List assessment

Hypothetically, would Ted Richards be getting a game at Sydney if they hadn't of given away a first round draft pick to get him?

I suspect not.

He's seeing a lot of bench time and still doesn't have a role. Bolton and Barry are both getting jobs on bigger forwards despite giving away size to Ted.

I agree Ben Jolley should be getting a game, so should Lee (who is a better footballer than Ted). But what's the difference between Clint Bartram and Jobe Watson, Brent Stanton, Nathan Lovett-Murray and Angus Monfries?

We've been giving a lot of kids a lot of games. I'd like to think Bolton and Peverill were getting games because Hird and Campo weren't available and the Johnson's were battling for form. Now the Johnson's are starting to play beter and Hird and Campo are back playing, I'd expect Pev and Bolton to move aside for the likes of Jolley, Longergan etc.

Hird and Campo weren't 100% but they did make a positive impact. I paid particular attention to the way we set up at stoppages and across half forward. Both Hird and Campo gave a great deal of direction to younger players, they set us up. I really believe the younger players that did play benifit more by having those players in the mix, and that in turn benifits the club more than what it would if two young players took those spots.

Cartledge should have played, we played another kid instead. I suspect we may have decided Cartledge wasn't up to it when we drafte McKinnon onto our rookie list.

Which of our draftees are A grade players? What A grade picks have we had? Lovett, Stanton and Monfries may have it in them to make it to that level. Ryder is going to take a few years.

I reckon Sydney won a flag with just one A grade player, and pretty damn close to 21 B grade players.

Cole lost 7kg's when he first came to the club and has lost another 4 since his last injury. He's doing a lot of work to rectify the situation. Although I'm not sold on him.

foj1 said:
Was Reynolds physically able to play on Fevola? Is Johns capable of running a game out? Do you really think Sheedy had a plan for Richards. If so your point is correct and he would have convinced Richards to stay. You didnt answer my question which draftee is an a grade player? Richard Cole isnt unlucky, he came to preseason unfit mate.

So you saw a lot of him pre season did you ? I can tell you now Cole finished last year unfit. His fitness was greatly imporved once pre season hit febuary and he was ready to play. But then i guess people would rather just listen to the BS floating around rather than listen to people who actually saw a lot of pre season and see a lot of training :rolleyes: the calf injury and then his hammy had nothing to do with where his fitness was in November last year.

Now was Reynolds ready to play on Fevola, well no but did we have any other options?? Solly wasnt supposed to play and was struggling with form. McPhee hadnt been setting the world on fire. Fletcher didnt play.It is not like Reynolds has been asked to do a similar role again. Richards two years ago was the same size as Reynolds and would have had to be playing that exact role every week hence he didnt get a regular gig. As for convincing him to stay if my point was correct why would we. I didnt say he was ready to star, i just said he was ready to play. At best he is your third tall defender. We made him an offer to stay but he went. Given we have Bradley and Lee who are likley to be better options long term they let him go without a real lot of fuss.

Not sure where the Johns running out games is coming from. Last year no he wasnt but then he was only given 4 games and sent back to the seconds. No different to what Ted got during his development. This year there hasnt been too much wrong fitness wise. He has had a few niggling injuries but nothing to stop him in all the games. At the moment he is playing because Lloyd is out. If Lloyd was available to come back in i belive he would go back to Bendigo at some stage now he has had another 5 or so games but given we are light on for tall forwards at the moment he is still playing.

And which of our draft picks in the last 4 years are A grade. Ryder will be ! The others may not be but how many of them have come from top 10 picks? and how many times have we had two picks in the first ten ?I think we have drafted pretty well recently and chance are we will pick up a real A grade star this year.

id like to congratulate ants and longy on your good posting.. you guys no your stuff and really put the bs talkers back in our place... ant talking about reynolds on fev.. you made it clear to me there wasnt that many options.. cause ive always thought if sheeds had the choice he would of dragged him or put him in the forward line

Longy413 said:
Hypothetically, would Ted Richards be getting a game at Sydney if they hadn't of given away a first round draft pick to get him?

I suspect not.

He's seeing a lot of bench time and still doesn't have a role. Bolton and Barry are both getting jobs on bigger forwards despite giving away size to Ted.

