Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2014 Phantom Draft

Do you think Day has justified being a top 5 pick though? I certainly don't, not so far at least.

Not Yet. This is his 1st season he has looked even close to living up to that Potential

I see you've added an extra 5 potential A-graders. Is that more an indication that you're rating the crop higher than before or just a normal shift as you get a better look at the kids?

Interested to hear what it was about Heeney that made him jump so much though?

Also heard a lot of good things about Marc Pittonet's game today. Was wondering what you thought of it and how it bodes for his draft stock?

And just briefly moving on to 2015, how good was Darcy Parish today? Been hearing real good things for awhile about him but never seen him; does he have a good comparison from what you saw today?

Perhaps I'm getting soft with age. :)

It's more now as I've seen more I'm more confident in those top end players that they'll go on and have strong, strong success at AFL level whereas before those 6-10 guys I wasn't as certain about on that same level.

Heeney the more I assess his game just has the right mix of everything. He wins it inside. Finds it outside. Excellent athlete but then also has a strong build.

I'm tossing up whether it's Brayshaw or Heeney as the no.1/2 midfielder but I am sure after seeing more footage of Heeney and better understanding his game and production that he is one of the two best midfielders in this draft.

Pittonet showed signs. Took some strong marks, landed some very strong tackles and kicked a goal. He's in my top 80 if I was to expand my 60 but he's still not quite there. He's a big lad with a good kind of nasty to him but I'd like to see him dominate more than he does and do those good things more frequently each game. He's a late/rookie chance but I like a few others a touch more at this point.

Parish is a beauty. Eligable next year and played a very strong game. In the second quarter at one point he found some space in the middle and ended up kicking a long goal from inside the centre square which was one of the plays of the day. And he continued it on with a particularly strong 3rd quarter I felt showing his really good ball use, vision, unselfishness and footy smarts to effect. He looks a high end selection for next year and of the 1997 boys the standout for me on the day. Will work on a player comparison for him.

Heeney the more I assess his game just has the right mix of everything. He wins it inside. Finds it outside. Excellent athlete but then also has a strong build.

I'm tossing up whether it's Brayshaw or Heeney as the no.1/2 midfielder but I am sure after seeing more footage of Heeney and better understanding his game and production that he is one of the two best midfielders in this draft.

Bollocks.... I was hoping we wouldn't have to use our first rounder on him - you're swiftly killing any chance of that with those comments. Having said that if we use a pick in the teens for one of the best 2 midfielders in the draft it'll be a bargain anyway.

My guess is we're going to have to trade hard this year, we really need to get hold of one of the KPD talents out of this draft - it's starting to become an urgent need.

Hi Knightmare,

Based on your opinion, if the draft was today, who would you think Richmond would take?? If we end up finishing a couple of spots higher (10-12) who could we look at?

Thanks

My guess is we're going to have to trade hard this year, we really need to get hold of one of the KPD talents out of this draft - it's starting to become an urgent need.

I thought you guys had chosen an alternate route - instead of getting a KPD, you were buying up all the KPFs so you didn't have anyone you needed to defend against. ;)

Bollocks.... I was hoping we wouldn't have to use our first rounder on him - you're swiftly killing any chance of that with those comments. Having said that if we use a pick in the teens for one of the best 2 midfielders in the draft it'll be a bargain anyway.

I think it's the best possible outcome for Sydney if Heeney is viewed as the 1st/2nd best midfielder in the draft.

If he can dominate and prove he's one of the two best midfielders in the draft it would like Joe Daniher a couple of years back for Essendon prove an excellent value selection.

Sam Reid can always swing back and Alex Johnson eventually should be back. Richards and Grundy are both established key defenders so Sydney down back should be fine.

If anything I'd more strongly recommend Sydney go after a ruckman. Nankervis I feel can develop but I'd make an aggressive move for Gold Coast's Tom Nicholls if Sydney can pull the assets together to make the move happen.

Hi Knightmare,

Based on your opinion, if the draft was today, who would you think Richmond would take?? If we end up finishing a couple of spots higher (10-12) who could we look at?

Thanks

One of the key position players would be my recommendation to Richmond. Goddard may be available. Angus Brayshaw if available would be an excellent get. Pickett and Duggan would also be excellent gets.

If a pick after 10 I'd strongly consider Weller. He'd add some much needed class to the Richmond midfield which with all the recycled really needs some more quality through there.

