Review List Management

• Thread starter Thread starter Bird Man

I'm not even sure who get's delisted this year due to our poor contract management. Assume we need 5 list spots (1 MSD, 4 draft picks (2,19,21,39ish). Who is even in contention? Best guess:
Prestia and Broad retire. Than what?
Samson Ryan is contracted. Gibcus is here for three more years. Clarke is coming of two ACLs so I doubt he gets the axe?

Who does that leave?
Kaleb Smith - Okay, maybe.
Restchko - no way.
Trezise/Sonsie - would be hard pressed considering they are tracking to play 15+ games this year.
Lefau or Fawcett? Wouldn't think so.
HRS - Maybe, but the coaches love him.
Maurice - Maybe?
OHB - Well he is a Cat B so doesn't even matter.
Hopper - No way, has 3/4 more years left on his deal.

I mean where do we get these minimum 5 list spots from?
Smith will go imo
Broad and Prestia retire
One of sonsie/Tresize will go imo
Reckon there is a strong chance Fawcett goes back home to Adelaide to seek more chances
HRS should go imo

I'm not even sure who get's delisted this year due to our poor contract management. Assume we need 5 list spots (1 MSD, 4 draft picks (2,19,21,39ish). Who is even in contention? Best guess:
Prestia and Broad retire. Than what?
Samson Ryan is contracted. Gibcus is here for three more years. Clarke is coming of two ACLs so I doubt he gets the axe?

Who does that leave?
Kaleb Smith - Okay, maybe.
Restchko - no way.
Trezise/Sonsie - would be hard pressed considering they are tracking to play 15+ games this year.
Lefau or Fawcett? Wouldn't think so.
HRS - Maybe, but the coaches love him.
Maurice - Maybe?
OHB - Well he is a Cat B so doesn't even matter.
Hopper - No way, has 3/4 more years left on his deal.

I mean where do we get these minimum 5 list spots from?
Minimum? We need at least 10 quality players. Sonz's gone, please. Ralf, Lefau, and Fawcett can go. Hopper pay him out and get rid. Smith not Afl-quality banks, is crap; Trezise, perhaps, but at least he's a trier. Prestia Lynch and Broad retire.
Vlas is on tenterhooks, perhaps to trade to a better club and get any pick for him. Those are heaps of changes we can make, but as usual, we will hang on to them and reward them with a couple extra years for their efforts. Just because some may have a contract doesn't mean you can't trade them, as I'm sure there would be some dumb run clubs like ours that would love them. Just in case not known we have 22 uncotracted players end of season.

Smith will go imo
Broad and Prestia retire
One of sonsie/Tresize will go imo
Reckon there is a strong chance Fawcett goes back home to Adelaide to seek more chances
HRS should go imo

I hazard a guess that the club will trade Hopper as a salary dump to some god forsaken club. Lord knows we have the cap space.

Hotton is injury-prone, Jonty Faull not convinced when we look at Jobe Shanahan and Trainor is okay more of a broad than a rance/grimes type.

VS

Two players in AA contention one of them in their second year of footy
Jonty has actually played fantastically the past 3 games, if his growth continues on this is we are going to end up with a great key forward.

Shanahan has been a solid pick for West Coast, reckon if we drafted for him though he would be better suited to be out next Astbury in the backline. Kid clunks them well but reckon Faull is a better forward.

Our list is in a diabolical state. I get it there are some mitigating factors, age profile and injuries. However, there are some massive gaps in the list that haven’t been addressed, which were shown up against the Swans yesterday and Geelong in round 24 last year.

No legitimate backup ruck. I could tell watching training this preseason, that Ryan hasn’t got the physical attributes to be an AFL ruckman. He’s got no strength through his hips, that’s why he gets knocked off the ball so easily. I think his cousin who plays as a forward for Sydney, looks a better prospect.

A depressingly slow, one dimensional midfield. Everyone who watch’s the Tigers, know that Prestia, Hopper & Taranto are pretty hopeless. Ross has attributes and needs better players around him. How have we ended up with Prestia, Hopper & Taranto still on the list. NEVER make Taranto Captain of our Great Club, because he doesn’t care enough. I witnessed that for the first time last year, when we lost to Essendon in the Dreamtime game.

No legitimate explosive pace out of stoppage or from the backline. Again, how have we ended up with a list which is so slow. Geelong, Sydney, Freo and Hawthorn have all transformed their lists to adapt to the modern game. They have serious athletes across the field. Not just their elite talent, but also their designated role players.

Trading out Tyler Young. I got hammered about questioning this earlier in the week, but I don’t think this was a wise decision. He’d built a good understanding with Miller, he had neat skills and could hold down the second tall forward. Internally there must have been questions about Gibcus and his ability to return to play, from multiple long term injuries. Plus, there was a consensus amongst supporters that Balta isn’t disciplined enough, to hold down a key defensive post. Even the coach when he started, said he believed Balta was a natural fit for the forward line.

I’ll stop at this point.

