Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2014 Phantom Draft

KM A few clubs sniffed around Howe from the Bushies and as an overage he has been in their best 3 in every game he has played this season. Do you rate him, will he play for Vic country this weekend, is he a draft option

Playing well this year and in the bests every week. Playing a good role down back, an improved kick and looks potentially a component for a team.

If he continues improving he's a draft chance. I'm watching with interest.

You think Tasmanian Ashton Dickenson will get drafted !! was a underage player last year !

None of the underage Tasmanians stood out last year to me. Dickenson hasn't stood out yet in any games I've seen to this point but we'll find out more over the coming weeks.

Knightmare i know this is coming out of no where but can you tell me anything about sydney swans f/s Jacksony Kelly? if youve seen the rams play he is number 34, ive heard he's like his dad paul. Apparently one of his drills is running at a brickwall at flat out pace from 50 metres and then goes back, and does it again! Please reply if you can.:)

Yet to see Kelly play as far as I'm aware. If I have he isn't one I've in game taken note of. He'll be one Sydney will surely watch for over the coming weeks.

Late year birthday but not a top end NSW talent with Isaac Heeney, Liam Griffiths, Tyler Roos and Nicholas Coughlan those most likely drafted this year with Callum Mills looking good for next year.

hey knightmare, liam kinsella in the oakliegh chargers, is he able to be drafted/any chance of being drafted?

Finding the footy and hitting the scoreboard in recent weeks which is progress. Just at 165cm and with other better smalls overlooked recently it's unlikely at this point unless he really explodes in the second half of the season or becomes an extremely high level crumber which he hasn't shown to this point.

You mention D Nielson and H Beasley from last year. With a late pick, either a chance to complement Michael Jamison or are they more White/McInnes types?

Neither will go early but depending on the evaluation could be a late/rookie chances.

Carlton need another key defender so very possible one or the other is considered late draft/rookie draft. Certainly.

Thanks knightmare plays good footy in the colts ! rainbird looks good for Tas too !

I think you were right on the mark with Dickenson. Best Tassie prospect this year in my opinion, better than some of the small midfielders/defenders from the TAC Cup who get talked up.

They played him half forward against dandenong stingrays and in a few championship games last year, I think he plays better off half back from what I have seen, he's a really good tagger as well ! I can see the coaches are trying to show his versatility !

Hey Knighter, what are your thoughts on Tom Wallis (think he's eligible next year though)?

He's eligible next year. Still has some time. He's at this stage a role playing type who plays midfield/defence. Going ok but footskills lacking some consistency at this point. Maybe a late draft option but as with most still a year away from getting drafted he needs to improve first to get drafted.

Also watch for young Harvey Daniher who also will be eligible next year. He may debut later in the year in the TAC.

hey Knightmare have you seen jordan foote play for nsw? he gets in the bests practically every week and goes alright in the swans NEAFL. thoughts?

hey knightmare, i reckon north need to take KPF this draft and prepare for when Petrie hangs up the boots. What KPF can you see possibly slipping to about pick 11-12 where north will most likely end up? cheers

No clear guy around the range North Melbourne finishes when talking key forwards. The top end guys (McCartin, Durdin, Wright and Goddard will all go top 5 or 6).

Tom Lamb if available but I'm not certain he's a key forward as more a versatile tall and probably more a 3rd tall/flanker at the next level.

Tyler Keitel maybe. Jesse Watchman, Jack Cripps and Sam Bevan are some other names to listen out for in the second round.

Matthew Hammelmann, Harry Dear if Brisbane or Hawthorn respectively don't want them could be others to look at.

Sam Bevan and Tyler Keitel are both very good talents.

Sam Bevan has been compared to Sam Reid type, Bevan moves very well and has good leading patterns.

Keitel has some nice xfactor about him too.

Both range from 10 to 22 range.

