2nds Lions Reserves 2011

• Thread starter Thread starter Mr Ripper

Was at the game this week as its right near my house so wondered down.

Thoughts from the game:

Buchanan: Won a fair bit of the ball but kept trying to fend off one or two players every time and got caught with it giving away a fair few free kicks. Could have been our lack of outside movers on the edge of packs. Having said that was very good in the final qtr fightback, although if he had got a bit more on his kick form his last minute break from the centre we may have got up (big may there)

X. Clarke: played a reasonable game and was fairly lively without having a massive impact. Disposal let him down once or twice, still finding his feet but signs are getting better

ACorn: geez he's a strong overhead mark. Took at least 2 or 3 marks where he was third man back, pinching off the guys in front. Struggled for opportunities on occasions although chased pretty hard from what I saw.

Polec: was a bit disappointing, but maybe i'm expecting too much. Kicking let him down a number of times, at one point he got the ball just outside 50 running into 50 and instead of having a ping, dribbled a poor kick along the ground to someone on a lead. Thought he could have had a shot. Worked pretty hard chasing in some stages but a bit lazier in others.

D Barry: I thought he had a very good game, was very explosive from the contest, more than once picking the ball up and burning off an opponent. thought he was almost our best.

Coach Clarke: was a major factor in the 3rd and 4th qtr comeback, kicked some good goals and had a passage of play that got a big cheer from the lions boys that were in attendance. He grabbed a ball on the edge of a contest on the sideline just fwd of the centre circle, turned cut inside and burned off an opponent before bombing into the goal square where Buchanan took a one hander running back with the flight and kicked the goal. Got a big cheer from the likes of Beams, Hanley, Harwood, McKeever, Lester and Jed.

Staker and Bartlett were both present but didn't play which, given the state of the ground was fairly understandable. It was like an absolute rock, and very uneven, pretty poor to be honest. You would think that given its now the NEAFL and that AFL reserves sides play on these grounds, that they AFL could put a little bit more money into getting them up to scratch. I'm sure these clubs do the best they can with the resources they have so not trying to have a go at them, rather think that a bit more money could be swung into getting their grounds up to a better standard.

Should also give a bit of a mention to Brad Harvey, too. He was released from playing as an undersized key back onto a wing and was a consistent player all day giving plenty of run and drive. Best game he's played, for mine.

Worth another year, Rip?

Buchanan allegedly got it 47 times! What is that saying about the comp?

Maybe it says more about Buchanan logging up good performances in the reserves week after week instead of putting his cue in the rack...he surely understands that the club wants to give senior exposure to the youngsters on its rebuild course but on merit he is worth a recall IMHO.

Agree entirely - he was dark at missing against Carlton - but still 47 times!

It is a long term waiting game for the NEAFL comp for the SE QLD teams and the NT team to reach a higher standard as the cream of the young players are drafted...the competition for the youth with both Rugby codes let alone the emerging Soccer threat looks like continuing in Qld for a long time...one of my grandsons played for his Under 13 and Under 14 club teams on Sunday (for one easy win and one last gasp 4 point win) while his best mate stripped for his Rugby League club.....but the grass roots expansion of the code here is a feather in the AFL's cap.

This shortage of skill and numbers available locally is just a cross for the Lions to bear compared to the strong States.

Team vs Aspley
Code:
Green T Collier C Carseldine
J Polec B Staker B Harvey
R Newell J Green J Hawksley
A Buchanan A Cornelius X Clarke
B Moorhead B McCulloch D Barry
B McCauley M Austin J Dyson
A Kitching M Dillon J Parkes C Mitchell-Hill J Fox A Dickfos B Saunders R Buntain

Anyone know if that is one of "our" Dickfoses?

Thanks Belgian. I found the reserves tab but kept hitting the news button - finally got to their 'home' screen. :o

It's just up the road from me so I'm definitely heading over :)

Is there any chance of finding a stream of the game somewhere online? Could be an interesting watch as I will be sitting at home doing nothing!

Also interesting to see Cornelius as a CHF. Is this the first time hes played this role or has he been doing it for a few weeks? Would love to know how he goes!

Is there any chance of finding a stream of the game somewhere online? Could be an interesting watch as I will be sitting at home doing nothing!
More chance of me winning a hat-trick of Powerballs.

Also interesting to see Cornelius as a CHF. Is this the first time hes played this role or has he been doing it for a few weeks? Would love to know how he goes!
Because he's named there, doesn't mean he'll play there. Nevertheless, he has stationed himself closer to CHF at times of late, usually when one of the B-Macs is resting deep.

More chance of me winning a hat-trick of Powerballs.

Good luck on both our accounts! If you win, slip me a lazy $50 ^^

Because he's named there, doesn't mean he'll play there. Nevertheless, he has stationed himself closer to CHF at times of late, usually when one of the B-Macs is resting deep.

Do you think this is in line to make him more versatile to get into the firsts? Perhaps playing as a deep forward next to JB?

Team vs Aspley
Code:
Green T Collier C Carseldine
J Polec B Staker B Harvey
[B]R Newell[/B] J Green J Hawksley
A Buchanan A Cornelius X Clarke
B Moorhead B McCulloch D Barry
B McCauley M Austin J Dyson
A Kitching M Dillon J Parkes C Mitchell-Hill J Fox A Dickfos B Saunders R Buntain
Anyone know if that is one of "our" Dickfoses?

I also see Newell is selected?

I guess that suggests he wont line up with Queensland's U18 Champ team this arvo @ Paper Park. :(