Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2014 Phantom Draft

Knightmare, I love your work and those detailed profiles are awesome but I have a formatting suggestion: Have you tried putting the profiles in individual quote inserts? That way they will automatically and individually compress down and be easier to scroll through while still being be easily identifiable. People will be able to find the players they are after a bit faster and just be able to pop open the ones they want to read.

This is what a couple together look like:

It doesn't appear to stuff up any of the formatting but was just a thought I had while reading a couple of the profiles. Keep up the good work!

It's a consideration for next year if I go around again on here.

Given it's 25 posts per page I may look to go for 2 profiles per post so that everything fits nicely on the first page.

For now I'm probably going to go five profiles per post as that for now seems to be just fitting the imposed character per post limit.

Why?

People keep on putting up his name, but the fact is he's a WAFL reserves player. Myles Bolger syndrome.
Because our current rookie ruckman is worse at rucking than Joe Daniher and Jake Carlisle

Hey Knightmare,

Who do you think port will take with their second and third round picks?
I'm feeling duggan as first round, a lot of people have us taking a half back flanker such as wigg or glenn with our second/third I don't think this would be the case as we are pretty stock full of them with logan, colqhoun albeit he is injured, pittard o'shea etc and looming like we are going to recruit krakouer in some vicinity; rookie or national draft. Furthermore baulderstone looks a likely recruit given our ruck situation.

Hey KM does La Verde have the best kicking skills in this draft ?

Good? Yes.
Best? No.

Hey Knightmare,

Who do you think port will take with their second and third round picks?
I'm feeling duggan as first round, a lot of people have us taking a half back flanker such as wigg or glenn with our second/third I don't think this would be the case as we are pretty stock full of them with logan, colqhoun albeit he is injured, pittard o'shea etc and looming like we are going to recruit krakouer in some vicinity; rookie or national draft. Furthermore baulderstone looks a likely recruit given our ruck situation.

Baulderstone is a favourite of mine but I see him more as a rookie. Really like the rapid development and commitment to his football and body he's shown these past few seasons. Skilled and finds the footy.

Nathan Krakouer I'm not as high on but you're not the only SA person to bring him up.

I can see Port being active again at the trade table having had some good recent success there. But if Port keep those picks I can see some inside types as the most likely with Port lacking a few really good onballers to compliment the outside ball movement and run.

Dean Gore if available would be a strong choice in the second round.

A Touk Miller or Cory Gregson third round could be some other good value gets.

Hi KM appreciate your work mate. Hypothetically, the demons get an extra pick which in turn pushes us to pick 5. With what seems a plethora of talls via our academy, and assuming Wright and Paddy are gone, do you think we'd look at Pickett? I'd love a silky indigenous lad on our list. I also think he'd suit leppas game plan. Cheers

Doubt the AFL just hand over an extra pick but it's possible as compensation for Frawley who you'd figure leaves.

Pickett would be a fit. Whether he goes that early, probably not. But he'd still be a pretty good pick 5 given some of the misses from that selection at the past.

I just see more likely Brisbane would go for Durdin at 5 assuming McCartin, Petracca, Wright and Brayshaw are all taken.

Knight,

Given the pies are certain to pick up Moore with first pick (which may address kpf needs), I'm interested in your opinion as to their other obvious needs.

Personally, I think more accumulators/ball winners in the middle are required and also X factor small forwards are a priority (with crumbing ability a focus).

I'm interested in your view as to whether you think later picks could fill these requirements.

Personally I think there are likely to be some awesome options late in the draft which could prove to be steals including:
Mids - Urban, Wilkinson, Steele and Grace
Small fwd - Anderson, Langdon (sort of) and McLean

Thoughts on these guys and whether you think they should be on Hines radar?

Watched Dandy on weekend against Jets . Standouts for me were a few boys in Caleb sullivan , both Rucks duom and oar , Monk , and Laverdie .For Dandy Dale was solid Lonie patchy ,Wilson in last half worked into it nicely . Laverdie looked good all over the ground , DVR looked like he could do damage in the mid reads the ball well but needs more run . He went back then had pin point kick ins hitting sharp targets . Duggan kept Lonie quiet but the big rap goes to Payne for shutting down Lamb all game. It looked at times Lamb just didn't want to work hard enough off the checking of payne and big Duaom had a blinder pulling in big marks and using it well he is on the improve it seems . This week off to Ballarat for the Oakleigh game this will be a fantastic contest I hope

Hi Knightmare,

Bit off topic but if George Hewett (swans pick 32 last year) had been three days older he'd be in this upcoming draft. It's a pretty pointless comparison now but based on his trajectory one year ago where would he likely sit in this draft? .... his age is probably more relevant to this draft group than the last one.

