Meatloaf

• Thread starter Thread starter boncer34

:eek:

come on, man! seriously? not even close... sam cooke, jeff buckley, aretha franklin, ray charles, stevie wonder, ella fitzgerald, james brown, michael jackson, john lennon to name just a few popular singers who run rings around meat loaf. the guy is a competent rock singer, but that is it...

and that is not even touching on the sopranos, tenors etc who have been kicking around since before mozart was writing the magic flute, which takes real singing ability to pull off.

meat loaf is not one of the finest singers to take the stage.

EDIT: im a kid, and i know this...

Anyone who is a michael Jackson fans should be banned from commenting :o

Meatloaf is up there with most of those you mentioned ..and way ahead of half of the others .

being a kid shouldn't define your musical understanding ..but it does give you shit taste in music . ;)

They're not there yet, still quite unknown. Also, a band should ideally have at least 5 pretty easily identifiable songs to choose from.

I dunno-

Snakesin
What do I know about pain?
Baby I'm getting better
Australia
Fast girl (with the Beds are Burning interlude)
Some of the places I know

are all fairly recognisable and have achieved a bit of radio play and commercial attention around Aus. They'd probably be known enough.

This is what happens when you cater to the musical "taste" of 50 year old bogans who are stuck in the past and haven't listened to new music in about 3 decades.

There are so many great Australian acts around right now who would love the exposure of playing at the AFL grandfinal, would come a hell of a lot cheaper, and would actually know what Aussie Rules is all about. But no, the AFL pays a shit load of cash to get some fat, washed up American Hack that nobody under 30 has even heard of. :thumbsd:

Drapht, Jinja Safari, The Getaway Plan, Hilltop Hoods, Bluejuice, Illy, Amity Affliction, etc etc.

360 singing Killer right before the Grand Final - now that would be good to see/hear.

Support our awesome local talent, not just some old has-been.

EDIT: how could I forget Bliss N Eso :O :O

Maybe just for you we could get Justin Beiber ..and that other pre teen off Australian Idol ? ;)

theres a reason nobody has heard of those singers you named ...it's because they are Shit .

Maybe just for you we could get Justin Beiber ..and that other pre teen off Australian Idol ? ;)

theres a reason nobody has heard of those singers you named ...it's because they are Shit .

Qtf... Kids are exposed to shocking shocking bands theses days.

The music industry on a whole has gone to the dogs in the last few years.

well that would mean more devos and 12 year old girls would go to the game

Anyone see the recent Butterfly Effect 10 year anniversary tour?

Their last show was at the Gov last night. They sounded bloody amazing. IIRC they've played at the Clipsal 500 before.

Not mainstream enough for the AFL though unfortunately. We all know the acts get chosen depending on whatever record label has an agreement with the AFL.

Anyone who is a michael Jackson fans should be banned from commenting :o

Meatloaf is up there with most of those you mentioned ..and way ahead of half of the others .

being a kid shouldn't define your musical understanding ..but it does give you shit taste in music . ;)

You are the one with shit taste in music mate. Loaf is B grade compared the performers mentioned, and he proved it at the grand final.

I dunno-

Snakesin
What do I know about pain?
Baby I'm getting better
Australia
Fast girl (with the Beds are Burning interlude)
Some of the places I know

are all fairly recognisable and have achieved a bit of radio play and commercial attention around Aus. They'd probably be known enough.

I disagree, they still don't strike me as, dare I say it, "mainstream" enough for the Grand Final just yet (personally, I only recognise only 2 of those songs). Though I did see them supporting The Living End back in 03 or 04 and they put on a great live show, which helps.

I just reckon there's plenty more suitable acts both locally and internationally to choose from without resorting to somewhat of a risky choice, especially considering the international audience that the game does attract.

We all know the acts get chosen depending on whatever record label has an agreement with the AFL.

I thought it's more to do with whatever tour Gudinski is promoting? :p

No, Glee is worse. They cover just about every popular song be it old or some of the new tripe like bruno mars.

They have butchered classics. Even Van Halen hasn't escaped their wrath.

And you only watch every episode so you can rush straight onto the internets to complain about it?

I went to a 4 matches during this years finals series and none of Glenn Shorrock, Ross Wilson, Dan Sultan or Eskimo Joe had any trouble using the same stage as Meat Loaf. And I also went to a game at the MCG during the home & away season where a band called Stonefield were playing, i had no idea who they were before seeing them play, but they really impressed me and played some really good music.

For the younger people here who have no idea who im talking about, Ross Wilson & Glenn Shorrock were the singers for some great aussie bands back in the day -Ross Wilson (Daddy Cool & Mondo Rock), Glenn Shorrock (Little River Band) and both of them are probably about the same age as Meat Loaf, but neither of those two butchered any of their songs while performing at the mcg this year.

