Adelaide Utd,Liverpool, WWT Eagles.
He is the key to the game on Friday

If we can keep him to less than five goals we should win

We need a Matthew Scarlett type

I am thinking maybe Kris Massie would be a smokey for the job

Other than that I think Nigel Smart first and Bassett if he doesn't work.

James Hird will be tagged by Stenglein

Perhaps Sirley will get Cupido or maybe Edwards.

Then Shirley can take Jason Johnson

No Rioli, Misiti or Mecuri is a positive.

Smart should have Lloyd to start with & if that don't work to good then as Jars said pass the baton on to Bassett,

Would really like to see someone drop back to fill up the hole in front of Lloyd (ie like a Rehn)

Control the Hird factor & if we are a tall short put Burton ff to drag Fletcher up & down the ground,

The Bombers do have some real talent in their squad & have some very talented youngsters especially a couple of kids with the names of Welsh & Bullen,

C'mon guys I would back Bassett in from the start. His form of late has been teriffic and he deserves a first crack at Lloyd. If things aren't working out then move Smart on Lloyd. Hart might also get the job if needed.

Stenglein will definetly get Hird.

Shirley to get Jason Johnson IMHO.

Hart to get Cupido.

In reality we should spank them in the ruck and out midfield is way better than theirs. If we can win the midfeld convincingly then we will starve Lloyd of opportunities which will go a long way to us winning the game.

Stop Lloyd + Stop Hird = Crows win.

how bout biglands - he's strong enough but is he quick enough?

bassett should get the job 1st IMHO

ive got eveything crossed that adelaide's defence can keep him down to 0-2 goals

GO BASSETT, HART, SMART AND CO. :p

Originally posted by noddy

Would really like to see someone drop back to fill up the hole in front of Lloyd (ie like a Rehn)

I reckon this is the key to it noddy, but who? McGregor? Biglands? Perrie?(providing his date with the tribunal goes okay).Or even possibily some guy who is big and can take a mark under extreme pressure and wears number 2;)

I've always thought Hart matched up well on Lloyd I think he should be the first option for you guys,. Fletcher v Carey at the other end should be a good contest aswell. Hille & Alessio need to be competitive for us in the ruck to give us any chance, Biglands destroyed us last year.

Originally posted by rednugget
I've always thought Hart matched up well on Lloyd I think he should be the first option for you guys,. Fletcher v Carey at the other end should be a good contest aswell. Hille & Alessio need to be competitive for us in the ruck to give us any chance, Biglands destroyed us last year.
Lloyd has destroyed Hart in the past. I would go for Bassett as he is in fine form. Smart looked all at sea against Richo, so I would play him on someone like Bolton (with Kenny picking up Lucas).

Agree with Stiffy that Stinger should get Hird & Shirley JJ. Perhaps Massie could play on a wing on MJ?

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Lloyd has destroyed Hart in the past. I would go for Bassett as he is in fine form. Smart looked all at sea against Richo, so I would play him on someone like Bolton (with Kenny picking up Lucas).

Agree with Stiffy that Stinger should get Hird & Shirley JJ. Perhaps Massie could play on a wing on MJ?

Didn't Smart do better on Lloyd last year after Hart was well beaten.

Its definitley out of Smart and Bassett.

Massie's best game for Carlton was when he thrashed Lucas so maybe that will be his go.

If Perrie gets suspended I guess Begley could come in to free up McGregor to go forward perhaps.

Bassett deserves first crack, though he was pretty comprehensively carved up by Lloyd at Docklands in Rnd 4 last year. Benny Hart has the pace to go with Lloyd on the lead, but not the strength (few have). Smarty went well on Lloyd in Round 19, but Lloyd was crocked that day.

The key is to flog them at the stoppages and have the ball spend so much time inside our forward 50 that Lloyd isn't a factor....

Just a question here ladies and gents... why are we thinking of playing so negatively? It seems as though every body is thinking of tagging a few of their best players (Hird, Cupido, etc.). Why don't we just tag Hird and then back ourselves against the rest?

Originally posted by lacrow
Just a question here ladies and gents... why are we thinking of playing so negatively? It seems as though every body is thinking of tagging a few of their best players (Hird, Cupido, etc.). Why don't we just tag Hird and then back ourselves against the rest?
Because we now have two taggers in the side. :D Namely Stenglein and Shirley.

