Josh Carr

Re: A Good Trade...

And while Port are looking better than us right at this moment in time, would they want to take on a 29 year old who may or may not be around when they next make their assault on the premiership?? Last year was an aberration for them making the GF... not really indicative of where they are currently at - and Josh Carr (as much as we and Port supporters love him) is not the difference between them losing a GF by 119 points and winning a premiership.

IMHO Josh is going nowhere and will retire a Freo player.

I think it makes a lot of sense for Port to speak to Josh, especially if they can offer more money than us. Mark Williams has said that Josh was his favourite player.

If the rumour's correct that Port are keen on Carr and/or Josh is interested in moving back to Adelaide there are 3 possible outcomes from a Port Adelaide point of view.
I) Josh stays at Freo, but the interest raises Carr's salary.
II) They offer a shitty trade resulting in them getting a good player for stuff all or Carr is forced to reluctantly re-sign with Fremantle after a stalemate during trade week.
III) Carr asks for a trade, nothing eventuates during trade week and Port pick him up for nothing in the PSD.

All three of those look pretty good from a Port Adelaide POV, so I reckon they'll be keeping an eye on his contract negotiations.

I think it makes a lot of sense for Port to speak to Josh, especially if they can offer more money than us. Mark Williams has said that Josh was his favourite player.

If the rumour's correct that Port are keen on Carr and/or Josh is interested in moving back to Adelaide there are 3 possible outcomes from a Port Adelaide point of view.
I) Josh stays at Freo, but the interest raises Carr's salary.
II) They offer a shitty trade resulting in them getting a good player for stuff all or Carr is forced to reluctantly re-sign with Fremantle after a stalemate during trade week.
III) Carr asks for a trade, nothing eventuates during trade week and Port pick him up for nothing in the PSD.

All three of those look pretty good from a Port Adelaide POV, so I reckon they'll be keeping an eye on his contract negotiations.

Ok fair enough I can see where you are coming from - but - Josh was a 24 year old premiership player with the Port world at his feet when he left - he's now a 28/29 year old with only a couple of years left...

If they offered their 2nd rounder I would climb over Harves to accept the offer... if they offered their third I would hesitate but stgill probably accept...

How about their first for Josh and our third??? :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

(OK, OK our second then.... ;))

Their 3rd rounder will be somewhere around pick 40, I'd rather retain Carr.

Carr and our 3rd rounder (somewhere around pick 37) for their 2nd round pick (about pick 25) looks reasonably fair.

I am gob smacked that one J. Carr may be even considering pulling stumps. If there was some discussion between Carr and Cornes and he hates being at Freo so much he should never had "COMMITTED" in the first place. Yes Josh, "COMMITTMENT" the want to bleed purple. The Macca bashing that is currently going on pales into insignificance if this story is true.

The Cornes boys have both been asked about Carr and both replied similarly. That they dont beleive he is enjoying his football at Fremantle (apparently a text message received after the Melbourne game) ... but that they dont htink he will leave as he is pretty settled off the field.

What did Bulldogs give up for Akermanis? Pick 34. Only Aker is a much, much more damaging player. What about some younger players? Symes (& Mattner) - pick 28. Schneider + Dempster - pick 26. Morton - pick 35. Based on this, Carr could only be worth a pick around 40, which like some have said is probably about the mark for Port's 3rd rounder.

The Cornes boys have both been asked about Carr and both replied similarly. That they dont beleive he is enjoying his football at Fremantle (apparently a text message received after the Melbourne game) ... but that they dont htink he will leave as he is pretty settled off the field.

At the time of the Melbourne game, Josh was sitting at home on his backside doing absolutely nothing to help his teammates as he was out suspended due to his own sheer (and somewhat regular) stupidity. Guess what Josh, there weren't too many purple people enjoying their footy that day :mad:

pathetic to be sending a message like that to other players - he can ____ off back to adelaide.

Because Freo supporters have the best socioeconomic status of all the AFL clubs, don't they?

Well do they?

Or was that rhetorical because you don't know the answer?

*Waits to be asked what rhetorical means*

**Waits for applause for being so funny**

***Waits a bit longer***

****Still waits****

All the Crap aside...