Our list is in a diabolical state. I get it there are some mitigating factors, age profile and injuries. However, there are some massive gaps in the list that haven’t been addressed, which were shown up against the Swans yesterday and Geelong in round 24 last year.

No legitimate backup ruck. I could tell watching training this preseason, that Ryan hasn’t got the physical attributes to be an AFL ruckman. He’s got no strength through his hips, that’s why he gets knocked off the ball so easily. I think his cousin who plays as a forward for Sydney, looks a better prospect.

A depressingly slow, one dimensional midfield. Everyone who watch’s the Tigers, know that Prestia, Hopper & Taranto are pretty hopeless. Ross has attributes and needs better players around him. How have we ended up with Prestia, Hopper & Taranto still on the list. NEVER make Taranto Captain of our Great Club, because he doesn’t care enough. I witnessed that for the first time last year, when we lost to Essendon in the Dreamtime game.

No legitimate explosive pace out of stoppage or from the backline. Again, how have we ended up with a list which is so slow. Geelong, Sydney, Freo and Hawthorn have all transformed their lists to adapt to the modern game. They have serious athletes across the field. Not just their elite talent, but also their designated role players.

Trading out Tyler Young. I got hammered about questioning this earlier in the week, but I don’t think this was a wise decision. He’d built a good understanding with Miller, he had neat skills and could hold down the second tall forward. Internally there must have been questions about Gibcus and his ability to return to play, from multiple long term injuries. Plus, there was a consensus amongst supporters that Balta isn’t disciplined enough, to hold down a key defensive post. Even the coach when he started, said he believed Balta was a natural fit for the forward line.

I’ll stop at this point.
I’m not sure where to start ….

Ruck: why are you so concerned about the ruck set-up so early in the rebuild? In 12-18 months we will have 2 excellent ruck/fwd options in Balta/Sims. Then I’m sure there’ll be a mature ruckman on the list soon enough via trade or free agency.

Slow, one dimensional midfield: Lalor, Hotton, Cumming, McCauliffe, Campbell and probably Grlj … and probable one more elite mid in this years draft. The midfield future is there …. how can people not see that and keep harping on about Prestia and Hopper when there is so clearly so much elite young midfield talent on the list ?

Tylar Young is average … 6 x good weeks in 2025 doesn’t change that. Eagles fans can’t stand him. He loses contests constantly and is timid for his size.

Of course the build isn’t complete, but we are only 2-3 years in.

When the Hawks had the bones of their young list they brought in Barrass and Battle…. And sured up their ruck with Meek and forward line with Gunston and Chol.

Our list is magnificently placed … a few more elite kids and a couple of free agents and trades to fill any holes.

Maybe judge when our injury list is half a dozen and not 19.

Minimum? We need at least 10 quality players. Sonz's gone, please. Ralf, Lefau, and Fawcett can go. Hopper pay him out and get rid. Smith not Afl-quality banks, is crap; Trezise, perhaps, but at least he's a trier. Prestia Lynch and Broad retire.
Vlas is on tenterhooks, perhaps to trade to a better club and get any pick for him. Those are heaps of changes we can make, but as usual, we will hang on to them and reward them with a couple extra years for their efforts. Just because some may have a contract doesn't mean you can't trade them, as I'm sure there would be some dumb run clubs like ours that would love them. Just in case not known we have 22 uncotracted players end of season.
I don’t think we could pay Hopper out with so long to run on his contract. But should explore every avenue for a trade.
Yesterday was an example of how pedestrian our midfield is. Prestia and Hopper can’t be on the list next year. And while we have some promising young midfielders in the wings the depth is still not where it needs to be. We should just do what Melbourne has done with their midfield.
Sonz, has improved but can’t see any advantage in keeping him. Long term there’s no role for him, and he’s not helping with the development of our kids. Stat padder, just play others in his role.

I think we lack running power with size, explosiveness.

Hopper has size but is not explosive, Taranto better but again not with a elite running game which is fine but we need other pieces

no point throwing away Hopper and Taranto, they support our youngsters developing. but I think a guy like Ethan Drever could help because he has a appropriate combination of height, size and speed with possible skills but speculative at the moment. could start him on a wing so he does not step on others toes

Grjl does not have the size and whatever Smillie becomes he is a bit tall for certain roles ideally whereas others are a combination of too light or too short. So theoretically Drever could be the right fit, and he looks bouncy, I think he has shown enough to take a punt

the intention here is to create the right dynamic that makes sense and works

based on phantom's us picking Drever at our current first pick would be considered a reach but typically players like this if they perform can rise quite a bit

I’m not sure where to start ….

Ruck: why are you so concerned about the ruck set-up so early in the rebuild? In 12-18 months we will have 2 excellent ruck/fwd options in Balta/Sims. Then I’m sure there’ll be a mature ruckman on the list soon enough via trade or free agency.