I think it's the best possible outcome for Sydney if Heeney is viewed as the 1st/2nd best midfielder in the draft.

If he can dominate and prove he's one of the two best midfielders in the draft it would like Joe Daniher a couple of years back for Essendon prove an excellent value selection.

Sam Reid can always swing back and Alex Johnson eventually should be back. Richards and Grundy are both established key defenders so Sydney down back should be fine.

If anything I'd more strongly recommend Sydney go after a ruckman. Nankervis I feel can develop but I'd make an aggressive move for Gold Coast's Tom Nicholls if Sydney can pull the assets together to make the move happen.

True but we're highly unlikely to get a starting/back up ruckman through the draft - not a viable one anyway. I think we have a year or two left in the Richards/Grundy combo but really need to top up the depth in those positions and then let them fight it out with X Richards and Aliir to earn the place.

Nicholls is a good shout... did I read somewhere that he knows Tippett really well? might help if he's on the table but I'd obviously hold off until he's demonstrated some form post injury.

You're braver than me.... I'm not expecting (still hoping) Alex Johnson to get back, hopefully we can drop him onto the rookie list and give him one more chance but it's a long, long way back from where he was/is. Reid is the key to all of this, if he can transition then you're right, it's full steam ahead for a ruckman but I'm not seeing the consistency to make that a given.

True but we're highly unlikely to get a starting/back up ruckman through the draft - not a viable one anyway. I think we have a year or two left in the Richards/Grundy combo but really need to top up the depth in those positions and then let them fight it out with X Richards and Aliir to earn the place.

Nicholls is a good shout... did I read somewhere that he knows Tippett really well? might help if he's on the table but I'd obviously hold off until he's demonstrated some form post injury.

You're braver than me.... I'm not expecting (still hoping) Alex Johnson to get back, hopefully we can drop him onto the rookie list and give him one more chance but it's a long, long way back from where he was/is. Reid is the key to all of this, if he can transition then you're right, it's full steam ahead for a ruckman but I'm not seeing the consistency to make that a given.

Tom is dating Kurt's sister she was playing basketball here in Queensland for the Logan Thunder than switch to netball and played for Queensland Firebirds. She now plays for NSW Swifts in Sydney so The Swans might be able to get Tom seeing the girlfriend is down in Sydney.

I was only making deductions of logic. No sources or word. I said that because his girlfriend now lives in Sydney and is Kurt Tippett's sister he may look to go there as a possibility.

However, it was said in the GC Bulletin and on Foxfooty last night that Steven May, Harley Bennell, Brandon Matera and Tom Nicholls will all put pen to paper in the next 2-4 weeks. Also, Gary is extending his deal from 2015-2017. So I think a Nicholls move is unlikely now.

Knightmare On Sunday night the SEN crew were talking about the Suns and asked if there was any type of player that they were missing. The general feeling was that the only thing they lack is a tall, big bodied mid in the mould of Josh Kennedy, Dave Mundy or Jobe Watson.

If they finish in the top 8 and have a pick between 10-18 what sort of options are available?

Anybody like that later in the draft perhaps?

Knightmare On Sunday night the SEN crew were talking about the Suns and asked if there was any type of player that they were missing. The general feeling was that the only thing they lack is a tall, big bodied in the mould of Josh Kennedy or Jobe Watson.

If they finish in the top 8 and have a pick between 10-18 what sort of options are available?

I completely disagree with those comments. David Swallow is 186cm and 86kg, more than big enough.

I think the Suns are still lacking in a lead up forward so I guess they will take best available for that spot. They have smart players in the likes of Matera and Hall but they are better used as a crumbers who can push up the ground. Anyone who may be rated mid first round or even late first round since the Suns will have the compo pick from Geelong?

Does anyone think McCartin may grow a few extra cms? I see some are rating him as potential number 1 pick and I'm just curious at what separates him from say someone like Wright, or Durdin? What is his speed of the mark like? How well does he compete when the ball hits the deck? Agility? Endurance? Strength? Has he been exposed to a third man up type scenario who comes over the top to spoil which is perfected at the AFL level? I read somewhere that he is only 192 cms tall and I'm a bit skeptical that he could play as a FF/CHF at AFL level. Last question how does he compare to the last few high end forwards taken in the last few years like Hogan, Boyd etc.?

Thanks heaps!

I think the Suns are still lacking in a lead up forward so I guess they will take best available for that spot. They have smart players in the likes of Matera and Hall but they are better used as a crumbers who can push up the ground. Anyone who may be rated mid first round or even late first round since the Suns will have the compo pick from Geelong?

