Past Jonathan Brown #1 (1999-2014)

Re: Jonathan Brown

That amount worries me. Will Browny be providing $1.2M worth of output when he is 32? With the likelihood of some form of free agency in the future, we may need that proportion of the salary cap to retain someone like Jed, Leuey, Clark or Hendo. Imagine if Brown was our highest paid player but performing like Tredrea is currently? Or the way Carey did at the same age?

The flip side is that paying him $1.2M in year 5 is not going to be as big a proportion of the salary cap in 2012 so it may not be as much of a burden.

Before the relationship with Aker broke down, I always said that Aker and Voss were worth more to the club than simply what they delivered on the footy field. They were the profile builders in the club. Arguably, someone like Blacky or Leppa were as important to the side's fortunes but Aker and Vossy were the most valuable to the club and to the code. These days, Browny has the corporate stuff that Vossy had a mortgage on plus most of the media/personality stuff that Aker had - ie, the spot on FM radio, Footy Show, Courier Mail column, "face" of the club's promotions, youth awareness etc. In some ways, he is more valuable than Vossy or Aker were, given that the club doesn't really have another high profile player at the moment. So, given that intangible value, it may be worth paying him more than what he is worth on the field, if only to keep the club and code profile up.

Lets not forget POBT that for a good proportion of that contract that Brown will be eligible for Veterans list status. The current nature of our list would also show that Brown is likely to be the only gun veteran list player on our list by that time, meaning that only half of his salary will count in the cap in those years. Things are panning out nicely.

I'd also reckon that 1.2million a year is just the opening bid by his management and that the final figure will come down somewhat.

That amount worries me.

Me too and I would like to think this is nothing more than media speculation. He may be worth that on the open market, but basically the less he asks for the greater his value (in real terms) to the club. Browny has stated his hunger for more premierships, and the more money there is to build a team around him the better.

As Browndog said I imagine the veteran's list will be a big factor in how the contract is drawn up, with the bulk of the money coming in years 4 and 5 when he is eligible.

Its the length of contract that worries more than money (without knowing the Lions finances/salary cap room...etc)

His body is alot older than his actual age.

my how times have changed. It was a HUGE deal when we signed Lynchy for a million bucks for 10 years!!

According to JB who is now on Channel Ten says Leigh hasn't apologised and there is NO TRUTH top the 6 million dollar deal but he does want to stay in Brisbane.

my how times have changed. It was a HUGE deal when we signed Lynchy for a million bucks for 10 years!!

According to JB who is now on Channel Ten says Leigh hasn't apologised and there is NO TRUTH top the 6 million dollar deal but he does want to stay in Brisbane.

If there is no truth, it would have to be one of the biggest made up rumours for a while.

The ultimate footballer is worth every cent . . . now and in 5 years time. $1.2M sounds like a lot 'now' but in 5 years time there will be many other players on that kind of money and like TBD stated above half of his salary will be covered in the veterans list.

Browny is a marketers dream and the envy of every other club. We need to secure his services before the new kid on the block (the AFL's offspring down the highway) make a mega bucks offer to snatch him from the Lions. I don't know if I could handle seeing Browny and Vossie as Captain and Coach of the Gold Coast Sharks :(

Also, Browny doesnt strike me as someone who is driven by money. I believe the Lions are building something special and Browny knows it too. Browny will remain at the Lions and in doing so he will set the standard for the young kids on the list who may also be tempted at some stage to go home (ie) Adcock (VIC), Rischa (VIC), Leuey (WA), Hendo (VIC), Sherman (Tassie), Collier (Tassie) etc :thumbsu:

6 Million over 5 Years is far too much money and I think Browny would even think so. I think a fair contract is 700k a season for the next 2 and when he is eligible to be placed on the veterans list his salary shall go up to 1million, so 4.4million over 5 Years on top of sponsorships, endorsements etc Browny is sitting pretty and might spend his last five years having a real crack at some more premiership glory.

This seems a fair to everybody i think, and i'm hoping like others have said that 6M is just a starting price, and they will negotiate down from there.

