Toast Loving the Fevolution

• Thread starter Thread starter whizkizz

Brisbane Lions
I think it's time for a Brendan Fevola tribute thread.

He is a freak of nature. For the first time since the Akermanis glory days, we have a player that can kick the impossible goals and bring the crowd to life. He has already won two goals of the week (Round 1 & Round 9), and may even pinch Round 10.

When ever we used to play Carlton, Fev would kick those impossible goals and you would just sit there and think 'what a fluke that joker Fev is, he's pulled that out of his ass!'. But now, seeing him kick those miracle goals time and time again in a Brisbane jumper, I've come to the conclusion that Fev is no fluke - its actually talent. And he's very talented.

It's Round 10, and he's sitting second in the Coleman medal. IMO he hasn't even hit his straps yet. In 9 of his 10 games he has kicked 3 or more goals, and that's gotta be some form of consistency. We drafted Fev as a full forward, and he's been filling our void as a small forward. He's been the opportunist like no other. Wait till we figure out how to hit Fev on a lead. A bag is approaching.

Another love I have is how Carlton supporters have rattled on about how bad he can be if he gets off to a bad start and drops his head. This is clearly not the case at Brisbane. He had incredibly limited supply in the first half against Collingwood (where I think he had just one kick and two handballs), yet he fought on and kicked four second half goals to help carry the Lions over the line. This is not the only case, see BL vs. WB for more evidence.

So enough of the negatives, lets keep this thread to hear all things positive regarding the Fev. I'm loving him up in Brisbane, and hope he continues on his path to redemption. Go Fev!

Would love it if Robert 'no idea' Walls was taken away from commentating our games on saturday nights.

I dont know how much channel 10 is paying him but they could save a whole lot of money by just having a tape recorder playing "Fev <insert random negative comment>".

Back to the thread topic though... As sad as i was (and still am) to see Braddles go. I am stoked to have Fev. His ability at ground level adds a completely new dimension to our forward line.

Would also like to mention the number of time when Fev has opted out of contest where Brown is in a good position. Prior to the season I thought he might have taken his ego ahead of the team and tried for every contest but I have been very happy with the way he has stayed out of the contest and kept his man out as well. Just need to get him and Brown to lead to different spots and we would be sorted.

Anyway... cudos to Fev :thumbsu:

I take no pleasure whatsoever in Bradshaw's injury woes, but we are seeing the reason why Brisbane were simply not going to offer a long-term contract similar to what Sydney offered. In both 2008 and 2009, he missed crucial games because of soft tissue and back/hamstring issues. He now has knee problems to boot. His body is a problem now and it is going to be until the day he retires.

In Fev we have upgraded for a younger forward who is at least as talented.

I have a major man-crush for the Fev right now. Even if we got done for a Melbourne Stormesque salary cap rort and got no premiership points this year I'd still rock up each week just for the Fev Show.

He's our best small forward, and our second best tall forward, all wrapped up into one exciting package.

The Gabba officially loves him now, and judging by his little tug of the jumper and the kiss he blew to the crowd, he loves us back. :D

I still find it interesting he is coming 2nd in the coleman, kicked some freakish goals, and a lot of the vic media says he is been rather dull/unexciting. What is that about?

hopefully the midfielders improve their delivery to him as it has been pretty average so far

anyways watch the monster kick a lazy 7 this week.............footy world will be buzzing....with fevluv

I never wanted the Fev to go - I still love the guy. Genuine match-winner and I'm glad that he is playing some great footy at his new home. Absolute gun and even though the Blues seem to be covering him to some extent, I still miss having the Fev steaming out of the goalsquare, especially when he is "on". Even on one of his bad days, Fev is still more entertaining than half the robots in the AFL - he operates on pure emotion and if the crowd gives him love, he gives it back in spades. :thumbsu:

To draw a long bow, and anyone who likes the movie Gladiator can draw the parallels.....Fev isn't the best because he kicks goals, he is the best because the crowd loves him. When he wins the crowd, Fev wins the game. Simple. I think Fev is gaining a Brisbane following like he had at the Blues as the result is that he is producing those match-winning efforts as reward for your encouragement.

hopefully the midfielders improve their delivery to him as it has been pretty average so far

anyways watch the monster kick a lazy 7 this week.............footy world will be buzzing....with fevluv

He's got HUGE guns... way bigger than Braddies ever were... (not than I'm comparing... just saying:D)

I think it's time for a Brendan Fevola tribute thread.

