Least Memorable/Most Detestable Game(s)

• Thread starter Thread starter Vdubs

Catsace, re; Adelaide game in 2002. This also is one of my most hated losses, particularly as it was at the hands of that tosser Ayres and pointed to the scoreboard as he left. Where's he now anyway?? :o

I'd have to say prior to the current team we had a bad habit of losing to shit teams...and these losses would shit me the most. See; every loss we had to Hawthorn in the 90's. Two losses to the bottom placed Bulldogs in 2003. Getting done by winless Freo in 1999.

My two most hated (even more so than the 2008 Grand Final) will always be v Adelaide Semi final 1997 and Sydney semi final 2005. I will not ever again watch these two games for the sake of my mental health. :mad:

Was that Adelaide game the one where Ayres gave a few Geelong supporters in front of him the bird after the game? Real classy that.

I remember Sammy Newman going nuts on the Footy Show once about how in the 90's we had the propensity to thrash a top team, yet lose against a cellar dweller. Was extremely frustrating.

I just remembered another game that annoyed me at the time - vs Collingwood in 1992 at Waverley. Leading in we were regularly kicking cricket scores, but this day was really wet. We were still in with a show until James Manson took a mark, faked an injury and hobbled off as a teammate took the kick and goaled. Manson then got off the ground, shrugged off the trainers and jogged to the bench. :mad:

Other than the GF losses, the beltings at the hands of colonwood filth and the crows half-way through the '06 were utterly soul destroying. That was the lowest I had felt in a long long long time.

the 09 carlton game wasnot seriously too bad-no scarlett, taylor and some others and nil to play for. we looked as disinterested as we were. the last 06 game vs haw most have forgotten-we were shocking

Fortunately I was at a wedding that day but I still recall hearing some of it on the radio on the way there - I was pretty thankful I missed it.

The 'Line in the Sand' game against North in early '07.

Was devastated with this one. Was not sure where we were going to go from here!

Aside from the obvious grand final losses, and I think someone else mentioned this one, but the game I hate the most would have to be against the arch enemy West Coast in 2006 at Shell Stadium as I think it was at the time.
Living in Perth, I cop enough stick from all my mates who are Weagle supporters about 92/94. We are 50 odd points up at half time and I am loving it. Then I have to go to a wedding, so I take a radio to the ceremony, and listen while we squander a match winning lead, only to have to give updates to all the Weagle supporters also at the wedding. Painful. Cocky pricks.

As a Norwood and Geelong supporter the stand out crapfest for me was the match at Football Park Adelaide in 1992.

We were top of the ladder and they were a joke. However, we lost by 15 goals with guess who, Norwood's nemesis Scott Hodges playing his one decent game of AFL...against Geelong AAAARRRRRGGGGH! Scotty got eleven and I drank a lot of overpriced alcohol in plastic cups during that second half because we were down by 11 goals at half time.

:mad:

regards,

REB

The West Coast game someone else mentioned was in 1998, when a westerly gale kept the ball on the Moorabool St wing all day. Ronnie Burns somehow missed everything from about 15 m out, and Geelong scored 5.16.46:eek::o Terrible game all-round.
:

That was me.

98 was it? Thought it was earlier than that... and you reckon the gale kept the ball out on the wing. BS, it was WC!!!!! Thats how I remember it anyway. ;)

Lol at Ronnie Burns. Now theres a name I havent heard for, for a while...

And just to think one Joel Selwood was quite fantastic for us that day, in his what, second game?

One that stands out for me was round 17 2006 against North in Canberra.

We went into the game with 8 wins and 8 losses, sitting a game outside the 8. He had beaten the Dogs by a point the weak before and had won something like 5 of our last 6. North were a bottom 4 side that year and a win would have allowed us to remain within touching distance of finals. A loss pretty much ended the season. I just wanted us to win and finish the season out strongly so I could believe the awful first half of the year was a one-off.

We had a couple of significant injuries, but we were simply crap. Just not good enough. I remember at one stage watching Steve Johnson stuff something up and thinking this side is such a long way from being even a Premiership contender. I had started the season thinking we were a chance for the flag and this game and the Pies flogging showed how far away we really were. Apart from the 08 GF and 05 SF I think these were the two hardest losses to take from the past few years.

2001 vs Carlton at Optus.

We kicked 3.9 for the whole day and Milburn cleaned up Silvagni and came off clapping himself to the boos and threats of the Blue faithful.

Ugly day all round.

We kicked 3.9 for the whole day and Milburn cleaned up Silvagni and came off clapping himself to the boos and threats of the Blue faithful.

Ugly day all round.

Well us kicking 3.9 for the day was ugly. Didn't have a problem with what Milburn did. I was there with a mate who follows Carlton and he didn't think there was anything wrong with it either.

Every loss annoys me, don't care when or where. Always hated losing to Melbourne, and North as well, tinpot little club with amazingly smug fans.

That was me.

98 was it? Thought it was earlier than that... and you reckon the gale kept the ball out on the wing. BS, it was WC!!!!! Thats how I remember it anyway. ;)

Lol at Ronnie Burns. Now theres a name I havent heard for, for a while...

Lol I often mention that game as one of the very worst i've been to. The wind that day was not only gale force, it was as icy as any i've felt at a game.

Funny thing was, there wasn't a cloud in the sky all day.

There are quite a few bad games that hurt the memory. There were 4 GF losses in 7 years that hurt - though none so bad as 2008.

