Oct 11, 2004
Here ther and Everywhere
Chelsea
put-a-lid-on-itjpg.png

Let's not get ahead of ourselves. Yes we are a game clear at the top of the ladder at round eight. That is all however. Come September what's it going to matter where we were at round eight, come September what will be the most important thing is that we are up and about this time of year. In three weeks we could be very easily be 7 - 4 and whats top spot round eight going to get us then?

I think a leaf needs to be taken out of Geelong's book in 2007. Week after week, win after win they went about their business and while not ignoring the results gone by, keeping their eye on that one game they wanted to win. At the end of the day the season is about one game, when we win that let's rip that thing off but i implore all Collingwood supporters on this board to keep your head.

Not thread worthy.

Let people enjoy the wins. We've done all we've had to to be be top. Maintain the confidence.

Try telling the 60,000 Collingwood supporters who will be at the G next week to settle down.

Try telling the little kids who have seen nothing but a battling side up to now.

We are a contender, I am not going over the top, but at the same time, I am not going to keep a lid on it.

We have been ****ing sensational since the StKilda loss, and we should bask in the fact we are building towards a premiership tilt, whether that be this year or next year.

Next week will be huge, no lid on during this week, this game will be built up as match of the year.:D

Urmmm..... excuse my stupidity here, but who exactly is not keeping a lid on it?

So far it's just been the normal post's after a win, Snoops Player Review, Changes for Next Week etc.

Probably over-reacting a bit yourself ?

There is no need for a lid; this team is "fair dinkum". When challenged we respond; build up the excitement to the Geelong game and let it crash on them like a tidal wave.

Go Pies!
This, Let's enjoy the win as much as we bloody well want.

None of our supporters/Posters are out there saying the flag is ours blah blah blah.

It's just genuine excitement. Enjoy it mate.

"Collingwood President Eddie McGuire orders worlds largest Lid"

Collingwood Football Club tonight placed an order for what will undoubtedly be the world largest "LID".
The lid, which is designed to cover all the states of Australia which are home to supporters of the world famous Collingwood Football Club, will be the largest object ever made by man and is predicted to require 75% of the worlds steel to construct.

Mr McGuire was unavailable for comment tonight as, according to is wife, "he had had a few and was just kicking back with the boys.":D

This, Let's enjoy the win as much as we bloody well want.

None of our supporters/Posters are out there saying the flag is ours blah blah blah.

It's just genuine excitement. Enjoy it mate.

I like having the "Its us they need to beat" attitude instead of "if we beat so and so it will prove such and such"

go pies

I usually would, but I'm sick of those ***** on the main board.

I like having the "Its us they need to beat" attitude instead of "if we beat so and so it will prove such and such"

go pies
I'm the opposite, I like having our backs to the wall, and everyone against us, makes it that much sweeter when we win.

But I do like the feeling of winning and not just winning, but DOMINATING games, great feeling.

Carn' the Maggies.

Urmmm..... excuse my stupidity here, but who exactly is not keeping a lid on it?

So far it's just been the normal post's after a win, Snoops Player Review, Changes for Next Week etc.

Probably over-reacting a bit yourself ?

Not saying anyone has, it's just a general statement I have made as I am a supporter that can't stand others getting ahead of the where the team is. I may be a one off supporter.

I'm not saying we shouldn't enjoy the win, it was a great win away against the equal best side in the comp so far this year. Lets celebrate that fact, not the fact that we're premiership favourites. I'm not for one second suggesting that Collingwood wins shouldn't be celebrated but celebrate them for that and that only.

I'm loving this!

But...Geelong is still the team to beat. They are an awesome squad and of so experienced in what it takes to win a flag and how to lose one despite being the best.

We only need to look at StK last year. The history books will barely remember their year as better than Richmond's.

If we win next week, I don't think it changes anything. We beat Brisbane much later in the year in '03.

We are shaping nicely - that's all.

Where is the fun in that!

I was talking Collingwood up in the classrooms during the 05 season :D

Time really flies, so lets enjoy it now!

GO PIES

I usually would, but I'm sick of those ***** on the main board.

Yeah me to, that's why I just wrote this on Bay13 in reply to Blag Flag and Brad Roo whinging about our interstate trips.

Originally Posted by Black Flag
come back and talk to me when you have demolished the grand finalists.
Why would we when we demolished your cheating scum bad lot just two rounds ago??

Saints have nothing to do with you, nor does us beating the Saints.

Welcher.

And for the OP and everyone else Get the f**k over it ffs, and concentrate on your own side, who is struggling badly at the moment.
And to Brad Roo, if you put this much effort into your own club maybe they wouldn't be lining up at the Salvos or setting up lemonade stands on Sundays.

Not saying anyone has, it's just a general statement I have made as I am a supporter that can't stand others getting ahead of the where the team is. I may be a one off supporter.

I'm not saying we shouldn't enjoy the win, it was a great win away against the equal best side in the comp so far this year. Lets celebrate that fact, not the fact that we're premiership favourites. I'm not for one second suggesting that Collingwood wins shouldn't be celebrated but celebrate them for that and that only.
Yeah like I said excuse the stupidity. :D

Haters gonna hate.

**** 'em I say, live it up and enjoy the good times I reckon. People are gonna dig the boots into the Pies regardless of how we act, so I say, rub it in their faces when we get the chance.

We're Collingwood, we do what we want :)

Haters gonna hate.

**** 'em I say, live it up and enjoy the good times I reckon. People are gonna dig the boots into the Pies regardless of how we act, so I say, rub it in their faces when we get the chance.

We're Collingwood, we do what we want :)

Here here! They hate us cos the ain't us!

We are outright on top. I can't remember when we were at this level, playing as good as we are.

Even in 1990, Essendon was the dominant team.

Anyway, agree, keep the lid on, but it's hard.

Geelong next week will be a great challenge for us.

Go Pies! Awesome win. :D (Slightly tipsy, I think the others in the pub got a bit sick of my yelling).

Let's Put it on!!!!!!!!