Seriously though, if Brown didn't have that break out year last year, i dont think 6M would be talked about, we all know how good he is, but lets not forget last year was the first injury free year he had played in a long long time, that worries me. Hopefully he is over these major injuries, but the way he plays his football, i dont know.

Lets hope both parties come to a fair agreement before the end of the year.:thumbsu:

Listening to Channel Eddie last night, it's clear to any reasonable person that Brownie is intent on staying here, all things being equal. However, a mega offer from the Collingwood FL (sorry, Collingwood FC, only the cynical would believe that the AFL is run by Collingwood) might throw things into disarray. However, Brownie's remarks indicate that this is a bloke not driven by the almighty $.

Backending his salary over 5 years so that he gets more in his veteran years seems perfectly sensible. Brownie is genuine legend, but even so he will need to deliver consistently on the price on his head (like Brennan ain't), otherwise the critics will come out of the woodwork.

Link

Lions skipper Brown happy to share spoils with Bradshaw
Article from:
Marco Monteverde
April 24, 2008 12:00am

BRISBANE superstar Jonathan Brown admits he's still re-adjusting to life in the Lions forward line alongside Daniel Bradshaw, but is rapt he no longer has to kick a bagful of goals each week to carry his team. Brown had a rare off night in the Lions' 12-point loss to a Lance "Buddy" Franklin-inspired Hawthorn last Saturday, failing to nab a major. And while he is desperate to make amends when Brisbane hosts lowly Melbourne at the Gabba on Sunday, Brown will be content to again play second fiddle to Bradshaw if the 29-year-old sharpshooter maintains the form which enabled him to kick seven goals against the Hawks.
"It certainly makes it a lot easier on me," said Brown, who was often forced to play a lone hand in attack last year while Bradshaw missed the season after a knee reconstruction.
"I had a bad one on the weekend, so I'd like to contribute a bit more and help Braddy out – that's for sure. But it's certainly going to be a hell of a lot better for our team that we've got that double-pronged attack."
Brown warned rivals that the combination would only improve once the pair fully hit their straps as an attacking unit.
"On the weekend I probably got sucked up the ground a little bit, but we need to get that cohesion going again," last year's Coleman Medallist said.
"Some games you both get involved, other games it might be the other bloke gets involved. It's dependent on where the numbers go to.
"But it's good now that we're sharing the load, so we're not as predictable as we were last year."
The pair often float between the half-forward and full-forward positions, although Brown admits positioning himself somewhere in between was a reality of modern-day football.
"Most sides are probably drilled to carry the ball through the midfield and not land the ball at centre half-forward as much. They want to get it deeper," he said.
"Landing the ball at centre half-forward can leave a team in a vulnerable position if the ball turns over. It can go straight back down the other end through the corridor. That's where the game's changed."
Brown, whose Lions contract is up at the end of the season, told The Courier-Mail on April 5 that he wanted to finish his career with the club by signing a long-term deal. But last night he refused to discuss the matter, preferring to focus on Sunday's match against the Demons.
"It's a dangerous game because they're copping a lot of flak. We need to jump all over them straight away," he said.
Brown tipped Travis Johnstone to respond to criticism from coach Leigh Matthews with a stellar performance against his former club.
"He's a good character and he'll be good for us," Brown said.

brownnd5.jpg

LEST we forget . . . Jonathan Brown with Norman Fry who will recite The Ode at Sunday's game.

Some anonymous player has divulged some of the sledging that different players like to use. Here is what he said about Browny:

"Jonathan Brown is very good at intimidating and you know he can back it up. It is simple stuff - 'If you come back into that hole, I am going to run through you', and personal - 'You are weak as p..., you can only play the loose man'.

Matthew Richardson might say that, but you know Brown will actually run through you.

