Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2014 Phantom Draft

Twomey has wigg going to the dogs at 27. That seem like a reach to you km??
I'll let KM answer the question for himself, but if you want my opinion (which you may not :D) yes it's way too high! He can kick a footy but at AFL level can he defend well enough to be able to mask his deficencies?

Hey Knightmare what's the story with Reece McKenzie? You rated him a first round prospect, potentially the best KPF in the draft, and even took him at P5 in the BF phantom, yet now you have him going at P41 with a range of 20-50...

I'll let KM answer the question for himself, but if you want my opinion (which you may not :D) yes it's way too high! He can kick a footy but at AFL level can he defend well enough to be able to mask his deficencies?
Thanks Stan. What type of player could he defend at afl level?? Quick enough to take a dangerous small?? Big enough to take a medium like a Menzel/lecras type?? Hard to see where he fits in. Forgive dogs fans for being wary of reaching for lefty South Australian half-backs because they can kick...........:(

Very excited to see McCartin move to number 1! Let's hope we don't mess this up now.

How likely do you think it is KM that McKenzie slides to the Dees at 41 to complement Petracca and Brayshaw? Where do you see Jack Lonie, Tyler Keitel, Touk Miller, and Caleb Daniel sliding to at the very best?

Twomey has wigg going to the dogs at 27. That seem like a reach to you km??

Higher than I'd take Wigg. But I do evaluate talent different to clubs and clubs will rate talent differently from other clubs.

Wigg can find the footy and is an efficient ball user so I get it. But as a sub 180cm back flanker. Not many of them around. Just don't think he'll be good enough to defend the damaging forward flankers or so damaging himself that he'll find a role for a team.

Hey Knightmare what's the story with Reece McKenzie? You rated him a first round prospect, potentially the best KPF in the draft, and even took him at P5 in the BF phantom, yet now you have him going at P41 with a range of 20-50...

In the bigfooty phantom I took Reece at 5 because I knew he would not be available at 30 having gone in the 20s in the trial and that was confirmed with one of the other posters suggesting that if McKenzie was there at their pick that they would have taken him. At 5 if you look at my power rankings McKenzie still was the highest rated talent on my draft board at that stage.

As for where Reece goes on draft day. There is little clarity as to where he goes, or at least I have little idea of where he will land. It could be late draft for all we know and that's what Cal Twomey suggests will occur. I imagine it will be more the middle portion of the draft with at least some clubs surely interested I would have thought. But I'll find out myself on draft day not knowing that information at this stage.

Again it's a story of I'll always rate talent differently to clubs. Connor Blakely is another example of this. I have Blakely inside my top 10. He will go in the 20s or 30s.

Thanks Stan. What type of player could he defend at afl level?? Quick enough to take a dangerous small?? Big enough to take a medium like a Menzel/lecras type?? Hard to see where he fits in. Forgive dogs fans for being wary of reaching for lefty South Australian half-backs because they can kick...........:(
I'd love to hear KM's opinion on this but I think he'd be best suited to a wing where he drops off as the 7th defender and becomes some what of a quarter back ( Bartel in '13 for example). The problem with this is if he is not flexible enough teams will not allow him to play this role, therefore making him largely redundant, hence the reason for him becoming a late pick!

I assume you're relating your analogy to Fuller? I have never seen him play so I can't say much other than 2nd time lucky? :D What I will say is there is no way in the world that Wigg becomes anything more than being able to play on the smaller types such as Green or Taylor from Brisbane or Dahlhaus from the Dogs as an example (although I think Daulhaus would probably kick 5 on him). :D

I'd love to hear KM's opinion on this but I think he'd be best suited to a wing where he drops off as the 7th defender and becomes some what of a quarter back ( Bartel in '13 for example). The problem with this is if he is not flexible enough teams will not allow him to play this role, therefore making him largely redundant, hence the reason for him becoming a late pick!

I assume you're relating your analogy to Fuller? I have never seen him play so I can't say much other than 2nd time lucky? :D What I will say is there is no way in the world that Wigg becomes anything more than being able to play on the smaller types such as Green or Taylor from Brisbane or Dahlhaus from the Dogs as an example (although I think Daulhaus would probably kick 5 on him). :D
And Christian Howard......surely not again

Huh? Are you guys thinking of re-drafting him? I'm definitely in your camp. I'd rather give Wigg a chance. I don't see the point in re-drafting players unless maybe they're on such a strong list that they could be of some value if injuries occur but not in this case. The Bulldogs list looks strong in the future but it's not at the point where it should be re-drafting players IMO.

Very excited to see McCartin move to number 1! Let's hope we don't mess this up now.

How likely do you think it is KM that McKenzie slides to the Dees at 41 to complement Petracca and Brayshaw? Where do you see Jack Lonie, Tyler Keitel, Touk Miller, and Caleb Daniel sliding to at the very best?

It's unclear whether R.McKenzie is there at 40 for Melbourne. The media rumours that I've heard seem to suggest he is a real chance to be there.

