Prediction Michael Barlow

• Thread starter Thread starter Tex200

Do we have a Barlow yet?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Closer - Pykey has met with him & chance of winning a flag is important to him, so would think we are a decent chance.

Actually I think you are talking a lot of crap.

The only thing that matters is if a player is an asset to a team, they might perceive as being an asset when picked up but that will soon be forgotten if he's a dud.

Back to Barlow, Freo says he doesn't have any value, let's assume we do and pick him up. If he turns out a dud who are the idiots? By your rationale it doesn't matter because we thought he had value when we picked him up but that's nonsense. All that means is we made an error which is what those that don't want Barlow are saying.

Each way bet when presenting an argument in hindsight.

There is a difference between presenting an argument at two different times which you seem incapable of making.

Lets take your Toumpas example. When Port picked him up he was considered an asset or of value to Port, anyone with half a brain can understand that.
What he's turned out like in the future is clearly a view or decision on whether he has realised the original value. That doesnt negate he was considered of value or an asset when being purchased.

You reckon im talking crap, your getting into your mate martys territory for logic.

Michael Barlow would be a great get, IMHO. We are an experienced mid short. He has great endurance which would complement Sloane and aid us to be a hard running side, is tall for a mid, fairly good speed and finds plenty of the footy...and we don't sacrifice a pick.

eLw7m.gif

There is a difference between presenting an argument at two different times which you seem incapable of making.

Lets take your Toumpas example. When Port picked him up he was considered an asset or of value to Port, anyone with half a brain can understand that.
What he's turned out like in the future is clearly a view or decision on whether he has realised the original value. That doesnt negate he was considered of value or an asset when being purchased.

You reckon im talking crap, your getting into your mate martys territory for logic.
We seem to be arguing two different things, I personally couldn't care if they are valued as an asset beforehand, to me the success of a player acquisition comes down to how they perform.

As for hindsight, if before the player is selected we have an opinion that he's poor value and that turns out to be the case, hindsight has nothing to do with it.

I thought we re contracted Thommo, why are we one short?

AFC have already said Thommo will have a new role, which will include only paying a handfull of afl games next season. Break glass in case of emergency.

Mackay unlikely to play many games.

Douglas' form a question mark.

Basically we lack quality experienced players 28+.

AFC have already said Thommo will have a new role, which will include only paying a handfull of afl games next season. Break glass in case of emergency.

Mackay unlikely to play many games.

Douglas' form a question mark.

I'm ever the optimist, but i'll only believe it when i see it.....

Sure, but the club has made it public, so it's not just hearsay.

Yep. Getting Barlow for next year and 2018 allows us to become better and keep the same amount of experience without Thommo/Mackay/Douglas in the side. Then when our pick 13 (hopefully a mid) takes Barlow's place in the side, the likes of Tex, Sloane, Jenkins become our quality, 28+ players.

Hopefully Milera, Wigg, etc come on too...

Sure, but the club has made it public, so it's not just hearsay.
Have they? I thought it will be a new role which will see him develop into coaching but where have they said it will only be a handful of games?

Roo said the other day Thommo still had a lot to give

Have they? I thought it will be a new role which will see him develop into coaching but where have they said it will only be a handful of games?

Roo said the other day Thommo still had a lot to give
A lot to give doesn't necessarily mean games...

"Michael Barlow would be a great get, IMHO. We are an experienced mid short. He has great endurance which would complement Sloane and aid us to be a hard running side, is tall for a mid, has close to an elite burst of speed and finds plenty of the footy...and we don't sacrifice a pick."

Just updated my post above and used bold to highlight the adjustment. Haven't followed all of this thread so if I have missed something pertinent to this comment please let me know.

He is just grumpy.

"Michael Barlow would be a great get, IMHO. We are an experienced mid short. He has great endurance which would complement Sloane and aid us to be a hard running side, is tall for a mid, has close to an elite burst of speed and finds plenty of the footy...and we don't sacrifice a pick."

Just updated my post above and used bold to highlight the adjustment. Haven't followed all of this thread so if I have missed something pertinent to this comment please let me know.

Hmm, I don't know about that, maybe when you compare who is the fastest snail amongst 100 different snails.

At least on this occasion he was quicker over 20m than our dear ex PD.

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/michael-barlow-pick-8-2009-rd.662832/

http://www.topendsports.com/sport/afl/testing-draft-results-2007.htm

Why are there two delisted free agent trade periods?
Its so the clubs can be more precise with their list management.

Rather than have to delist everyone and list everyone all in one go which is a relatively blunt instrument, you can delist some, take say one on, wait, have a look at what others did and see who's around, then chop again, or not, depending on what you think you have/can get, maybe add another on, etc, etc.