I agree Ben Jolley should be getting a game, so should Lee (who is a better footballer than Ted). But what's the difference between Clint Bartram and Jobe Watson, Brent Stanton, Nathan Lovett-Murray and Angus Monfries?

We've been giving a lot of kids a lot of games. I'd like to think Bolton and Peverill were getting games because Hird and Campo weren't available and the Johnson's were battling for form. Now the Johnson's are starting to play beter and Hird and Campo are back playing, I'd expect Pev and Bolton to move aside for the likes of Jolley, Longergan etc.

Hird and Campo weren't 100% but they did make a positive impact. I paid particular attention to the way we set up at stoppages and across half forward. Both Hird and Campo gave a great deal of direction to younger players, they set us up. I really believe the younger players that did play benifit more by having those players in the mix, and that in turn benifits the club more than what it would if two young players took those spots.

Cartledge should have played, we played another kid instead. I suspect we may have decided Cartledge wasn't up to it when we drafte McKinnon onto our rookie list.

Which of our draftees are A grade players? What A grade picks have we had? Lovett, Stanton and Monfries may have it in them to make it to that level. Ryder is going to take a few years.

I reckon Sydney won a flag with just one A grade player, and pretty damn close to 21 B grade players.

Cole lost 7kg's when he first came to the club and has lost another 4 since his last injury. He's doing a lot of work to rectify the situation. Although I'm not sold on him.
A Grade- Hall, OKeefe, Goodes, Kirk(not with skill but game impact) J Bolton (Again not dazzling but been elite ball winner) Kennelly, Ball (Had an Clark Keating September)
Essendon developed in 98 and 99 pretty much without Hird and recognised leaders. Weve spoke about this adnauseum but Campo isnt a role model on the footy field while Hird doesnt chase anymore.

ant555 said:
So you saw a lot of him pre season did you ? I can tell you now Cole finished last year unfit. His fitness was greatly imporved once pre season hit febuary and he was ready to play. But then i guess people would rather just listen to the BS floating around rather than listen to people who actually saw a lot of pre season and see a lot of training :rolleyes: the calf injury and then his hammy had nothing to do with where his fitness was in November last year.

Now was Reynolds ready to play on Fevola, well no but did we have any other options?? Solly wasnt supposed to play and was struggling with form. McPhee hadnt been setting the world on fire. Fletcher didnt play.It is not like Reynolds has been asked to do a similar role again. Richards two years ago was the same size as Reynolds and would have had to be playing that exact role every week hence he didnt get a regular gig. As for convincing him to stay if my point was correct why would we. I didnt say he was ready to star, i just said he was ready to play. At best he is your third tall defender. We made him an offer to stay but he went. Given we have Bradley and Lee who are likley to be better options long term they let him go without a real lot of fuss.

Not sure where the Johns running out games is coming from. Last year no he wasnt but then he was only given 4 games and sent back to the seconds. No different to what Ted got during his development. This year there hasnt been too much wrong fitness wise. He has had a few niggling injuries but nothing to stop him in all the games. At the moment he is playing because Lloyd is out. If Lloyd was available to come back in i belive he would go back to Bendigo at some stage now he has had another 5 or so games but given we are light on for tall forwards at the moment he is still playing.

And which of our draft picks in the last 4 years are A grade. Ryder will be ! The others may not be but how many of them have come from top 10 picks? and how many times have we had two picks in the first ten ?I think we have drafted pretty well recently and chance are we will pick up a real A grade star this year.
Mate Cole was not fit during pre season. He was on a modified training schedule with Dean Rioli. He may have lost seven kilos but a) why did he have to lose that much and b) 7 kilos wasnt enough. In terms of Reynolds or McPhee on Fevola wouldnt you think Reynolds may have been moved earlier. Also if we didnt think we had a suitable match up for fevola could have we brought in Lee who may be a KP back one day? In terms of not attending preseason regularly you are right mate. I saw a couple of sessions before and after xmas but I know when some one is unfit. A friend of mine works for a rival AFL club and reported the same ACCURATE information to that club.

djharps said:
id like to congratulate ants and longy on your good posting.. you guys no your stuff and really put the bs talkers back in our place... ant talking about reynolds on fev.. you made it clear to me there wasnt that many options.. cause ive always thought if sheeds had the choice he would of dragged him or put him in the forward line

I would be pretty disappointed if you are referring to me as a "bs talker"
In fact I think it is low class to personally insult someone who has a differing opinion. If you have an opinion then air it but play the ball not the man pal. What makes this site fantastic is the diversity of opinion. You insult people and that becomes lost pal which I think is pretty ordinary.