I wonder if is a deliberate effort from the coaching staff to make Shirley into an established player so we can apply tags to two of the top-liners in opposing gun midfields like Brisbane and West Coast come finals time.

But yeah, only Hird and maybe Jason Johnson would be worth having close checking jobs assigned to them in the Essendon line up.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin

I remember him keeping Lloyd to 1 goal in 2000 when we were forced to move Long to full forward and he kicked 5 in the last quarter.

Originally posted by lacrow
We are only talking 2 tags as we have 2 taggers in the side ATM. Cupido is goalsneak forward so we are not really tagging him we are just discussing who would be a best defender to stand him. ;)

Originally posted by rednugget
I remember him keeping Lloyd to 1 goal in 2000 when we were forced to move Long to full forward and he kicked 5 in the last quarter.

All the more reason to concentrate on the midfield. Hart was pretty solid on Lloyd that day, but the real reasons Adelaide got in front of the Bombers that day were Ricciuto, Burton and McLeod - Lloyd barely saw the footy. When the Bomber midfield got on top (especially after Rehn left the field with a busted jaw and it was down to Marshmallow in the ruck), the floodgates opened. And luckily :rolleyes: I was right behind the Essendon cheersquad to chest-mark all those Michael Long goals.

BTW, Long didn't really move to FF that day - Fletcher went there (kicked 2, set up more) and Lloyd went down back. Long was more bursting forward from the wing/HF.

As LACrow says - attack, and let the other side worry about the matchups this week.

Originally posted by noddy

The Bombers do have some real talent in their squad & have some very talented youngsters especially a couple of kids with the names of Welsh & Bullen,

....and McPhee and Reynolds and Richards.
Where do they unearth such players. Ive been impressed with all of these lads.

Its more than the Llyod, Hird and Fletcher show.

We wont win if we just concentrate on thier big three:rolleyes:
The rain 'll take care of Pretty boy Llyod anyhow

Originally posted by topjars
....and McPhee and Reynolds and Richards.
Where do they unearth such players. Ive been impressed with all of these lads.
I have an Essendon supporting mate who can't stand the sight of McPhee and Reynolds. :p

I've sacrificed for the team.

I made Lloyd my captain in the Dream Team

My captain invariably has a bad game :D :D

Cheers,

a.j.

What about Bickley???? He may not be good enough in the air for Lloyd as Bickley is a good player at ground level,would have the strength though to out muscle Lloyd, and he also has the speed to run with him, just a suggestion:)

Originally posted by maccas_no1
What about Bickley???? He may not be good enough in the air for Lloyd as Bickley is a good player at ground level,would have the strength though to out muscle Lloyd, and he also has the speed to run with him, just a suggestion:)
AHH NOOOO!!!!!!!

Bickley 178 cm
Lloyd 191 cm

There is the match up if I ever saw one. I would be the 1st one to ask for Ayer's sacking if this match up even made the white board during the team meeting this week.

BAD CHOICE.;)

Originally posted by maccas_no1

You've backed Essendon to win haven't you!! ;)

Must have a gorilla on them to suggest this match-up. Lloyd would kick a monster bag on Bicks!!

Let's just leave it to Bassett, Smart or Hart.

Originally posted by macca23
You've backed Essendon to win haven't you!! ;)

Must have a gorilla on them to suggest this match-up. Lloyd would kick a monster bag on Bicks!!

Let's just leave it to Bassett, Smart or Hart.
Spot on. Bickley would be nearly the last player you would put on Lloyd. Hound deserves 1st crack, with Smart as plan B.

Lets get this straight. Put Smart on Lloyd, Smart needs to focus and when he does he normally does well against the opposition. Lloyd is a good matchup for Smart. Any rate if we stop the flow then we stop the Bombers. And if Hird decides to play up back when the ball keeps coming down to our attack then that will be even better.

Our midfield and ruck division is superior to the Bombers. They don't travel well and given the game is outdoors at night (they play mainly under lights at Telstra - very clinical conditions) our advantage at AAMI will be more so.

Is it possible that we struggled on Saturday night because it was our first night game since Round 8 at the Gabba. Does it take time to adjust?

Personally, I reckon we will win quite convincingly by 5-6 goals.