Toast Kane Lambert

• Thread starter Thread starter copthat

I think the club has figured out you don't want players playing every match in a season. Unfortunately Rance, Riewoldt and Cotchin took their leadership a bit too far in this regard.

I re read this 4 x and it made less sense ea time
If I understand your point you’re suggesting if you don’t play you won’t get injured , quite brilliant

Hope this is a follow on joke from the original joke that was made

I think the club has figured out you don't want players playing every match in a season. Unfortunately Rance, Riewoldt and Cotchin took their leadership a bit too far in this regard.

What do you mean? Rance got injured 3 quarters into the season? We’ve always taken a conservative approach with Cotchin?

Although Riewoldt, IMO, probably wouldn’t get out of Hardwicks ear telling him he was ready to play and was rushed back.

OHHHHH I GET IT NOW!

BC9_ you campainger.

If Balme said a week then will be 6 weeks . If he has Achilles tendinitis could well be that length of time .

Hope not. He's a very valuable player to us.

We'll find out the usual way. being told 2 weeks, until suddenly he's in

Hope not. He's a very valuable player to us.

We'll find out the usual way. being told 2 weeks, until suddenly he's in

I’m no athlete like afl player but was very fit , I got Achilles tendinitis last May and I’ve never recovered , had to stop my f45 etc so now I’m looking at getting into swimming to keep fit . I rested them , had physio etc but after 3 months of that went back to start again after a week flared up again .

It will probably take the fun out of this post to explain it, but I hate not being clear to people, this is why some of my posts can be a bit long winded. So....

"I think the club has figured out you don't want players playing every match in a season."

This is a serious observation. Lambert was one of only seven players to have played all nine matches so far this season. The smaller players in particular need to be very high energy with their running and as there are a lot of them able to play to high AFL standard the club will be able to keep them freshened up when necessary. Pretty sure the club will have monitored the players for any minor niggles and targeted players Rioli can most readily replace as they naturally wanted him in this week. Higgins and Lambert of the players who were probably due for a rest are the two most similar in role to Rioli. I might be wrong, but I think if there wasn't a ready made replacement for Lambert this week, he would have played.

"Unfortunately Rance, Riewoldt and Cotchin took their leadership a bit too far in this regard."

This sentence was not to be taken seriously, perhaps I should have noted this with an emoji after it. Obviously their injuries are not part of some deliberate resting policy, and in suggesting they were I was attempting to be humorous. Don't worry if you didn't get it, that happens all the time when I try to be funny. :drunk:

It will probably take the fun out of this post to explain it, but I hate not being clear to people, this is why some of my posts can be a bit long winded. So....

"I think the club has figured out you don't want players playing every match in a season."

This is a serious observation. Lambert was one of only seven players to have played all nine matches so far this season. The smaller players in particular need to be very high energy with their running and as there are a lot of them able to play to high AFL standard the club will be able to keep them freshened up when necessary. Pretty sure the club will have monitored the players for any minor niggles and targeted players Rioli can most readily replace as they naturally wanted him in this week. Higgins and Lambert of the players who were probably due for a rest are the two most similar in role to Rioli. I might be wrong, but I think if there wasn't a ready made replacement for Lambert this week, he would have played.

"Unfortunately Rance, Riewoldt and Cotchin took their leadership a bit too far in this regard."

This sentence was not to be taken seriously, perhaps I should have noted this with an emoji after it. Obviously their injuries are not part of some deliberate resting policy, and in suggesting they were I was attempting to be humorous. Don't worry if you didn't get it, that happens all the time when I try to be funny. :drunk:
Cheers for the explanation, I think in the run home last year , players were rested, managed call it what you will. I agree , pedal to the metal week in week out will be seriously pushing the envelope .

Unfortunately - last year, our form tapered off dramatically - we played weak opposition the last 4-5 weeks so no one really noticed, but we fell over the line a few times. We were way out of form by the finals - sure, we beat Hawthorn, but everyone accepts they were lucky Top-4 pretenders last year. We had locked up a Top-2 spot with 2 games to go, so no pressure there. Cotchin, Lambert, Nank, Astbury and Prestia and maybe a few others (I didn't check everyone) all missed games in the last 2-3 weeks (maybe not all were resting - there may have been some niggles). Then you have a week's break pre-finals. We were all over the shop the last few weeks.

The problem with 'resting' the good players is it buggers up the team chemistry. Sure - a rest is good for the individual, but it may not be good for the team. I'm a fan of increasing the intensity the last month or so pre-finals. Rest players NOW (rounds 8-15) - the ideal is to have a full 8-10 week lead-in to the finals with no changes.

Unfortunately - last year, our form tapered off dramatically - we played weak opposition the last 4-5 weeks so no one really noticed, but we fell over the line a few times. We were way out of form by the finals - sure, we beat Hawthorn, but everyone accepts they were lucky Top-4 pretenders last year. We had locked up a Top-2 spot with 2 games to go, so no pressure there. Cotchin, Lambert, Nank, Astbury and Prestia and maybe a few others (I didn't check everyone) all missed games in the last 2-3 weeks (maybe not all were resting - there may have been some niggles). Then you have a week's break pre-finals. We were all over the shop the last few weeks.

The problem with 'resting' the good players is it buggers up the team chemistry.
Sure - a rest is good for the individual, but it may not be good for the team. I'm a fan of increasing the intensity the last month or so pre-finals. Rest players NOW (rounds 8-15) - the ideal is to have a full 8-10 week lead-in to the finals with no changes.
Mate that is a nonsense on stilts as borne out by our current success with injuries and thier replacements and what Clarkson does over with the Hawks...
Soldier in...Soldier out...system V talent...just look at the Dees/cartoon both have all the talent in the world but no wins...
Player Management is a MUST with such a long season...i reckon it's the new buzz word after chaos footy!
Player management and nurturing talent...

I agree with resting/managing players through the year - particularly the older ones or those with pre-existing niggles. I just don't think we should be looking to do it in the last 2-3 rounds of the season. If we play finals, they all get a rest in the bye week pre-finals. And, of course, when we rest senior players, the young kids get a taste.

In 2017, we won 9 of our last 10 games (after the St Kilda debacle) - the loss was by 2 goals down at Cat Park, so it was still pretty good form. Jack was the only one of our top 7 or 8 players who missed any games in those last couple of months. And by the end of those 10 games, we were playing pretty good football - our smallest win was 19 points in a wet win vs GWS.

Through the season, build, manage, prepare for finals - but make sure you start going full throttle several weeks out from the finals. That's my theory. Of course, injury and form will always ruin the best-laid plans. (Eg - Geelong wanted to rest Ablett this week, but with Danger injured, they had to play him).

I’m no athlete like afl player but was very fit , I got Achilles tendinitis last May and I’ve never recovered , had to stop my f45 etc so now I’m looking at getting into swimming to keep fit . I rested them , had physio etc but after 3 months of that went back to start again after a week flared up again .

That sucks. I hurt myself, keep going, it gets worse so I work out how to keep exercising without doing more damage - usually weights, bike or swimming. I've slowly learnt how to keep myself going. But I suspect now jumping high or with weights is out for many long time.

Sometimes it's hard to fix stuff up yourself. At least the RFC will have the best people and facilities and can make a lot fo stuff go away.

I never realized just how important Lambert is to our side. I knew he was important but if the last two weeks are any indication, his link play through his hard running, makes him one of our MOST important players. I love his relentless running, clean ball use and finishing skills. I hope we can keep him fit and firing for our crack at the flag this year