I think the AFL should consider using some great aussie bands from the following list for the GF pre-match entertainment:

AC/DC (would be awesome but i doubt the AFL could afford them)
The Living End
Grinspoon
Jet
Hunters & Collectors/Mark Seymour
Paul Kelly
Cold Chisel
You Am I
Crowded House (technically they are Kiwi's but we can claim them as ours can't we?)

and if they could get any of the following to agree to re-unite they would also be good choices:

Midnight Oil
Powderfinger
Silverchair

Definately think they should get Australian artists unless they can get some genuinely good international acts.... who are good now and not washed up, old egotistical idiots like Meatloaf.

Realistically, the AFL couldn't get the likes of Coldplay, The Killers, U2, Linkin Park, Red Hot chili Peppers, Bon Jovi etc. etc. unless they pay some serious cash. Even then, groups of this sort of calibre don't need the money or publicity so they wouldn't bother.

Here's some Australian artists who could be good:

Some older ones: AC/DC, Powderfinger, Silverchair, Crowded House, The Living End, Jet, Cold Chisel

Some newer ones who play a variety of different styles : Wolfmother, Hilltop Hoods, Bliss N' Eso, Pendulum, The Presets, Tame Impala, Grinderman, Karnivool, Birds of Tokyo, John Butler Trio

I could also name a tonne of Indie bands/ artists like Gotye, Angus and Julia Stone etc., but they probably wouldn't be that appropriate.

As a big MJ fan I'd rather not see his music reduced to some sort of Rock Eisteddfod performance.

donotwant!
lol. Cirque are good when they are not doing crappy musical tributes.

Not sure if this has been posted yet, but:

[youtube]ItYAZLHrN9M[/youtube]

He's a little bit insane. Though if he wants to take a swipe at Andy D....
That is ****ing hilarious!

Took my grandmother to see Meatloaf not at the GF and at her request, in her 70's she put on a far better performance than Meatloaf! No contest!

That meltdown

Could have been art class at the old folks home.

Maybe if met got that bussey character to heckle him before his concerts he might rediscover the power in his voice......

Play angry, Meat

lol. Cirque are good when they are not doing crappy musical tributes.

That is ****ing hilarious!

You should have seen the whole series...

Mr Wild man of Rock and Roll was ....

saying yes sir,no sir to Donald Trump.
Was the most bothered by Buseys oddities.
Cried over a decision made by Trump in regards to allocation of money.
Went into that embarrassing tirade you see on Youtube.

His last moment of any worth was as a cameo as a bouncer on Waynes World.

Wasn't he the cry baby with man boobs in "Fight Club", or was that his stage double?:confused::p

You are the one with shit taste in music mate. Loaf is B grade compared the performers mentioned, and he proved it at the grand final.
Agreed.

That old chestnut of "I haven't heard of them so they must be shit".

Blues Man you are a numpty.

John Lennon at the AFL grand final ? Awesome.

This si not taking sides but all the bands at finals this year sounded crap. so theres something in the argument.

PS the three tenors were crap at the MCG too

The acoustics at the MCG are such that very few acts will ever sound good there. The only thing that works is very very simple music like the Stones or AC/DC where there is a lot of space between the notes.

Having said that, let me say this:

A few posters with not so much music knowledge seem to think Meatloaf's songs are vocally as difficult as a standard rock tune. They are not, they are far far harder to perform than a normal tune.

But AFL should have been aware that Meatloaf has probably sung the tunes from Bat Out of Hell well only when recording the album. Every piece of live footage I have seen of him he has never been able to perform at the standard that is on the record.

Also some serious underrating of Meatloaf here, Bat Out of Hell is one of the biggest albums of all time, like it or not. Aint no B grade act.

Thus concludes random observations.

The acoustics at the MCG are such that very few acts will ever sound good there. The only thing that works is very very simple music like the Stones or AC/DC where there is a lot of space between the notes.

Having said that, let me say this:

A few posters with not so much music knowledge seem to think Meatloaf's songs are vocally as difficult as a standard rock tune. They are not, they are far far harder to perform than a normal tune.

But AFL should have been aware that Meatloaf has probably sung the tunes from Bat Out of Hell well only when recording the album. Every piece of live footage I have seen of him he has never been able to perform at the standard that is on the record.

Also some serious underrating of Meatloaf here, Bat Out of Hell is one of the biggest albums of all time, like it or not. Aint no B grade act.

Thus concludes random observations.

Pretty spot-on there, except that in 2011, calling him a "B grade" act would be generous, what he dished up at the Grand Final wasn't even remotely adequate. There is no way his voice was that shot in the 80s (or even 90s).