Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2014 Phantom Draft

Hey KM,

Curious about what you think of Clayton and where you think he would go/what range of pick that clubs would bid on him? Had a good semi-final and kicked 3 goals in the final quarter. Emma Quayle seems pretty confident that the Lions plan to take him as a F/S selection.

Knight not sure if u know this far ahead but there are 2 sandi boys from caulfield grammar ask krakouer and Tate short know of them?

Not familiar with them at this point.

How could your top 6 pan out km?

My phantom draft and power rankings as listed on page 1 is how I see it both from a where I see guys drafted standpoint and where I rate them today.

For the DT/SC players out there...which players would you expect to have a impact next season?

Watch out for Petracca and Brayshaw.

Blakely, Neal-Bullen, Bampton and Gore are others I like for immediate impact and production depending on the clubs they land at.

Lachie Weller and Billy Stretch are another couple to watch for.

Hey KM,

Curious about what you think of Clayton and where you think he would go/what range of pick that clubs would bid on him? Had a good semi-final and kicked 3 goals in the final quarter. Emma Quayle seems pretty confident that the Lions plan to take him as a F/S selection.

The lucky thing with Brisbane is the sheer quantity of guys the club can take between the academy and father son. Hammelmann, Dawson and H.Andrews in addition to Clayton. Clayton as a result will probably end up being able to use a late selection on Clayton regardless of F/S bidding.

G'day KM, reckon Morris is not good enough to take us to the next level where we need to go in the next 1-2 years, who would be your best ready to play small defender, be it u18 or mature age? Cheers

Not everyone spends enough time on BF to rack up 20,000+ posts - the guy had probably never logged on to a phantom draft before. Thankfully Knightmare has a bit of class and responded appropriately.
I agree with the class bit, KM certainly has a way of expressing himself without getting unnecessarily emotive - a valuable personal asset which assists in objective decision making and peace broking!!

I'm a bit embarrassed though because the idiot has gone over to Paige's thread and acted like a giant tool.

Well done Knightmare on your unflapable good nature and manners - unfortunately it seems this particular flog didn't deserve your tolerance.

Is this happening more than usual this year? Or is it just me?

I wonder if it's worth putting something like 'Please read page 1' in the thread title.

Would hopefully eliminate all those as well as the 'what kind of player is so and so' and all that.

St kilda-McCardin
Mel-Petracca
Mel-Brayshaw
GWS-Lever
Bris-Wright
Bull-Durbin

Right now looks like it!

Not everyone spends enough time on BF to rack up 20,000+ posts - the guy had probably never logged on to a phantom draft before. Thankfully Knightmare has a bit of class and responded appropriately.
The guy has been posting on the phantom drafts board since May last year.

I wouldn't normally comment on it but the guy had no issue reading other drafts so he obviously knows where to find it.

Edit: Just saw your follow up :p

The guy has been posting on the phantom drafts board since May last year.
I wouldn't normally comment on it but the guy had no issue reading other drafts so he obviously knows where to find it.

Edit: Just saw your follow up :p

Mea Culpa guys. He's a flog. My tribal nature (defending fellow Bullies) got the better of me - should have checked first. :$:$:$

Hey knightmare thoughts on port picking up ellis or blakely with our first pick?

Both are realistic chances to be available.

Ellis I'm not even convinced I would draft. Not that he won't and it's entirely possible he goes as early as first round but I just haven't seen the impact or influence from him.

Blakely would be a strong selection late first round as a midfielder who has the performances on the board and has performed strongly at WAFL league level. I'd have him on the shortlist.

Knightmare. Who do you think would be a good pickup for fremantle considering there needs in this years draft? plus a lil bit about the fella gives me something to read? love reading the stuff you write
Cheers bud!

Knightmare. Who do you think would be a good pickup for fremantle considering there needs in this years draft? plus a lil bit about the fella gives me something to read? love reading the stuff you write
Cheers bud!

Reece McKenzie if there would be my pick as a genuine go to forward.
For my profile of McKenzie see page 1.

Hugh Goddard could also be available in that range and looks a strong value pick also.
Similarly for Goddard have my profile on page 1.
Though a few slight amendments - while athletic turning circle not great which limits his ability as a forward. Also as a rebounder I would give him some more credit than I did in my bio. Very good stopper as someone who can limit the impact of his direct opponent but can also take some intercept marks and provide some occasional run and hit his targets.

Reece McKenzie if there would be my pick as a genuine go to forward.
For my profile of McKenzie see page 1.

Hugh Goddard could also be available in that range and looks a strong value pick also.
Similarly for Goddard have my profile on page 1.
Though a few slight amendments - while athletic turning circle not great which limits his ability as a forward. Also as a rebounder I would give him some more credit than I did in my bio. Very good stopper as someone who can limit the impact of his direct opponent but can also take some intercept marks and provide some occasional run and hit his targets.
Cheers buddy!

McKenzie would not be a good pick for Fremantle.

Care to elaborate?

Not good enough? Or don't rate McKenzie as a worthwhile talent at that point?

I couldn't disagree more strongly.

Fremantle lack a high level long term key forward. Taberner? Apeness?

On talent McKenzie for me is top 6, top 5 if you take Heeney out given he is an academy boy.

McKenzie would be my pick if there. No question. Head and shoulders over any other guy who could plausibly be there in my mind at that stage.

Care to elaborate?

Not good enough? Or don't rate McKenzie as a worthwhile talent at that point?

I couldn't disagree more strongly.

Fremantle lack a high level long term key forward. Taberner? Apeness?

On talent McKenzie for me is top 6, top 5 if you take Heeney out given he is an academy boy.

McKenzie would be my pick if there. No question. Head and shoulders over any other guy who could plausibly be there in my mind at that stage.

Taberner will only ever be a second forward as soon as he gets the number 1 defender he will have no influence.
He's just not your key forward more your second or floating third tall.

Apeness will never make it watched him in the wafl and he struggles.

I actually like Goddard, once hes in a afl program he will shine, mainly has a key back.

Taberner will only ever be a second forward as soon as he gets the number 1 defender he will have no influence.
He's just not your key forward more your second or floating third tall.

Apeness will never make it watched him in the wafl and he struggles.

I actually like Goddard, once hes in a afl program he will shine, mainly has a key back.
Very early call. Tom Boyd had plenty of games in the Neafl (a weaker league than the wafl) where he struggled to get a kick, but I don't think people are gonna write him off yet.