6 Western Bulldogs – Patrick McCartin (VIC - KPF)
Height: 193cm, Weight: 95kg, DOB: 19/04/1996
Recruited from: Geelong Falcons
Style: Alistair Lynch
Player comparison:
Range: 1-10
Profile: McCartin is an interesting case. He’s an absolute top end talent but has his health issues which complicates the analysis of his playing ability. McCartin has diabetes so he’s done exceptionally well to manage that to this point and adjust his diet and practices to allow it not to affect his football. As a result of this McCartin has been especially careful with his diet and his body and has developed a great level of professionalism towards his football. As a footballer McCartin is a strong unit for his age. He’s already shown that he can take over games both through the TAC Cup but also through the u18 champs. McCartin is an effective mark on the lead and has some pace allowing him to create seperation but his real point of difference is his ability to take 1v1 marks. He has incredible strength and can go to the goal square and take advantage of his direct opponent with his superior ability to read the drop of the ball and his superior strength and ability to take a grab. He’s also a very capable pack mark and if he doesn’t take it he’ll bring it to ground. The major weakness in McCartin’s game at this point is his set shot goalkicking and it’s definitely a mental thing with him. I’ve never seen a key forward who likes a goal less than McCartin. He can shank those set shots more than most and quickly loses confidence in his kick and more often than not elects to go the unselfish option and find team mates in better positions but on the positive his field kicking is good and his vision finding those inside 50 targets is as good as you’ll see from a player of his type. He’ll also often opt to play on or snap instead of drop punt with his shots on goal understanding that his conversion from set shots is below average. As a smallish key forward I also hope McCartin develops a better ground level game as Roughead has to be better rounded and maximise his chances of becoming a dominant forward at the next level.

That would be the Most Perfect Selection There.

Dogs would go Nuts if that happened

I actually like all of Knightmares picks that he has made for the Dogs, I think if Collingwood avoid having to use their first round pick on Darcy Moore; you lot would be pretty happy as well ;)

Well Moore has not Really Set the Season a light but He still would be a 1st Round Pick as Teams will Force us to use it

Hope the boy turns out to have a great AFL career, that said not in my top 10, only 193cm and already 95kgs he is a man playing against boys. Limited positions to play him and if he doesn't mark it not sure he has enough tricks. Hope I'm wrong

Hey NM, Sorry if answered before but do you believe clubs will bid for Isaac Heeney making Sydney use their first rounder?

Without question clubs will be bidding first round selections for Heeney.

A team selecting top 5 probably puts in a bid - perhaps Melbourne as an example.

Heeney is quality and a bargain late first round. Along with Brayshaw, Heeney is that other standout midfielder in this draft.

Get excited.

Without question clubs will be bidding first round selections for Heeney.

A team selecting top 5 probably puts in a bid - perhaps Melbourne as an example.

Heeney is quality and a bargain late first round. Along with Brayshaw, Heeney is that other standout midfielder in this draft.

Get excited.
Crikey,!!!!!, and they already have Tom Mitchell picking up a lazy 64 possessions in the NEAFL and he can't crack it for a game!!!
The Dees lack a developing tall KPP at the moment. With Hogan out indefinetly, Clark retired Fitzpatrick is the only tall at Casey and he is a forward/ruck and has been around for a while. But at the same time the Dees need a real quality mid accumulator to supplement Jones, Tyson and Viney. Brayshaw may assist immediate improvement as did Wines at Port. Trengove comes back next season but he is not an in and under accumulator. Not sure whether Riley and or Mitchie can fit the bill. Toumpas is not an accumulator in and under either.
In any case the Dees are overloaded on their list with mids in the quest to unearth a 'money ball' mid. This will need to be addressed in due course.
Cheers,

Crikey,!!!!!, and they already have Tom Mitchell picking up a lazy 64 possessions in the NEAFL and he can't crack it for a game!!!
The Dees lack a developing tall KPP at the moment. With Hogan out indefinetly, Clark retired Fitzpatrick is the only tall at Casey and he is a forward/ruck and has been around for a while. But at the same time the Dees need a real quality mid accumulator to supplement Jones, Tyson and Viney. Brayshaw may assist immediate improvement as did Wines at Port. Trengove comes back next season but he is not an in and under accumulator. Not sure whether Riley and or Mitchie can fit the bill. Toumpas is not an accumulator in and under either.
In any case the Dees are overloaded on their list with mids in the quest to unearth a 'money ball' mid. This will need to be addressed in due course.
Cheers,

In the case of Melbourne the availability of the talent available will determine who is selected.

Melbourne at a guess will have pick 4 which likely means Wright, Durdin and McCartin are all selected leaving a choice between most likely Goddard and Brayshaw as those two most likely selections.

With an early draft selection I'd recommend going best available whether that is deemed to be Goddard or Brayshaw. I'd lean towards Brayshaw myself but you'd be happy with either.