Toast Maturity From Tex

Was gladdened to see in the Poowertiser this morning that Tex appears to be making every post a winner in attempting to force his way back into the 22 by turning up to practice long before anyone else, grabbing a bin of balls and practising his goal kicking.

Shows maturity beyond his years and obviously hasn't been discouraged (at least yet) by not being able to cement his place.

Onya Tex

Was gladdened to see in the Poowertiser this morning that Tex appears to be making every post a winner in attempting to force his way back into the 22 by turning up to practice long before anyone else, grabbing a bin of balls and practising his goal kicking.

Shows maturity beyond his years and obviously hasn't been discouraged (at least yet) by not being able to cement his place.

Onya Tex

Excellent news indeed.He must realize that when he does get his chance he will have to kick goals he would not want a return of 1-3 or 2-5

I love Tex and hope he plays but we're getting a bit too excited about what sounds like 15 minutes of goal kicking aren't we?

I'm not sure Neil is sitting back saying gee, I was wrong about the kid.

Bit of a orgasam about going out early to kick. Yesterday I got to training and our full forward had been there kicking goals for about 30 mins before training started...

Its not a big deal surely. I would expect this of him.

Onya Tex

This from one of the better shots at goal in the club.

Maybe a few others should take a leaf out of his book.......

I love Tex and hope he plays but we're getting a bit too excited about what sounds like 15 minutes of goal kicking aren't we?

I'm not sure Neil is sitting back saying gee, I was wrong about the kid.

I think you might have missed the point. I was merely posting to alleviate fears that he might be becoming discouraged at his lack of permanence in the 22. He seems to be handling it with maturity and I for one, am heartened by it. My biggest fear was he would ask to be traded.

Ok, fair enough :thumbsu:

It is good to see that he's not dragging his ass around I guess.

I imagine he will be in the 25 we name tonight... my biggest fear would be him being on standby for Burton, to skip his SANFL game and then Burton comes up ok for Sunday.

Ok, fair enough :thumbsu:

It is good to see that he's not dragging his ass around I guess.

I imagine he will be in the 25 we name tonight... my biggest fear would be him being on standby for Burton, to skip his SANFL game and then Burton comes up ok for Sunday.

Wouldn't this be great:thumbsd: Not only is NC's blind obsession with a broken down Burton keeping Tex from playing AFL it may well stop him playing SANFL too. Its the worst possible scenario and therefore alomost certain to happen.

Are these the things that "Taylor Walker needs to work on"?

Wouldn't surprise me if NC would rather see Tex practice 100 smothers before the game.

Tex ( on an OK day) >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>me>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Burton

It's not groundbreaking news but personally I think it is a positive sign.

I've been pretty surprised at the number of people who honestly feel that Walker is going to "get discouraged" and stop trying because Craig dropped him from the side, to be honest. Successful people tend to have the common trait that they battle adversity and only work harder when times are tough.

Everything I've ever heard about Walker has told me that he's a ripper kid who has never begrudged not being simply handed a position on the list, and has an immense desire to learn and improve. In the midst of a ghastly season for Crows supporters, this story was nice reminder of the quality of character Taylor Walker has.

For those saying that it is expected, perhaps in a local social comp, but at AFL level, the players are all expected to be as professional as possible with their training. For Walker to be showing a desire to work longer than his fellow AFL teammates is much stronger than your local full forward arriving before his teammates.

I am one of the fans hoping to see Tex make it big.
Being a long way from Adelaide, it is hard to judge what Craig is doing with the lad.

However, I was watching the footy show tonight and some comments were made about Tommy Hawkins and how he hasn't really come on for Geelong. I watched him last week -did not chase, looked lost when ball hit ground. Maybe Craig really wants to make sure Tex has all these skills in his bag as well...

Everything I've ever heard about Walker has told me that he's a ripper kid who has never begrudged not being simply handed a position on the list, and has an immense desire to learn and improve. In the midst of a ghastly season for Crows supporters, this story was nice reminder of the quality of character Taylor Walker has.
I don't doubt that he is a great kid but he is also a human being.

He is going to have his manager, all his friends, his entire family and every other AFL club in his ear asking why isn't he getting a game and how the Crows are wrong for not picking him and how he could get better opportunities somewhere else and look at those other guys getting games who have been performing worse.

Last year he played the first 13 games. This season he has played 4 of the first 7. And this year we've had significantly more injuries to our squad. He has gone backwards, there's no other way to look a it.

It would be very mature, very big of him and very difficult for him to say, oh well, I just haven't taken my chances, I'll have to work harder. It would be very easy for him to check out the grass on the other side of the fence.

Bit of a orgasam about going out early to kick. Yesterday I got to training and our full forward had been there kicking goals for about 30 mins before training started...

Yeah but it's pretty impressive for a Half Back Flanker:p

Good to see.:thumbsu: And with Walker, I don't really mind the way we are treating him regarding selection. I'd rather he get the wake up call now, than end up like Hawkins at Geelong, who is gifted a game.

What AFL list is your mate on?:rolleyes: Seems everything has to be negative on this board atm, regardless if it is a positive story.

Div 6 ammos, which makes this story much less exciting. He should be doing everything possible to get the most out of himself. Goal kicking for half an hour before training isnt really that inspiring.

Don't get me wrong its great he is doing it, i just don't feel the need to say 'this man will be around longer than Neil', or 'The man is a machine' or does it show how mature he is. It would be very immature of him to not be doing this sort of stuff.

Tex ( on an OK day) >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>me>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Burton

I'm searching for the stats saying you've kicked 250 odd goals for the AFC and played top footy for over a decade while being a first choice player of three coaches.
How many of you Walker loving Burton haters reckon we'd get a 1st rounder for Walker at the present time?
He's only 19 and has potential, but there are bugger all runs on the board yet.
Why don't wait until he breaks a game or two open at AFL level before any more ejaculation?

I'm searching for the stats saying you've kicked 250 odd goals for the AFC and played top footy for over a decade while being a first choice player of three coaches.
How many of you Walker loving Burton haters reckon we'd get a 1st rounder for Walker at the present time?
He's only 19 and has potential, but there are bugger all runs on the board yet.
Why don't wait until he breaks a game or two open at AFL level before any more ejaculation?

you're doing it wrong

Probably won't see him do it this week. How long are we going to have to wait?