Lachy23

Just Wondering What You Blokes Think Of Him , Taken @ Number 5 I Think , Doesnt Rack Up Alot Of Possesions , But Seems To Go In Hard ?
Thoughts ?

hes a goer, trains hard, runs hard but I dont think he can cut the mustard. Has seriously gone backwards this year, wouldnt persevere with him

ITS HIS SECOND YEAR, why dont you **** off knowone wants to read this shit

wow youre an emotional twat arent ya..

whats so provocative about having an opinion that hes not good enough? I dont have anything against the kid, but have seen a fair bit og him down at coburg as well and hes seriously gone backwards this year

Just so you dont have a coronary - he was a speculative pick, hes a midfielder, we have plenty and rate the likes of Edwards, Connors, King, Hartigan ahead of him, hes the type we can afford to let go and try again with.

wow youre an emotional twat arent ya..

whats so provocative about having an opinion that hes not good enough? I dont have anything against the kid, but have seen a fair bit og him down at coburg as well and hes seriously gone backwards this year

Just so you dont have a coronary - he was a speculative pick, hes a midfielder, we have plenty and rate the likes of Edwards, Connors, King, Hartigan ahead of him, hes the type we can afford to let go and try again with.
so next year if edwards conners etc dont improve do we cut our losses and get rid of them:rolleyes: grow up moron

are u dumb?

edwards and connors have shown they have more ability in half a season than white has shown in 1 and a half. Thats not a slight on white, its an indication of why he missed out on getting drafted in the ND and was picked up later and the other 2 were picked up and regarded as decent talents.. You persist with talents like connors and edwards, Jon etc you can afford to move on players like white.

get it? :rolleyes:

are u dumb?

edwards and connors have shown they have more ability in half a season than white has shown in 1 and a half. Thats not a slight on white, its an indication of why he missed out on getting drafted in the ND and was picked up later and the other 2 were picked up and regarded as decent talents.. You persist with talents like connors and edwards, Jon etc you can afford to move on players like white.

but conners has doubts over his attitude and is no certain to make it, edwards body size might struggle to put on weight, whereas white is a tough hard body excellent speed great long kick and goal with plenty of improvement left. why get rid of him without giving him a real go?:rolleyes:

Thats why its called an opinion. I just dont think hes got what it takes to improve our side, as simple as that so shoot me.

He was given a very good run last year and I thought he showed promise, shouldve gained confidence from that, had a big preseason struggled to break into the seniors, hasnt had a big impact down at Coburg and for the last 4-5 weeks that he has been in the seniors, hes seriously shown nothing. He has speed and a motor, cant get near the ball though :o

Edwards is class mate and connors might be a loose cannon, hes the type of player where if he puts it together we have a genuine class player.

was prob in better form in last few games of 2006. thought he may be a little more advanced than where he's at right now, Howat has motored past him as has King, even Jacko...Hartigan will get his chance now...he'd want to get a move on...this last 8 weeks is important as there is a stack of comp for his size in the team

no he hasnt

cam is 3 years older than white and its arguable to say which player has performed better considering the better run howat has got from the coach compared to white who is being slaughtered on and off the bench

he isnt a back pocket/tagging type he can win his own ball and runs the lines well we just have too many smalls so he gets thrown around everywhere

Sorry gents but there are two youngsters that I hold serious reservations over and Matty White is one of them. The other being JON. White seems stupid with the ball, likes a run but tends to take two or three steps too many every time and his disposal leaves a lot to be desired.

Don't get me wrong, I love the kid's attitude and I hope I'll eat humble pie but he doesn't look the goods to me at the minute. That said, if he does a Foley (trains the hardest and longest) than he may make it. I just can't see him being good enough for a premiership team, the team we want to be sooner rather than later.

Good luck to the kid.

hes a goer, trains hard, runs hard but I dont think he can cut the mustard. Has seriously gone backwards this year, wouldnt persevere with him

Jeepers your a bit harsh arent u buddy??

The kid is 19 years old and only in his second year.
Whilst we all would have liked him to have kicked on a little more, i believe with his speed, super endurance, hardness and running and carrying the ball ability he deserves more time and for us to be a little more patient.

It is quite common for young players to stall in there second year, and i believe this kid has the commitment and ability to be a beauty in 2008 and beyond. He just needs to work on his poise and decision making and this will certainly come with experience.
So how about we be a little more patient and realize these games he's getting is giving him some great experience for the future!!

Jeepers your a bit harsh arent u buddy??

The kid is 19 years old and only in his second year.
Whilst we all would have liked him to have kicked on a little more, i believe with his speed, super endurance, hardness and running and carrying the ball ability he deserves more time and for us to be a little more patient.