Id take Josh Car back in a heart beat. We need a bit of aggression and antagonism around the ball.... and he is the perfect bloke for it. It just hasnt worked out for him at Fremantle - for whatever reason. But he'd slot nicely back into the port side who need a bit of mongerel in them. But its next year or never - at 28 it he is getting on a bit.

At the time we traded him to Freo, we wanted a deal involving Schammer... but Schammer wasnt interested and Freo didnt want to let him go. So we got crap all for Carr in the end (from memory we got Shattock and Walsh from the "Josh Carr Trades"). So if he wants to come back to Port, Freo should not stand in his way. Port didnt stand in his way when he wanted to leave - if they wanted to play hard ball, they could have forced him into the draft like Nick Stevens.

As for Schammer... i thought he was going to be a good player (perhaps even a superstar?) once. But i honestly dont rate him anymore. Ive seen him play too many poor games. I know he's been injured, but he seems to have gone backwards?? In anycase, Schammer said "no" to coming to port in 2005... so he can stick it out with you Freo as far as im concerned. He had his chance.

All the Crap aside...

Id take Josh Car back in a heart beat. We need a bit of aggression and antagonism around the ball.... and he is the perfect bloke for it. It just hasnt worked out for him at Fremantle - for whatever reason. But he'd slot nicely back into the port side who need a bit of mongerel in them. But its next year or never - at 28 it he is getting on a bit.

At the time we traded him to Freo, we wanted a deal involving Schammer... but Schammer wasnt interested and Freo didnt want to let him go. So we got crap all for Carr in the end (from memory we got Shattock and Walsh from the "Josh Carr Trades"). So if he wants to come back to Port, Freo should not stand in his way. Port didnt stand in his way when he wanted to leave - if they wanted to play hard ball, they could have forced him into the draft like Nick Stevens.

As for Schammer... i thought he was going to be a good player (perhaps even a superstar?) once. But i honestly dont rate him anymore. Ive seen him play too many poor games. I know he's been injured, but he seems to have gone backwards?? In anycase, Schammer said "no" to coming to port in 2005... so he can stick it out with you Freo as far as im concerned. He had his chance.

You got a heap from memory, At least three draft picks

if we trade carr back to port, we should ask for adam thompson

a good young clearance specialist who isn't getting a game at the moment

ironicly, he was the player port chose with the first round pick we gave for josh

What are bogans doing talking about stamps? :confused:

I looked it up. On the Interweb. Apparently, and this is just here-say mind, you can use these 'stamps' to get 'letters' from one place to another. It's like email, but slow and pointless. I guess if you are South Australian these 'stamps' are pretty attractive....like cousins.

But Port desperately need a Carr type player, because other than the Corneses our midfield is full of outside players. I can't remember who it was that said this about the Crows reportedly wanting to give a 1.3 million dollar contract to Ben Holland, but he said something like this "If you are a stamp collector, you aim to collect whole sets of stamps. If you have all but one of the stamps in a collection, you'll be willing to pay above market value for the stamp. The Crows thought Ben Holland would complete their set, so they were willing to pay above market value". The same applies to Josh. If I was Williams I would be willing to give you guys a second rounder for him.

hey that has been our trading strategy since inception.

see what it has done to us.

if we trade carr back to port, we should ask for adam thompson

a good young clearance specialist who isn't getting a game at the moment

ironicly, he was the player port chose with the first round pick we gave for josh

I'd love to have Thomson, we'll take him seeing Choco doesn't want to play him too often. Good Sturt lad as well.

As I posted on the Port board - where do we sign? Sounds like a good trade if Josh in fact does want out.

We must be going close to a record number of players who are walking out at the end of the year - you could only wonder what the AFL would do if they all did leave.

I looked it up. On the Interweb. Apparently, and this is just here-say mind, you can use these 'stamps' to get 'letters' from one place to another. It's like email, but slow and pointless. I guess if you are South Australian these 'stamps' are pretty attractive....like cousins.

BTW: marrying cousins is passe in SA, fathers are marrying daughters there.