List Mgmt. List Management Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter 1990crow

Who we gettin'? Tick all who apply

Are we all still keen on Phillipou? I think we should put a nice offer to him and tell him how Burgess will sort out his leg issues.

He cant be happy at St Kilda, and he is the type of player we need in the midfield.
If we arnt a shot at Nas, I would throw a couple of firsts to get him here.
Hes a bit of a Figjam I have heard, but he could be another Clarry if he puts it all together.

He’s a bit more skilled and a bit less contested focussed than Clarry isn’t he?

He was headed to being a bigger body. Clarry was pretty skinny when he first came in if I remember rightly.
Nah that was back in the day players weights were published, Oliver was already 85kg and the player he was being compared to most was Patrick Cripps.

Are we all still keen on Phillipou? I think we should put a nice offer to him and tell him how Burgess will sort out his leg issues.

He cant be happy at St Kilda, and he is the type of player we need in the midfield.
If we arnt a shot at Nas, I would throw a couple of firsts to get him here.
Hes a bit of a Figjam I have heard, but he could be another Clarry if he puts it all together.
I hope so but his skillset is far more refined than Oliver and more versatile in that he can also play forward.

This is the photo I always remember him by when he was first drafted.
View attachment 2393981

Looked at some other pics in his draft year and he did carry a bit of podge.
This is the player I saw play live here in Central Victoria that year.

Fined down from the 90+kg mark to 85kg testing day after undergoing a 7 week intensive training program.
In his defence he was battling Osteoitis pubis in the pre-season so didn't really do a pre-season and he can thank then Demons assistant coach Simon Goodwin for his turnaround.

Capture.PNG

Melbourne assistant coach Simon Goodwin made the trip to Mooroopna and issued Oliver with a challenge.

“He said he was going to bring scales to the AFL Combine and that when I weighed in my weight had to be 86 or 85 kilos. I was about 90 or 91 at this stage, so I had to lose five kilos in six weeks.

“I went on a pretty strict diet and cut everything out. I didn’t eat too much and lost heaps of weight. My skinnies (skinfolds) were 110 which is big, but I got them down to 54 for the Combine.

“I thought that was unbelievable but the other boys were 35 or 40, so I was still fat but I felt 100 per cent better.

“I know it should have clicked earlier but it didn’t. I was still stuffing around. I thought footy was just footy, you play and then do whatever. There are so many things which go into footy that I just didn’t realise.”
He describes his first season as a “whirlwind”. He made his debut in Round 1 against Greater Western Sydney and racked up 22 disposals, which included 17 handballs.

After being dropped for the final round — he played 13 games for the season — he was then a member of Casey’s VFL finals campaign which saw him fall back into old habits.

“I was only doing what I had to do,” Oliver says. “Whatever the coach said I did but I didn’t do anything more than I had to.

“Through the VFL finals we were all just having a bit of fun, we were playing and doing well. I was just eating whatever and it felt like I was back at the Bushrangers just having a bit of fun.”

In the Grand Final against Footscray, Oliver tipped the scales at 94.9 kilos. Chips, soft drink and nachos had been central to his diet and he admits to recently seeing a photo from the game and being genuinely horrified.

The tipping point came in the off-season when he was back home in Mooropna and got busted for drink driving. While he was only slightly over the limit, given he was a P-plate driver he was supposed to have a zero blood alcohol reading.

Oliver was nervous about the club’s reaction when he sat down with Goodwin and football manager Josh Mahoney.

“Goody just said, ‘Look, everyone f--ks up. I’m not too harsh on you now but if you do it again, if you don’t learn then I’ll be angry’. That was literally it, he showed a bit of faith in me which was pretty good.”

A sit-down with the rest of the coaches was like an intervention. They kept asking: “What do you want to do with your career?”

This is the photo I always remember him by when he was first drafted.
View attachment 2393981

Looked at some other pics in his draft year and he did carry a bit of podge.

Played very well in his first year and dominated the second. Beatson definitely got it wrong

a 19yr old dominating? Unheard of.
I reckon "not physically ready" is usually bullshit

I remember Max Michalanney being the skinniest kid we've ever drafted and people thought he wouldn't get games for years. Came in immediately and played to AFL level

I reckon "not physically ready" is usually bullshit

I remember Max Michalanney being the skinniest kid we've ever drafted and people thought he wouldn't get games for years. Came in immediately and played to AFL level
Fyfe

This is the player I saw play live here in Central Victoria that year.

Fined down from the 90+kg mark to 85kg testing day after undergoing a 7 week intensive training program.
In his defence he was battling Osteoitis pubis in the pre-season so didn't really do a pre-season and he can thank then Demons assistant coach Simon Goodwin for his turnaround.

View attachment 2393993

Melbourne assistant coach Simon Goodwin made the trip to Mooroopna and issued Oliver with a challenge.

“He said he was going to bring scales to the AFL Combine and that when I weighed in my weight had to be 86 or 85 kilos. I was about 90 or 91 at this stage, so I had to lose five kilos in six weeks.

“I went on a pretty strict diet and cut everything out. I didn’t eat too much and lost heaps of weight. My skinnies (skinfolds) were 110 which is big, but I got them down to 54 for the Combine.

“I thought that was unbelievable but the other boys were 35 or 40, so I was still fat but I felt 100 per cent better.

“I know it should have clicked earlier but it didn’t. I was still stuffing around. I thought footy was just footy, you play and then do whatever. There are so many things which go into footy that I just didn’t realise.”
He describes his first season as a “whirlwind”. He made his debut in Round 1 against Greater Western Sydney and racked up 22 disposals, which included 17 handballs.

After being dropped for the final round — he played 13 games for the season — he was then a member of Casey’s VFL finals campaign which saw him fall back into old habits.

“I was only doing what I had to do,” Oliver says. “Whatever the coach said I did but I didn’t do anything more than I had to.

“Through the VFL finals we were all just having a bit of fun, we were playing and doing well. I was just eating whatever and it felt like I was back at the Bushrangers just having a bit of fun.”

In the Grand Final against Footscray, Oliver tipped the scales at 94.9 kilos. Chips, soft drink and nachos had been central to his diet and he admits to recently seeing a photo from the game and being genuinely horrified.

The tipping point came in the off-season when he was back home in Mooropna and got busted for drink driving. While he was only slightly over the limit, given he was a P-plate driver he was supposed to have a zero blood alcohol reading.

Oliver was nervous about the club’s reaction when he sat down with Goodwin and football manager Josh Mahoney.

“Goody just said, ‘Look, everyone f--ks up. I’m not too harsh on you now but if you do it again, if you don’t learn then I’ll be angry’. That was literally it, he showed a bit of faith in me which was pretty good.”

A sit-down with the rest of the coaches was like an intervention. They kept asking: “What do you want to do with your career?”
He has a bit of the Lance Whitnals about him.

Cal Wilkie I think should also be added to that list. If he is truly disgruntled, right time to get into his ear about a move.
I read on the Saints board that Wilkie is focused on building his freight company so I don't think he's looking to leave Melbourne. Brad Crouch is his COO.

Contracts

Attachments

• Screenshot_20250814_085654_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20250814_085654_Chrome.jpg
    280 KB · Views: 26
  • Screenshot_20250814_085645_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20250814_085645_Chrome.jpg
    291.5 KB · Views: 25