Lets be Honest

NAB Cup means nothing...

spot on mate.

The only things that i could take out of that were

Riewoldt looks to have put on a bit of size and played well demanding the footy

Edwards looks fit looked comfortable across hb

Jackson is on track to play rnd 1 and maybe will have first crack at being our main tagger

I like Tom Hislop didnt get much of it will need time to settle into our line up but looks to have grunt and is hard at it, loved the accidental punch in the face in the last too mundy which resulted in a morton left foot goal

Wasnt a great performance even with Thursfield Mcmahon Johnson Cotchin Cousins Couglahn Thomson Connors etc out but who cares

We must rotate the senior players out of that side now
Hoping to see
Out - Richo Brown Simmonds Deledio Foley Bowden Raines
In - Cousins Cogs Connors King Johnson Pattison Thomson

Yes Richo played a blinder, but so did Jack. Ultra impressed with this kid.

Jack will be something to watch in a couple more years. Still has a lot of development to go in terms of upper body strength. He has a great football brain and knows where to go. Geez he can take a grab too!!!

spot on mate.

The only things that i could take out of that were

Riewoldt looks to have put on a bit of size and played well demanding the footy

Edwards looks fit looked comfortable across hb

Jackson is on track to play rnd 1 and maybe will have first crack at being our main tagger

I like Tom Hislop didnt get much of it will need time to settle into our line up but looks to have grunt and is hard at it, loved the accidental punch in the face in the last too mundy which resulted in a morton left foot goal

Wasnt a great performance even with Thursfield Mcmahon Johnson Cotchin Cousins Couglahn Thomson Connors etc out but who cares

We must rotate the senior players out of that side now
Hoping to see
Out - Richo Brown Simmonds Deledio Foley Bowden Raines
In - Cousins Cogs Connors King Johnson Pattison Thomson

WTF???? :eek: Have you gone mad? And get pumped by the filthy skunks?

It wasnt that long ago that if we went down by nearly 5 goals in the first quarter it was game over.

At least now we were able to step up a gear and take the game back.

That alone says we have progressed.

Brown oozing class, Morton finishing well. Edwards thinking his way through tight spots, Jack showing signs of further improvent.Nahas showing just enough to suggest he might be something. Raines breaking through lines. Plenty to like about last night.

Just quietly, is there a better kick getting around at the minute than Deledio?

Pinpoint passes inside 50. Great to watch.

Athough we played poorly it is only Feb.

Some good signs for me were,

Jackson won alot of contested footy, was very good IMO

Edwards was very slick

Jack was excellent and I love the way he instructs his team mates, quality young leader

Browny and Morton look like such a dangerous combo

Richo was well still playing like he is 21

Delidio and Foley seemed to have little impacy and we still won

Negatives

Foley not running the lines????

Hislop looked slow and just a thug to me, gave away stupid free kicks, I know it is early and I haven't written him off.

I am not convinced Nahas is our answer just yet, to be fair I think he will be but not yet.

McGuane was towelled up

Steamer was ordinary and his dome is terrible LOL

All in all, we had a great hit out and Freo has unearthed some talent, Hill well and truely lived up to expectations in my view of his ouput. Deboer looks likely also, and that Browne for them was good to.

Plenty to work on and plenty of time.

Only a NAB cup game boys and I was just happy to see them run around again. The positives out of the game were

1) Richo
2)The lift in intensity after half time
3) Post , I thought he looked pretty comfortable out there
4) We fought hard and grinded out a win that no body really cares about at Subi. Good for all the blokes who played's fitness.
5) We got to see Collins

I wouldn't of been dissappointed if we lost although I'd like the boys to play on decent grounds for the pre season but I think one aspect where we were lucky was that Mark Harvey decided to coach Freo after half time. Brad Scott had the game under control and his match ups perfect for the first half but then they let Harvey take over. I know Freo supporters love Harvey but he is fast becoming the new Grant Thomas on match day. Maybe he should stand down and become skills coach.

HUGELY disappointing! Just seems no sense of urgency from this guy.

There's a key forward spot just waiting to be snapped up by someone, yet this guy seems incapable of snaring it!!

Yeah mate I just cant put my finger on it with this guy. I was wondering if he just doesnt run to the right places which is hard to see on tv.

He is a beautiful kick just need to get the ball in his hands. I suppose he would have finished with 2 goals if not for poor umpiring.

I would give post a crack next game. Nothing to lose!

these kind of threads after a pre-season match make me laugh. save the doom and gloom for a regular season loss :rolleyes:

I dont think anyone on here is sounding alarm bells or dancing in the streets.

This is a site for discussing footy isnt it???????????Or am I at the wrong web site LOL :eek::confused:

HUGELY disappointing! Just seems no sense of urgency from this guy.

There's a key forward spot just waiting to be snapped up by someone, yet this guy seems incapable of snaring it!!

I agree, just seems like he doesn't really care if he gets a kick out there or not. We all know he has talent but not sure if he wants it enough.

On the positive, I thought raines was great, really bursting through the lines and I see him in our best 22 if he keeps playing like that, also thought polo played well.

I know its a woulda coulda shoulda typa scenario, but take away super goals we would have won by 15 pts. Take away 2 stupid free kicks that resulted in goals & we would have won by 27pts (Bowden's silly pass across goal 33pts)

Get my drift? Nothing to worry about fellow Big Footy Tigers!

cutting to the chase fellow tigerheads. And this is directed purely at those who dont plead the 5th when spruiking their opinions,.

Did we look like we have looked for the last 4 years, when it comes to moving the ball and option taking? ;)

Not the most inspiring game of football witnessed last night, with plenty of room for improvement! Despite all of this, I'll take the win, considering our poor record in the NAP Cup & previous matches on the weekend were won by the underdogs - Essendon & Brisbane!

cutting to the chase fellow tigerheads. And this is directed purely at those who dont plead the 5th when spruiking their opinions,.