Link

Garry Lyon analyses the season so far
Article from:
Garry Lyon
April 23, 2008 12:00am

Sorting the big boys
JONATHAN Brown has had a slow start to the year, by his standards.
Averaging little more than 11 possessions a game, he would probably give himself a pass mark in only two of his five games.
By contrast, Daniel Bradshaw is off to a flyer, having missed last year after a knee reconstruction.
What do you do when you have two players suited to the same role?
Essendon faces a similar dilemma with Scott Lucas and Matthew Lloyd.
There is a growing school of thought that Lucas is more suited to a pivotal forward role than Lloyd.
Will he take Lloyd's spot out of the square on his return from injury, forcing the skipper up the ground?
The traditional centre half-forward role is becoming redundant, with the "run-and-carry" style employed by most sides ensuring the half-forward line is often bypassed.
Who gets first call on playing out of the goalsquare, assuming that is the preference of all four? Lloyd or Lucas? Brown or Bradshaw? And you wonder why coaches demand flexibility.

brown60ui6.jpg

Link

Daniel Bradshaw continued his astonishing form post-knee surgery with six goals, five of them in the second half, but what has gone almost unremarked is Jonathan Brown's quiet month: a fine game against Port Adelaide aside, the big bloke has failed to seriously influence a contest since his six-goal haul against West Coast in round one.

Link

Brown still the one
Article from:
Gary Lyon
April 29, 2008 12:00am

JONATHAN Brown overrated? You've got to be kidding. Yet I found myself in an argument at the weekend with a respected football media expert who suggested just that. And, to my surprise, it was far more difficult to refute than I first anticipated.
In most minds, Brown is the No. 1 player in the game, the first picked in the proverbial schoolyard, the player that most clubs would send a blank cheque to if they could lure him to their club.
Brown made his debut in 2000, along with another talented key-position player - Matthew Pavlich. A year later along came a blond bombshell from Queensland by the name of Nick Riewoldt.
We have all been blessed to have witnessed these three players in the past eight years, marvelling at their sublime skill and breathtaking courage.
But in most loungerooms, bars or offices that I have visited it has been an almost accepted fact that no matter how good Pavlich or Riewoldt are, you would always go for Browny if push came to shove. I know I do.
But there is a growing chorus that suggests Pavlich may have just edged ahead of Brown in this three-way comparison, with Riewoldt breathing down their necks.
It is a fascinating debate and one that becomes even more intriguing when you examine their individual and collective achievements.
Since his debut, Brown has won one best-and-fairest in eight years; Pavlich and Riewoldt have four each. Brown's win last year was his only top-five B&F finish; Pavlich has seven and Riewoldt five, from one less year.
All-Australian selectors have picked Pavlich five times, Riewoldt twice and Brown once. Riewoldt is the only one of the trio who has won the coveted AFLPA MVP award.
What sets Brown apart when it comes to accolades, of course, is the fact that he has three of the most treasured awards of all safely locked away: premiership medallions.
It's a cliche, but if you asked Pavlich or Riewoldt whether or not they would trade their medals for Brown's, I'm pretty sure they would. And I'm just as certain Brown wouldn't.
The counter-argument is that it is all about opportunity.

That Pavlich or Riewoldt, had they been drafted to Brisbane instead of Fremantle and St Kilda, and had Michael Voss, Simon Black, Nigel Lappin, Jason Akermanis, Luke Power, Alastair Lynch, the Scott boys, Justin Leppitsch and Co been beside them, they would have similar treasured memories of 2001, '02 and '03.
Brown has had some injury problems and it wasn't until the 2007 season was well under way that he finally approached something like full fitness.

His finish to the season is what provides those of us who place him on a pedestal with the confidence to continue to elevate him.
In the last 10 games of last season, the Lions played every one of the teams that finished in the top eight.

Brown averaged more than five goals a game, including bags of seven against Geelong, six against Hawthorn and North Melbourne and four against Sydney, Port Adelaide and West Coast.
Having said all that, his start to the '08 season has not been that of the No. 1 player in the competition.
What Brown has, more than any other player in the competition, is physical presence.

The ability to have the ball funnelled through him constantly and provide the sort of contest that either results in Brown winning possession, or the ball dropping where his crumbing forwards can benefit most.
With Daniel Bradshaw in such good form, however, Brown's capacity to impose himself on the contest has been affected.
Both players have taken 10 contested marks for the season, yet Bradshaw has kicked almost twice as many goals (29 to 15).

