Least Memorable/Most Detestable Game(s)

• Thread starter Thread starter Vdubs

While we are still on a high, what about some of those past games we have tried to forget? Apart from the obvious GF losses, 2 for me were the last game Buddha played at OO against Carlton. We were bizarrely bad for 3/4 , barely scoring apart from 3 reports. The other was against Pies, 2006? Sat pm MCG. Have rarely wanted to escape from a game but that really was a test. What on earth happened that night, 1 week after a really gutsy win against Saints spoiling Harvey's milestone.
It's really great to look back over our seasons to appreciate the team we have evolved into.

Round 9 2008... I don't like losing but i get over it however that wasn't losing that was getting destroyed. And to Collingwood of all teams..

Losing to the then Brisbane Bears at home in 1994, and Fremantle at Skilled in 2005.

The Freo game was particularly boring as Freo used a rolling huddle in that game. A player would take a mark, Freo would form a huddle 40m up the ground, then break out to the wings, take a mark, and do it all over again. Absolutely crap to watch.

Losing to Richmond at Skilled in 2006 was ordinary too, especially since we kicked 9 straight points in the last quarter to end up losing by 20 points.

round 2, 2004 when we got done by carlton at optus oval.

it was ugly

This.

. The other was against Pies, 2006? .

And this. (I left 2nd minute, 3rd quarter :o)

nick ****ing davis

And this.

also that game aginst WC when we aquandered a massive lead in 2006

This too.

2008 Grand Final

As well as this. :(

And there was an absolute shocker against West Coast at KP.. dunno even which year it was (mid 90s- yes other than the GFs), but all i remember is they kept on pushing the ball over the boundary line, again and again and AGAIN.. they ended up smashing us so i guess it worked for them. But dam it what a bloody horrid game that was.

Edit: Thanks alot OP for making me depressed. Was in a good mood til I saw this. :p

Any home-game loss during the 80s was horrific, as a kid on my own, with duffle-coat and scarf, having to catch the train back to Melbourne with opposition ferral supporters. As was any loss when standing in the rain at Moorabbin or Vic. Park. Seriously - being a Melbourne-based Cats fan in the 70s and 80s was a brutal, unforgiving existence. These past three years have somewhat appeased the situation, but the memories and scars will live 'till I die.

One of the most memorable losses (there's plenty) was the first final I went to - the 1980 Pre-lim, when we lost by 4 points to Collingwood. I loathed the Pies back then even more so than today - and seeing guys like Peter Moore, Daicos, Billy Picken and Wearmouth celebrate after the win was gut wrenching. At least the close, hard game set them up for the following week's smashing in the GF.

Any home-game loss during the 80s was horrific, as a kid on my own, with duffle-coat and scarf, having to catch the train back to Melbourne with opposition ferral supporters. As was any loss when standing in the rain at Moorabbin or Vic. Park. Seriously - being a Melbourne-based Cats fan in the 70s and 80s was a brutal, unforgiving existence. These past three years have somewhat appeased the situation, but the memories and scars will live 'till I die.

Oh I am so glad those two parks were 'before my time'. ;):thumbsu:

This year against Carlton was pretty shit.

Completely agree sat next to a fat bloke who for some reason kept claiming from the first whistle the Geelong players were diving and then when ever they made the slightest mistake dispite being 2,8990 kgs he claimed he never would of done so. He also kept saying "Essendon 2000, Greatest underachievers of all time".. and "That the cats were finnished"..

I replied "Bart Cummings does not time his horses to peak in the Turnbull Stakes... I asked him to remember me when the GF siren went - and he said it be a pleasure too... I really hope he did!

Also when living in Perth, you really, really cop as a Geelong supporters by bogans at Eagles games. Everyone you lose, due to the uneducated footy hicks around you (Who think footy was invented with Pom Poms in 1987) is twice as bad as a lose in Melbourne..

There are quite a few bad games that hurt the memory. There were 4 GF losses in 7 years that hurt - though none so bad as 2008.

However the H & A game that sticks in my head is one against Hawthorn when Gavin Excell (?) kicked 8-9 goals for Geelong and we were up at half time by around 10 goals and we lost the game in one of the great comebacks by any side.

We had them beat, and they were a gun side - and yet they go up to beat us. This is still one of the (smaller) reasons why the loss in '08 hurt so much.

I remember this game too its actually in the Hawthorn 89' finals pack my mate had it on video.

People always note we dont have a rival - but as a Cats fan their has always been this link of dissapointment with the Hawks. I have always said if I was thrown randomly into the future without any up to date footy knowledge to watch a Cats game and I could chose one team not play it would be the Hawks. They always have a habit of ruining things, esp when they not right too by form.

Along with that game..

1. They went they bash, won the game yet our players all ended up suspended which ruined are promising finals campaign in 1991 as well.

2. Knock us out of the finals in week one, after a decent season in 2000.

3. That shocking game at KP when we were flag favourites in 2006 going in and collapsed to them and never recovered.. however this did lead to the infamous review we needed to become a premiership side at the years end.

Then agian... we can always count on Richmond for a win..

While the bad losses and poor form matches are painful, at least they highten the emotion and make the great wins all the much sweeter. They are part and parcel of footy.

