cfc05

carlton
Has been thrown around many times that this years draft is unfortunately very shallow, so picks after the first few rds wont be too valuable/ even less than previous yrs.

I know the sound of picking up a mature aged recruit will annoy some, but a 21 yo/22 y.o VFL or SANFL player could still turn out to be a great find with many years left in them.

Watched a bit of this level of footy and one or two players stick out as a worthwile punt.. what you think?

The most important learning curves for a player are between the age of 17-21, so picking up a player in his 20s is too late. Many top draft picks are criticised for underperforming in their first few years, they are still learning and then they strt to bloom and become they hot shots of the AFL. Not worth the risk of a 21 or 22 year old anyway.

We've gotten some very good players with late picks in the draft, better to go with the youngsters. EG Brad Fisher, Eddie Betts (even tho PSD, it is like a late draft pick)

Think you helped my point a little blue_swan... some kids r not looked at in junior football because they just arn't upto it yet, then they go off play with a U/19 club with mates and end up playing VFL or SANFL when 20... one or two years later are one of the best players in the comp with all the assets that are needed to make it in the AFL

And every single pick in the draft carries massive risks.. specially anything past pick 20, clearly only using our last picks for this.

I don't mind the idea of mature age recruits. While it is very unlikely they'll ever turn out to be superstars, they can be very handy. What do you guys think about maybe picking up the guy from tassie who got named full back in the vfl team of the year? Could fill that vacant space that is our backline...

TommyMcG said:
I don't mind the idea of mature age recruits. While it is very unlikely they'll ever turn out to be superstars, they can be very handy. What do you guys think about maybe picking up the guy from tassie who got named full back in the vfl team of the year? Could fill that vacant space that is our backline...

18 year olds. Heaps of them. Year after year. Pick up a mature aged player is okay very very late in the draft. Prefer a bottom aged player taken there to be honest. Raso type.

Yeah well the bottom age players been picked up late in the draft is going to become very rare with the new draft rule (age restrictions.)
Havnt seen much of that tassie FB play, but alot of people have told me he can't really take the massive power fowards, which is ok in the VFL but obviously not AFL - so could be a good 2nd defender but wont be the answer to all our problems.

cfc05 said:
Has been thrown around many times that this years draft is unfortunately very shallow, so picks after the first few rds wont be too valuable/ even less than previous yrs.

I know the sound of picking up a mature aged recruit will annoy some, but a 21 yo/22 y.o VFL or SANFL player could still turn out to be a great find with many years left in them.

Watched a bit of this level of footy and one or two players stick out as a worthwile punt.. what you think?
I think Jeremy Clayton deserves another chance at this level, would be happy to see the Blues pick him up with a late pick.

cfc05 said:

Matty Priddis from Subiaco, Justin Crow from the Bullants & Rossy Young from the Bullants are possible late picks, maybe even rookies.

I think our late picks should be used on people like Raso, or even Gwilt, people that may be playing in division 1 with Donvale or Noble Park or underrated Oakliegh players, thats what we should take a punt on.