Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2014 Phantom Draft

As a Pie man would be happy with:
5. Laverde (for some reason DeGoey looks the right fit for Coll)
30.brayden maynard - would slot in nicely as hbf and has aggression
46. Toby McLean - looks like a great football brain and based on Hines recruitment, he loves blokes who improve and listen to feedback (basing this from getting knocked back at Dandenong and playing for Chargers)

Coll needs two way runners and Buckley loves tacklers so I reckon DeGoey and Maynard fit that

Gday Knightmare love your work mate.

Just a quick question in regards to Calab Hislop from Tasmania. What do you think of his game and do you believe he will be drafted?

Not to dissimilar to the much more fancied Lachie Weller, just a little less class i think

As a Pie man would be happy with:
5. Laverde (for some reason DeGoey looks the right fit for Coll)
30.brayden maynard - would slot in nicely as hbf and has aggression
46. Toby McLean - looks like a great football brain and based on Hines recruitment, he loves blokes who improve and listen to feedback (basing this from getting knocked back at Dandenong and playing for Chargers)

Coll needs two way runners and Buckley loves tacklers so I reckon DeGoey and Maynard fit that

It will come down to availability. It's possible none of these three are available.

Laverde, De Goey, it depends on who GWS look at with pick 4 if it is indeed one of them or whether Melbourne string a surprise at 3.

Maynard may go before pick 30 and as high as 14 with Adelaide from reports interested.

Then McLean seems to be rising up draft boards in a hurry. I've been a fan of the guy all year and he's just kept improving but recent talk is he goes top 40. If there at 48 I'd also take him.

Personally I like McCartin/Wright at 5. R.McKenzie/Blakely if there at 30 (other otherwise best available slider) and Gore/Bampton/McLean at 48.

Gday Knightmare love your work mate.

Just a quick question in regards to Calab Hislop from Tasmania. What do you think of his game and do you believe he will be drafted?

Not to dissimilar to the much more fancied Lachie Weller, just a little less class i think

Hislop is different to Weller. Weller is a classy, versatile type who uses it well by foot and can provide some run. Hislop is a pure inside player - strong and can win the footy but disposal efficiency poor.

Hislop I'd suggest is in the mix late/rookie.

I have him going to Gold Coast at 8 next update.

Damnit! Do you take into account anything to do with draft whispers or what clubs are saying at all into your calculations? Or is it mainly your analysis of the clubs list and what you think their needs/wants are? It seems you always get pretty close with the top 10 in the last week or so leading up to the draft.

Cannot see the Dees overlooking a tall, likely McCartin at 3. If they are thinking strategically they will suspect a bottom 4 or 5 next year in a mid dominated draft. They are also likely to pick up Lovett (F/S) - hopefully he comes on ok. More mids come up under FA than talls simply because there are more of them - so opportunities with FA if wanted. Good talls also tend to carry a higher 'trade in' value than equivilant mids should a player wish to exit a contract etc. Also to attract good talls from other clubs requires top $$$$.

The only way i can see Melbourne overlooking a tall if both Petracca and Brayshaw are available.

Hi KM

Could you see Durdin as a mobile ruckman at AFL level? He's the same height as Blicavs (and only 18 years old) and has a good leap with his best games arguably being in the ruck...it's just that no one I've heard from really expects him to being able to do any more than pinch hit.

Cheers

Damnit! Do you take into account anything to do with draft whispers or what clubs are saying at all into your calculations? Or is it mainly your analysis of the clubs list and what you think their needs/wants are? It seems you always get pretty close with the top 10 in the last week or so leading up to the draft.

My power rankings and draft profiles are all my opinions, the actual phantom draft order I base as much as I can on media rumours I hear to have guys going as accurately as possible to roughly the clubs or in roughly the range they are expected to go.

Hi KM

Could you see Durdin as a mobile ruckman at AFL level? He's the same height as Blicavs (and only 18 years old) and has a good leap with his best games arguably being in the ruck...it's just that no one I've heard from really expects him to being able to do any more than pinch hit.

Cheers

I don't see Durdin as a mobile ruckman at AFL level, no. He could play some relief ruck as required as Jake Carlisle did for a period during the year but otherwise he needs to develop into a key position player. 197cm is just not tall enough for a ruckman. Blicavs is a unique and more the exception to the rule with his rare endurance making him effective. Durdin through the ruck competes well enough, can find the ball and push back or forward which are all positive traits for the position, but at AFL level he'll get dominated at the centre bounces and at stoppages around the ground with guys at AFL level much taller and stronger by position.

If Durdin wants to find a role it's either key defence or key forward, or he'll struggle.

