Jumper Clashes

ErnieSigley

Feb 20, 2005
Australia
For all the AFL's hoo ha on teams having a clash top, they let Collingwood wearing black backs play Carlton wearing navy blue.
The Port Vs Cats was a stuff up up too. Both had light coloured tops that was hard to distinguish on TV.
Yesterday they wouldn't let Brisbane wear the old red 70's Fitzroy tops (instead of those horrible pee stain tops) in a game where the Bulldogs wore mostly blue.

Someone please explain it to me.

For all the AFL's hoo ha on teams having a clash top, they let Collingwood wearing black backs play Carlton wearing navy blue.
The Port Vs Cats was a stuff up up too. Both had light coloured tops that was hard to distinguish on TV.
Yesterday they wouldn't let Brisbane wear the old red 70's Fitzroy tops (instead of those horrible pee stain tops) in a game where the Bulldogs wore mostly blue.

Someone please explain it to me.
I can't explain it to you and the AFL can't because i dont know what the hell they are doing anymore and they dont even know the meaning of clash anymore!
The jumper brisbane wore yesterday didnt exactly resolve the supposed 'clash' as it had plenty of blue on it...

I don't get it either. The grand final, they make geelong wear white shorts but then today they rightly so wear there dark blue shorts coz its @ Geelong?? Werent Geelong named first in the Grand Final??? so therefore shud have worn blue shorts or coz it was a grand final and at the MCG the policy changes???

Also, The AFL never dare to ask 'certain' home team during the regular season to wear white shorts. Collingwood and Geelong could have been examples today but my prime example will be in Rd 21 when Geelong host my own team North Melbourne @ Geelong.

A couple of rounds ago we hosted Geelong on the big stage friday night and were made to wear white shorts with our home jumper so therefore Geelong wud be in an all dark uniform. In Round 22 i put all my money on Geelong being told to wear Navy Shorts with there home jumper and we will wear white shorts with our away blue jumper. How come we dont follow the precedent set in our 1st meeting, allowing Geelong to be in a majority white uniform and North to be in an all Blue one just like last years qualifying final. Does the ground or part of the season determine who wears what now???

I am not attacking any clubs, but just using Geelong as my example. Nor am i blaming them for anything as all they are doing is listening to what the AFL tell them.
What i am doing though, is attacking the AFL's double standards. WE all know they like to push smaller clubs around and
For the record, i think clash jumpers are a joke that the AFL are creating a mockery of the issue.

Like to hear other peoples thoughts, thanx.

Buggered if I know what is going on with these jumpers.

Why did St Kilda wear their traditional jumper against Sydney and why did Hawthorn wear that 'white' outfit with the big hawk on the front? Why can't we stick to the normal jumpers.

However, if clubs have to wear an away strip, it's about bloody time the AFL told Collingwood to get something completely different or forfeit the game!!!!!

Away Jumpers

Should teams have to wear away jumpers?

Should Collingwood have to wear something completely different like every other club?

Why do the AFL bully teams like North Melbourne into wearing non clash strips when its North's home game?

Why did North Melbourne cave in to the bullyboy tactics of the AFL with regards their jumper at their home game?

Re: Away Jumpers

Everyone has a clash strip, but Collingwood's is hardly different. The AFL should force them to make another one. As for away strips, leave it as is.

Did we need yet another clash jumper thread? This is the third one this afternoon.:rolleyes:

Mods please, we need a clash jumper board. :thumbsu:

Port wear their clash against Geelong when we play them away. The Grand Final was a seperate issue. Port didn't feel the clash was large enough to not wear its home jumper in the biggest game of the year and Geelong were happy to let common sense prevail through wearing white shorts.

Should teams have to wear away jumpers?

Should Collingwood have to wear something completely different like every other club?

Why do the AFL bully teams like North Melbourne into wearing non clash strips when its North's home game?

Why did North Melbourne cave in to the bullyboy tactics of the AFL with regards their jumper at their home game?

1) No.

2) Yes, if their jumper clashs with another club's jumper.

3) Because the AFL doesn't have the guts to order Collingwood to create an appropriate jumper that doesn't clash.

4) Because we'll get fined 10k for every player that wears our home jumper. We can't afford a fine of $220,000.

Collingwood's predominantly white guernsey (the "black on white"), when worn with white shorts, is an excellent clash strip.