However the H & A game that sticks in my head is one against Hawthorn when Gavin Excell (?) kicked 8-9 goals for Geelong and we were up at half time by around 10 goals and we lost the game in one of the great comebacks by any side.

We had them beat, and they were a gun side - and yet they go up to beat us. This is still one of the (smaller) reasons why the loss in '08 hurt so much.

Gavin Excell? yes twas him.
Actually my memory of that game is good because while disappointing to have lost, it cemented any lingering doubts this team was very good.

For me worse is 2008 GF, the nick davis semi final, the 100 point loss to pies 2006 and abberation again 2008 (though cancelled out in the prelim) and at the time, the r4 loss to North at home 2007 but which in retrospect proved the catalyst to future gloy thanks to Chappys blow up post match.

this years game against carlton rates fairly highly, also
v kangaroos, 2007, round 5?
v west coast, 2006, mid year around 8-11
but the worst, V hawthorn g.f 2008

Easily the 1997 finals series for me.....
That'll scar the Cats fan side of me forever i reckon. It was the combination of pretty ordinary performances, rediculous scheduling, a completely flawed final 8 system and very ordinary umpiring that resulted in this being the worst time of my football following life.

In terms of just one off, flat out ordinary performances there have been quite a few, every team has them though, and i find i can get over them pretty quickly. Surprisingly this includes the 2008 Grand Final, although i might not be saying that had the Cats' have lost this year's GF.

I remember being particularly upset right after a game at Telstra Dome in late 2005 when we dropped one to a low placed Essendon that would've sealed our finals birth. They didnt look anywhere near desperate enough for a team playing for a finals birth against a team that had put the queue in the rack. Very ordinary game.

I just remembered a game so depressing it was almost lost from my memory forever. Believe it or not I attended the Cats "Top Heavy" game agianst Freo at Subi earlier on in the 1999 season.

It was a horrific season to come, with the departures of Coach Ayres, Captain Colbert and longtime players Barnes and Mansfield an indication of the season which included much rumour of infighting.

Luckily for most Geelong supporters they got to be on the other side of the country when after a very promising start, an entire the shattered at halftime at a Freo game like I did that day.

As Harmesy has written in his book "Loose Men Everywhere" one type of Geelong season is too come out all guns blazing win 7 in a row then lose 9 in a row and finally recapture a little form at the season's end when nothing matters. 1999 was a diagram of this type of season.

Coming into this game we had won 6 and things where looking grand. Freo where under pressure having not won a game all season. Things where still looking up after we booted something like 6 goals in the first term to none.

Then from their in three quarters Geelong's whole season unravelled in one game of football in front of my eyes. My father's (A Carlton supporter ) comment after the game was "Top Heavy". Maybe my memory was wrong and they weren't but it certainly seemed that way -however watching Jason Mooney try to chug up any steam and run was always a painful expeirence.

However the lasting image of game (one of only 13 for the Cats in his only season for the Cats) was of Scott Bamford's weird hairstyle as he surprisingly kicked three goals.

1999 was easily my worst season supporting Geelong.

Surprisingly we did win the first five, then (of course) the streak was broken by Hawthorn at Kardinia with Daniel Harford kicking a late impossible angle goal from the boundary. The next week we lost to winless Fremantle and lost the next 7 straight, many of them close losses (and chokes) at home. I remember not even being able to watch us beat last placed Collingwood by 3 point to end the losing streak nightmare.

Then of course we regained form and looked like sneaking a finals berth, only to lose to Hawthorn again in Round 21 by 2 points, Shane ****ing Crawford pinging Mansfield holding the ball before he could get a shot on goal.

That was of course the end of Ayres, Barnes, Mansfield, incidently Leigh Colbert too. Not that I'm complaining about any of that now. :thumbsu:

Season 2006
Nick ****ing Davis:mad::mad:
vs Collingwood rnd 9 08
vs Saints rnd 1 04
08 GF
vs Carlton rnd 2 04 we lost by 54 points :mad:

Has anyone watched the 08 GF or the 05 semi again?

1995 gf vs Carlton was tough to swallow. At least with the 2008 grand final I knew what it felt like to win one. As a kid in 1995, I was wondering if I'd ever see them win one.

Two that I haven't seen mentioned were the loss at Optus against the Blues in the early 2000s when we got smashed and Milburn pole-axed Silvagni. Also, after the top four finish in 2004, we were looking like the real deal in 2005. Round 3, we had the Dees at the MCG and they slaughtered us. Very tough to take at the time, particularly thinking about the teams at the time and how they seemed evenly matched (plus how they've kicked on).

edit: holy crap...just looked up the scores from those games. The Carlton one I mentioned, the final score was 13.19.97 to 3.9.27

Fitting end to that year...

THIS!!! I went back to my mum's after this game and totally cracked the sh*ts, saying that we looked like we hadn't improved and was it going to be more ofthe same for the rest of the season... AGGGHH, the spoils of a massive turn-around from then on...and we haven't loked back.:thumbsu:

...I haven't seen mentioned were the loss at Optus against the Blues in the early 2000s when we got smashed and Milburn pole-axed Silvagni.

edit: holy crap...just looked up the scores from those games. The Carlton one I mentioned, the final score was 13.19.97 to 3.9.27

Fitting end to that year...

Someone else is on your wave-length ;)

Ugly day all round.