IMO he's an incredibly smooth mover, pretty decent off both sides and with plenty of upside

Cheers
NTA

Knight,

Given the pies are certain to pick up Moore with first pick (which may address kpf needs), I'm interested in your opinion as to their other obvious needs.

Personally, I think more accumulators/ball winners in the middle are required and also X factor small forwards are a priority (with crumbing ability a focus).

I'm interested in your view as to whether you think later picks could fill these requirements.

Personally I think there are likely to be some awesome options late in the draft which could prove to be steals including:
Mids - Urban, Wilkinson, Steele and Grace
Small fwd - Anderson, Langdon (sort of) and McLean

Thoughts on these guys and whether you think they should be on Hines radar?

I can tell you've been following the numbers of some of the juniors.

Collingwood have shown a tendency to do the same with Elliott and Langdon two recent examples. They'll be aware of all these guys and on the lookout for other underrated, well performed guys.

For me personally of that group McLean is a favourite of mine and one guy I feel is underrated. I say the same with Reece McKenzie but with McLean also he's shown strong improvement throughout the season and that continued ongoing improvement which is what excites me and suggests strong scope to improve beyond just their production.

Steele as another who can go forward in addition to playing through the midfield. Grace also can play and is useful because he can play midfield and back. Both of these I also like.

Hi Knightmare,

Bit off topic but if George Hewett (swans pick 32 last year) had been three days older he'd be in this upcoming draft. It's a pretty pointless comparison now but based on his trajectory one year ago where would he likely sit in this draft? .... his age is probably more relevant to this draft group than the last one.

IMO he's an incredibly smooth mover, pretty decent off both sides and with plenty of upside

Cheers
NTA

Hewett is going well in the NEAFL. He probably wouldn't go first round but would likely go a fraction higher this year and somewhere in roughly the 20-30 range.

Thanks mate.

Yeah, McLean is definitely someone I'm keen on. Particularly his ground level and evasiveness stuff. Paired with Elliot we would have quite a high flying small fwd pairing.

There is also something romantic about pairing Langdon with his brother.

Urban and Grace are the two mids I'm really keen on. Despite their consistency and their massive numbers they seem to be overlooked as a result of perhaps a lack of flair.

From what I've heard hine talk about previously he looks for X factor, upside and uniqueness. Maybe that would cause them to be overlooked, however I reckon that would be a massive mistake given our glaring lack of ball winners in the midfield.

A while back I asked you about the best mid-sized forwards who won't be midfielders at the next level. Who are the standouts at this stage?

Thanks mate.

Yeah, McLean is definitely someone I'm keen on. Particularly his ground level and evasiveness stuff. Paired with Elliot we would have quite a high flying small fwd pairing.

There is also something romantic about pairing Langdon with his brother.

Urban and Grace are the two mids I'm really keen on. Despite their consistency and their massive numbers they seem to be overlooked as a result of perhaps a lack of flair.

From what I've heard hine talk about previously he looks for X factor, upside and uniqueness. Maybe that would cause them to be overlooked, however I reckon that would be a massive mistake given our glaring lack of ball winners in the midfield.

Hine did in an interview some time back mention a liking towards x-factor but I'd take that with a grain of salt.

Too much evidence with the guys selected while they do look for guys who can do more than find the ball, contribute in other ways and importantly fill needs and give us what we want. There is also an undeniably strong flavour to Collingwood's selections towards performance and senior state league performance.

Sydney are the heaviest moneyball selectors, specifically outside the first round but Collingwood still very much are a team who pick performers over guys who show occasional flashes of brilliance.

A while back I asked you about the best mid-sized forwards who won't be midfielders at the next level. Who are the standouts at this stage?

Assuming clubs think Petracca, Laverde and Ahern can become midfielders at the next level Toby McLean is probably that best general forward of this years group. Aidan Anderson is another with front half talent playing WAFL seniors who is worth a shot as a general forward.

Hine did in an interview some time back mention a liking towards x-factor but I'd take that with a grain of salt.

Too much evidence with the guys selected while they do look for guys who can do more than find the ball, contribute in other ways and importantly fill needs and give us what we want. There is also an undeniably strong flavour to Collingwood's selections towards performance and senior state league performance.

Sydney are the heaviest moneyball selectors, specifically outside the first round but Collingwood still very much are a team who pick performers over guys who show occasional flashes of brilliance.

