Matt Rendell...

Everybody is forgetting that he is still hasn't apologised for these comments. The comments which he said that they had a laugh about and then he said they didn't have a laugh about.

Really Rendell? Nobody in the AFL is racist, so you make throwaway lines like that and then come and gives us conflicting reports in the same interview?

"Well... If I offended anybody" Rendell says at the very end even though he had been asked several times and even at the start about his comments.

You don't understand you offended anyone? Seriously? Your long time mate Misfud, The AFL, an article in the paper, the general public outrcry, you then lose your job and you haven't realised if you offended anyone? :rolleyes:

Seriously you people are buying his sob story even though he continually contraticed himself during the whole interview? When asked if he would recruit an indegenious player over a white player both of equal ability he said they cannot be equal. Muhaha, more racism!

And then finally after a long pause he says, "it would be a bonus for the aboriginal player". :D

This is why the AFL need be 100% diligent. People now believe a racist, crying, poor and unemployed man because he said he had a big ball in his stomach. Rendell, that's called GUILT and you ruined 35 years of hard work in 3 minutes.

All you had to say. I am sorry, I shouldn't of said that, in hindsight I realised it was a stupid thing to say and this is not my intention. My intention is...
and that would've been fine. But he didn't.

The underseeded of racism is fairly permutated in the minds of people still in this country.

I'm assuming humour on your part? Because if not is that you Caroline?

Re: Matt Rendall...

Seems to be a couple of Caro's in this thread who did not actually listen to what he said. He did not say he would only draft an aboriginal player with one white parent. He intimated that if they did not do anything to help, then that would be a possibility in the future for clubs.

Hung, drawn and quartered...well done Adelaide Football Club, and it would seem good ol Triggy. Does not surprise me, always has come across as a man protecting his own position, and jumping in to bed with Big Andy D was his best option.

Disgrace, feel sorry for Rendell.

Sounded to me he did Aplogise

It was not a genuine apology, which was what the AFL was looking for. Did you not read the post, do I need to show you the video I have recorded.

"Well (PAUSE) I'll say sorry if I offended anyone." Say sorry. Do you need to be told by how many that you offended people? He lost his job is that not enough indication? :rolleyes:

For those who have not seen this story.
Rendall in a conversation with Jason (AfL community manager i think?) urged him that the AFL needs to take immidiate action regarding the attrition rate of aboriginal players in the AFL system. He cited numerous players who had dropped out in recent months and years. He then gave a story of how he vouched for a young aboriginal player, but warned the club about issues the player had. This player did not last a year in the AFL system.
Now here is the Part that keeps getting misquoted and even he acknowledges that he shouldn't have used such an extreme example. But he obviously feels very passionately on the topic and so wanted to make a strong point.

We need to take action now, or IN THE FUTURE Clubs may only draft aboriginal kids with at least one white parent.

Now this is hardly the slanderous racist comment it has been painted as. He stated that he has never done this, he used it as an example. An extreme example, but an example none the less. I think people are far too quick to call racist here. From the way he was speaking he was trying to take steps to protect the aboriginal players entering the system.

I know what he said late in that interview, but blimey, if he wants to have a crack at this draft, I'd take him to take over Melbourne's recruiting in a heartbeat.

I hope we give him a massive pay-out and unofficially keep him on staff.

Why do they even ask for Caros opinion, its beyond me.
Shes not qualified on the matter, shes never even touched a sherrin,
shes never been in a coaching box, scouted talent, etc.
Its just one big joke that Gary and Hutchy give her a chance to
talk on the matter, I hope Grant cracks her.

.. And Hutchy? I guess his esteemed footy career gives him more of a right to discuss footy than Caro.

While i agree that she was going for the jugular in the interview, which given the emotional nature of Rendell's adress, came across as completely insensitive, reckon people get a bit over the top with the Caro bashing on this site. Lyon tried to set Rendell up with his questions too..

Some posters come across as a bit insecure that a woman dares to have an opinion about footy.

I have zero problem with his explanation. Using scenarios ( even bad ) to get points accross is done every day about all types of subjects. If James Hird said
Social education is important, if the afl dont address this we may only recruit kids who have completed year 12 and have a iq over 100.

This comment is just a scenario of something that is ridiculous and would never happen. James would never expect this to happen. Just like Rendall would never expect clubs to use the scenario he used.

Its about a racial matter so everyone stands up on their toes and starts pointing fingers.

People need to get a grip. His actually one of the blokes making a difference.

AFL/MEDIA/ANDREW your all a bunch of morons. Glad u got caught out being a bunch of pricks

It was not a genuine apology, which was what the AFL was looking for. Did you not read the post, do I need to show you the video I have recorded.

"Well (PAUSE) I'll say sorry if I offended anyone." Say sorry. Do you need to be told by how many that you offended people? He lost his job is that not enough indication? :rolleyes:

You're right - his apology should have been worded: "I'm sorry that some people, including the AFL did not understand what I actually was saying.

He shouldn't need to apologise purely because he was quoted completely out of context. What a joke.

I don't think Rendell is an overt racist.

But like most Australians he has deeply ingrained racist thought patterns.

What he said was ridiculous.

It is untenable to have an AFL head recruiter who has said, on the record "I will only draft kids with 1 white parent". It is just a stupid thing to think, let alone say.

I feel a bit sorry for Rendall who will think he's been harshly treated, but i also felt a bit sorry for Damian Monkhouse.

