all well and good wanting him the question is what do we have to give up? Thats where it concerns me I dont think we should give our first round pick so I think we would have to outbid opposition teams and try for some PSD magic.

If we have to give up top pick or young gun in Lids/Foley/Cotch no ****ing way.

I would do something like Riewoldt and our 2nd pick but that would only get through if we were able to hold Bris to ransom as WB did in Aker situation and got a bargain.

**** me if Caro said it then we must be a chance:rolleyes:
is that the same Caro that thought Fev was going somewhere else?

I can't believe so many people have fallen for the "rumours" that are started by JB's management to milk more cash out of the lions. How are this many people gullible?

Some valid points from both sides of the coin here. However the one where someone said it will take a 5 year deal I am not so sure there I think 3 may get the job done as I dont think Brisbane would budge from the 3 they are reportedly offering and nor should they so then it comes down to Browns head of Club Vs Money, if he goes for the money we are a shot.

Might be a few words between Leigh and Brown this week given the message in that to those prepared to offer him what he wants. Wont go down to well with Brown and his management.

We wont stand a chance. Im not sure why Caro would think we could come into the equation. See how Carey and Judd see our club?

FFS, another day another "Lets mortgage the future on a saviour for the Richmond Football Club" thread. How about we ask one or more of the players we've picked up over Wallaces tenure to stand up and be the saviour of the club? You know try something completely different for a change. Never know it might actually work, seems to work for other clubs.

Too true there RT. The problem lies in the fact that most fans do not pay any attention to the drafts, and so limit their knowledge of players to only those in the AFL.

The draft is where we will find the answer to success. Time for the RFC to get serious about building a list from the bottom up instead of seeking stop-gap measures, as well as persisting with players that continually show they are not good enough.

**** me if Caro said it then we must be a chance:rolleyes:
is that the same Caro that thought Fev was going somewhere else?

I can't believe so many people have fallen for the "rumours" that are started by JB's management to milk more cash out of the lions. How are this many people gullible?

I agree mate.

I can't see him leaving the Lions.

Too true there RT. The problem lies in the fact that most fans do not pay any attention to the drafts, and so limit their knowledge of players to only those in the AFL.

The draft is where we will find the answer to success. Time for the RFC to get serious about building a list from the bottom up instead of seeking stop-gap measures, as well as persisting with players that continually show they are not good enough.

I think most people on here have a pretty fair understanding of the draft. For instance would Jon Brown be my number 1 target probably not as he will cost the club too much in return however if we can get a cracker deal for him then I suggest we take it as he can make us rise from Good to Great as we attempt to gain on the comp.

We look like we will be getting pick 8 yet again lol so it will be interesting to see who we take I am one that hopes it isn't McKernan as I think the hype about him is exaggerated by being brother of Corey. I would much prefer Hurley or if we have to take a midfielder then Ziebell looks a good get.

However I think we should target someone like Mitch Thorp this year and also attempt to get Cousins in the PSD.

However I think we should target someone like Mitch Thorp this year
Strangely enough I agree. I like the look of this kid...and he'll come pretty cheap I would've thought. He has talent, its just hard to crack into a Buddy/Roughead led forward line. As a tall that is.

FWIW...With our first pick, I would want Jack Ziebell if available. If not McKernan or Trengrove
2nd: Johnstone or Cornelius
3rd: Paul Cahill :):thumbsu:

That way, we draft the key forwards we need, and hope they come good, as well as getting a classier, goal kicking version of Tuck (hopefully) in Ziebell.

The way I see it, we'd have to give up two of the above picks and a Tambling/Riewoldt standard player for Brown. If we happened to do that, Brown would become a much loved Tiger son immediately, and I'd be over the moon we got a real leader and a great CHF...but before we do it, if at all (doubtful), I'd prefer the chance of drafting some of the above, and/or others.

And would Hawthorn (or Richmond) be happy with our third round pick for Thorp?
Would we have to trade off Schulz or Jackson etc for another 3rd rounder so we can get Thorp and our own 3rd round pick (if that makes sense)?