He's playing closer to goal; a role that Brown made his own in the second half of last year, and it appears Brown is taking some time to adjust.
The challenges are plenty for Brown in the coming 16 weeks. If Mike Sheahan's top 50 was released quarterly, I think he would be the biggest absentee.
But it would be a brave person to suggest that he won't have that rectified by season's end.
In the process he may also lead the Lions back into the finals for the first time since 2004, win his second best-and-fairest, add another All-Australian jumper to the collection and even another Coleman Medal.
That's what the No. 1 player in the competition would do, anyway.

brown58bu1.jpg

Kevin Sheedy

Right now, Brown is playing like he is injured, or at least limited by some niggle. He is desperate not only to beat Geelong this week - and his Victorian coach Mark Thompson - but to suit up for the Big V the following week.
So he will push through it, but somehow he and Bradshaw haven't clicked together as we thought they might.
But champions are champions for a reason, and not only will he come good, he might just do it while leading Victoria.

brown65ib8.jpg

2zid3xw.jpg

The Lions new 'away' strip. Part one of contract negotiations is complete.;)

Now if we can just get a dog track around the Gabba again, the deal will be done. :thumbsu:

Link

Brown threw a scare through the Lions camp last night when he failed to finish training, the club's only session of the week.
Brown lasted just minutes last night before calling head physiotherapist Nathan Carloss over for treatment. Carloss appeared to work on Brown's hip for several minutes on the ground before escorting the Coleman medallist into the club's underground changerooms. He did not reappear.
Lions coach Leigh Matthews said Brown was one of several players who were struggling with the shortened week after playing against Melbourne last Sunday.
"Well, it is just four days after the game, he was a bit sore and we couldn't do much with him and we'll just have to see how he is over the next couple of days," Matthews said.

brown13pf6.jpg

Link

Day games in Gabba heat putting players at risk
Article from:
Jonathan Brown
May 02, 2008 12:00am

EARLY afternoon matches at the Gabba in April and May should be outlawed by the AFL as the hot and humid conditions put players at risk. The Lions' game against Melbourne last Sunday, played in 30C heat and high humidity, bordered on dangerous and put player welfare at unnecessary risk. I lost a tick over 3kg playing up forward, and I spent the last 10-15 minutes on the bench.
For midfielders who run 15-18km during a game while also taking the physical punishment, this is a bit extreme. It's OK in winter, but any earlier than that the AFL is taking liberties with the players.
Sure, maybe it's a bit of a match-day advantage for the Lions because our guys are better accustomed to the heat, but there's the recovery factor as well – especially in a six-day week like we've had in preparation for tomorrow's visit to Geelong.
The medical staff did everything they could last Sunday to keep on top of the conditions. The boys jumped in the cold plunge pool at halftime to lower their core temperature, had ice vests and fans on the bench, and were straight up to the pool after the game.
Even before the game we cut down the length and the intensity of the on-field warm-up to limit the players' exposure to the sun.
Also, interchange rotations, especially for the midfielders, were even higher than normal.
But these are just stop-gap measures. And given that we're not allowed under AFL rules to use intravenous drips to rehydrate players after the game, it is a very real issue.
I noted with interest that in a rugby league game played in the heat on Sunday they had an extra drinks break 20 minutes into each half. Though I don't think we can do that sort of thing in AFL, maybe we could extend the existing breaks a little – as they do pre-season.
This isn't the first time we've had something like this but the danger factor seems to be forgotten after a couple of years and 1pm Sunday games somehow sneak back into the Gabba schedule.
I understand setting the draw is a nightmare because of all the factors that have to be considered, but the rules should be simple and set in stone.
If we have to play Sunday games at the Gabba outside winter, then make them twilight games to avoid the hottest part of the day.
Down the track the same should apply to home games for the Gold Coast team.
The AFL goes to great lengths to safeguard against the heat during the pre-season, but it was no hotter in February than it was last Sunday and the same precautions need to be in place.
I reckon the AFL also needs to look at something similar in Perth where our round 1 game against West Coast was another stinker, even though it was a twilight game.
That day the Eagles players didn't venture on to the ground for the warm-up because it was so hot.
At least it will be cooler down at Sleepy Hollow for tomorrow's game against Geelong.

brown66jv3.jpg