I believe we lack depth in that position. The senior squad is very well stocked. Day and Lynch both fill these roles.

I completely disagree with those comments. David Swallow is 186cm and 86kg, more than big enough.

Just passing the info on haha

They mentioned Swallow and Lonergan as kids with 'mens bodies' but they were talking more about your 190cms+ mids.

No holes in the list, just the one thing they felt would cap them off perfectly.

Who do you see bidding on Dawson and Hammelmann if we get pick 1 could we get both for third and fourth round draft picks if we finish last

There could be someone first round bidding on Dawson if he performs strongly through the u18 champs. Gold Coast are the obvious one if they finish inside the top 8. On Hammelmann similarly if he goes well he could draw some attention with Hawthorn, Fremantle and Essendon all in the need of another key position player. One and maybe both attract a bid if they play strong footy over the coming weeks.

Knightmare On Sunday night the SEN crew were talking about the Suns and asked if there was any type of player that they were missing. The general feeling was that the only thing they lack is a tall, big bodied in the mould of Josh Kennedy or Jobe Watson.

I'm ok with Gold Coast's midfield. Jesse Lonergan is still developing in the 2s. Swallow and Prestia both have strong bodies. Sure another super big body could be added but it's not a priority.

Gold Coast could if looking for stronger body look at a Bampton first round. Weller if not as fussed about physical size if looking to go a midfielder.

I'd just continue adding to the outside weaponry. Maybe a key defender if someone good is available. Otherwise just more pace, more footskills. Gold Coast are pretty well right and certainly fine in the midfield with Ablett, Swallow, O'Meara, Prestia, Bennell and Martin when healthy all quality. When you have that and some pretty good talls in Nicholls and Smith in the ruck, Lynch, Day and Dixon forward and Thompson and May down back. It's a handy group to have on a still improving team.

Just passing the info on haha

They mentioned Swallow and Lonergan as kids with 'mens bodies' but they were talking more about your 190cms+ mids.

No holes in the list, just the one thing they felt would cap them off perfectly.

Yeah and I didn't attack you. I addressed the comments made by SEN.

Why would we need a 190cm+ midfielder though? Sure they are great to have but if contested ball is not a weakness then why is it such a necessity? I think too much emphasis is put on to the supposed need for big midfielders. Jaeger is 185cm, Swallow is 186cm and both built like brick shit houses. Prestia is 175cm and has no problems extracting hard ball.

I see no weaknesses in this inside midfield brigade. We need a couple more classy ball users, KPF's (or a KPD) and possibly a small defender or crumber up forward.

There could be someone first round bidding on Dawson if he performs strongly through the u18 champs. Gold Coast are the obvious one if they finish inside the top 8. On Hammelmann similarly if he goes well he could draw some attention with Hawthorn, Fremantle and Essendon all in the need of another key position player. One and maybe both attract a bid if they play strong footy over the coming weeks.

I'm ok with Gold Coast's midfield. Jesse Lonergan is still developing in the 2s. Swallow and Prestia both have strong bodies. Sure another super big body could be added but it's not a priority.

Gold Coast could if looking for stronger body look at a Bampton first round. Weller if not as fussed about physical size if looking to go a midfielder.

I'd just continue adding to the outside weaponry. Maybe a key defender if someone good is available. Otherwise just more pace, more footskills. Gold Coast are pretty well right and certainly fine in the midfield with Ablett, Swallow, O'Meara, Prestia, Bennell and Martin when healthy all quality. When you have that and some pretty good talls in Nicholls and Smith in the ruck, Lynch, Day and Dixon forward and Thompson and May down back. It's a handy group to have on a still improving team.

Yep. You summed it up pretty well mate.

Hugh Goddard is extremely articulate for a bloke his age going off that AFL.com.au video. Seems like he may have good leadership skills.

I believe we lack depth in that position. The senior squad is very well stocked. Day and Lynch both fill these roles.
Yeah the KPF roles are definitely not a need atm but I was thinking more about the 3rd tall. Someone like Howe, Lecras or even a Stevey-J when he used to play as 3rd tall at the Cats. I think we will be all over Tom Lamb as he suits our needs perfectly imo.

Yeah Sumner sort of fits that role but we don't usually play one mate. We have 3 tall forwards. Another marking forward is a bit unnecessary.