• Thread starter Thread starter sabre_ac

I am still undecided about this.
Past few weeks he has had minimal impact on games, we all know what he can concistently do down back.
Perhaps switch him with Polak, let Polak take their FB, and leave McPharlin at CHB.
What does everyone else think?

Would the forward line function as well if he wasn't there? Takes a good defender and is good for at least a goal or two each game.

Yeah, he straightens us up so much he only needs to kick one or two a game to make it worthwhile.

sixes and sevens also. He cant get into the game lately. Bit like medhurst or farmer when they arnt kicking goals. They get listed for being lost.

CC tried to get him into the game tonight with 211 in the square with Medhurst gave elvis a run up the ground. Didnt last long.

I thought he should have started on richo. Just to keep his hand in then move back to FF.

CC should keep a little bit of experimenting going.

Murphy kicked 5 again this weekend. Once he bulks up and plays more game time then i think McPharlin can be moved back to defence. otherwise Pav will be mauled and double teamed

Pavs snuck up into 4th on the goal kicking list for the season with 54 goals. The round is still not completed, but I think you can't underestimate the impact having McPharlin up forward has on the team.

While I think he's still working outo how to get into the game and lead, he's still attracting one of the oppositions best defenders.

Doppo made a great point that was made is he has straigtened the side up. The entire game structure is centred on this atm and it's an exciting brand of footy to watch.

I think it was Eddie McGuire on the footy show on Thursday night that said Fremantle had the best percentage rate for conversations inside 50 at the moment (well something along those lines).

My point is, they should persist with him up there. Once he learns the caper he'll be a star!

He must stay Forward, straightens us up and gives us plenty more options, it is no coincidence that Freo has been more consistant since MacPharlin went forward. Polak needs to stand up and fill the void up back, played much better last night. I would be more worried about Scotty Thornton than anyone else has taken over from Parkes when it comes to clangers and gets knocked off the ball to easily.

I'd leave him forward for the derby, but we may need to send McPharlap down back against the saints to cover Riewoldt or Koschitzke in a couple of weeks. If Murphy has another good game for Souths he might come back into the side. With Sandilands playing really well in the ruck we could move McPharlin to CHB and play JLo at full forward for 3/4.

CHB is my prefered position for him.

Spud at FF.. With Pavlich playing the way he is it would of been an ideal time for him to learn the game.

Mcpharlin doesn't play like a traditional full forward role.
Does anyone know where murphy plays, when he plays for south freo.

dominguez said:
I'd leave him forward for the derby, but we may need to send McPharlap down back against the saints to cover Riewoldt or Koschitzke in a couple of weeks. If Murphy has another good game for Souths he might come back into the side. With Sandilands playing really well in the ruck we could move McPharlin to CHB and play JLo at full forward for 3/4.

Might be a crazy thought, but hows about a young chap called Daniel Gilmore comes into the side for another crack at the saints? He got a crack at them down in tassie earlier in the year if I recall.

BB gun said:
Mcpharlin doesn't play like a traditional full forward role.
Does anyone know where murphy plays, when he plays for south freo.
I think he's been playing CHB mainly for Souths but this week he played forward and kicked 5 goals. But with Souths playing pretty good that is an inflated goal tally IMO.

Gaspar went to McPharlin last night and beat him convincingly IMO. All that I could think of was thank goodness we had two gun KPP forwards they had to cover.

McPharlin has moved forward and our team has played a lot better. Who cares about individual performances if our overall team structure is better. McPharlin could be AA CHB and we have an average forward line or he can pop up with 30-40 goals a year and we can have have a forward line that defenders have nightmares about.

Theres no way at all that Murphy could hold down FF. Doesn't have to presence at present to attract the ball or a defender. His man would simply peal off and Pav would have 2 or 3 to go against. They have to play honest accountable footy if McPharlin is there.

We have a FF and CHF playing in those positions for the first time in their AFL careers. Pav is averaging 2.8 and McPharlin is averaging 2.4 goals in his 11 games forward this year(thats good for 54 goals a year over a full season!). I wouldn't mess with that combination!!!

There's a possibility that Murphy's form at CHB is better than Polaks. It seems to be a given that Polak's form is superior to Murphys or Johnsons. I'm not so sure.

Leave McPharlin at FF for this year. Next year if Murphy continues to develop he may hold down FF allowing McPharlin to once again dominate in the backline. Then again Murphy could line up at CHB next year, though his set shot for goal is excellent, that would be wasted at CHB.

In saying that Polak seems determined to play forward. He seems to attack the ball more when playing forward, his performance is often lack lustred in defence. His game against Richmond was excellent though, perhaps he's turned the corner.

Murphy's set shot >> McPharlin's set shot >>>>>>>>>> Polak's set shot.

And at the moment Pavlich is daylight ahead of anyone in the league. His accuracy is rivalling Mark Williams, maybe even better. Williams had the football world in awe with his straight kicking.

McPharlin's best position is CHB, but for team balance we need him in the forward line if we are to have any chance of making the finals. I agree with the others that have said Murphy will be a our future FF, releasing McPharlin to go back into defence. I think CC should dabble with that next season and have that as our permanent strategy in 2007.

Yeah i've been saying this all season, Mcphalin would be playing down back in an ideal world. However, with the low amount of times the ball is going into our 50 in general, we need our two best talls playing in the forward line, just to captilize on the slim pickings we get. I shudder to think what our season would have been like without the big two playing in the forward line.

He should definately be playing full forward. Either that or him and Pav alternating whenever they get tired. He adds so much to Pavs game which is often forgotten. Lets play these games to win them. Send Murphy down back for some education.

Elvis is a darn good player but I reckon he is trying to go for the speccie every time. Do the basics and work in with the other forwards, but don't fly every time where you may be competing with a team mate. It's only a small point but sometimes it would be beneficial to stay down (experience will teach him this).

Having him forward means he takes a tall back.

well who for CHB then? Polak? Johnson? we need to put someone there and leave them there so they can learn the position.

I would say Polak as long as he doesn't get injured again.

fat wombat said:
I think it was Eddie McGuire on the footy show on Thursday night that said Fremantle had the best percentage rate for inside 50 conversations at the moment (well something along those lines).

Wouldn't be a good stat if we had the best % for talking in the forward 50. Must get a bit boring waiting for the ball to come in I guess! ;)

I think Luke's best position is in defence, but having said that, he is required in the forward line for what his game's sacrifice gives the whole team! Hopefully Polly or Spud can step up as people have mentioned in this thread already so that Luke can head back to defence!

His best position for himself is probably in defence, but his best position for Freo is definitely in the forward line.

He is basically an AA CHB. He provides invaluable drive from defence. You are giving up a consistantly outstanding player for a FF who is handy but nothing special and who releashes pressure from Pavlich. I think he is being wasted, especially of late, when Pav has played deeper.

theorangeapple said:
He is basically an AA CHB. He provides invaluable drive from defence. You are giving up a consistantly outstanding player for a FF who is handy but nothing special and who releashes pressure from Pavlich. I think he is being wasted, especially of late, when Pav has played deeper.
I agree, its robbing Peter to pay Paul, but at least with McPharlin threatening it means Pavlich only gets double teamed instead of tripled.

You have to give him time to learn his new role and adapt. He'll be worth it in the long run, especially if the midfield continue to keep pumping the ball in there with confidence. The combination of Pav and McPharlin will just get stronger and stronger.

Sure he'd probably be an all Australian CHB, but then again so was Pav.