Josh Fraser

the recruiter

Rookie
Feb 3, 2005
melbourne
Where is josh at i seen him play some goof footy as a rover,i would like to see him play there or even on a wing,and use him coming out of defence has good agility for a big man and is probably the fittest big man around and he could be dangerous as a rover floating forward they should try this any thoughts

the recruiter said:
Where is josh at i seen him play some goof footy as a rover,i would like to see him play there or even on a wing,and use him coming out of defence has good agility for a big man and is probably the fittest big man around and he could be dangerous as a rover floating forward they should try this any thoughts
Use punctuation.

the recruiter said:
as a rover.LMAO thats like saying brendon fevola is better suited at full back

L-nizzy im sure hes already taken one. this will be his year people wrapped him up to early and said things like he will win a brownlow he will captain the club before he had played a game. what was darcy like at 23 no where near where josh is it takes them longer it took michael gardiner 7 years jeff white as well josh will ge a gun dont worrie about that

L-Nizzy said:
Before I die, I'd just love to see him take an overhead contested mark.

Just one.
Overhead he's weak as a kitten. It's irritating that he's not quite complete, but he's generally very good at everything else.

Maybe he'll strengthen as he moves into his mid 20s and we might get that wish.

Still a bloody handy player to have eitherway!

im hoping he can take some more steps forward this season in his development, and really grab the comp by the scruff of the neck and start dominating teams...and opponents

grayza said:
im hoping he can take some more steps forward this season in his development, and really grab the comp by the scruff of the neck and start dominating teams...and opponents
Im pretty confident he can In the ruck and in the forward line.

I like him as the "Worlds tallest half forward flanker"...with the odd stint on the ball behind Richards and C Cloke. Another 40 goal year from him would be handy.

so many collingwood fans give it to him which is pretty annoying when most of them are junky rats that dont have a clue if he doesnt devealop any more he is still one of there best. He has showed some promise hes 100 game was brilliant and the to grand finals he has played have been fantastic so get off his back

I was talking to Ben Graham (an old school mate) a couple of years ago about Josh and he said that Josh had to stop playing footy like he did in Juniors and adapt to the senior game. I guess what he was saying is that Josh could get away with alot more at junior level because of his speed for his height and that the other players didn't have mature bodies.
I think 2003 he made that step up. Let's face it, he isn't going to be a dominant tap ruckman as he gets knocked off the ball too much. I think they should play him as a forward utility and let Richards ruck and play a kick behind.

A 40 goal season would be handy if they kicked to him more often mayb 50+ i think sometimes they go to tarrant to much and with josh playing on the third defender they should look for him more he does present. Ben graham shouldnt be giving advice he plays one good game a year hes the one that needs it. L-nizzy not bagging josh any more seen collingwoods practise match today josh took an over head mark he played at ff mayb thats the go for him this year

My biggest concern with Fraser is that he keeps being asked to play a big mans role because he is big. He is a quality footballer who will get better but he isn't a traditional big man. He is an unconventional player and should be used in an unconventional role. That would make it harder to match him up and allow him to use his assets (pace and dexterity relative to height, play reading ability etc) instead of being exposed by his weaknesses (lack of strength and "weak" hands). He doesn't have the overhead capabilities at this stage to play CHF. He doesn't have the strength or the leap and/or explosive athleticism to play ruck. He does have the height to exploit anyone able to move with him if he runs up and down the ground and is used solely as an attacking weapon. I'd love to try him on a wing but if not he should be played as a forward flanker with license to go as high up the ground as he wants and to run back toward goal to create an option. He still needs to work on his strength and overhead ability in that role but it isn't central to it like it is for a ruckman or KPP.

jabso said:
The day Josh takes advice from Ben Graham is the day he should give up.

I thought it was pretty accurate myself. If we were to discredit everything people say who aren't as good as we think then this whole board is a waste of time. Not too many people on the board would have played top level footy and we are all quick to give opinions.

Anyway, Let's hope Rogan kicks a bag this year and steps up to the next level.

I'd like to see a gameplan that somehow works out so Richards/C.Cloke does the ruck work and Fraser starts HFF and then after the centre bounce Richards and Fraser swap and Fraser can be used in a midfield role. When in the forward line Rocca/C.Cloke can do the throw ins/ball ups and in the backline Walker can do defensive (McKee like) ruckwork.

I agree with MarkT, I'd love to see the bloke on a wing. I've been a fan of the tall bloke who can run a bit playing on the wing thing for a while now, and I reckon Josh could be the man.

Let's not delude ourselves that he'll ever be a superstar of the game, though.

at last some 1 knows what there talking about thank you mark t thats what i have been saying he is a big bloke that plays as a small man i hope he gets a run on the wing i no him and next time i see him will mention it to him

Josh Fraser