It is quite common for young players to stall in there second year, and i believe this kid has the commitment and ability to be a beauty in 2008 and beyond. He just needs to work on his poise and decision making and this will certainly come with experience.
So how about we be a little more patient and realize these games he's getting is giving him some great experience for the future!!

Don't know about the montana fella, but I'm thinking - where will he fit in in years to come?

Will he be in the back 50? Because from what I've seen I don't believe he has the defensive abilities to spoil and effectively close down an opponent.

Will he be in the middle? He doesn't, again from what I've seen, have the ball-reading ability, his decisions are poor and disposal is not good enough.

From what I have said, I'm sure it would come across as though I hate the bloke, but I really don't. There's some passion for the club in him and it's something we sorely need, but like I said in the other post, is he good enough to be in our premiership side? Well, I reserve my judgement but I have some doubts.

One year deal at the end of this year with him knowing it is all or nothing regarding his AFL career. Don't be fooled next year will not be a whole lot better than this one is, because the older blokes will slow down that little bit more, the rest of the competition is also going to improve and the younger blokes still lack the experience or leadership to see them take the game by the scruff. White should be given an extra year to show something as stated above most players struggle in their second year before coming good again in the next 12-18 months. There are other on the list that have had enough time to have secured a spot but have failed to do so. Blokes like Moore & Hartigan have had more than enough time and although they may be rated as better talents than this kid at the moment they just have not done enough to warrant being kept around. That is why the next 8 weeks are very important for players rated between 25-38 on our list because out of that group of 13 at least 8 are going to get the arse, especially if we want to start improving.

he isn't really given a fair go by wallace. he needs to spend some more time on the field now that we've got nothing left to play for. try and teach him to find the ball a bit more. his pace is electric however and that alone i think would be enough to perservere with him for at least one more season.

The difference between Matt White and JON, Roach etc. is that when playing in the centre with alot of game time, White dominates at Coburg. White, Meyer, Roach have never showed the same kind of dominace that White has had.

In saying this he defintaly needs to go back to Coburg so he can get more then 35% game time.

He played in the back pocket last year, and probably because he was a first year player noone really noticed how poor his accountability or his aerial defence is. This is why, like Howatt is, he should play most of his football of the wing or at least the HBF

ITs hard to show how good you are when you spend little time out on the ground. As someone said its his 2nd year and is still learning. The only person we should cut is you.

I'd love to see Whitey get more game time and another year to develop but he may still be in serious trouble at the end of the year.
What might go against him is the fact that Jackson, King and Howat are likely to be retained/promoted and he may be squeezed out.
It is only his second year and I love his attitude . From what I've seen at Coburg he does very well and if he was a first or second round pick then they would give him another go but I think the 'speculative' tag might go against him . I'm unsure what we should do but I think the last 8 weeks could be make or break for him.

are u dumb?

tony i normally agree with u but dunno how u can say connors has shown anything without playing a senior game. I haven't seen him at all so i hope u and others wrapping him on here are right. And all JON has shown is an ability to hit opponents on the chest (although i will admit he takes an ok grab). Having said that, i think my bro summed it up when he called white 'the new rodan', i.e. he picks it up and runs flat-chat before lifting his eyes, looking for an option, thinking...
i reckon we could drop him off the list and rookie him no worries

Edwards and Connors are much more promising players than White. Doesn't mean White is no good, but these 2 housemates are a good chance to become good players.

tony i normally agree with u but dunno how u can say connors has shown anything without playing a senior game. I haven't seen him at all...

I can understand why you would hesitate in accepting an opinion about someone you've never seen. Some players are good at Coburg and never step it up to AFL. Connors seems to be a class or two above the rest and has shown he has the talent to be a very good AFL player, he isn't an athlete he is a footballer's footballer like a Lewis/McLean/Dal Santo and performance wise these types tend to be a lower-risk of failing from my understanding compared to skinny athletes. Attitude could hold him back... but will it? Don't know, but as for having "shown something" this kid has shown plenty.

Let's hope he doesn't get distracted because unless he derails I would be more confident with Connors becoming a good player than most other youngsters in the past couple of years. I'd back him heavily as long as we pull him into line :thumbsu:

I wouldn't be surprised if he pulled a Coughlan next year. No pun intended lol

no he hasnt

cam is 3 years older than white and its arguable to say which player has performed better considering the better run howat has got from the coach compared to white who is being slaughtered on and off the bench

he isnt a back pocket/tagging type he can win his own ball and runs the lines well we just have too many smalls so he gets thrown around everywhere

well said:thumbsu: Matty White has done some good things but gets limited game time and gets shunted all over the park. Give him a good run in a position that suits him and I think we could see a lot more out of him.