Assuming clubs think Petracca, Laverde and Ahern can become midfielders at the next level Toby McLean is probably that best general forward of this years group. Aidan Anderson is another with front half talent playing WAFL seniors who is worth a shot as a general forward.
It appears that everyone has forgotten an AIS boy Jaden McGrath, his performance against Collingwood VFL was pretty impressive. I havent seen his name much lately but I know KM had him going first round at one stage.

McGrath was good v Collingwood in the VFL game. Only small but showed some real class.

It's just unfortunate he hasn't been healthy this season with various injuries continually stopping him.

Invited to the draft combine I believe so it will be interesting to see if anyone takes a chance on him. Would like to see him rookied by a club. If I was to extend my power rankings out to 60 he'd fit somewhere in the 50-60 range.

McGrath was good v Collingwood in the VFL game. Only small but showed some real class.

It's just unfortunate he hasn't been healthy this season with various injuries continually stopping him.

Invited to the draft combine I believe so it will be interesting to see if anyone takes a chance on him. Would like to see him rookied by a club. If I was to extend my power rankings out to 60 he'd fit somewhere in the 50-60 range.

Was billeted to Carlton in the last pre-season.

Will be interested to see if we take him. We've had many good Bendigo Boys succeed over the past.

I've had him sorta lightly pencilled in as one of our later selections in the ND.

With the dogs likely to end up with pick 6 now at this stage, is it a simple swap with Durdin and Lever or do we take a gamble with McKenzie at pick 6? I feel it's just too high a price for him but I'd love to see him at the dogs.

The Dogs will likely weight up first whether Moore should be nominated. Is he better than Durdin/Lever or others available? It's a good question and there are differing views.

Durdin and Lever eventually most likely will be the guys it comes down to. A Laverde as an example could be a riser and consideration. Maybe Pickett. Reece McKenzie is one I definitely recommend considering even if he hasn't been spoken about as a top 10 pick by anyone else and would be my choice.

McKenzie kicked 3 goals today in another strong performance. The two weeks prior he has had 7 goals, 5 behinds with 12 marks (6 contested) and 6 goals, 2 behinds with 13 marks (7 contested). So he can really play and dominate. While he's probably not going that early he'd be my choice with McCartin and Wright both presumably taken. For the dogs both on a needs basis as a genuine go to guy up forward but also on a best available basis he's my pick.

The other conversation happening on many dogs boards still revolves around Foster and his bags of goals during the TAC cup. Read a write up on his game today, that it was his best this year. I mean he's 19 playing against kids much younger than him. Could he realistically make it at AFL or is he another Liam Jones?

Trying to fill a KPF and KPB position in the same draft is toooo haaaard...

The other conversation happening on many dogs boards still revolves around Foster and his bags of goals during the TAC cup. Read a write up on his game today, that it was his best this year. I mean he's 19 playing against kids much younger than him. Could he realistically make it at AFL or is he another Liam Jones?

Trying to fill a KPF and KPB position in the same draft is toooo haaaard...

Foster is on the improve. Kicked the 6 goals in a strong performance today and leads the competition in goals (39) - but that happens when you don't play school footy or U18 champs. Additionally he doesn't find as much of the footy or take as many marks as I'd like and not nearly as much as the other high end key forwards.

Foster I'd peg as a potentially very good state league key forward but I personally wouldn't be picking him. If the dogs like him I'd recommend taking him as a rookie which given his improvement isn't a terrible decision as he still does have scope to improve with his formline trending upward.

With the bigs my rule is generally to take the key forwards in the first round or don't bother unless there is a clear top 10 quality key forward still available and other clubs have the evaluation completely wrong (and McKenzie this year could be that exception if he doesn't go top 20). Key defenders relatively are easier to find and is more down to correct talent identification than where they are selected.

If looking for an immediate guy Brett Eddy from the SANFL may be a stop-gap but Reece McKenzie would be a strong choice as that key forward and if a further first round pick can be had then Durdin would be a strong get along with McKenzie as two high quality bigs who can be long term building blocks with those picks.

Apparently Keitel kicked 8 today in the WAFL, is he a chance for a start of 2nd round pick eg. 21 ish

6 and 8 goals these past couple of weeks are the types of results I've long been hoping for from Keitel. I'm just disappointed we didn't see this earlier in the season.

Keitel I don't expect goes so early. There are so many high end key forwards and Keitel isn't among that top group. It's possible he's available at the Saints 3rd round selection as someone I'd predict goes somewhere around pick 40.

Hey KM, any rumours about who the tigers are interviewing and so on?