Did we look like we have looked for the last 4 years, when it comes to moving the ball and option taking? ;)

Good Call Cogga, we were quick and at times very slick even when under pressure. Very impressive IMO.

dude, the most dissapointing thing, and again i say i didnt see or hear the game, just going by what is being said here. But the most dissapointing thing IMO, is that again there is no clear concensus here on BF. This suggests to me we have a loooooooooooooooooooong way to go, when it comes to producing consistent footy. Of course this is the first round of the NAB cup, but apart from us getting a win, the same stuff is being debated between those that see it one way and those that see it another. When the majority can see it the same way, i.e. **** bring on the season, we are ready to rumble etc etc. then we can look forward to mixing it with the big boys. Until then, we will go into most games with our hearts in our mouths, wondering which tiger team is going to play, each week. ;)

cogga this is how it is no BS

first half was pretty deplorable, ran around in circles and looked bereft of ideas, didn't move it quick enough and freo smashed us on the break from their cluster def.

2nd half we lifted our intensity, tackled harder and moved the ball thru the corridor with ease, started hitting targets and looked slick, skilled and very quick. The intensity from both sides was very close to a regular H&A fixture so the 3rd quarter and half of the 4th I was impressed. Enter a couple of supergoals and they took back a lead when the game should have been safe.

for NAB cup i look at 2 things, do we have still make the same fundamental errors of game plan and individually?

, and what changes have we made to our structures/gameplan?

very preliminary take is we're not out of the woods, still have some work to do with basic skill errors and the usual suspects being the cause of them, but i get the feeling the boys have belief in their structure and ability to see it thru and they are starting to understand what it means to run hard without the ball. add cuz, cotch thursfield mcmahon and our run multiplies ;)

10 days vs the pies will be interesting

first half was pretty deplorable, ran around in circles and looked bereft of ideas, didn't move it quick enough and freo smashed us on the break from their cluster def.

2nd half we lifted our intensity, tackled harder and moved the ball thru the corridor with ease, started hitting targets and looked slick, skilled and very quick. The intensity from both sides was very close to a regular H&A fixture so the 3rd quarter and half of the 4th I was impressed. Enter a couple of supergoals and they took back a lead when the game should have been safe.

for NAB cup i look at 2 things, do we have still make the same fundamental errors of game plan and individually?

very preliminary take is we're not out of the woods, still have some work to do with basic skill errors and the usual suspects being the cause of them, but i get the feeling the boys have belief in their structure and ability to see it thru and they are starting to understand what it means to run hard without the ball. add cuz, cotch thursfield mcmahon and our run multiplies ;)

Thats pretty much how I saw it, you put it in words better than me.

For those worried about Cleve Hughes coming on this year , don't fret because we have Post , Gourdis and Vickery there hungry for an opportunity.

Vickery would be my pick. Great mark and crumbs his own ball. Should spend alot of time up forward this year while Simmo ,Patto and maybe Graham do the tough stuff. If Graham comes on then we have Patto in the equation as well for full forward. Either way we have got it covered.

cheers PRR, noticed you saying the same in a few diff threads.

and if you were at the game(i think i recall u saying u were going?), you would have been privy to seeing how we "spread" away from the contest better than the rest of us back east on the box.

7 goals on the trot after being down by 4 goals interstate says enough

very hard to run hard without the ball, when the usual suspects are being the usual suspects, IMO. Basic skill errors tend to make you think twice when leaving your man to link up. Seeing as your man will no doubt waltz in on the rebound, making you look like a klutz. ;)

We play a game in which cool heads can prevail by kicking backwards and short if we have too. The NAB cup doesn't allow this. About 30% of our kicks today were short of 20m but would have been well over 15m.

In saying this our first half was shocking. Our middle teir onballers in Hisop, Jackson, White and our slower ones in Tuck, etc got to the ball second at every contest. Tuck, Foley, Deledio and Jackson all got better in the second half which made the difference

Plus we gave away 3 very stupid 50m penalities in which two resulted in Freo goals

Could not agree with you more on this. Not being able to kick back and also the 20m minimum does not suit our style of footy. Thought our decisions and execution by foot where poor for most of the game. Take into account Freeo's 5 9 pointers and the game would have also been a lot different.

We got our first NAb cup win in 5 years so lots to improve on. Atleast 7 reg's to come back into side. Good signs last night from Raines, Reiwoldt and Jackson. Foley and Richo super....

I watched it on tv, which never really gives the full picture, but here's my impressions.

I'll start off with the heresy....

I wasn't all that impressed by Richo last night. Yes, he's magnificent at getting the ball, but for a 'midfielder', his disposal and decision making was pretty poor. A good game certainly, but not great.

I also noticed some bald guy I didn't recognise, figured it a was a new guy and thought he did some good things and showed promise, only realising later it was Hughes. I thought he was playing HFF though, so not the key forward role we wanted from him, nor was it good enough for someone who has been around that as long as he has, but it also wasn't the totally useless game some here would imply.

Now for the good.

Raines was very good, running hard and taking risks...Sometimes it didn't come off, but he was doing what we wanted from him, and doing it well. Loved the way he kept running in support after disposal and getting the ball back.

Reiwoldt. Took a big step up, getting a lot of the ball, and perhaps more importantly doing the little things that make those around him better. Also seems to be stepping up as a leader and onfield tactician.

Morton. Looks the goods and seems to be continuing (improving?) on a good year last year.

The bad.

Collins...I think I noticed him twice.

Schulz...again, I saw him out there, but he didn't seem to do anything.

Silvestor...was the best FB in the VFA, has had a year on our list, and just doesn't seem to have what it takes.