Mark Harvey upset by fixture

The travel issue cannot be fixed, however, it seems not outlandish to ask that if we have to travl to Geelong, the Gold coast or Tassie that we get at least a seven day break.
If we were playing finals next week we could be travelling back again

I know...

I know...

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=15520235&postcount=90
I see.

Who would get this draw, especially as they travel so much?

Rd 4 Bris Gabba
Rd 5 Essendon MCG 8 Day break

Rd 9 WCE Subi
Rd 10 Port MCG 8 Day Break

Rd 12 Syd ANZ
Rd 13 Fre MCG 7 Day Break

Rd 19 Ade AAMI
Rd 20 Rich MCG 7 Day Break

Now, spank my arse and call me Betty, but if it's possible to engineer (did you like that Timmy, how I didn't use the terms rort/fix/blatantly favour) a minimum 7 day break for the team that travels the least in this competition, surely it's not too much to ask that one of the two teams that travels the most, and also travels the furthest gets similar treatment?

Again, I know.

I actually agree with what you are saying Lach.

We quite easily could've played on Saturday against the bombers rather than Sunday, which would've solved the problem.

It only happens when we play in Brisbane, Geelong, Tasmania and possibly Sydney - depending on flights. That's 4 times a year (max.) that the AFL would need to look at the fixtures. It wouldn't be hard to do, they just choose not to.

Harvey's gripe isn't about the travel anyway, it's about the break. Even then he wasn't complaining, he was just responding to a question. The break between games can be reolved by shifting around game times

The AFL buggers around with the fixtures as it is, surely making it so teams embarking on long road trips e.g Brisbane to Perth get a 7 day break wouldn't be that difficult. There is only one game being played in each of the interstate venues each weekend so it's not like you couldn't shift things around - Fremantle could've played on Saturday rather than Sunday in round 21 for instance.

The break between games needs to be looked at. Unlike the travel issue it can actually be resolved quite easily.

Unfortunately it sounds like a whinge to me, and he does a bit too much of it imho. I would rather he doesn't complain and send the message to the team NO EXCUSES! Take it up forcefully with the AFL behind closed doors if necessary.

I havn't looked closely at the specific games but we need to remember there is a game before and after a long trip travel. Get one extra day on one end and we lose a day on the other.

We also get a more pronounced home ground advantage than melb clubs. Flip side is we are at a bigger disadvantage when we play at home. Thats about even I reckon.

One way to deal with the travel is (in conjunction with the Eagles) asking for 2 consecutive away games and then 2 consectutive home games all through the season. Super 14 does it for long road trips and it would be good for team bonding and morale.

It would cut down the annual number of flights by about half and the guys would be away 5 times during the season for just over a week and then home for just under 3 weeks. We could share the cost of a training base and staff in Melbourne with the Eagles.

Lets do it!!