Hall and Goodes are A Grade players, the rest are very good B grade footballers. Jude Bolton is close, Kirk is just a working class B grade midfielder. Kennelly and Ball, please. Good footballers, and were important to their side, but nothing more.

In 1998 and 1999 we had a host of seasoned footballers running around and several Premiership players.

O'Donnell was still there in 1998 and we also had Mercuri, Misiti, Bewick left from 1993. Long and Wallis played all but a couple of games between them in 1999 and blokes like Hardwick, Lloyd and Heffernan were leaders before they had fully matured as footballers. We had some very good leaders in that period even without Hird.

Some leaders lead by example (Hird, Carey etc), some lead by instruction and some do both. Campo has a very good footy brain and sets us up nicely. We are a better side when he is in and our young players benifit. I have no doubt about that.

Longy413 said:
Hall and Goodes are A Grade players, the rest are very good B grade footballers. Jude Bolton is close, Kirk is just a working class B grade midfielder. Kennelly and Ball, please. Good footballers, and were important to their side, but nothing more.

In 1998 and 1999 we had a host of seasoned footballers running around and several Premiership players.

O'Donnell was still there in 1998 and we also had Mercuri, Misiti, Bewick left from 1993. Long and Wallis played all but a couple of games between them in 1999 and blokes like Hardwick, Lloyd and Heffernan were leaders before they had fully matured as footballers. We had some very good leaders in that period even without Hird.

Some leaders lead by example (Hird, Carey etc), some lead by instruction and some do both. Campo has a very good footy brain and sets us up nicely. We are a better side when he is in and our young players benifit. I have no doubt about that.
Fair call about Hardwick and Wallis especially. Do you honestly think Sydney had only one A grader last year in September?

No, I think they had two. I forgot Goodes in my original statement.

Hall and Goodes are most definately A Grade players that fit comfortably for the best currently in the game. O'Loughlin is probably only consistency away from that class, although his GF was a shocker anyway. But I believe they won the flag because they had such an even side.

IMO they had two absolute stars, one or two bottom end players like Bevan and LRT (who had a great GF) and the rest of their GF side was very, very even. Obviously some are better than others, but when you talk about the comps best players being A Grade material (Judd, Brown, Cousins, Lloyd etc) only Hall and Goodes sit comfortably with those types.

They just had a fantastically even and disciplined side.

foj1 said:
Mate Cole was not fit during pre season. He was on a modified training schedule with Dean Rioli. He may have lost seven kilos but a) why did he have to lose that much and b) 7 kilos wasnt enough.

In terms of not attending preseason regularly you are right mate. I saw a couple of sessions before and after xmas but I know when some one is unfit. A friend of mine works for a rival AFL club and reported the same ACCURATE information to that club.

So i guess all the training i saw during January was some sort of illusion :confused:
Cole wasnt on a modified program until he strained his calf! Why did he have to lose 7kg , because of his lazy efforts before he came to us . Since he has been with us he has worked his ring off . It is easy to come down and watch him on the field for one or two training sessions and call him fat but he has put the effort in. I know i have seen it week in and week out. I am not saying that he will ever be any good but you cant say his effortts since being with us havnt been good enough.

foj1 said:
In terms of Reynolds or McPhee on Fevola wouldnt you think Reynolds may have been moved earlier. Also if we didnt think we had a suitable match up for fevola could have we brought in Lee who may be a KP back one day?

Yes we could have had Lee in the side who at that stage had only played 4 VFL games in his senior career and was only just starting to work into the form he has shown in the last 4 weeks.
Yes he could have been moved earlier but it wouldnt have made much difference as our blokes where not working hard enough to fill the whole in front of Fev anyway and McPhee wasnt exactly in sintilating form that day anyway.

ant555 said:
Cole wasnt on a modified program until he strained his calf! Why did he have to lose 7kg , because of his lazy efforts before he came to us . Since he has been with us he has worked his ring off .

He has worked his ring off, but that was because he was on a modified program, fitness and diet. He was on that as soon as he was traded to Essendon and he still is.