malpaso

Chicago Bulls, Kansas City Royals
This list is not very good, at least not together..

The midfield absolutely sucks and has done since 1995. We get stars in defense and move them forward, making our defense continually too young.

CC is no better than any coach before him. He's actually got better players. The players dont like his tactics, they reckon they've lost the game before the first bounce. Why the F**K is schammer playing in defense???

Outside of Farmer, Bell, Pavlich and McPharlin, the rest are all just either too old or perennial underachievers.

Lets face it they suck...

malpaso said:

The midfield absolutely sucks and has done since 1995. We get stars in defense and move them forward, making our defense continually too young.

CC is no better than any coach before him. He's actually got better players. The players dont like his tactics, they reckon they've lost the game before the first bounce. Why the F**K is schammer playing in defense???

Outside of Farmer, Bell, Pavlich and McPharlin, the rest are all just either too old or perennial underachievers.

I put Luke in the underachievers section aswell. Might be something to do with him playing out oif position though.

malpaso said:

I agree that the list is not very well put together, but then I think like everything, there is a certain amount of luck that comes with trying to put one together.

Then again, one thing I got out of today is that there are a lot of players that have a single problem or a couple of problems that undermines their whole game:

(1) Schammer has intensity, speed and agility, but has terrible skills by both hand and foot and decision making - fast becoming Cook Mach II (IE. Without the decent decision making).
(2) Cook has briliant tackling and is an intelligent player around the packs but doesn't have good skills
(3) Murphy is big and has a good kick but isn't fast enough to get in front of defenders or keep up as a CHB.
(4) Medhurst would make a brilliant FF (has the lead and kicking skills) except that he is too short.
(5) Headland has a great skills and speed but can't get the ball around the packs.
(6) Polak - should be a key forward with his marking ability but can't kick and lacks speed.
(8) McPharlin - doesn't have a good enough kick to be regularly be confident in front of goal
(9) Walker - has speed and works hard but lacks kicking skills and footy smarts.

malpaso said:

The list is quite reasonable.

The midfield is solid without being in the top 5 in the league - I dont think its in the bottom 5.

Schammer is playing in defense to give rebound - not what I'd do personally but then I'm a computer geek sitting in the middle of a desert, but it is hardly unimaginable stuff.

There appears to be a lack of confidence, we have stepped up from the dark days of 2000 ....it is that next step. My big criticism would be not rewarding WAFL form.

Consistency and confidence. I'm still happy to go with CC for the rest of the season and judge it from there.

Roundhouse said:
See what you've done Malpaso. You get a bit carried away bagging the team and slime supporting halfwits can't help but join the condescending chorus. It was a painful loss but FFS get over it. We don't suk. We had a bad game. Life goes on.

Until they turn those kind of games into aberrations, they suck. Good teams dont get thumped when they are off their game, their structure and skills dont let that happen.

I've been a fan since day one, hate the slime. I'm not giving ammunition, the boys in purple are on a weekly basis.

Explain to me how we can't thump carlton on our home ground? Other teams are flogging them to death! We dont thump anyone, except the one game agst collingwood last year.

malpaso said:
Until they turn those kind of games into aberrations, they suck. Good teams dont get thumped when they are off their game, their structure and skills dont let that happen.

I've been a fan since day one, hate the slime. I'm not giving ammunition, the boys in purple are on a weekly basis.

Explain to me how we can't thump carlton on our home ground? Other teams are flogging them to death! We dont thump anyone, except the one game agst collingwood last year.
We haven't thumped anyone this year because we haven't played anywhere near our best football. Thats why we only just got over the line against Carlton. But we still are 5 and 4, and we should be getting a few important players back into the side this week or shortly thereafter. We will hand out a few floggings this year I have no doubt, and I'm pretty confident the game on Saturday will be one of them.

Roundhouse said:
We haven't thumped anyone this year because we haven't played anywhere near our best football. Thats why we only just got over the line against Carlton. But we still are 5 and 4, and we should be getting a few important players back into the side this week or shortly thereafter. We will hand out a few floggings this year I have no doubt, and I'm pretty confident the game on Saturday will be one of them.

I certainly hope the Tigers get a footy lesson from the Purple Army and Players!

Ysaye said:
(4) Medhurst would make a brilliant FF (has the lead and kicking skills) except that he is too short.

Mark Williams:
Height: 180cm
Weight: 82kg

Paul Medhurst:
Height: 178cm
Weight: 86kg

2cm difference, Medhurst is a better aerial mark than Williams. I'd back Medhurst one on one against Williams anyday.