But attitudes need to be changed out there.

Bravo Mifsud.

No hard feelings to Rendell, who obviously had no malicious intent.

That quotes bullshit it is quite clear from what he said tonight that what he actually said/meant was that he belived if we continued down the current path it could lead to a situation where only aboriginals with at least one white parent are recruited' furthermore this was an exaggeration which whilst he rightfully doesn't back away from is regrettable. It is clear the AFL is willing to contort and manipulate the words of those who have opposing view points to them and has in this case has lead to a man losing his job.

The afl has been completely dismissive of the comments and tried to sweep them under the carpet. All this does is create facade and prevents any real open and honest discussion as people will now be afraid to voice their opinions as they will be afraid of losing their job.

What if some people actually hold the same view that the afl have tried to make out Rendel holds and they are in the system, now we will never know as the afl have created a climate where they know not to talk about their views on indegionus players instead they will continue to apply their racist philosphy to the job.

Everybody is forgetting that he is still hasn't apologised for these comments. The comments which he said that they had a laugh about and then he said they didn't have a laugh about.

Really Rendell? Nobody in the AFL is racist, so you make throwaway lines like that and then come and gives us conflicting reports in the same interview?

"Well... If I offended anybody" Rendell says at the very end even though he had been asked several times and even at the start about his comments.

You don't understand you offended anyone? Seriously? Your long time mate Misfud, The AFL, an article in the paper, the general public outrcry, you then lose your job and you haven't realised if you offended anyone? :rolleyes:

Seriously you people are buying his sob story even though he continually contraticed himself during the whole interview? When asked if he would recruit an indegenious player over a white player both of equal ability he said they cannot be equal. Muhaha, more racism!

And then finally after a long pause he says, "it would be a bonus for the aboriginal player". :D

This is why the AFL need be 100% diligent. People now believe a racist, crying, poor and unemployed man because he said he had a big ball in his stomach. Rendell, that's called GUILT and you ruined 35 years of hard work in 3 minutes.

All you had to say. I am sorry, I shouldn't of said that, in hindsight I realised it was a stupid thing to say and this is not my intention. My intention is...

The underseeded of racism is fairly permutated in the minds of people still in this country.

Wow. :o

He was saying that no 2 players are ever equal. You always rate 1 higher than the other on ability, needs etc.

You're not Caro are you? You seem to have misunderstood what he said just as badly as she did.

And he said "no two players can be equal ability", he wasn't implying what you were suggesting. Just that no two of any colour, or background, have the exact equal ability, which he would know, having been in the recruiting business at the highest level. You're just twisting his words to suit your ignorant argument.

Seems to be a couple of Caro's in this thread who did not actually listen to what he said. He did not say he would only draft an aboriginal player with one white parent. He intimated that if they did not do anything to help, then that would be a possibility in the future for clubs.

Exactly and I also interpreted it as him exaggerating how bad the circumstances were as a throw away line.

Like it went along the lines of "if steps aren't put in place to help aboriginal footballers in a couple of years I will only be drafting players with one white parent"

After watching that I think he was trying to do the right thing but is a little misguided like most people when it comes to these issues.

It's a "serious problem" that some of these kids don't really want an AFL career and that we don't fix them earlier by moving them away from their families and culture and try to make them more like us? Dunno about that.

These issues are just so much more complicated than people realize .
So...lets just not even float any possible ideas around then? Yeah, that'll make things happen. :rolleyes:

It was not a genuine apology, which was what the AFL was looking for.

What would you like Rendell to apologise for? You seem to completely disregard the fact that he's passionate about trying to improve the situation for indigenous players.

lol... only a Crows supporter would believe that... king of spin and it makes it hard to believe anything he says.
Are you being serious? Rendell is the most genuine bloke you could meet in AFL circles. Get your head of the 'Port must hates anything to do with Crows' arse and see the real issue here for once.

Please explain why? It seems people here feel sorry for Rendell due to his emotions. His stupid comment is unacceptable in my book. I admit I have high standards when it comes to racism.

Why? Seems to me your standards are all mixed up.

Rendell was trying to fix the aboriginal turnover problem and his comment has been flipped over, battered up and fried into one big media tug fest, and the end result is the bloke who was working in fixing the problem has been forced to resign, or in other words the AFL have prevented a man from working to help more aboriginal kids through the AFL system.

That in itself is racist.

OK - let's say he did only mean what he said as an example.

Who the f*** thinks that up to begin with. Doesn't the thought have to be in one's head in order to make that comment in the first place?

Surely Matt Rendell, to make that comment (no matter how off-handed it was) had to have thought to himself that all the club's troubles would go away if indigenous players had a white parent.

So, regardless of whether or not he meant what he said, he's a bloody idiot.

Wow. :o

He was saying that no 2 players are ever equal. You always rate 1 higher than the other on ability, needs etc.

People see or hear what they want to see or hear unfortunately.

Most of us understood what Rendall was saying and are not simpletons throwing out the 'racist' tags at everything they don't understand.

You're right - his apology should have been worded: "I'm sorry that some people, including the AFL did not understand what I actually was saying.

He shouldn't need to apologise purely because he was quoted completely out of context. What a joke.
Exactly. It sounds like he had nothing to apologise for. Which is why Thomas said Misfud was totally OK with him and why nothing was said about it for two months.

Misfud now needs to come out and give his side of the story. Only problem is that he works for the AFL, so either they won't let him, or they'll tell him what to say. :thumbsd: