Mick Malthouse -Do You Want Him?

pgayres_1002_wideweb__470x415,0.jpg

Well well welll....you all laughed at me last week, but who's laughing now. The Eade's, the Bailey's, and the Craig's have all said no to you. You seriously think the Malthouse's will be interested? No chance. He'll be at the SEN's, the AW's, the Foxtel's, and the Seven's making money bagging the shit out of the Buckley's.

Its either the Ayresy or the Spud's or the Wallace's, and I know who you would prefer.

Anyway, because I know the RT's, the IDGIF's, and Tugga's expect some value content, here is my assessment of some of your key players. This is gold, and only a sample of what you get when you bring the Ayresy into Tigerland:

The Deledio's - A shit player, lots of potential, but lacks discipline on match day by relying on soft options. Needs to harden up and learn to handle the tag. Lose the Alice Band, its a crutch, and spend the pre-season getting a good solid fitness base of mousse and product into those locks. With a carefully balanced regime of styling and preparation, he could become all australian.

The Nason's and the Vickery's - showed complete disregard for team instructions previously by looking like rasta white boys, but now showing similar disrespect by looking like the opening act at the Lilith Fair. Get some growth into those locks, or get used to life at City Oval.

The Rance's - I have not seen a footballer who is this good since I used to shave in the morning. Beautiful form and control, and has the strength needed to maintain his shape and shine even in the most contested of contests.

The King's - What the hell is this guy? He looks like the Gopher Boy dude from South Park who used to hang around with Doctor Mephesto. I don't coach Gopher Boys, been there and done that at Adelaide.

SEN just announcing Malthouse to the Tigers on a three year deal. "Strategic Director of Coaching Developmentation and Match Day Analyticist".

Hang on... they're still talking... no Malthouse to coach Saints on a four year deal..... ok ... now stating that Mark Harvey has joined us.. "Assistant Director of Player Development and X-box"...... no wrong again.... Harvey's back to Essendon.

Herald Sun website now reporting we've just signed Brendan Fevola as our "Senior Assistant for Pokies, Eve Nightclub and Good Times". The players are rapt.

Stay tuned.

I liked that post :D

I'd want Hardwick extended simulataneously with any Malthouse involvement

Up the guts;

Regardless of whom may join the coaching panel, l believe Hardwick's contract needs to be extended; Why?

Quite simply: We need a long term coach; A poor start in 2012 ,then well guess who the press will start on?
Show the world, show the supporters, show the players we have a long term commitment, a plan to bring the 11th Cup (where it belongs, PUNT ROAD). Show we have learnt from the past;
With the players draft days away, dont you think it makes a difference to say we have Hardwick long term? or do we say we have Hardwick 2012, see what happens after that?

Our presentation can now boast, world class facilities, location, Hardwich as coach, young exciting list (who would not ewant to play with: Cotchin, Delideo, Martin, Reiwoldt, Vickery;)

Although l personally dont like Malthouse, his appointment in any CAPACITY, can only improve the club..

Would love anyone's thoughts...:D:thumbsu:

Im back from the jungle and lets say for arguments sake the club goes backwards next year....you have extended and need to pay him out, dont extend till the end of the contract unless circumstances demand it .

This might sound anti dimma, but we do not reward mediocrity, and we shouldnt. We have been doing that for thirty years, put out or get out.

And while we're at it. Taking injured players into a GF? The build up of Didak over the last month. Why not more game time? Allowing Swan to be tagged into oblivion with no response. Allowing Hawkins to win the game with no response. Tarrant, for goodness sake. Allowing Cloke to be shut down with no response. Outcoached by a novice (with no mentor!!!!!).

aaahhh ... mondays expert , Hindsight Harry :thumbsu:

OK coach Livonski , before i lace up the boots lets hear your battle plan for Saturday as opposed to MM's disaster laden feeble effort .

Where would you have shuffled the deckchairs on the SS Carringbush/Titanic ?

Where would you have steered the ship at the selection table ? ... I'm really hoping you say Goldsack should have played instead of Maxwell ... i dare you

OK coach Livonski , before i lace up the boots lets hear your battle plan for Saturday as opposed to MM's disaster laden feeble effort .

Where would you have steered the ship at the selection table ? ... I'm really hoping you say Goldsack should have played instead of Maxwell ... i dare you

"Genius" if you don't mind. Of course it's hindsight. A kick in it at 3qtr time and I probably run with Plan A also. That's not the issue.

My point was maybe a bit subtle in that MM is being touted as the Messiah by some on here. I'm just saying he's possibly human like the rest of them. And yes, in hindsight, I reckon he made some horrible errors (do nothing policy), and of course they can only be judged with hindsight.

Hardwick would have been murdered on this board if he'd been in the same position. I don't see why Malthouse is immune from critical analysis.

Goldsack for Maxwell...nah. But I would have played Tuck instead of Maxwell, his kicking efficiency is much better. :D

"Genius" if you don't mind. Of course it's hindsight. A kick in it at 3qtr time and I probably run with Plan A also. That's not the issue.

My point was maybe a bit subtle in that MM is being touted as the Messiah by some on here. I'm just saying he's possibly human like the rest of them. And yes, in hindsight, I reckon he made some horrible errors (do nothing policy), and of course they can only be judged with hindsight.

Hardwick would have been murdered on this board if he'd been in the same position. I don't see why Malthouse is immune from critical analysis.

Goldsack for Maxwell...nah. But I would have played Tuck instead of Maxwell, his kicking efficiency is much better. :D

chortle ... thats the spirit :thumbsu:

Collingwood have clearly been the best team over the last couple of years . this year in particular . but being the best team does not always transpose to a premiership . Just ask Geelong in 08 .

They were injured , they were tired , they ran out of steam . Their class had them still only a goal down at 3 quarter time but anyone could see they were out on their feet . Cloke tore Harry Taylor a new one in the first half , he was able to turn it around in the second when supply dried up , Hawkins got hold of a clearly hampered AA CHB ... WTF would you propose MM do with Dane Swan ??? reigning brownlow medalist and indurance freak ? .. seriously ? You back him in to play the role a champion does . in the end Swanny is human and had his colours lowered . Potential replacements for the likes of Maxwell Jolly Ried Didak etc hadnt played in weeks ... a half fit Jolly is still better than Cam Wood any day of the week .

To try and shift any blame for this onto the shoulders of Malthouse is just plain silly

You are clutching at straws to say it was MM's fault ... as with most premierships , the planets just did not align when they needed to on the day . They played their grand final the week before just to get there and that is the nuts and bolts of it

NQ: Im not saying we "will loose", or start badly, but stating the obvious; (if things dont go to plans and we are say 2-4 );or worse?

After the Colliwobbles ,Richmond sell the most papers, so the press will start : "Is Hardwick the man, for Richmond"?
Our club needs stability, leadership, confidence.
Geelong were 1 -2 weeks from sacking Thompson, werent they?
Give Hardwick, 1 -2 extra years, not saying 3 or more.
Its recognised that it takes a coach 3 years to get the club, the list to his liking;
If we take note of the players, they absolutley love him;

So for the sake of 1, possibly 2 years extenstion get it done & remove any disruptions. :thumbsu:

Collingwood have clearly been the best team over the last couple of years . this year in particular . but being the best team does not always transpose to a premiership . Just ask Geelong in 08 .

They were injured , they were tired , they ran out of steam . Their class had them still only a goal down at 3 quarter time but anyone could see they were out on their feet . Cloke tore Harry Taylor a new one in the first half , he was able to turn it around in the second when supply dried up , Hawkins got hold of a clearly hampered AA CHB ... WTF would you propose MM do with Dane Swan ??? reigning brownlow medalist and indurance freak ? .. seriously ? You back him in to play the role a champion does . in the end Swanny is human and had his colours lowered . Potential replacements for the likes of Maxwell Jolly Ried Didak etc hadnt played in weeks ... a half fit Jolly is still better than Cam Wood any day of the week .

To try and shift any blame for this onto the shoulders of Malthouse is just plain silly

You are clutching at straws to say it was MM's fault ... as with most premierships , the planets just did not align when they needed to on the day . They played their grand final the week before just to get there and that is the nuts and bolts of it

absolute bang on, as much as the cats were firing on all cylinders when the whips were cracking in the last month, the woods were limping over the line, as said the planets didnt align, a heck of alot needs to go right to WIN a GF

LMAO. You call me Harry Hindsight!

1. The planets never align for any team that loses.
2. I did not say it was MM's fault. Therefore no straw clutching from me.
3. Any blame? FFS he's steering the ship...maybe a little bit of blame?
4. Harry Taylor didn't turn it around. Scott (the Coach) did by switching Lonergan on to Cloke.
5. You are right about Swan imo, but MM didn't do anything about anyone.
6. I agree that Pies have been the best over 2 years. But the whole idea is to get the team to peak in Sept. Geelong did. Collingwood didn't. Any responsibility accepted by coach/coaches? Any planning issues?
7. I notice in the Age today MM was quoted saying 6 or 7 players didn't fire a shot. He's done that before. Jason Cloke copped it one year when played out of position in a GF. WCE players copped it also when they lost. Haven't seen MM fess up to any mistakes...if he has I'll retract.

My context was that he is a good coach but not infallible and operated in the best resourced club ever seen in the AFL. For 1 flag in 12 years. On that basis and due to his traitorous self serving histrionics in the media this year, in answer to the OP, I voted NO. I don't want him.

LMAO. You call me Harry Hindsight!

1. The planets never align for any team that loses.
2. I did not say it was MM's fault. Therefore no straw clutching from me.
3. Any blame? FFS he's steering the ship...maybe a little bit of blame?
4. Harry Taylor didn't turn it around. Scott (the Coach) did by switching Lonergan on to Cloke.
5. You are right about Swan imo, but MM didn't do anything about anyone.
6. I agree that Pies have been the best over 2 years. But the whole idea is to get the team to peak in Sept. Geelong did. Collingwood didn't. Any responsibility accepted by coach/coaches? Any planning issues?
7. I notice in the Age today MM was quoted saying 6 or 7 players didn't fire a shot. He's done that before. Jason Cloke copped it one year when played out of position in a GF. WCE players copped it also when they lost. Haven't seen MM fess up to any mistakes...if he has I'll retract.

My context was that he is a good coach but not infallible and operated in the best resourced club ever seen in the AFL. For 1 flag in 12 years. On that basis and due to his traitorous self serving histrionics in the media this year, in answer to the OP, I voted NO. I don't want him.

One of my favourite quotes ever when MM was referring to Jason Clokes performance in the 03 granny .. He said ..."i reckon he played better in the last one" ... LMAO .

They were being primed to peak in Sep. they were not out of first gear the first 8 rounds , unfortunately injury , suspension and "the sword of Damocles" that was hanging over their head (the Malthouse/Buckley "eddie" inspired debacle;)) combined to thow a spanner in the works .

LMAO really ... you dont like Malthouse and fair enough . its your right . You're an intelligent bloke and it would be a boring world if we all agreed on everything ... but here we are picking the eye teeth out of MM and his record in grand finals and his churlish personality ... Mate ... all i want is once ... just once ... we might just sneek into the 8 for the third time in 30 f..kin years :p:o ...

You see what i'm getting at ??? ;)

SEN just announcing Malthouse to the Tigers on a three year deal. "Strategic Director of Coaching Developmentation and Match Day Analyticist".

Hang on... they're still talking... no Malthouse to coach Saints on a four year deal..... ok ... now stating that Mark Harvey has joined us.. "Assistant Director of Player Development and X-box"...... no wrong again.... Harvey's back to Essendon.

Herald Sun website now reporting we've just signed Brendan Fevola as our "Senior Assistant for Pokies, Eve Nightclub and Good Times". The players are rapt.

Stay tuned.

Very, very nice work here B.M. At this rate you'll get snavelled up by some meeja mogul. HAHAHAHAAH:D

So already you are saying where no chance next season or for the 6 rounds to think that. Richmond Give Hardwick a new Contract please. :thumbsu:

How long have you been following the club mate?

How did we go Rounds 1-6 in Wallace's last season as a coach. And then undertake the same exercise for Frawley's last season.

One of my favourite quotes ever when MM was referring to Jason Clokes performance in the 03 granny .. He said ..."i reckon he played better in the last one" ... LMAO .

They were being primed to peak in Sep. they were not out of first gear the first 8 rounds , unfortunately injury , suspension and "the sword of Damocles" that was hanging over their head (the Malthouse/Buckley "eddie" inspired debacle;)) combined to thow a spanner in the works .

LMAO really ... you dont like Malthouse and fair enough . its your right . You're an intelligent bloke and it would be a boring world if we all agreed on everything ... but here we are picking the eye teeth out of MM and his record in grand finals and his churlish personality ... Mate ... all i want is once ... just once ... we might just sneek into the 8 for the third time in 30 f..kin years :p:o ...

And there endeths the lesson

Haha i love it. Good call IDGAF

Former Collingwood coach Mick Malthouse said it was his team's interrupted preparation rather than bad tactics that cost the Magpies the 2011 AFL premiership
"So tactics have some play, but on match day it's really (down to) the players"
"So the tactics of that day were quite sound, and the boys liked it."

Quotes from Malthouse today. Finger pointed squarely at the players, as expected.

pgayres_1002_wideweb__470x415,0.jpg

Well well welll....you all laughed at me last week, but who's laughing now. The Eade's, the Bailey's, and the Craig's have all said no to you. You seriously think the Malthouse's will be interested? No chance. He'll be at the SEN's, the AW's, the Foxtel's, and the Seven's making money bagging the shit out of the Buckley's.

Its either the Ayresy or the Spud's or the Wallace's, and I know who you would prefer.

Anyway, because I know the RT's, the IDGIF's, and Tugga's expect some value content, here is my assessment of some of your key players. This is gold, and only a sample of what you get when you bring the Ayresy into Tigerland:

The Deledio's - A shit player, lots of potential, but lacks discipline on match day by relying on soft options. Needs to harden up and learn to handle the tag. Lose the Alice Band, its a crutch, and spend the pre-season getting a good solid fitness base of mousse and product into those locks. With a carefully balanced regime of styling and preparation, he could become all australian.

The Nason's and the Vickery's - showed complete disregard for team instructions previously by looking like rasta white boys, but now showing similar disrespect by looking like the opening act at the Lilith Fair. Get some growth into those locks, or get used to life at City Oval.

The Rance's - I have not seen a footballer who is this good since I used to shave in the morning. Beautiful form and control, and has the strength needed to maintain his shape and shine even in the most contested of contests.

The King's - What the hell is this guy? He looks like the Gopher Boy dude from South Park who used to hang around with Doctor Mephesto. I don't coach Gopher Boys, been there and done that at Adelaide.

Conan............YOU'RE HIRED.

Iddy, it was this easy, Swan has caused havoc up forward during the year, Ling is tearing him a new one, Swan to FF or a pocket taking his man with him.
Reid - should never have played, was never fit. But, given he did, Tarrent to Hawkins.
Those two moves would have impacted the game.

very good summation idy, tis another tangeant from the OP which is do we want him rather than do we rate him. i still say , he aint got the appetite right now to roll the sleeves up and get down and dirty, perhaps that might change but it sure doesnt look ,like it now

I disagree. He clearly would have gone on if it wasnt for Buckley and feels hard done by.

Some guys want to coach until they drop dead and Malthouse is one of them. How many media gigs did Sheedy jump on when he was arsed from the bombers? Neither of those guys are Robert Walls.

I disagree. He clearly would have gone on if it wasnt for Buckley and feels hard done by.

Some guys want to coach until they drop dead and Malthouse is one of them. How many media gigs did Sheedy jump on when he was arsed from the bombers? Neither of those guys are Robert Walls.

This is 100% my take on it as well

I reckon his humility in the way he has said nothing untoward regarding the whole process has been amazing and i totally concur . I really beleive that internaly he is as filthy as about having the carpet ripped out from under him because of Eddies unabashed "manlove" for Nathe .

He is getting out of dodge because it would not be viable for him to stay and work with the little grass-cutter and his sugar-daddy .

If Brendan Gale has not had a least one very long conversation with MM then he is not exercising due dilligence or duty of care .

One of the more perplaxing situations on the Richmond forum here in my time has been all the love for Neil Craig and how wonderful his appointment was going to be for the club etc etc .. but when it came to MM it was mostly negative .

I dont get it ... seriously . who is better qualified for the job ? Why is MM seen as threat to Dimma but Craig wasnt ???

I just think people dont think things through properly