Rockets
From Freo FB:

Adam McPhee has been charged with a level three striking offence against Sam Gilbert during the first quarter of Friday night's match against St Kilda. He can accept a one-match sanction with an early plea.

[youtube]caZfm_0qZDY[/youtube]

notsureifserious.jpg

Thought it'd be a whole lot worse than that...

From Freo FB:

[youtube]caZfm_0qZDY[/youtube]

notsureifserious.jpg

Thought it'd be a whole lot worse than that...

it was crude, but there was no real force behind it. gilbert got up ok and played out the rest of the game. im not sure it was intentional, so thats how he got away with it being reckless...... if he had of had a better record with an early plea he probably would have gotten away with a reprimand.... 1 week fair enough i reckon

I 'as a bridge in Freo..you wan' it mate? Goin' cheap, hey?

I think we can well and truly understand now that the damage incurred is really what determines the length of a suspension these days. Very lucky to get 1 week, take it.

Yep absolute bargain.

The MRP have no idea what there doing.

He had 2 options lay a tackle or go the bump.
He chose to go the bump,once u make that decision its your responsibility to not make high contact otherwise your in trouble.

Very suprised by that.

Yes the contact was fairly light but its ugly an could be dangerous, so if they choose that option and dont execute it properly they normally get punished fairly harshly.

I think one factor that saved him is that his elbow didn't actually make contact with Gilbert's face, just his arm did. Probably would've resulted in a broken jaw had he landed the elbow.

I don't know I reckon it didn't look good and he is lucky to get only 1 week. The fact that he didn't try and tackle tells me that it may of been deliberate.

I have mixed feelings about this though as Mcphee shouldn't be in the team and now he will be staight back in after 1 week off.

I think one factor that saved him is that his elbow didn't actually make contact with Gilbert's face, just his arm did. Probably would've resulted in a broken jaw had he landed the elbow.

Yeah it's obvious with this one that resultant injury determines force.

Prob should go buy a lottery ticket. If that was Kosi or Baker it would have been greater than Barry Halls punch on Staker.

I don't know I reckon it didn't look good and he is lucky to get only 1 week. The fact that he didn't try and tackle tells me that it may of been deliberate.

I have mixed feelings about this though as Mcphee shouldn't be in the team and now he will be staight back in after 1 week off.

Not sure what your on about there... :confused:

Think hes saying Mcphee offers nothing anyway so he wouldnt of cared if he got 8 weeks for it.

Yep, shame he got injured coz he was in ok form at the start of the year. He needs to be played in defence with a job to do because he doesn't really have any football instincts.

I think we can well and truly understand now that the damage incurred is really what determines the length of a suspension these days. Very lucky to get 1 week, take it.

Yea, it's a major factor and that doesn't really make sense to me. It's all a bit chook-lotto.

Anyway, lesson to McPhee - go for the crunching tackle every time and it will be better all round.

Yep, shame he got injured coz he was in ok form at the start of the year. He needs to be played in defence with a job to do because he doesn't really have any football instincts.

Agree with that.

But everyone thinks he is useless down there because of how crap he played there when we tried him.
Thing is when we tried him there he was crap everywhere.

Up forward he struggles to take a grab, an more often than not when he crashes packs he hutrts or spoils his teammates.
Down back if he crashes packs there might be more chance of him hurting opposition.

Hows about when he shanked that soda that should have been an easy... EASY goal. And then he goes and kicks the goal from practically the boundary line without even kicking around the corner, just a straight drop punt..

Not relating to the thread topic, just sayin'... How frustrating can this guy be to watch sometimes.

while he comes across as a bit of a lug, he does heaps to create space for his team mates to work in or through. his desperation is also top notch - remember, he practically saved the game for us in the dying seconds of round one.

Gees the MRP throws up some shock outcomes - would of thought 2-3 personally.

Pity as running with Judd and bullying him would of been a role Smokey could of done.

I think you lot are being harsh on him. Don't watch the slow motion, watch the first instance. It's so damn quick, I actually think the big change in direction from Gilbert threw McPhee's bump way out. Sure, he probably should have tackled but if he'd been able to nail that bump flush it would have been a big(ger) moment. I'm guessing that's why it's marked as reckless rather than intentional, though I still expected 2-4 weeks for it.