Will Melbourne pick him if there? I'm not expecting it. Some other teams based on needs seem more likely destinations. But you never quite know who which clubs likes so you never say never.

Wigg would really struggle on a Menzel or LeCras with LeCras particularly so capable overhead for a small. Perhaps Wigg can play on a wing and that is probably his best chance but again a small wing but again more efficient than damaging. Again I'd be passing but I expect AFL clubs based on his projected draft position will like him much more than I will.

Touk Miller will go anywhere 20-40. Could surprise and go as high as 20, or could just as easily drop into the 30s. Can't see him sliding to the Dees at 41.

Lonie could go around 40. Same with Keitel.

Caleb Daniel I doubt will go in the national draft but in the rookie draft I imagine he'll be a chance.

Hey KM, where would Jack Watts go in this year's draft?

Around pick 20-25 perhaps.

Hey KM I'm bloody excited! Only 2 sleeps! Haha!

My head tells me we'll take De Goey if he's there and my heart tells me that we may take Lever if he is there.

Can I ask you for your thoughts on pick 10 and how it may work out?

Thanks as always mate! :)

My phantom draft is listed in post 1, page 1 of this thread.

De Goey seems most likely to go to Collingwood at 5, or so the experts say and if not then GWS are a real chance to take him with one of their three picks.

Wright if there probably is the pick for Geelong. Maybe Durdin or Lever.

Hey dude.. sorry... I haven't been keeping up with all this.. have you just recently moved McCartin ahead of Petracca, and if so, what is that based on?

My phantom draft can be found page 1, post 1.

I expect McCartin gets picked before Petracca and I'm basing that on media speculation. The talk is St Kilda will go that way based on needs.

KM. love your work on the regular updates!

Just wondering why you think that the dons will pass on jake lever?

and if you really think we would, is there a chance that he falls through to 20? would we take him there above cockatoo in that case?

#17 Essendon – Lachlan Weller
#18 Sydney – Isaac Heeney
#19 Carlton – Jake Lever
#20 Essendon – Nakia Cockatoo

KM. love your work on the regular updates!

Just wondering why you think that the dons will pass on jake lever?

and if you really think we would, is there a chance that he falls through to 20? would we take him there above cockatoo in that case?

#17 Essendon – Lachlan Weller
#18 Sydney – Isaac Heeney
#19 Carlton – Jake Lever
#20 Essendon – Nakia Cockatoo

I'm not sure I see the need for Essendon with Hooker and Hurley. That's what it comes down to. That and I can see Essendon being really attracted to both Weller and Cockatoo if there.

KM is there a sickening chance Melbourne seriously could overlook petracca..?

Until there is a definite comment suggesting that it is beyond doubt but I'd be exceptionally surprised to see Melbourne pass on either of Petracca or Brayshaw if there.

Hey KM, Thoughts on hugh beasely? I know that he is really quick but extremely short for a kpd; Gibson and Thompson are the most notable at similar heights.

Also you've always had us picking up Gregson, I think this is extremely realistic of happening; theres no talk or links of him going to other clubs. If caleb gets taken before one of our picks before the rookie or ND I reckon Gregson would be a lock for us

Really excellent communication and above all knowledge on players Knightmare. Have you contacted clubs about working in recruitment? There's a fair CV to get your foot in I'd say.

Hey KM, Thoughts on hugh beasely? I know that he is really quick but extremely short for a kpd; Gibson and Thompson are the most notable at similar heights.

Also you've always had us picking up Gregson, I think this is extremely realistic of happening; theres no talk or links of him going to other clubs. If caleb gets taken before one of our picks before the rookie or ND I reckon Gregson would be a lock for us

Beasley is undersized being officially listed at 190.1cm and no longer growing. A below average but improving rebounder by position and probably the best stopper in any of the junior competitions.

With Beasley what he goes best is play key defence and take the best key forward. The issue with that is at 190cm that's against the odds at the next level. In terms of other roles while I haven't seen it I anticipate he will be limited as a relatively though much improved rebounder. That and while we're yet to see it as a 3rd tall or further up the ground I'm not convinced with how he'd go having not seen it, and having not seen it you can only assume it's not something he'll be doing in the future.

As a rookie if I needed a key defender I'd take a shot at Beasley. Before that understanding his lack of height by position I'd hold off on him and go for other talents I rate more highly.

Gregson is for a small a good on-baller and can win it. Late/rookie draft he will be in the mix and given Port have those picks in that late draft range are probably a fair chance to take him.

Really excellent communication and above all knowledge on players Knightmare. Have you contacted clubs about working in recruitment? There's a fair CV to get your foot in I'd say.

I have contacted the Victorian clubs and I have been in communication with a couple of clubs. I've only approached clubs to seek feedback on how to further improve.

If I don't get picked up in any capacity I'll just continue doing what I'm doing and continue to step things up until I can't be ignored.