09medhurst.jpg

Clash jumpers exist to sell themselves. The End. It is all marketing and such to make more money for the league. Logically, and rationally speaking, the jumpers are unnecessary. As far as science is concerned, the only colour which clashes with navy blue is navy blue, so why should Carlton suffer? The answer, as I have already said, is the green (which incidentally only clashes with green).

In response to the North Melbourne query, it is because James Brayshaw is an obsequious sook. It is the away team's duty to provide itself with a suitable non-clashing clash jumper. They didn't, and now JB isn't doing anything about it - eg, making a huge fuss, or making the AFL read their own reasoning (away team provides it etc.).

Collingwood's predominantly white guernsey (the "black on white"), when worn with white shorts, is an excellent clash strip.

09medhurst.jpg

It's a great jumper, but the fact that it clashes with another club's home jumper means that it isn't an appropriate clash strip.

Clash jumpers exist to sell themselves. The End. It is all marketing and such to make more money for the league. Logically, and rationally speaking, the jumpers are unnecessary. As far as science is concerned, the only colour which clashes with navy blue is navy blue, so why should Carlton suffer? The answer, as I have already said, is the green (which incidentally only clashes with green).

In response to the North Melbourne query, it is because James Brayshaw is an obsequious sook. It is the away team's duty to provide itself with a suitable non-clashing clash jumper. They didn't, and now JB isn't doing anything about it.

A wimp running a football club! All talk (sponsors to the tune of xmillion) have not appeared and he caves in to the Gestapo. How long before they fold?

The jumper brisbane wore yesterday didnt exactly resolve the supposed 'clash' as it had plenty of blue on it...

I personally don't see that Brisbane's regular jumper has any worries up against the Bulldogs, but as far as the jumpers worn yesterday, that made for good viewing.

I was at the game, and can tell you light v dark worked an absolute treat.

Very easy to distinguish the teams.:thumbsu:

09medhurst.jpg

Yes it is.

The issue with the people who constantly complain about it has nothing to do with a jumper clash. It has to do with the hatred of Collingwood and the fact we still get to wear a jumper that still is identified as a traditional strip for us.

These people will not be happy to the AFL force Collingwood to run out in a florence pink jumper. That is what they are want and won't be happy to the AFL force Collingwood to sellout there jumper like there club has.

It's a great jumper, but the fact that it clashes with another club's home jumper means that it isn't an appropriate clash strip.
But luckily our home strip doesnt clash so no problem

oh and our home and away strips are alot more different and more effective at avoiding all clashes than Essendons non effort, but yet for some reason everyone has forgotten about them

I think everyone goes over the top with jumper clashes, and all these ridiculous clash jumpers. At worse, it is a minor inconvenience when watching a game between Essendon & St Kilda in the late afternoon sun, or North Melbourne & Geelong in the wet.

And people insist that the standard Melbourne and Brisbane Lions jumpers clash, as well as Carlton and Fremantle. I just do not see it, and have no problem telling the teams apart.

I think everyone goes over the top with jumper clashes, and all these ridiculous clash jumpers. At worse, it is a minor inconvenience when watching a game between Essendon & St Kilda in the late afternoon sun, or North Melbourne & Geelong in the wet.

And people insist that the standard Melbourne and Brisbane Lions jumpers clash, as well as Carlton and Fremantle. I just do not see it, and have no problem telling the teams apart.
The only time Carlton and Freo would clash is if they wore the purple haze jumper

I reckon the worst clash is Melbourne v Essendon

Collingwood's home strip - the "white on black" - doesn't clash with the Kangaroos strip though.

It's all overblown. What I find stupid is that in Round 4, when the Crows played Hawks in Tassie, we were allowed to wear our home strip. Yet when they played us last night, the AFL said they couldn't wear there home strip.

Absolutely ridiculous.

i think freos clash top as well as carlton and bulldogs are great. when watching them live or especially on tv the difference between the opposing teams is so obvious. i think every team should have a predominatly white top for away or clashing games.

I personally don't see that Brisbane's regular jumper has any worries up against the Bulldogs, but as far as the jumpers worn yesterday, that made for good viewing.

I was at the game, and can tell you light v dark worked an absolute treat.

Very easy to distinguish the teams.:thumbsu:

The Brisbane jumper is the worst clash jumper along with Melbourne's that I have ever seen. The jumpers are disgusting and the AFL should be ashamed that some one actually designed them

Jumper Clashes