Height isn't everything. It's the fact that you have Pavlich in there, Farmer in there, McPharlin in there etc. They're not working together, but against each other.

Medhurst to midfield, Mcpharlap at Full Forward, Pavlich at CHF (he won't kick as many goas at CHF, but he has great mobility and pace for his size, so a roaming role across CHF woudl be good)

Farmer for the crumbs, along with whomever else wants to have a rest.

Deeps, I agree with ya mate. Theres no reason why Medders cant play out of the goal square. The problem is the coach has no idea what to do with him and now even poor Medders is confused. Also theres absolutely no chemistry whatso ever in the forward line

Is it just a coincidence that these threads pop up after a humiliating loss? Nobody's happy with what we served up at the Gabba, but I'm sure most here agree that was far from our best performance. Now if the boys had played their guts out, really put the effort in, and still gotten beaten, then malpaso might have a point, but when we are on our game and firing, we are unstoppable.
The Derby would have to be a case in point, we managed to down the competition leaders in a tough, fast-paced, physical encounter. I'm sure there weren't any threads decrying our lack of skill/speed/toughness/smarts/whatever after that magnificent win.
'But everyone knows the players get up and try harder for a Derby,' I can hear the response forming on your lips. Indeed, that is our biggest problem. The players still haven't learnt to put in a decent effort week in, week out. It's that level of professionalism that seperates the men from the boys, and until we can get that kind of consistency we will never take the next step. In AFL, things are never as good or as bad as they feel. Let's stop with the kneejerk reactions and just go out there on Saturday and support our team.

Burnzy said:
Is it just a coincidence that these threads pop up after a humiliating loss? Nobody's happy with what we served up at the Gabba, but I'm sure most here agree that was far from our best performance. Now if the boys had played their guts out, really put the effort in, and still gotten beaten, then malpaso might have a point, but when we are on our game and firing, we are unstoppable.
The Derby would have to be a case in point, we managed to down the competition leaders in a tough, fast-paced, physical encounter. I'm sure there weren't any threads decrying our lack of skill/speed/toughness/smarts/whatever after that magnificent win.
'But everyone knows the players get up and try harder for a Derby,' I can hear the response forming on your lips. Indeed, that is our biggest problem. The players still haven't learnt to put in a decent effort week in, week out. It's that level of professionalism that seperates the men from the boys, and until we can get that kind of consistency we will never take the next step. In AFL, things are never as good or as bad as they feel. Let's stop with the kneejerk reactions and just go out there on Saturday and support our team.

It's not so much of it being 1 loss rather than it's been the same type of loss since 2004 that's destroyed our season with inconsistency and that's exactly what this is looking like

Kapow!!! said:
It's not so much of it being 1 loss rather than it's been the same type of loss since 2004 that's destroyed our season with inconsistency and that's exactly what this is looking like

I agree with you completely Kapow. Inconsistency is our biggest weakness and I'm just as worried about it as you are. Like all (most) Freo fans though, I live in hope:rolleyes:

Burnzy said:

I think alot of freo supporters do get frustrated at times, including myself, with the inconsistency. because we all want to see them do well.
And thats why alot of supporters tend to lose patience at times.
But i know they will always be there to support the team.
So far we have clocked up 11 years of patience, and ill clock up 11 more, and so on, until that big day in september.
We just have to continue to be there for freo regardless of performance, and show our support. Because thats what the team needs.:thumbsu:

I totally support Fremantle, always have, always will.

I buy their merchandise every year and would be a fully paid member if I didnt live in Sydney (where I get to see them flogged every year!)

That's why I (and all of you) reserve the right to criticize, love, enjoy, hate everything they do as a club. We all want nothing more for them to enjoy success.

My only worry is that I dont see enough will to win on the field, some of them have it, but I'm concerned that not enough of our players do. Too many passengers too often. Gimme a cookie and macca any day of the week over supposed potential stars. They hit hard, put in maximum effort and leave everything on the field.

The spirit of the underdog will never die.

On current form Freo will be 6-8 on the ladder this season. We may fluke a win first week in the finals and this will be the the best season in our history.

Take West Coast and take out Cox (Sandilands) , give Seaby (Longmuir) a debilitating knee injury, take out Fletcher (Headland), and the second and third best goal kickers (McPharlin/ Farmer) for a period of time and see how'd they'd go.