Toast Kane Lambert

• Thread starter Thread starter copthat

Was gobsmacked when left out of the team in round one.
i wasnt as i thought he wasnt good enough, and that guys like Prestia, Caddy etc meant there wasnt a spot for him. but has worked his butt off to get and keep a spot, and guys like him improving is why we are 3rd

Controversial - and likely to start world war three in another thread as their perennial defenders will come - but Lambert has outperformed both of them.
He should have been in round one purely from a stand point of singlehandedly burying the Blues in round one the previous year.
We were also intent on proving in an odd way that Vlastuin is a darn fine half back flanker and there is nothing wrong with that.

some credit has to go to the coaching staff. last year he was played mainly as a forward and looked a fish out of sea at times. he's got stamina and ball getting ability and they are playing him as a link between defence and forward lines. been one of our best the last 5-6 weeks.

Having an absolute ripper of a season. Has been a stalwart and consistent performer bar 1 or 2 quiet ones. Gets the job done and him playing like this allows blokes like Trent or Dusty to go missing for a game or even a quarter with no consequence on the team. Finally the spread of performance and talent is getting broader and thicker.

My one knock is his awareness, sometimes I feel like he has the blinkers on. Just little parts that stand out where he will miss a handball completely or not be aware someone is hand-balling to him. (This isn't always his fault entirely but he seems to get involved in a few!) Has also been run down streaming into an open goal more than once this year.

Credit to him though, has been one of our best and will definitely be top 10 come BNF time.

The best compliment ever paid to me during my brief football career was from Pat Sheedy. The older brother of Kevin and father of my classmate. It was u14's De La Salle College and I was the smallest boy in the team. He picked me for the Grannie, last player in the team of 22, beating about 8 other boys who missed out. It was quite emotional. Pat came up to me and said do you know why I picked you? I didn't answer so he said 'Because you are a goer!'

Lambert is a goer. A shining example of what is making this team really good. Go Tigers!

The best compliment ever paid to me during my brief football career was from Pat Sheedy. The older brother of Kevin and father of my classmate. It was u14's De La Salle College and I was the smallest boy in the team. He picked me for the Grannie, last player in the team of 22, beating about 8 other boys who missed out. It was quite emotional. Pat came up to me and said do you know why I picked you? I didn't answer so he said 'Because you are a goer!'

Lambert is a goer. A shining example of what is making this team really good. Go Tigers!
How'd you go in the Grannie ?

Nah, no good. He keep me on the bench until the last quarter cos the other side were big and had thrown me a round earlier in the year. That's another story. Still thought I could have been the difference..........:(

Nah, not really. They crunched us. Oakleigh Youth where Capper and Rhys Jones came from.

Nah, no good. He keep me on the bench until the last quarter cos the other side were big and had thrown me a round earlier in the year. That's another story. Still thought I could have been the difference..........:(

Nah, not really. They crunched us. Oakleigh Youth where Capper and Rhys Jones came from.
You could have put some mayo on it mate, plenty around here would have :D

Allow me to indulge if I haven't already. My size counted me out of footy. It's hard being small and slow. Cricket was my game and I played Grade cricket for a couple of years. My captain in the 1sts was Wayne Phillips. Mark Butcher from England played as a pro in my first year before I played in the 1sts. In my 2nd year, Gus Logie played as the pro and we became good friends through coaching clinics. He took an amazing catch of me when I had none for 70 odd from about 15 overs against Richmond at Punt Road. It was a fricking road. Seriously, took it behind his back. I hugged him. We had a rebel cricketer named Mick Taylor in the team and Damien Fleming was our star that could never get back to play with us cos he was on international or state duties. Without dropping names what team did I play for before they merged? If you're interested...
Awesome stuff mate, that certainly trumps your u14 De La Salle exploits.
Gus Logie was a very good International cricketer just had the knack of making runs when it counted and a brilliant fielder.

Awesome stuff mate, that certainly trumps your u14 De La Salle exploits.
Gus Logie was a very good International cricketer just had the knack of making runs when it counted and a brilliant fielder.
Gus is a great guy and he told me the truth. You are a good bowler but too small. I was trying to be a quick outswing bowler at 175cm and about 64 kilo's. People would think that was harsh, especially coming from a guy smaller but he was honest and it was Gus Logie. He made a hundred that day at Punt Road. Anyway, enough about me. Loving Lambert.... oh and it was South Melbourne.

Just goes to show that guts, determination,and a will to succeed can get you there ....well done Lambo you are proving a lot of people wrong... Will never be a star but when you can poll coaches votes of that number this late in a season after his consistent form over the last 5/6 games....he's in the first dozen picked each week..... Got to here the hard way... Respect

1tr77c.jpg

some credit has to go to the coaching staff. last year he was played mainly as a forward and looked a fish out of sea at times. he's got stamina and ball getting ability and they are playing him as a link between defence and forward lines. been one of our best the last 5-6 weeks.
I reckon he had a fair crack at midfield , my take was he got caught a lot trying to barge thru a tackle that was never gonna happen, worked damned hard on his reflex to dispose before the heat comes and also put the yards in when there's an opening , well done to him as there's genuine Comp for spots and he s holding his own

Who would have thought when you play a midfielder in the midfield and not at hf he might go alright?

Having an absolute ripper of a season. Has been a stalwart and consistent performer bar 1 or 2 quiet ones. Gets the job done and him playing like this allows blokes like Trent or Dusty to go missing for a game or even a quarter with no consequence on the team. Finally the spread of performance and talent is getting broader and thicker.

My one knock is his awareness, sometimes I feel like he has the blinkers on. Just little parts that stand out where he will miss a handball completely or not be aware someone is hand-balling to him. (This isn't always his fault entirely but he seems to get involved in a few!) Has also been run down streaming into an open goal more than once this year.

Credit to him though, has been one of our best and will definitely be top 10 come BNF time.
You're just happy number 23 is alive again.

he's been a ripper for us. I too thought there wouldn't be a spot for him unless injuries opened up an opportunity for him. Great to see his been doing so well and helping the team so much.