Not that I have a clue but based on media reports I can see top ten like this:
1.Petracca
2.McCartin
3. Brayshaw
4. Laverde
5. DeGoey
6.pickett
7.Ahern
8.Lever
9.moore
10.Lever

1.Petracca
2.McCartin
3. Brayshaw
4. Laverde
5. DeGoey
6.pickett
7.Ahern
8.Lever
9.moore
10.Lever

Not that I've updated it yet but I expect at this stage..

1. Petracca
2. Brayshaw
3. McCartin
4. Laverde
5. De Goey
6. Pickett
7. Goddard
8. Duggan
9. Moore
10. Wright

1.Petracca
2.McCartin
3. Brayshaw
4. Laverde
5. DeGoey
6.pickett
7.Ahern
8.Lever
9.moore
10.Lever
I've heard Geelong want Lever bad, but not badly enough to select him after he's already been picked :eek:

No Lever? Where do you think he'll end up if this does happen?

It seems entirely possible he slips through. Geelong may take him, Melbourne and GWS in the top 10 are probably also in the mix but I wouldn't be at all surprised to see him go 10-15.

Duggan reminds me a lot of a younger trent Cotchin..? Yes or no

Good skillset but I wouldn't be inclined to say so, no. Cotchin is on another level entirely. Duggan is more like Kade Simpson if you're looking for a hopefully he becomes this type comparison.

Hi Knightmare, this might be a bit of a big ask but was wondering if you could "score" your power rankings? Like if Petracca was 100 then give everyone a score relative to that? Or however you like really, would just be interested in seeing how you have a few players in comparison to each other.

Hey KM, apologies if this has already been asked, but who are the best mature-age state league ruckmen going around? Melbourne needs ruck depth and, considering the draft is really light on for rucks, reckon we'll be looking to grab a ready-to-go ruck from the VFL, WAFL, SANFL etc. Cheers

Knight what are shane yarrans chances of getting drafted i think collingwood would be into him any chance at 48?
Also Luke Hannon have any chance?

Not that I've updated it yet but I expect at this stage..

1. Petracca
2. Brayshaw
3. McCartin
4. Laverde
5. De Goey
6. Pickett
7. Goddard
8. Duggan
9. Moore
10. Wright
So will Lever, Durdin and Weller all be available at pick 12 you think?

Is there a reason why Wright has fallen down the draft was he only considered a top 5 pick when Brisbane had a top 5 pick or is he considered only a Ruckman now?

His poor finals series has hurt his case. Additionally there seems a lack of clarity around his best position. Some see him as a forward, others a ruckman. GWS who seem a logical destination needing a young ruckman but Wright wants to be a forward and as a result they may for that reason overlook him with Cameron/Patton/Tomlinson more than sufficient.

Hi Knightmare, this might be a bit of a big ask but was wondering if you could "score" your power rankings? Like if Petracca was 100 then give everyone a score relative to that? Or however you like really, would just be interested in seeing how you have a few players in comparison to each other.

I've grouped players in my power rankings on quality and if they are in that same group they're roughly of the same quality.

So Duggan who I might rate at 22 I would rate roughly equally to Toby McLean at 29 being rated in the same category. Same story with Petracca who I have at 1 and Blakely at 8 and so on.
If I was to do a points out of 100 the differences would be negligible if they're rated in that same category.

Hey KM, apologies if this has already been asked, but who are the best mature-age state league ruckmen going around? Melbourne needs ruck depth and, considering the draft is really light on for rucks, reckon we'll be looking to grab a ready-to-go ruck from the VFL, WAFL, SANFL etc. Cheers

Tagliabue and Baulderstone are the two.

Baulderstone is a big, groundbound guy but he has lost substantial weight the past few seasons and now moves much better than he did. He is terrifically skilled by position and finds it around the ground.

Tagliabue is a taller guy and more athletic as a very reasonable tap ruckman but doesn't find much of it around the ground.

Paul Hunter from the NEAFL is another option.

If picked their all rookie picks.

Hey KM, Cal Twomey seems to think Pickett will be picked up by GWS at pick 4. Are you hearing similar things?

There have been some rumours of that one. Perhaps Collingwood like Pickett at 5 and GWS want to make sure they get him. Whether it happens that way we'll know more closer to draft day.

Knight what are shane yarrans chances of getting drafted i think collingwood would be into him any chance at 48?
Also Luke Hannon have any chance?

Shane Yarran is a rookie chance but can't see him going national draft. He is a talented 25 year old forward but even in the WAFL his performances has been only mild.

Hard to see Hannon getting a shot. Don't believe he was invited to the state combine.

So will Lever, Durdin and Weller all be available at pick 12 you think?

Weller may go at 11 if there, but it's possible all three are there at 12.