Mike Sheahan implies Lids is a sook!

Absolutely spot on. So we change things around and Lids kicks three goals... or we change Jack's role and he kicks four goals.

Chances are, in those scenarios, we lose the game by 3-5 goals.

Just to add further to your point, even if we did put Lids down at FF, Mundy would have had a much bigger impact, midfield being over run = big losing margins.

Yup TV commentators have been doing it for years, if we are winning it's "how can the opposition get back in the game", if we are losing it's "how good are the opposition".

Mute is my friend :) or find a decent radio commentary team and chuck that on :thumbsu:

I don't really agree with that, back in 2010 and 2011 commentators would more often than not barrack for us and speak about what we need to get back into games during our countless losses. Now that we are beyond the development phase the focus has turned to what we need to do to become the good team that we need to become. I don't have any problem with this as a mindset, but when they complain about things wrongly (ie Jack's role in the team or Lids tagging Mundy) I find it as frustrating as everyone else.

I mean come on FFS, this first gamer Lyon played, what's his name? hannah or something, found himself in the right place at the right time alone on a HB flank, long floater and he cops a soda in his lap, takes the mark and they went gaga at his "poise" for a young player etc etc et ****ing cetra...I mean FFS, get a grip fools...

Be honest guys Lids can't shake a tag. It's not only Crowley its any decent tagger. Picken from the Bulldogs owns him as well. Opposition teams know you can put the work into Deledio and you'll have him for 4 quarters but if you focus on Cotchin he's still going to get the better of a half of football at least.

For those happy with Lids 20 touches on Friday can you point out when they were and what effect they had on the game because I didn't see them.

In future when he gets tagged he has two options. Head to CHF or a Back Flank and **** that tagger over for the entire game. Friday nights output was unexceptable. He could of had the game of his life down there.

I can't wait for Foley to get fit.

I like your idea Rusty :thumbsu: , If we did that, who could we throw into the mids who could at least be solid from either back or forward, or from the bench ? to cover the move. All this without throwing out structures and team balance, (which may play into opposition hands tactically).

Why not move Lids to Full Forward & clear out the 50 & see how Crowley goes keeping up with Lids on the lead.

Except Crowley wouldnt have stayed there. But the key is who then picks up Crowley, or who he picks up, when he returns to the centre. And then lids would be playing on a bonafide defender. Its all a game of ducks and drakes.

I like the tactic to get rid of taggers when Player A goes to the bench, and his tagger goes to the bench as well. But then Player B (same team as player A) knows that just after Player goes to the bench, that he goes to the bench as well. Player A goes straight back on, and the opposition team are left trying to get their tagger back on. Only works for very short periods with the numbers of rotations now-a-days.

I with many others think that Lids is Awesome but if he was to have a vulnerable part to his game it would be the tag. Perhaps this is what will raise him higher ? The desire to flog the taggers, I'm looking forward to seeing him rise because I think he has it in him. I also think that his team mates will genuinely want to help him out as much as possible, GO TIGES :thumbsu:

Been saying it for years and years, Sheahan knows almost nothing about footy, just ignore him. If it weren't for 'Open Mike' I'd rate him amongst the likes of Darcy and Caro etc. In fact I probably have more respect for those two over Mike.

Maybe he should imply that Fremantle were scragging him all night, lost count of the amount of times he was physically held back by his opponent.

I mean come on FFS, this first gamer Lyon played, what's his name? hannah or something, found himself in the right place at the right time alone on a HB flank, long floater and he cops a soda in his lap, takes the mark and they went gaga at his "poise" for a young player etc etc et ******* cetra...I mean FFS, get a grip fools...

LOL don't you just love the media!

All the commentators were going gaga at how good Freo were. Talked up their stars of the game, i.e McPharlin, Fyfe, Ballantyne, Hill, Johnson you name it, they all "starred" according to the commentators, all the superlatives were flowing

This is the same industry that labels people like the Boston bombers as 'masterminds' so nuff said really. The media are a bunch of w***ers. Plain and simple. Not a single shred of integrity remains.

So where do Riewoldt, Vickery and McGuane go? to the pub for a few maybe.
By the look of their attempted marking contest at the end maybe they did go to the pub at half time.You would think one of them would have lead at Houli one of them . i mean in a tight game, a tight game.Joke!..

Watch again, it was impossible for one to lead when they were grouped in a pack and the speed Houli delivered the ball in.

Also, and should have passed to Knights all by himself on the 50 line. Wrong option.

Watch again, it was impossible for one to lead when they were grouped in a pack and the speed Houli delivered the ball in.

Also, and should have passed to Knights all by himself on the 50 line. Wrong option.
Most definetly should have given the ball to Knights as he runs inside 50 & at least scores.But Houli carried the ball for a long time , plenty of time for one of them to lead hard.Looking at it again just now it looks that maybe Mcguane did lead was ignored & was running back to the square.Wrong option by Houli in hindsight.But if we had a small there running onto to kick it through instead of Ibbotson well that is a different story.

So where do Riewoldt, Vickery and McGuane go? to the pub for a few maybe.
It's not a matter of plonking Lids at FF and leaving him there. It would be like having a game plan where at certain stages during the game they add a bit of unpredictability too our forward line. The same as they do in the NFL with the game book they work off. Have some sort of plan if Lids, Dusty or Cotch are pushing forward the other forwards move there way out of the forward 50 for brief periods. Just a thought anyway as what was happening last Friday night turned into a pretty stagnant forward line after 1/4 time.

I like your idea Rusty :thumbsu: , If we did that, who could we throw into the mids who could at least be solid from either back or forward, or from the bench ? to cover the move. All this without throwing out structures and team balance, (which may play into opposition hands tactically).

In a few weeks Foley and Conca once fit. Other than that Vlaustin and Hellbig are getting there. I think Hellbig needs to play at least 15 games this year to set him up for s ripping 2014 of really solid footy .

G'day fellow Tigers..I don't post often but lurk regularly & am a lifetime Tiger (since 1974).. The media articles this week (Jack & Lids) are quite critical..just hoping that the boys see this and if it doesn't fire them right up this week there is something wrong.. We will be ok & looking forward to the response v the cats.. I still reckon we'll make the 8 & need a win against a side like the cats to instill the belief in our developing side..

It just has to fire them & our team up or we are seriously soft.Lids for B.O.G & Jack to kick 6 to lead us to a breakout win..our coming of age!