What I can't stand are the dull monotonous matches. For example saints at TD in 2007 (I think), even though we won, I still wanted to gauge my own eyes out with whatever blunt equipment I could lay my hands on at the tuck shop.

While the bad losses and poor form matches are painful, at least they highten the emotion and make the great wins all the much sweeter. They are part and parcel of footy.

What I can't stand are the dull monotonous matches. For example saints at TD in 2007 (I think), even though we won, I still wanted to gauge my own eyes out with whatever blunt equipment I could lay my hands on at the tuck shop.

Couldn't have been '07, we blasted them by 10 goals. That was great.

Well the most detested games are easy - start at Grand Finals, then finals, then home and away. 2008 is at the top, closely followed by 1992, 1995 and 1989. Still yet to forgive Lonergan or Stokes, and you'd have to wonder what Hawkins would be like now if they'd thrown him in the deep end sooner.

The 1991 Second Semi-Final was brutal to endure, I think we kicked 2.8 or something in the last quarter and did everything but win. The final in Adelaide in 1997 was equally hard to stomach, although I don't blame Colbert's non-mark. That was in the third quarter; we still had enough chances to win the game afterwards.

I always rank the 1992 Second Semi against West Coast up there. Blight made the brilliant decision of putting Sean Simpson (our slowest player) on Peter Matera (their fastest). Matera had 32 kicks on his way to BOG and Blight very astutely played him into form. Good one Malcolm, may have made some clever coaching manouvres, but there were some big occasion blunders too.

vs Collingwood in 08, the game the pies fans still rave on about..

vs Carlton in 09, one of the worst games of the year IMO

vs Western Bulldogs Round 21 2009, not one of the worst games, but it hurt.

and obviously the 2008 GF..

Any game where Geelong gets thumped by Collingwood is awful (which seems to be a theme here) but one game that sticks in my mind was a match down at Skilled against Fremantle in 2005.

IIRC it was Ling's 100th and Bartel's 50th and Freo went on to win by 8 or 9 points or something.

It was just a horrible, horrible match to watch and I remember being particularly downcast when the final siren went.

Geelong V Carlton, Rd 2 OO, 2004 was also pretty bad. Tenace's first game and looked like a kid with real promise while the rest looked awful - how things change!!

I think that was 1990.

Agree! That remains the worst game i've even seen Geelong play. Kicked 9.28.82 to the Tigers who scored 13.18.96. What just made it worse was that Richmond of that era were worse than pathetic. Absolute chumps, yet we made them look like world beaters that day! Bews did his knee, and Gary Ablett didn't play that game either. he alone would have kicked 10. That loss sort of undid our season, after recovering from shellackings in the opening two rounds to be 4-2 to that stage.

The West Coast game someone else mentioned was in 1998, when a westerly gale kept the ball on the Moorabool St wing all day. Ronnie Burns somehow missed everything from about 15 m out, and Geelong scored 5.16.46:eek::o Terrible game all-round.

The most galling loss i've experienced was that game in 2002 against the Crows when we had won 7 in a row. Would have gone to 11-6 and top-4 if we'd had won, but the Crows couldn't miss and scored 15.3.93 to our 12.18.90. Remains the one game where we did absolutely everything right bar kick straight, and that loss killed our season. Won only against cellar-dweller St.Kilda by a point in the last 5 games and we were kicked out if the 8 by guess who....(Hawks) in Rd 22.

But....having seen two flags won by our side, some of these losses feel less painful to talk about now.:thumbsu:

Catsace, re; Adelaide game in 2002. This also is one of my most hated losses, particularly as it was at the hands of that tosser Ayres and pointed to the scoreboard as he left. Where's he now anyway?? :o

I'd have to say prior to the current team we had a bad habit of losing to shit teams...and these losses would shit me the most. See; every loss we had to Hawthorn in the 90's. Two losses to the bottom placed Bulldogs in 2003. Getting done by winless Freo in 1999.

My two most hated (even more so than the 2008 Grand Final) will always be v Adelaide Semi final 1997 and Sydney semi final 2005. I will not ever again watch these two games for the sake of my mental health. :mad:

Two losses to the bottom placed Bulldogs in 2003. Getting done by winless Freo in 1999.

My two most hated (even more so than the 2008 Grand Final) will always be v Adelaide Semi final 1997 and Sydney semi final 2005. I will not ever again watch these two games for the sake of my mental health. :mad:

That was for sure. Ridiculous that Geelong by Rd 16 2003 had won about 3 or 4 games, the Dogs had a record of 2-13-1. And both those wins were against US!!!!! Stupid, we were down 13 goals to 2 late in the 3rd quarter of that latter game in Rd 16, at our own Skilled stadium. We came back late but were never in the game.

Certainly from small seed do big things grow! We've not lost at Skilled since 2007, and have lost seven games in 70 since Rd 6 2007.

Of course, many Cat fans may recall that hideous day in 1991 when Geelong, at 5-3 on the ladder were playing the 0-8 Fitzroy who had a percentage of about 49% in Round 9. And yep, you guessed it...we LOST! Lucky that was just about enough for the great man to say...I want to return!!