It's Round 10, and he's sitting second in the Coleman medal. IMO he hasn't even hit his straps yet. In 9 of his 10 games he has kicked 3 or more goals, and that's gotta be some form of consistency. We drafted Fev as a full forward, and he's been filling our void as a small forward. He's been the opportunist like no other. Wait till we figure out how to hit Fev on a lead. A bag is approaching.

trust me, fev hasnt gotten even close to hitting his strapes.. you know he has when he starts kicking 6, 7 goals every week

I'll gladly take him as he is at the moment thanks, but if he does start kicking 6 or 7 goals look out (as long as Brown still manages a lazy 3 or 4 to go with it).

He's won me over. It's worth sitting thru a beating just to see one of his miracle goals. No wonder they call him Fevaluenko. Pure genius.

You'll probably never see it replayed again, but I still vividly remember sitting in the MCG for the Tribute Match in 2008 when Fev took that mark at the end of the 1st quarter with Richo sprinting towards him. It was one of the ballsiest things I'd ever seen on a footy field up to that point and I've loved watching the bloke play ever since.

He's ours now and I love having him around.

Would love it if Robert 'no idea' Walls was taken away from commentating our games on saturday nights.:

Mate I love Wallsy. I come from a soccer-loving country where every other commentator is so enamoured by the players that they're too frightened to tell it like it is.

I can't help but laugh when Walls gives someone a verbal-raping over their performance and I admire him for doing so in the sanitised, hero-worshipping world we live in.

Mate I love Wallsy. I come from a soccer-loving country where every other commentator is so enamoured by the players that they're too frightened to tell it like it is.

I can't help but laugh when Walls gives someone a verbal-raping over their performance and I admire him for doing so in the sanitised, hero-worshipping world we live in.

Its not the fact the Walls picks out negatives about the players. Its the fact that every second comment he makes is about Fev.

Its just as bad when him and Tim Lane get together for a Carlton game. You wouldn't know another team was playing if you couldn't see the TV. All you would hear would be what Carlton did right and what they did wrong.

Same with Fev. If he gets beaten in a contest because the defender outplayed him. Its because "Fev wasn't committed" or "Fev has dropped his head". I mean Jesus. there are other players out there.

Love the man !

Keep kicking those goals and get the Gabba Rocking.

And I love typing my

FEEEEEEEEVVVVVVVVVVVVOOOOOOLLLLLLLAAAAAAAAAAAA !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

The most amazing thing about Fev in '10 is the number of goals he has manufactured out of nothing...
Of his 34 goals, how many have been "routine" mark/kick goals?
He is a freak...

With apologies to Ray Davies of the Kinks.......

I met him in a bar down in north Lygon
I asked him his name
And he said it was Brenden Fevola
Fe fe fe fe-vola.

Sorry about that, but I had to get it off my chest.

Dicko:D

PS Anyone want to add a verse?

Just think Fevola hasn't even hit his best form yet. With him and Browny up front we are unstoppable provided we continue to win that ball out of the middle

Fevola has been one of the few players who has been able to his job for the team most weeks, which is very pleasing. He also seems to have settled into the team which i thought may have taken a little longer than it has.

The most amazing thing about Fev in '10 is the number of goals he has manufactured out of nothing...
Of his 34 goals, how many have been "routine" mark/kick goals?
He is a freak...

Absolutely 100% spot on:thumbsu:

The supply to him has been absolutely shitful in the main.

When will our mids ever work out that the idea with Fev is to kick to space and let him lead to it, instead of consistently lobbing on top of his head?

Or worse still,completely ignoring him when he busts his gut going on a 25 meter lead (I've seen even Brown do this to him once or twice)

One of these games (hopefully soon), everything will click and as well as kicking those 3 or 4 manufactured goals, he'll kick another 7 or 8 from mark-kicks.

Then we'll really see the Gabba rock!!!

GO FEV!!!

myplate.jpg

Its not the fact the Walls picks out negatives about the players. Its the fact that every second comment he makes is about Fev.

Its just as bad when him and Tim Lane get together for a Carlton game. You wouldn't know another team was playing if you couldn't see the TV. All you would hear would be what Carlton did right and what they did wrong.

Same with Fev. If he gets beaten in a contest because the defender outplayed him. Its because "Fev wasn't committed" or "Fev has dropped his head". I mean Jesus. there are other players out there.

Wallsy was in second heaven calling the Brisbane v Collingwood game....Best of both worlds....When the filth had the run of play..He gave Fev a barrage.. 'fat lazy...and lacked commitment'..'look at him trying to run'.. him and Quarters got into a fashion tip if the home shorts or the away shorts were flattering for Fevs fat arse '...When Brizzy were up and about...he stuck it right into Collingwood not having the right match ups...Malthouse getting stuck into the forward line at the breaks...

...Fev had the last laugh...