Slow, one dimensional midfield: Lalor, Hotton, Cumming, McCauliffe, Campbell and probably Grlj … and probable one more elite mid in this years draft. The midfield future is there …. how can people not see that and keep harping on about Prestia and Hopper when there is so clearly so much elite young midfield talent on the list ?

Tylar Young is average … 6 x good weeks in 2025 doesn’t change that. Eagles fans can’t stand him. He loses contests constantly and is timid for his size.

Of course the build isn’t complete, but we are only 2-3 years in.

When the Hawks had the bones of their young list they brought in Barrass and Battle…. And sured up their ruck with Meek and forward line with Gunston and Chol.

Our list is magnificently placed … a few more elite kids and a couple of free agents and trades to fill any holes.

Maybe judge when our injury list is half a dozen and not 19.
I don’t think it is unreasonable to expect that we have a half decent second ruck. That should be a non-negotiable. Particularly given Nank’s age.

We live in the moment and I’ve also witnessed a number of failed rebuilds at Tigerland.

I ALSO THINK THE LIST MANAGEMENT STRATEGY HAS FAILED BECAUSE WE’VE HAD TO COMMIT TO A COMPLETE REBUILD NOT A RESET.

We’ve finished last 2024, second last 2025 and likely either last or second last 2026. Supporters have a right to be frustrated with where the list is at. There’s a chasm between us and the top 4. We are only competitive against the bottom 4.

I don’t think it is unreasonable to expect that we have a half decent second ruck. That should be a non-negotiable. Particularly given Nank’s age.

We live in the moment and I’ve also witnessed a number of failed rebuilds at Tigerland.

I ALSO THINK THE LIST MANAGEMENT STRATEGY HAS FAILED BECAUSE WE’VE HAD TO COMMIT TO A COMPLETE REBUILD NOT A RESET.

We’ve finished last 2024, second last 2025 and likely either last or second last 2026. Supporters have a right to be frustrated with where the list is at. There’s a chasm between us and the top 4. We are only competitive against the bottom 4.
the main reason I think is a philosophy of mids are not as important than other positions IMO.

this is just my opinion, I have no idea. I acknowledge I have no idea.

But my perception is Richmond, compared to say a Collingwood place more emphasis on key positions especially and rucks until someone like Dimma came along and felt expensive rucks not worth it. Obviously who is worth what is case by case and the game with rules has changed over time clearly

historically we have selected what I would regard, in a elite environment context, uncoordinated mids. examples, Conca and the guy we picked before Lever(Corey Ellis). To me those to selections where iffy because of the physical set-up of the players prior to coming to our club as an example. RCD would be another example although maybe more utility, but later pick and beggars cannot be choosers

look at someone look De Goey. Ignore off-field and other perceptions, I am outside Victoria cannot be influenced. but De Goey 188cm, power explosiveness, 30 years old, despite any other potential set-backs who knows, still punching on.

Apart from Cotch and Dusty exceptional stock and high picks we have not focused too much on elite physical specimens from a mid perspective. Yesterday in particular Heeney(superstar) and Warner stood out against us. Heeney 185 cm, muscle, great mark players taller, Warner 185 cm as well and explosive, not a toothpick. Now Drever may not be good enough, lotta water under the bridge but I think he is worth looking at and the point is on our list we do not have near enough of that physical midfield type compared to other teams

guy like Ross tries hard, but not him to blame later pick for a reason we have not been in a position to pick these types until maybe Robey. To the eye Drever looks more explosive, better runner possibly than Ross. But notice Robey is 190cm, makes a difference depending on player traits. Jack Crisp 190cm, most games in a row now, that value for money, not a toothpick either(no dreaded injuries). Theoretically Drever has the traits if good enough to be better mid than Robey but Robey maybe better forward but this is far too speculative and early at this stage. As for others, they come around in drafts here and there and can be traded for as relative dime a dozen. Everything is case by case but theoretically Drever being 188cm should be better ground ball than Robey 190cm

the thing is we still do not know how Lalor develops. He could end up more superstar forward than mid, quite possible with his skillset/build/makeup. Lalor 188cm to but Lalor freak leap for his size and height. In a ideal world, if expectations projections reached, Drever is feeding Lalor in the forwardline

I think there wouldn’t be an argument from many supporters if we paid half or even more of his salary for him to go.
There wouldnt be any paying of salary from Richmond as its probably already been front loaded to max
He was only on $750k a year x 7 years and has 3 years remaining so $2.25mil which would have already been paid up 50% as we struggle to meet the cap floor in 2025 & 2026 so i would say he would have $1 mil over the next 3 years remaining.

If there was a club that wanted him and he wanted to leave then it would be a trade for a late pick and he would sign a completely new contract with that club for 3 years or what ever they agree but it would be higher than what he has remaining at Richmond.

We’d all trade Hopper for 3 rolls of ankle strapping but there needs to be a buyer. Any other team he takes backwards. The only chance might be tassie want a big body for 2-3 years to protect their youngsters and we’ve pre-paid enough by then to make him dirt cheap.